Ratings based on 2,874 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Love it!!!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed this resort to the fullest! It was very clean, staff was friendly and professional...we will return again. I recommend to all :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from virginia

Awesome vacation

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Room food bars staff everything
Cons: Maybe adding a frequent traveller program like the cruise lines
This is our 3rd visit -- we have wonderful experiences each time. The resort is beautiful the staff exceptional and the food/bars are amazing. We admire the resort for maintaining the highest standards yet being able to change or add services/amenities as they get feedback from guests such as adding Aromas coffee longue and the new sports bar. Everyone is so nice and strive to make your stay excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Excellence is the perfect name for this resort!

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: everything
Location: We never even leave the resort. Our purpose is to relax & get away from everyone and everything! If you're looking for a party, this isn't the place.
This was our 2nd visit to Excellence Playa Mujeres. We looked into visiting other resorts, but we've had such good experiences with this one we decided to stick with it, and we are so glad we did. I can't think of one single thing that could've made this trip any better! Excellent room, food, entertainment, beach, etc....and the service is absolutely impeccable with the nicest, most helpful, friendliest employees. We always feel guilty because they treat us so special. I can't recommend this resort enough! GO!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel!

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We had a wonderful time! There was so much to do and everyone was so friendly we never wanted to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Flower Mound, TX

Excellence is excellent!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Variety of food and drink selection, friendly staff, clean facilities and guest rooms
Cons: The air conditioning in our room could have been cooler. We requested a fan but were told they were all being used by other guests
We chose this hotel based on reviews we had read on Expedia and were very happy with our choice. We chose the Excellence Exclusive package and were pampered as expected. Our pool concierge ,Jose Rojas, in building 8 greeted us every morning with a smile and was eager to help with any request. The beach staff was always available and delivered drinks and snacks on a regular basis. Unlike other all inclusive resorts we have stayed at in the past there was a variety of premium drinks available. Beer selection included Corona, Corona Light, Budweiser, Bud Light and a few others as well. Bottled water was readily available at any time without requests from a server or room service. Food variety and quality was above par. The nightly shows were entertaining as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellence!

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The location is beautiful. The service is great. The atmosphere is very relaxing.
Cons: It was all great.
Location: We went swimming with the Whale Sharks and visited Isla Mujeres. The beach is long and beautiful.
The vacation was fabulous. The resort is beautiful and they cater to your every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Another great time!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This is our third time there and the staff at Excellence are amazing! The hotel is just as beautiful and clean as it was when it opened. This is the only place we will ever stay while in Cancun, the staff is so helpful and friendly, great food and drink, it's all about relaxation there. The only thing I would say is to travel in Decemeber, it was super humid and the mosquitos were everywhere, although each restaurant had bug spray to take care of that issue. Hands down my favorite place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

***** 5 star, amazing hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: all aside from the open bathroom
Cons: upgrade availability
great!! 5 star indeed. Please accommodate more than 2 people in a room and the ability to upgrade to club level
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings,NE

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful hotel, you can do as much or as little as you want. Staff friendly and helpful wonderful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful Stay! Small Problem with Swim up Room

Posted Jun 29, 2015
First, I will say that this hotel was fabulous! Great food, clean and comfortable rooms, and very friendly staff. The only problem we had was with our swim up room on the first floor. Because it was slow season, there were quite a few maintenance workers painting and repairing the rooms above ours. As a result, I would be out trying to read/relax on our back swim up patio, and there were falling rocks and paint chips! The workers were friendly, and it was somewhat comical the first day, but after day two of more ladders and maintenance workers walking by I decided to call the front desk. I will compliment the manager on duty at the time, as he did apologize and took care of it. However, I think if we ever went back, we would not invest the money for the the swim up room - as we ended up just going to the pool (because of the maintenance work) and were able to relax just fine there. So, if you are debating between the swim up or just the baseline rate room, there are plenty of spaces around the pool or beach during the slower season where you can relax - plus you can get a drink/food quicker from the bar than waiting for room service. Despite this small glitch, I would highly recommend this resort!