Ratings based on 2,759 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Excellent Anniversary at Excellence PM

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms, indoor/outdoor Jacuzzi, great service, great food, strong drinks, nightly entertainment was fantastic, beach was beautiful.
Cons: The dinner at "The Grill" was not the greatest food, but everything else was wonderful.
Location: Pool and beach volleyball were alot of fun, as was kayaking in the ocean. The three best places to eat are Flavor Market, Spice, and Agave.
My wife and I celebrated our 1-yr anniversary at Excellence PM this past week, and could not have been more pleased with our stay. Upon arrival, the champagne and cold towel were extremely refreshing, and check-in was very fast. Check-in is at 3PM, however they got our room ready for us early, and we checked in around 1:30PM. They walked us to our room, carrying our luggage and describing the resort hot spots as we went along. The rooms at EPM are absolutely incredible. Every aspect of the room was updated to be modern and nice. Marble floors, leather couch, king bed, mini bar and fridge with free liquor. Bathrooms were very nice, with a private toilet area, double sinks, and a shower large enough for two people. The in-room Jacuzzi that opens up onto the balcony is a must-try! The balcony bed outside was great, and our view from building 7 was amazing. We spent most of our time at the beach and swim-up bar pool area, where the live music and most of the action takes place during the day. It gets a little bit loud, but is alot of fun. The poolside waiters are fantastic, and if you tip them every so often, your service should be awesome. Our waiter for multiple days, Alfredo, was possibly the best server I've had in my entire life. You won't meet a nicer person or harder worker. For breakfast and lunch, Toscana buffet is AWESOME. Lunch by the pool is good too. For dinner, the best are Flavor Market, Spice, Agave. We had no complaints on this trip and will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Amazing Experience - 5 Star!!!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Food!!!! Drinks!!!! Luxury of Accommodations!! Staff!
Cons: Too much sea weed on the beach. But not sure what you can do about that. Also I would have the hot tubs actually "hot".
Location: Isla Mujeres - loved the little bar on Caribbean side with sign "beer so cold it makes your teeth hurt" had the best pinna colada of my life!!!!
Hotel was unbelievable! Was stunningly beautiful and full of special details. I have never seen such immaculately maintained lawns, pools and facilities. Everything was 5 star, including the comfortable couches, chairs, beach chairs, hammocks, etc. The food was wonderful and high quality. Nothing weird, but full of flavor. Even the Mexican buffet was incredible. The drinks were so good and available at every corner of the resort (as were the never ending pools!). The best part was the staff. They were genuinely kind and helpful. I felt like they were totally invested in making my vacation as comfortable and "pampering" as possible. Every part of the resort was beautiful and full of details, down to the beautiful way everything smelled in the buildings. The rooms were decked out and super up-scale and full of amenities. I loved having snacks and a full bar in the room to enjoy at any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, New Zealand

Everything you could want at an all-inclusive

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Incredible service, beautiful clean rooms, plenty of pools/loungers, lots of variety for dining and all really nice restaurants.
Cons: Perhaps mosquito repellant in the rooms as there were quite a few mozzies.
Location: We stayed at the resort most of the time, but we did do a day trip to Chichen Itza which was well worth it.
We had a wonderful holiday at Excellence Playa Mujeres. The room was beautiful, we had a swim up suite on the lazy river and I'm so glad we did. Being able to read on the day bed and then jump in to cool off was great, and it was a good option if you wanted to be close to your room instead of packing up and heading off to the main pool or beach. The restaurants were all lovely, the buffet breakfast and the omelet station we great. You don't have to book in to the restaurants so it's great to be able to chose on the night what you feel like. The beach was beautiful and the water lovely. There are plenty of options for pools and bars. The staff there really make the experience incredible. We met some of the nicest most pleasant staff we've ever encountered. Nothing was too much for them and they always made you feel welcome. We spent 5 nights at Excellence Playa Mujeres and we wish we could have stayed longer. There's not one thing we would have changed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

정말 최고입니다.

Posted May 2, 2015
마치 왕이 된거같은 느낌의 대우를 받았습니다. 지인이 물어보면 꼭 추천하고싶습니다. 직원 친철도나 위생상태 음식 전부 최고
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Perfect Honeymoon or ANYTIME Destination!!

