Ratings based on 2,426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

Honeymoon in paradise

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Our stay for our honeymoon was amazing! Beautiful setting, excellent food and impeccable service. Couldn't ask for anything more!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom harding

Great experience

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Célèbreing our 25 yr anniversary ... First time at excellence.., will be back next year,and next,etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel , very clean and very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Nice hotel , beach is full of algae but they cleaning whole day. Food is good but could be better for 5 star hotel. First day i was in suite swim out, and i did upgrade for exselense sweet swim out. They saying its a diffident menu for room service and private pools for excellence club guest only. Not true it's absolutely the same for every guest in the hotel. The only diffidence is a private beach for excellence club.The same beach divided on 2 parts and you not getting anything extra than regular beach. Waist of money. Hotel is very very clean. I would suggest them to spend little more money on entertainment, the show is very cheap and not worthed to spend time for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom spokane, wa

Great relaxing honeymoon destination!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Great place awesome staff! Felt completely spoiled and taken care of. They really go above and beyond! Only negative is that it is Far from the city if you want to go into the city expect to pay about $80 round trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Billings, MT

Great 35 Year Anniversary

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The staff. Raul and Dalel (sp?) (excellence club) the most. The rooms were perfect. Plenty to do -- or not. Grounds beautiful.
Cons: Very minimal, unimportant things. Our glassware from our room (dirty) was taken but not replaced. Fortunately they start out with quite a few.
Location: We only went off property once, and that was for the biking activity. It was fun, informative and great exercise.
Past reviews are real ... the staff really does make this place! Raul at the Excellence Club beach ... was the best. We want to adopt him and take him home. But, every staff member we met had an amazing attitude and smile. All willing to help. And how do they remember your names??! We upgraded to Excellence Club and think it was worth it. We were never wanting for anything, and if we were, we just mentioned it and it was taken care of. With a HUGE smile and "my pleasure". The food was some excellent, others -- just ok. Some things didn't have as much flavor as we expected (mostly Mexican food ... could it be we American's put too much salsa on everything?), but other foods had amazing blends of spices and flavors. There have been reviews saying portion sizes are small. Let me tell you, we were NEVER hungry the whole 7 days we were there! Some times we wish we were! With something open to order food from 24/7, it's your fault if you did not get enough. Shows were ok. Kind of reminded me of cruise entertainment. Speakers were a bit too loud on some shows. The Magician/Comedian was was VERY good, as was the Michael Jackson show. Another show had some crazy acrobatics going on. Weather was mixed during our trip. Not their fault. We actually had better weather than was forecast. Our romantic dinner on the beach was cancelled 3 times, and we ended up having it in a romantic corner of one of the restaurants. All good. Love this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Loved everything but the dress code

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, room, drinks, chairs/ beds, spa was amazing.
Cons: Heated pool, hold yoga and dance classes outside-who wants to do that inside?? Dress code for men is too strict. Gift shop should offer shipping.
Location: Bellini
First timers for an all inclusive, we are spoiled now. The hydro spa was a great experience and the couples massage on the beach was awesome. We would totally do that again. Food was good, Spice was the best but we aren't huge foodies. Champaign at arrival was nice and the staff when I cut my hand was attentive and thorough. The dress code i do respect. However, my husband who loves to dress well, was turned away from the Tapas restaurant because of his $80 silk blend shorted, collared shirt and closed toes shoes - only to see a lady walk out after her meal in frayed cutoffs, flip flops and a wife beater - literally! They need to bring some equity to the men's dress code, that was absolutely ridiculous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Amazing resort!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Exceeded our expectations! Food was amazing. Resort was gorgeous. And the staff was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Very secure and Isolated.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Lots of places to relax.
Cons: We had a group of people and it took longer to serve us at dinner. We able to reduce dinner time for larger groups.
Location: Stayed at the hotel. Too far to go into town.
Very nice hotel. Lots to drink and many varieties of restaurants to choose from. If you plan on leaving the resort to go into town it's about 30 minutes away and will be expensive by taxi. Best to stay at the resort for entertainment. The beach had a lot of seaweed wash up on shore that they swept up hourly. Not sure if it was the time of year (we went in November) or if it happens all the time. If you aren't a night owl then request a room away from the nightly entertainment. It is loud and you can hear it from your room. Overall it was nice and I'd recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tampa, fl

Nice hotel to celebrate our 10 days honeymoon.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
My overall experience at the excellence playa mujeres was great. The only down fall to the resort was the fact that their pools were not heated throughout the winter season and most of the attractions were at far proximity to the strip of Cancun. Otherwise, the staff service and room service was excellent. The restaurants experience were amazing except this one particular one named Barcelona. My husband and I both experienced the worst service, it took too long for the food service and the taste was not to our standard. I would recommend this resort to a friend however I would definitely reconsider another resort for my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nyc

The best hotel that I've ever experienced! EVER!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Where should I start? My fiancé and I were looking for a great couples vacation and decided on Excellence Playa Mujeres. It was the greatest decision EVER! The grounds are absolutely GORGEOUS, the views are picturesque and simply stunning from literally every angle. We booked a swim up suite, it had a very spacious walk out from our room with table and chairs and two lounge chairs. The lazy river outside the room was private and extremely relaxing with hammocks above the water. The room was very clean and almost brand new. The restaurants were vast and included Asian, Mexican, Italian, French, etc., delicious choices for every palate. The service was impeccable!!!!! Everyone was so friendly and would always acknowledge you and try their best to accommodate every need. The beach was beautiful and simply relaxing, the nightly shows were very enjoyable and fun, never a boring night. I can't say enough about Excellence Playa Mujeres, I recommend it to everyone who would love a great vacation. Cancun is simply stunning and Excellence did it justice. Everywhere I go, I will always compare it to Excellence Playa Mujeres!!!