Ratings based on 2,684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
The word Execellence was used for a reason. They continued to impress from staff to grounds. Every aspect of what a five start resort is, has been attened to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, not so great coffee

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Cons: The coffee place didn't open till 9:00, you could get it delivered to your room or at other places just not as good. Also, the food was just OK.
We had a great time on a girls weekend. The facilities are very nice. Staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Many pool areas, restaurants, rooms are very nice. The grounds are kept immaculate and the staff works hard at keeping it that way.
Cons: Bathrooms are a very open concept, would be nice to have a little more privacy
Location: We never left the resort...no reason to
The hotel has many areas depending on how you feel for the day. The lazy river is quieter and more relaxing than the swim up pool bar which has more of a party atmosphere. Then there are many areas in between, plus the beach. The best part was the service. Everyone works very hard to make your time the best. Every staff member was so friendly and would try to remember your name. They like to have fun and kid around with you which I like. Spice is an excellent Japaneese restaurant and the Martini bar was also very good. Breakfast buffett and the lunch buffett at Toscano were really good. We did the beach lunch hour also and had some great fish tacos. One of the best resorts we have been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roof Top Terrace Room

Posted Mar 21, 2015
The rooftop terrace room with private pool is awesome. Highly recommend this room to anyone. The staff took care of all our needs. Great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Columbus Ohio

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Excellence Playa Mujeres is one of the best Hotels we have experienced. From the staff, roof top room and food. Our stay was wonderful. The staff made us feel like we were the only guests. The restaurants were awesome and so many to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Beautiful hotel with great swimming pools.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The staff was very,very friendly.
Cons: The bathrooms in the rooms need privacy.
Location: Location is away from town. Once we entered the property we didn't go out. We had everything we needed there. The hotel does offer many excursions.
We had a fantastic time hanging out at 3different pools. Food and beverages were non-stop. We were always entertained or left alone if we chose to be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Remains the best adults only in Cancun

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: By far the best service we have experienced. The staff are most accommodating, attending to your every request.
Location: Right on one of the best beaches in Mexico.
This marks the second time my wife and I have spent a week in early March at the Excellence. While there have been several new hotels built nearby, this remains the best place for couples looking to completely unwind and be served hand and foot. No other resort we've been to attends to the details like the Excellence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Beautiful

Posted Mar 20, 2015
My husband and I just returned from our trip and we have been to numerous all inclusive resorts and this was wonderful. The grounds were stunning and always clean. The room was spacious and housekeeping was terrific. The bathroom does lack a bit of privacy but hey....your a couple right! The food was fabulous. The beach had plenty of loungers, the ones under a hut go guickly. There is a long stretch of beach that you can walk for a few miles... Seaweed was abundant but cleaned up in front of the resort....not that big of an issue for us. The staff were consistently friendly and helpful.....whatever you needed they accommodated. If your interested in golfing...go do it! We will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, OH

Would've given all 5 stars, but for one thing!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: The Excellence Club level has fantastic privileges!
Cons: They need a night club and they should ensure they have the rooms they sell instead of giving people who pay for Oceanfront, Ocean-view rooms.
Location: Selvatica is fantastic for zip-lining! Staff is fun, professional, and we had a blast!
We had an absolute fabulous time here! I highly recommend upgrading to the Excellence Club level: private beach, private lounge with top shelf liquor, snacks throughout the day, excellent concierge service. The problem: we booked an Excellence Club Jr. Suite OCEANFRONT room. The room we were given was on the second level over looking part of a lazy river. You could just see the water of the ocean through a small opening between the trees. This is OCEAN-VIEW, not OCEANFRONT. My husband was happy with the room itself, and didn't want to deal with moving. I just felt we should have gotten what we paid for. During some visits to the Executive Club Lounge, we overheard several other couples complaining about not getting the room they paid for, particularly, paying for Oceanfront and not getting it. So, clearly this is common practice. If we returned to an Excellence Resort, I would make sure to get what I paid for. Also, there is no night life other than the 9:30 one hour show, which is good, but the resort comes to a crawl when it's over. They need a night club.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los ANgeles

beautiful hotel , good for decompression.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: It is very clean. You get top service, the staff are extremely nice and polite, you have so many choices for food and they are all very good.
Cons: Everything is absolutely wonderful, the only thing that I would definitely would like to see different are the pillows. They are too flat .
Location: Since 2 yrs ago more water sports have been added. And you can book different tours from the hotel. It is a bit far from the downtown.
We had great time although it was too short. The beach was beautiful and the hotel management keeps it in excellent conditions. I noticed that they are constantly cleaning the beach chairs and ashtrays and organizing everything . There is never any lack of towels chairs drinks or food. You are really pampered and well served.