Ratings based on 2,332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa fe, NM

Impeccable service!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Best service we have experienced anywhere! The property was gorgeous and clean. The views and beaches were amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas ciry

Absolutely awesome

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Our friends recommended this hotel to us and it totally exceeded our expectations! The staff were exceptional workers and friendly. The food was excellent! Every restaurant had good food, they had buffets throughout the day in random places like the beach or pool area. The hotel was clean and pretty well kept. I would recommend taking bug spray for the chiggers and taking plenty of sunblock, if you buy it at the resort it $35.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, mo

Nice adult only resort.

Posted Sep 12, 2014
The only bad thing about our stay, was that it was too short. the pools were great, alcohol, and food was incredible. You were treated like you are in the elite class and that was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Dream Vacation

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The resort was so beautiful. I knew Mexico would be nice, but I didn't expect it to be so gorgeous. We loved the resort and can't wait to go back.
Cons: A tip: The resort is hot, it is Mexico. I wore Maxi dresses to dinner and sweat like crazy in the restaurants, and that was May. Dress light!
We stayed as a couple this past May. I must say, it was an amazing trip. We travel often, and have stayed at a few all inclusive resorts, but this is by the far our favorite. I can be a bit hard to please when it comes to traveling and we took a long time to choose between all the resorts Cancun. Close to our trip we read some neg reviews (mainly about construction which we never experienced) and were a little weary. However, from the moment we stepped foot on the property, we were in love. PROS Grounds: Breathtakingly beautiful & super clean Staff: Everyone was so friendly & helpful Beach: The excellence club beach was amazing. I would be inclined to book EC for the beach alone. While the regular beach was nice, they had plastic chairs and the scenery wasn't as tropical. The excellence club beach was a different world and the service was impeccable. I read a few reviews that said the ocean wasn't the best for swimming/wading in but it was super warm and we loved that it was so shallow Room: We got a rooftop terrance in the EC, building 6 i believe. The room was gorgeous. And the rooftop terrace with the plunge pool was unreal. The only negatives would be that our room was warm the entire visit. The thermostat would only go so low and it was uncomfortable at night. We let our concierge know, but it remained warm. Also, next time we will do EC but will opt for a suite instead. The RT was beautiful but we didn't use it enough to justify the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helendale, Ca

Our Wonderful Anniversary in Cancun

Posted Sep 11, 2014
We loved this place. Customer Service was Excellent. Lots of restaurants, no reservations needed and the food was Yummy. Make sure to have a Couples Massage! Everything about this hotel was Beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellence

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Gorgeous resort situated on spacious grounds. Suites are private with stunning ocean and resort views. Service was incredible in every aspect. Location is perfect and only a short drive from downtown Cancun. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Excellence is excellent

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Stayed at riviera maya location 4 years ago and has high expectations that were absolutely met and exceeded in some ways. Top knotch high quality food and service. Outside bartenders waitstaff, to inside and restaurant servers. They all aim to please and do not miss! Our terrace room was fantastic. Terrace was huge With a well kept pool and plenty of seating outside and beds. They recognized us as past guests and anniversary travelers and immediately acted on it by giving us some nice perks for dinner. Discounts on spa and wine bottles. Spa service was very good too. So maybe you're saying.. Why not 5/5? My only gripe is their lack of premium liquor. I know 4 years ago at their sister location I was able to go to at least the martini bar and have a goose or ketel one drink. I was told by repeat guests to just ask and I did ask everywhere. However, I did ask everywhere and there was nothing except Smirnoff, absolut, svedka. Not the best stuff if u like a diff martini or a drink neat or rocks. Otherwise, id go back no questions asked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Excellent Get Away

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Initially when we arrived, our room was not available so we were placed in another room and changed the following day, so slight inconvenience.
Location: See review in experience
My husband and I vacationed at this wonderful resort for 8 days/7 nights. This was our first all-inclusive resort. Upon arrival to the resort we were graciously welcomed by the staff and the hospitality never stopped throughout our stay. This resort sits right on the ocean providing you with the most beautiful scenery. From beach to pools everywhere you look you see luxury! The room: So beautiful with private patio, king bed, marble bathroom and floors throughout. Flat screen TV, bar, fridge, couch, and private jacuzzi tub. Room service 24/7 for all in room needs. Daily cleaning and turn down service also provided. The shower is wonderful! Overall one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in! Resort: Crystal clear sparkling pools wait along with a lazy river that provides a nice wet tour of the property. Bars (swim up in main pool), restaurants, and snacks are conveniently located for your every drink/food need. There are also relaxing private cabanas for your use as well. Easy access to the beach with a great swimming area. Plenty of chairs, tikis, and cabanas as well for escaping into some shade. Here there are also activities provided at no extra cost like Spanish lessions and kayaks. Take advantage of that.There are also pool tables, ping pong, etc...as well as a fitness center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Honeymoon August 2014

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Building 8. Hotel room. Excellence club. Main swimming pool and snack bar. Staff friendliness and service
Location: Lots of water sports and trips to Isla Mujeres and Chichen Itza
We were put in Building 9 to start but asked to be moved to Building 8 as there were building works going on and it was very noisy. We were moved after 2 days. From then on the holiday was amazing. Lovely food, hotel facilities were top notch. Excellence club as definitely worth the extra money. Hotel staff make it such a memorable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from AL

Wonderful Anniversary

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, and the food.
Our visit was fantastic from start to finish. You are pampered from the moment you arrive until you have to leave. The food is good, rooms are clean and grounds are immaculate. The staff goes out of their way to exceed your expectations.