Ratings based on 2,869 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Flower Mound, TX

Excellence is excellent!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Variety of food and drink selection, friendly staff, clean facilities and guest rooms
Cons: The air conditioning in our room could have been cooler. We requested a fan but were told they were all being used by other guests
We chose this hotel based on reviews we had read on Expedia and were very happy with our choice. We chose the Excellence Exclusive package and were pampered as expected. Our pool concierge ,Jose Rojas, in building 8 greeted us every morning with a smile and was eager to help with any request. The beach staff was always available and delivered drinks and snacks on a regular basis. Unlike other all inclusive resorts we have stayed at in the past there was a variety of premium drinks available. Beer selection included Corona, Corona Light, Budweiser, Bud Light and a few others as well. Bottled water was readily available at any time without requests from a server or room service. Food variety and quality was above par. The nightly shows were entertaining as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellence!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The location is beautiful. The service is great. The atmosphere is very relaxing.
Cons: It was all great.
Location: We went swimming with the Whale Sharks and visited Isla Mujeres. The beach is long and beautiful.
The vacation was fabulous. The resort is beautiful and they cater to your every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Another great time!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This is our third time there and the staff at Excellence are amazing! The hotel is just as beautiful and clean as it was when it opened. This is the only place we will ever stay while in Cancun, the staff is so helpful and friendly, great food and drink, it's all about relaxation there. The only thing I would say is to travel in Decemeber, it was super humid and the mosquitos were everywhere, although each restaurant had bug spray to take care of that issue. Hands down my favorite place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

***** 5 star, amazing hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: all aside from the open bathroom
Cons: upgrade availability
great!! 5 star indeed. Please accommodate more than 2 people in a room and the ability to upgrade to club level
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings,NE

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful hotel, you can do as much or as little as you want. Staff friendly and helpful wonderful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful Stay! Small Problem with Swim up Room

Posted Jun 29, 2015
First, I will say that this hotel was fabulous! Great food, clean and comfortable rooms, and very friendly staff. The only problem we had was with our swim up room on the first floor. Because it was slow season, there were quite a few maintenance workers painting and repairing the rooms above ours. As a result, I would be out trying to read/relax on our back swim up patio, and there were falling rocks and paint chips! The workers were friendly, and it was somewhat comical the first day, but after day two of more ladders and maintenance workers walking by I decided to call the front desk. I will compliment the manager on duty at the time, as he did apologize and took care of it. However, I think if we ever went back, we would not invest the money for the the swim up room - as we ended up just going to the pool (because of the maintenance work) and were able to relax just fine there. So, if you are debating between the swim up or just the baseline rate room, there are plenty of spaces around the pool or beach during the slower season where you can relax - plus you can get a drink/food quicker from the bar than waiting for room service. Despite this small glitch, I would highly recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Couples paradise

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Loved that we were on the first floor and walked out the door to the lazy river. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was amazing.
Cons: The pools were a bit warm.
Location: You won't want to leave. The resort provides so much that you don't need to go anywhere else. We did take a Catamaran ride to Isla Mujeres that was fu
If you are wanting a romantic vacation this is the place. They cater to you and treat you like a star. The resort is beautiful, great beach, great entertainment. We met several couples that have been coming back 3 times or more. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Stop looking and just go!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The people; which made everything excellent
Cons: more pizza ovens but they were building another one as we left
Location: we just stayed at the resort but Isla Mujeres is very close. we had to leave a reason to return!
The best resort experience we have had. Excellente!! Grounds, Hotel, Pools, Bars, Beach, Excellence Club. These people care if you have a good vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Great place and the food was amazing Staff was so friendly and all our needs were met to the highest ability
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We had the most amazing time! The facility is amazing, the hotel staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home, the food is incredible, and the room is unbelievable! I would go back in a second!