Ratings based on 2,112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Ottawa, ON

Nice trip north of Cancun

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Food, room, service, pool areas, lounge chairs and palapas
Cons: Beach is good, but not as breathtaking as other caribbean destinations. Housekeeping missed a couple of times.
Location: north of cancun, not much to do around, which was fine by us!
Nice experience at this hotel. The food was quite good, the grounds and facilities were amazing. Frequent and attentive beach/pool service. Never had to wait for food at the restaurants. We unfortunately didn't get the building we had asked for and got a noisier building by the outdoor concert plaza. Very noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great room, walk out to pool, and awesome staff!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The shows were great, and every day or night something was taking place. Staff was excellent, pizza serviced by the pool was one of our favorites!
Cons: More current music played at the dance club, but not bad once requests were being played. That was a good DJ.
Location: The beach was clean with lots of lounge chairs, etc. access was a short walk from room and grounds were beautiful to walk through.
Celebrated our anniversary there, and was treated wonderfully from the moment we arrived. Room was awesome and clean. easy access to pool and beach. we preferred first floor plus our room faced the pool, which made it very easy getting in and out of the pool. We liked the service from all of the staff members. Can not wait to go back and stay there again! Great food and drinks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradis on earth

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Spacious room ; jacuzzi ; large shower and patio with a little bed ; excellent food and service , Overall , everything on the resort !
Cons: Can't see
Location: We stayed on the resort but you are close by the town of Cancun less than 10 minutes and your are just in front of the Island of Playa Mujeres .
Very quiet place. Everything you need is on the resort. Very spacious room ; 9 restaurants with excellent food. Less than 30 minutes from the airport. It is a little paradise on earth ! 18 +
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura from Bakersfield, CA

All around spectacular - romantic, adults only

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The staff, the rooms, the activities, the fitness center, the spa (best massage ever), the location (not around a ton of hotels).
Cons: Clarification of the rooms - ocean view does not mean room with a clear view of the ocean. It means it faces the ocean but you may or may not see it.
Location: My husband golfed near by, we also took an excursion to snorkel. Would not recommend shopping locally - can buy any souvenir needed at airport.
this is truly an all-inclusive resort. i would highly suggest upgrading to the excellence club which offers many additional benefits - easy check in, your own club concierge, premium liquor, rooms closer to beach, exclusive sites on beach. The whole stay was relaxing from the champagne greeting to the nightly turn down service. it is romantic with fantastic restaurants (recommend the french restaurant), great room service, beautiful rooms, great amenities. The work out facilities are great and even have spectacular fitness classes. There are also a variety of daily activities like beach volleyball, ping pong tournaments, poker tournaments, and dancing classes. The grounds are nicely kept with variety of places to stay at - poolside, hammacks in the pools, lounge chairs/beds, beach cabanas, etc. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Your stay will never seem long enough. Oh, bring sunscreen and bug spray.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Ocean View, Virginia

Very nice secluded resort on the beach.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We spent 6 days at the Excellence and wish we could have stayed much longer. Everything was 5 star. The lunch buffets were incredible and the dinners were elegant. Room service was prompt and delicious as well. If you want to get some professional photographs I highly recommend the resort photographers. Really top notch. Everyone was pleasant. Now let's talk drinks. They have the quality liqueur, not the cheap stuff and the bartenders are very generous. The resort also had many free activities like bike riding, tennis lessons, archery, rifle marksmanship, Spanish lessons, mixology, etc., etc. All in all, this resort is the best for your money. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennie from Boston

Paradise.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
This resort is an escape to paradise that keeps us visiting again and again. The staff are the friendliest, most attentive people. It is ultra clean and groomed daily outside. The rooms are the best with king beds, great views from wherever, jacuzzi that opens to the outdoors or closes within the room. A rain shower mixed with a regular shower, a balcony with a bed and dining area. The rooms are cleaned daily with turndown service. Outside there are multiple pools for quiet retreat or all-day party. Events and activities day and night to join or not. Shows at night to entertain. Many restaurants to choose from for adventurous dining. Or room service at all hours. All inclusive is worth the money and this place does it well. They always make our stay special, this year decorating my room for my birthday with balloons, streamers, and gifts. The whole place is lovable and I can't wait to go back. I am concerned that the food has declined in quality since our first stay in 2009, and some fixtures may need to be updated soon, but the food still beats other all inclusives and the place is gorgeous. Favorite staff this year: Iran at Spice, Pamela at Barcelona, Gloria at Toscana, and Orlando at The Lobster House/Grill. They are awesome, as are all the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Great stay from New York

A brief getaway

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great resort for relaxation. The pools are beautiful and the staff was extremely accommodating. If you like to shop, just know that shopping is a 20 to 30 minute drive away and the resort gift shops are expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by beth from Dallas

Nice hotel on beautiful blue water

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Good food, tons of pools, great places to lay out and get some sun! I would 100% ensure you pay for the Excellence Club package.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best restaurants and facilities we have seen.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Very, very top notch. Do not know what they could do to make it better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt from Sydney, AU

Absolute perfection!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The only thing I would change about our experience if I could would be to never leave! Next time we will definitely stay longer. Everything was amazing - the rooms, the beautiful pool spaces, the restaurants and bars; the list goes on. The absolute highlight, however, is the exceptional service from the fabulous staff - they truly more than live up to the Excellence name!