Ratings based on 2,400 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

great place and people

Posted Oct 30, 2014
from the room service to service on the beach, its a great place. we got a bottle of champagne first night because we are a returning couple and one on the last night wishing us a safe and pleasant trip home. unbeatable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Fabulous Pools

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Everything is convenient.
Cons: The quality of the food could be better--overcooked steaks and undercooked hamburgers.
Location: The hotel has a private beach and activities on the ocean that are included in the hotel price, such as kayaking.
Our room had a pool view, and on the bottom floor, it walked out directly to a pool. I love that there is a party pool, a volleyball pool, a quiet lazy river pool, etc. So whether I was interested in a swim up bar, poolside activities, reading in a quiet environment, or just floating in the sun, there was always an opportunity to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014
We have stayed at this resort for since it first opened 8 years ago and have seen no reason t go any where else
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great honeymoon

Posted Oct 28, 2014
My new husband and I went to Excellence Playa Mujeres for our honeymoon. The grounds are gorgeous and clean, and you can tell they take a lot of pride in keeping the hotel nice. I will say the food was slightly disappointing, especially the room service. The quality of the room service food was noticeably lower than the food in the restaurants. The restaurants were ok, but I wasn't blown away. The service, however, was impeccable and every waiter we had was great. The shows at night were fun and the drinks kept coming all night. My favorite was the Martini bar. The bartender there Cesar was amazing and a lot of fun. We got the excellence package which I probably won't do again. We barely used the private pools and the upgraded alcohol just isn't worth that much more extra money. The lounges were always empty because everyone wanted to be in the action and having fun with other couples. I will suggest that everyone bring bug spray because we got eaten alive and the shop charges $20 for bug spray which is insane. Overall, I would come back, but I would also prefer a place with more culture and Mexican influence. The whole area felt like a tourist city and we barely got to experience any Mexican culture, food, or entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great All Inclusive...

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Been to 4 all inclusives in the Yucatan Peninsula, by far the best food ever!! Loved Toscana!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Euless, Tx

Great resort experience

Posted Oct 28, 2014
My wife and I had a great stay at excellence. We loved the food, the beach, and the pools. The only thing we have any complaints about is the bed. It was very hard. Not very comfortable. The pillows were flat and had little cushion. Everything else was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from attica, in

2nd trip to this resort

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Again the staff was Excellence... A great relaxing experience was what we had for a second trip. I didn't believe it could be as incredible as the 1st trip but the staff took great care of us. Excellence was a perfect description of the service we experienced. A great place to rekindle romance and reconnect with your lover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

If you're not happy here.....

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: More floats
Location: We never needed to leave!!!
...then you must be a miserable person. Incredible vacation! We had so much fun and everyone was so nice and catered to our every request whether expressed or assumed. Never thought all- inclusive could be this nice. The food was awesome from room service, breakfast, buffets, restaurants, all of it was great (maybe the French restaurant was an 8 out of 10). We're going back in March 2015 as well as October. we found our new favorite vacation spot! Cheers!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Rooftop Suite is a MUST!!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The staff!!! The hotel was clean and fabulous as well.
Cons: I really cant think of anything.
Location: We never left the resort, we didn't have to.
This place is amazing, the Staff is bar none the best I have ever seen or been around. The Staff is so courteous and outstanding. They all stand up to help folks out and and take care of you. They truly treat everyone like royalty. The best is beach volleyball and water volleyball. The drinks were all top shelf, along with the pizza by the pool from the brick oven. Thank you Excellence for making this an awesome trip!! We will be back. We were in 8405 non excellence, got a view of the ocean to the right and the concert hall right in front of us. It was semi private, private enough to lay out any way you want to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

Excellence... Indeed!!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The facilities surpassed all of our expectations. At a lot of resorts might not look exactly like the photos on their website - not the case at EPM.
Cons: A little more privacy in the bathroom would be great. Going from a partial glass door to a full size door would be an improvement.
Location: We woke up early one morning to catch the sunrise on the beach. It was a favorite moment of our trip. The sunrise was gorgeous!!
We loved every minute of our nine day honeymoon at EPM!!! We stayed from October 12-20 and had the most amazing experience here!! The staff was courteous and attentive and we felt so pampered everywhere we went. Standouts of the trip were: Dalel checked us in at the excellence club desk. She was helpful, informative and so efficient! Room placement: we were in building 8, with a swim up ocean view. We think it was the best pool in the resort! The EC concierges, waiters and staff at this pool were amazing. We had an easy walk to the beach and really appreciated the staff there as well. Especially Mayla, Cesar, Alexander, Carlos, Raul, Diego, Raquel, Miguel and Guillermo. Restaurants: we most often had breakfast and lunch at the Toscana buffet and really enjoyed the variety of foods offered there. Our favorite lunch was the paella demonstration on the beach at Las Olas. Definitely check this out!! It was the most amazing paella I've ever had - the seafood was so fresh!! Just delicious!! We tried five restaurants for our dinners : Chez Isabelle (3 times), Spice, Toscana, Flavor Market and Barcelona. The waiters we had at each place were wonderful - charming, funny and excellent at making you feel like you're the only ones there! We loved Chez Isabelle- especially Christian and Pedro. Together they made two of our last dinners at EPM very special.