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Everything was absolutely perfect, from the room, to the food, to the staff, to the nightlife and the spa!
Cons: We literally found NOTHING wrong with this resort, not that we were looking for it, but this was definitely the most amazing place we've ever been!!
Location: You don't need to leave the resort for any reason, everything you could ever want or need is right here no more than a phone call or a few steps away!
My wife and I extensively researched Excellence Playa Mujeres, and we were so unbelievably happy with out decision to stay here for our honeymoon. Absolutely EVERYTHING about this resort is perfect! The staff are so incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating to any request you might have. The grounds are impeccable! Everything is so clean and beautiful. The room was gorgeous, there was the most amazing shower we have ever used, and when we walked out onto the patio, the private pool was right there! Make sure you pay a little extra for the Excellence Club, it's so worth it, the concierges in there are so nice, Angel was such a nice guy as was Nelson, Grisel was very helpful when we had an issue with a taxi driver, you get a private check-in/check-out area and a lounge with a full bar where the always happy Sandra works, and always something to eat. At the pool there is a private concierge, Manuel, who is an absolute sweetheart and so helpful, and the nicest poolside bar girl, Gladys. We all became friends instantly. All the restaurants were amazing, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and room service was delicious and fast! The drinks are always perfect, not too strong, never weak, and always ice cold! The beach was GORGEOUS, the water was so clean and the perfect temperature. If you are wondering whether or not to go here, please don't even hesitate, don't look anywhere else, I guarantee you that you will NOT regret this amazing experience! We are definitely coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Perfect - Exotic - Wonderful

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Room, Food, Staff, the Beach, the Entertainment - Top Notch
Cons: Wifi access and speed on the Beach - Connectivity throughout the resort.
Location: We walked to a Marina adjacent to the Beachfront - We enjoyed. Las Islas Mujeres is a Ferry away.
What a great organization!!! Everything is top notch. The restaurant staff was phenomenal. We were so impressed with Fernando, Alfedo and Marcos at Toscana that we actually found their manager Marcel and let him know how incredible they made us feel. They were all Happy, Helpful with great senses of Humor. We felt like we were number one everytime we arrived. While everyone spoke English very fluently, at one point, when I had a food related question and we could not understand each other's description they found 4 people till the last person understood. They just went beyond. Also, Cheers to Luis on the Beach!!! He was always there with refreshments, always outstanding in his presentation, his nature and his service. Those are just the 5 names we remembered. Not a single interaction with any of the staff was questionable. This Hotel, it's staff, it's Management exemplify the word - EXCELLENCE!!! We cannot wait for their newest location to be finished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2015
General staff is great...excellence club is a joke. You call room service and to get fridge restocked, they may come. .they may not. If they do come they rarely bring what you asked for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Relaxing Getaway!

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Customer Service. Food. Amenities. Entertainment. Free Activities. Secluded.
Cons: The restroom in the rooms should offer more privacy. Wi-fi a little too slow. Spa is a little outdated.
Location: We didnt need to leave the resort! Jet Ski's offered right on the beach.
This all inclusive resort is beautiful! Customer service was excellent! Food was good. No reservations required! We enjoyed dinner at The Lobster House, Spice and Chez Isabelle! Barcelona was a disappointment. Beach was more beautiful than expected. The resort offered free activities throughout the day and the entertainment at night was awesome (we had a singer that was able to sing almost every song requested and we were amazed how well she sang them)! The cons to staying at Excellence: The open concept rest rooms in the rooms, not enough privacy. The Spa is a little outdated and needs a little spruce. Wifi wasn't very good. Not good if you want to party. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if you just want to relax and enjoy a nice vacation, which we did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Duncan, OK

Wonderful 20th Anniversary Vacation

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Cons: I think the beaches south of cancun are nicer and a lot of shopping and attractions are further south also but this resort has all you need.
Location: We left the resort twice on excursions and the only thing this did for us was reinforce how nice everything is within the resort.
I booked this trip based on the very high reviews on Expedia and we were not disappointed. The grounds are beautiful and rooms are extremely nice. We stayed in a suite with a roof top terrace and plunge pool. The view was great. The service from the time you arrive until you leave is second to none. I signed us up for the excellence club which I think really makes your overall experience even better. The food in all the restaurants was very good and we only waited once for about 10 minutes on a table. We enjoyed the spa on 2 occasions and the resort gave us breakfast in bed and a dinner on the beach on the day of our anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

MUY Excellante!!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Location: Located 30-35 mins from the Cancun Airport we booked private transportation. There are many excursions nearby! Next time we will visit Chichen Itza!
Warm fresh towels upon arrival with a glass of champagne set the standard for a terrific sister Adults Only getaway! My sister and I had a wonderful time! We never felt too crowded or that there weren't chairs around the pools or beach to lounge on. The staff were warm and friendly and provided us with anything we needed. There was nightly entertainment that we really enjoyed. The food was really good too! Chez Isabelle (french restaurant) was our favorite, although there was a 30 minute wait it was well worth it! Our room was very nice, located in building 3. A bit of a walk, other guests recommended requesting Building 7 next time! Overall, the trip was too short! But we will be back!