Ratings based on 2,316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Everything was incredible! One of the best vacations we have been on!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saint George, UT

Great, quiet get away!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This hotel did not disappoint in any ways. The grounds are beautiful, the beach is well maintained and beautiful as well. They have multiple restaurants for your choosing which all had great food to choose from. The staff is great and will accommodate your any need, and they always have a smile on their face. The pools are warm and are huge. You never have to worry about finding a lounge chair wether it be on the beach or around the pool. We loved our stay here and will be definitely be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Awesome resort!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: We totally enjoyed this hotel and all it had to offer. There was nothing lacking and if you could think of anything that was, they would get it for y
Cons: The only thing I wish was different was that men would be allowed to wear a nice pair of Bermuda shorts for dinner instead of long pants because of te
Location: The hotel is right on the beach. You've got the beach and very warm ocean water. Wonderful warm pools, golf course, nearby shopping and excursions.
This resort is truly first class from the accommodations to the food and activities, and the private location off of the hotel strip. But the best thing that made the experience truly wonderful was the people. I have only once before encountered people this friendly and going out of their way to make your experience (vacation) wonderful, they just couldn't do enough for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Gorgeous resort

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and customer service were beyond superior. The resort itself was gorgeous and not a thing out of place anywhere.
Cons: The food! Scale of 1-10 the food was a 4 at best. Room service food was literally inedible and the restaurant food was well below average.
The resort and staff were beyond top notch. The customer service from everyone we encountered was incredibly polite and professional, everything was answered with "my pleasure". The grounds were immaculate, the room was immaculate and incredibly well appointed and comfortable. The only complaint was the food, room service food was basically inedible and the restaurant food was well below average for a resort of this caliber. I wouldn't hesitate to go back based on the resort itself and the customer service but the quality of the food would probably keep me from ever going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Amazing!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Best All inclusive resort! We have been to many different Mexican resorts and this surpasses them all!! Highly recommend... We are already booking our next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from WI

Awesome oceanfront all-inclusive resort!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Amazing evening entertainment. Tons of food choices. Every meal/dessert we had was fantastic! Service was polite, energetic, and friendly.
Cons: There was a little bit of a musty smell in the rooms just because it was so humid that nothing could really ever dry out.
Location: Felt safe on the resort. Took a snorkeling excursion to Isla Mujeres. Free non-motorized water sports were available at the resort.
Very polite and thoughtful service from when we first arrived at the resort all the way to our departure. We were greeted with cold towels and a glass of wine. The scenery on the resort is breathtaking. We went with just the king sized bed suite which included large shower for two, jacuzzi, fridge, sofa, balcony overlooking the resort, and 24 hour room service. The food was absolutely amazing and some of the best I've had in my life. Our favorite restaurants were Flavor Market and Chez Isabelle for dinner and The Grill for lunch. Toscana was great for a buffet style breakfast inside and they would also make omelets, crepes, etc. for you as well. Definitely take advantage of the free non-motorized water sports offered at the resort. We went out on the catamaran several times and had a blast. Make sure to go to the beach first in the morning to get a good spot before going to breakfast as the huts/beds are taken up quickly. There was construction currently going on next to the resort. From our building (7 block) we couldn't hear any of the construction but some other couples in building 9 said it was a little obnoxious. A couple days a week they make special drinks out of coconuts and pineapple so make sure to get one! We went on the bike tour which was fun to do something active since most of the time we were lounging around the pool/ocean. We went in August when it was quite warm ~100*F but it was easy to stay cool under the huts or by taking a dip in the pool or ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Excellent kid-free getaway

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Food was great. Staff was accommodating. Wish we could have stayed longer. We'll definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Amazing place to stay!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
It was exactly as we had hoped. It was so relaxing. The beach was beautiful, the staff always accommodating and the resort was beautiful. The food was delicious and the drinks were fantastic. Nothing about this resort took us by surprise in a bad way. Only good surprises!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Second time

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Simply put --Everything!
Cons: A few more floats for the pool wouldn't hurt.
Location: We stay at the resort so I can't comment.
This was our second time staying here and love it. We find it very relaxing, great food, plenty of drinks, excellent pools and TOP NOTCH staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Excellent service, no ocean front view

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Staff and service are excellent. Excellence club upgrade makes you feel like a true VIP.
Cons: Don't sell ocean front rooms when the view is truly not ocean front.
The staff and service at the Excellence Playa Mujeres are top notch. Food at Toscana was excellent. Excellence club upgrade is worth the extra money. There are a couple of issues that keep this review from being a “5-Star.” First, we paid for an “ocean-front” suite, yet we could barely see the ocean from our balcony. (Room 8170 is not ocean front; needs to be listed as partial ocean view.) Second, the hotel tries to “upsell” guests at every opportunity; not appreciated at an all-inclusive. Every night at dinner we were presented with the wine list where bottles started at $65 USD. Also, events that are normally included at other all-inclusive hotels we’ve been to (such as tequila tastings or wine tastings), the hotel charges $25 per person. Also, snorkeling is not available off the beach. Overall, a great week and a hotel we would go back to.