Ratings based on 2,808 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom albany ny

Hotel service was excellent and well as the layout

Posted May 26, 2015
We had an excellent time. Weather, hotel and service excellent. Food very good. Excellence club well worth the additional cost. Excellent lounge was great. Food people everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Amazing! I spent my honeymoon there!

Posted May 26, 2015
I have nothing to complain! My honey moon was amazing, everything was perfect and I really like everything in the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ney York.

Only one word. . EXCELLENT. . .

Posted May 26, 2015
Never returned twice in the same place, there is the fifth time. Just love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
We enjoyed every second we were there. The staff was incredible and took such good care of us. Excellence hotel is a must!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Very impressed

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Everything - service, pools, food, drinks, activities, staff, showers, beds.
Cons: They have it all worked out
Location: Great location. No need to even leave the resort but we did do whale sharks (tried - they didn't show up!) and Tulum/Caverns trip.
I have never taken the time to write a review before. I am doing this in appreciation of efforts of the staff at Excellence though - trying to repay them somehow. The staff there are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble -regardless of whether you tip or not; or even speak any of their language or not. They all appear happy to be there and happy to be of service. There are staff working in the background everywhere and there are also the ones out on display serving - all of them are fantastic and friendly. The resort is amazing. All the restaurants provided fabulous menus and top quality foood. The bars had unlimitied options and the room service and mini bar was beyond anything I had experienced before. Everything was immaculately maintained. We were there six nights and would have loved to stay longer. Thank you to everyone who made our holiday unforgettable. xx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible

Posted May 25, 2015
Absolute paradise, could barely fault it at all. Food is brilliant, the staff are all lovely, huge pool and lazy river but with the choice of the beach literally a stones throw away from you. Incredible place and difficult to think of somewhere that could match it in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Wow!

Posted May 25, 2015
Cons: Poolside and beachfront beds were seldom occupied, but always had an article or two on them. Staff should be more aware of this unsavory practice.
A first class experience from the moment we arrived, until we reluctantly had to leave. Friendly staff, always smiling, looking to help with anything and everything. Food in the restaurants was 'ok', not great. Seemed like it was catering to a more generic American palate instead of really packing the dishes full of the flavour they should have had. Highly recommend having breakfast in your room. Even better than the restaurant, and much more relaxing on the patio. Spa services were top notch. Gift shop had a great selection at good prices. Entertainment was just 'good'. The fire shows were fun, the Madonna show a little kitschy. Beach was perfect. Only negative I can print is that the poolside and beachfront beds were seldom occupied, but always had an article or two on them. I was at the pool for two hours near 5 beds, only one of which saw anybody in it during the entire two hours. Staff should be more aware of this, and remove articles from unused beds after 30 minutes max. Selfish people shouldn't be allowed to control key pieces like that. 5 out of 5 stars. We are recommending it to friends and family as a must go to destination. We will definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Great place, would highly recommend, great staff and facilities, food was good also
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Once again, a great experience.

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Service. Cleanliness. Fresh produce at the breakfast and lunch buffets.
Cons: 1. WiFi, 2. Early evening entertainment.
This is our sixth time at this resort, the third at the Excellence club. The facility is clean and well maintained. The grounds are pristine. Excellent service at all levels. Special mention to Eduardo and David at the Excellence Club pool. Overall, all staff was very responsive. The WiFi needs to improve. The early evening entertainment is not varied / contemporary enough for the predominately USA guests. Some restaurants are better than others: Chez Isabelle (Sea Bass was outstanding) and Spice (sushi) are the best. The rib eye was tough at Barcelona. And at Toscana, the Pesce Livornesa was not tender. The flavors were good, but it was not edible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south jersey

Perfect honeymoon !

Posted May 23, 2015
This place was amazing. Felt let a king and a queen from the second we walked in. The grounds of the resort, beach, pool, hallways, rooms and everything was spotless! I didn't see a single bug or piece of trashy anywhere. The restaurants were really good too. The buffet was opened for breakfast and lunch. A few restaurants were open for lunch, and all were open for dinner. Each night one closes so watch out for that. Nonetheless I'm pretty hard to place and the only thing my husband and I could find to complain about were that the large bases in the hallways weren't centerized (haha). I definitely recommend this place. We'll be back next year for our anniversary!