Ratings based on 2,865 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

***** 5 star, amazing hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: all aside from the open bathroom
Cons: upgrade availability
great!! 5 star indeed. Please accommodate more than 2 people in a room and the ability to upgrade to club level
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings,NE

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful hotel, you can do as much or as little as you want. Staff friendly and helpful wonderful experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Wonderful Stay! Small Problem with Swim up Room

Posted Jun 29, 2015
First, I will say that this hotel was fabulous! Great food, clean and comfortable rooms, and very friendly staff. The only problem we had was with our swim up room on the first floor. Because it was slow season, there were quite a few maintenance workers painting and repairing the rooms above ours. As a result, I would be out trying to read/relax on our back swim up patio, and there were falling rocks and paint chips! The workers were friendly, and it was somewhat comical the first day, but after day two of more ladders and maintenance workers walking by I decided to call the front desk. I will compliment the manager on duty at the time, as he did apologize and took care of it. However, I think if we ever went back, we would not invest the money for the the swim up room - as we ended up just going to the pool (because of the maintenance work) and were able to relax just fine there. So, if you are debating between the swim up or just the baseline rate room, there are plenty of spaces around the pool or beach during the slower season where you can relax - plus you can get a drink/food quicker from the bar than waiting for room service. Despite this small glitch, I would highly recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Couples paradise

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Loved that we were on the first floor and walked out the door to the lazy river. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was amazing.
Cons: The pools were a bit warm.
Location: You won't want to leave. The resort provides so much that you don't need to go anywhere else. We did take a Catamaran ride to Isla Mujeres that was fu
If you are wanting a romantic vacation this is the place. They cater to you and treat you like a star. The resort is beautiful, great beach, great entertainment. We met several couples that have been coming back 3 times or more. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Stop looking and just go!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The people; which made everything excellent
Cons: more pizza ovens but they were building another one as we left
Location: we just stayed at the resort but Isla Mujeres is very close. we had to leave a reason to return!
The best resort experience we have had. Excellente!! Grounds, Hotel, Pools, Bars, Beach, Excellence Club. These people care if you have a good vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Great place and the food was amazing Staff was so friendly and all our needs were met to the highest ability
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience!!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We had the most amazing time! The facility is amazing, the hotel staff goes above and beyond to make you feel at home, the food is incredible, and the room is unbelievable! I would go back in a second!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Excellent resort, beautiful grounds, pool like beachfront
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Great experience. The staff was amazing. Good food. Beautiful resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Everything you need to enjoy a wonderful vacation.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Cons: Would be nice if we had more time for archery. I was having fun, but with one target and so many people I barely got to try.
Location: We chose to go to mexico because there are a lot of historical sites nearby, so if you get tired of indulging in food and swimming, you could site see
This year was our second trip to an Excellence resort. The first visit was to the one in Riviera Maya, this time we went to Excellence Playa Mujeres near Cancun. The only real difference this time around was the beach seemed a lot nicer. Otherwise, prepare to get whatever your heart desires in terms of food and service. If you like alcohol, have as much of it as you would like, your room is fully stocked! My wife was pregnant this time around so we were quite content to wade around in the many pools or take a swim in the ocean. The quality of food in the restaurants is as much as you can expect (though only some of the desserts were truly exceptional). The staff is friendly and very accomadating. If I had any complaints it would be the occasional (maybe 2 occasions in 7 days) damp smell you would notice in a restaurant from a wet cloth being used too often. Also, I was really excited to try archery one day, but with only one target, it meant that everyone only got a few shots in for one hour. Maybe the activities could be expanded so for something like archery, we can spend the better part of the time shooting arrows. These are very minor complaints just for the sake of a review. I could not have asked for a better vacation and would gladly go back, especially for the price.