Ratings based on 2,258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sa tx

We had a great time great food and the best staff.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
They welcome you with a big smile everything flows so smooth! Great experience I will just try to accommodate it to Hispanic culture and atmospher .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Tx

Luxury at its finest!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
This hotel was recommended by a friend and I'm so happy we made this our destination. The hotel is phenomenal. They pay attention to every single detail. The staff is top notch. Very kind and friendly. I do however have to give 2 thumbs down on the alcohol. They do not proved premium liquor which was a little disappointing. Also, the day/night entertainment was bit boring. They need to have more Latin/Carribbean entertainment. Overall, it was a superior experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Amazing Experience

Posted Jul 29, 2014
This vacation far exceeded our expectations. The room, staff, food, and service were impeccable. We requested building 7 or 8 prior to our arrival and our request was honored. Our only complaint was we didn't stay longer. The grounds, pool areas, bars, and restaurants are groomed around the clock, the staff works incredibly hard to ensure your stay is the best it can possibly be. Please tip well and tip often. I would recommend a frozen drink in place of one with ice alone as the ice melts really quickly. This resort has it all, whether you are looking to relax, party, or something in-between, the choice is yours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Moline, IL

Great Romantic Resort! Love love love........

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful! They all went above and beyond and made my wife's Birthday a very special day for her with a romantic touch.
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Our trip to Isla Mujeres was excellent. We also enjoyed the Swim with Whale Shark Tour once in a life time experience but beware of the sea sickness.
Booked this trip for my wife's birthday. After reading reviews we decided to upgrade our room to Excellence Club! Well worth the money. We were put in Room 8466 Two Story Rooftop Terrace with SPA Pool, I believe was the best room on the resort! Rooms 8464-8469 have spectacular views of the ocean. There is construction going up next door to the resort so if you are a light sleeper request not to be in building 9. This resort was the cleanest resort I have seen and I was super impressed by the attention to detail. The SPA is a must with the Hydro Message Package! The food was delish plus a great selection for room service. The entertainment was good, although we didn't attend all the resort had to offer, the Micheal Jackson show was AMAZING! Plus the resort has a nice dance club that runs from 11pm to 2am. The pools were very nice and clean! Grab a raft and float your stress away in one of the lazy river pools. The Concierges at the hotel were fabulous! There are a number of excursions that are available but we would recommend the New Discover Isla Mujeres. Best snorkeling near the island! Free time on the Island we rented a golf cart and drove around the entire island and some of our favorite memories are of the turtle farm, shell house, spiral island, Ix Chel and the breath taking beach views. As a last note we also booked transportation to and from the airport with Expedia / (Best Day MX) well worth it to book ahead of time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Worth, Tx

Anniversary getaway

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The hospitality was above reproach. In addition, the cleanliness of the resort was outstanding. Lastly the food was some of the best I've eaten.
Cons: Provide more covered areas on the beach for people to escape the direct sun.
Location: The resort was away form the city, you felt that you were nestled on a jungle beach. Take advantage of the tours, such as Chechen-Itza.
We were greeted at the doors with cold towels and champagne and that was just the beginning! Excellence Playa Mujeres represents 5-star service and hospitality. The staff always attended to your needs, wishes, and desires. We wanted for nothing. The food was truly 5-star, the drinks were outstanding, and the shows highlighted the evenings. We arrived early and had to wait for our rooms but Genesis (she was at the front desk) took care of us. We enjoyed lunch at a restaurant, had some drinks, and explored the facilities until our rooms was ready. Julianne, our maid provided us with a big smile and daily towel creations (swans, dolphins, etc). Wow what an artist! The bike tour by Yeni provided great insight on the local history. Lastly, we met couples from all around the world (Australia, Scotland, Ireland, Albania, and of course the USA). What an overall experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Excellent honeymoon getaway, 5 star adults only!!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!! I highly recommend this resort. Truly 5 star all the way. We plan to return on our 5 year anniversary.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: We did not leave the resort as there were so many activities to choose from on the grounds. Short transfer from the airport.
We booked the rooftop terrace room. Luckily we got an end room, so our "rooftop" was actually all on the same level. On our terrace we had a jetted pool with fountains, two beds, and a table and chairs. Everything about the room was excellent. The in-room minibar including top shelf liquor, beer, wine, soda, juice, and snacks were fully stocked on a daily basis. My husband wanted regular coffee (for some reason they kept giving us decaf) but with a phone call to the front desk, the staff arrived within just a few minutes with the item we requested. There was an ipod dock in the room that wasn't working properly - again, with a call to the front desk, a new radio was brought to our room. The grounds were immaculately maintained with staff walking around tending to the grounds regularly. There was so much to do right at the resort that we did not need to leave. We did not see a need to book the Excellence Club - we did not seem to miss out on anything that others had. The shows at night are entertaining and there are numerous restaurants to choose from. The food is absolutely excellent!! There was live music playing several times a day, so you could be in a louder area by the pool, or if you wanted quiet you could lay by the beach. There were canopied beds on the beach or cabanas to choose from. The staff was very responsive. I highly recommend using USA Transfers for a reasonable private transfer to and from the airport. Request Diego for your driver!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Great Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Loved everything about the resort except for the items listed below.
Cons: Major Item: Make the pools COLD (not warm bathwater). Minor Items: Better food quality and softer towels.
Location: The location is perfect for activities and only a bit from Isla Mujeres.
We had a great anniversary here at the Excellence and will definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from puyallup, wa

Super Romantic

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: How helpful everyone was
Cons: Nothing
Location: We went to the ruins, underground rivers, the Island, played with dolphins. There is not a shortage of things to do
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston,TX

only problem,stay wasnt long enough!!!!

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: The service is what we were impressed with at any part of the hotel.The staff there defintely cater to your needs.
Cons: At some if the restaurants,certain menu items were not available.Creating a menu of what is actually available would be a little more helpful
Location: great location,Isla Mujeres is close by and other excursions as well to venture out to.
We just visited here 2nd week of July 2014. All i can say this place is amazing. From the moment we got there,we were taken care of,and i did want to give a special thanks to Lourdes and Javier at the front desk for all their help with the non related hotel issue we had. The swim out room we had was nice,big shower area,big tub as well. The resort,beach,and grounds were very well maintained and cleaned no matter where you went,,from the bathrooms along the pool and beach area to walkways as well.The food was good and the service by the the waiters along the beach was great as well,we had Gaston,and he was defintely a waiter that took care of us. The bar guys as well were great too. Wish wec ould of stayed a little longer,but we will defintely be back again. Tip: When going to the beach or pool,plan to get a spot early,go put some towels down and a personal item,the covered lounge chairs get taken up by 930 in the morning,come 10 and youre out in the sun,which depending on what time of year you go,can be brutal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This place is beyond 5 star - loved it

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: People, location, the room all top notch
Cons: It was hard to adjust the AC to get comfortable in the room and a ceiling fan on the porch would have been great, but really no complaints.
Location: We had no need to leave the resort we did so much at the place.
This place was great - I already recommended it to several people! People were great rooms were the best I have ever been in.