Ratings based on 2,738 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
We had an amazing time - nicest staff you will ever meet!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Excellence is a great discription

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Private Beach and Private Pool at Club level, premium brands, no reservations at restaurants.
Stayed for 5 day getaway for my birthday. Incredible place. it is worth it to get a club level room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bridgewater, MA

Great all inclusive vacation

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The rooms were really spacious and relaxing. Rooms were close to the beach and very clean. The staff is really nice and always helpful.
Cons: It would be good if there were designated smoking areas and buildings.
Location: The location was 20 minutes from Cancun right on the beach. Daily walks on the beach are a must. Played tennis, went jet skiing and scuba dived.
Hotel, staff, beach, pools and food were great. We really enjoyed the place. The scuba diving was ok but the tennis instructor and clinics were awesome. Really enjoyed the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Exceptional hotel with friendly professional staff

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: We loved everything about this hotel this was our 5th time there. The staff can't do enough for you and remember you from year to year even your drink
Cons: The only thing I would suggest is to bring a Disco back and longer hours for the new coffee shop Aroma it closes to early at 5pm.
Location: EPM is a little out of the way but it is worth it for us if you want to go anywhere you can just take a taxi like we have. We actually love it.
We just got home from EPM and had a fantastic romantic vacation for 12 days. The staff are so friendly professional caring people they can't do enough for you. We stayed in building 8 Club Ocean front roof top suite with private pool on the roof and enjoyed it very much. We kept busy everyday doing the daily games they have afternoon pool side meeting new friends that we keep in touch with when we go home. We spent our evenings enjoying dinner at a different place each night. We had a romantic private dinner on the beach on a beautiful night that had a lovely breeze. We also were lucky enough to enjoy a romantic dinner on the roof top terrace at Chez Isabelle. The spa was fantastic we had a sweetish couples massage it was very special. On the Isle of Mujeres we rented a golf cart and toured the island on our own and would do it again for sure. We were on our own schedule and stopped for however long we wanted instead of a tour that would have to follow there guide. Excellence Playa Mujeres is the only place we have gone back to more than once and we have traveled the world this was our 5th time there. People ask us why do you keep going back to the same place? Why? Because when you get treated as kings and queens and the resort is top notch why not we love the resort and the staff? We have Never heard the word NO from a staff member at EPM it is not in there vocabulary. We are already looking to plan our next stay at EPM its such a beautiful romantic resort magic happens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Everything we hoped it would be.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, drinks, entertainment and grounds really were as advertised.
Cons: The horrible design of having a partial glass door in a open floor plan bathroom.
Location: Never left the resort because we didn't need to.
We spent 2 months looking for a hotel in Cancun and based on the TripAdvisor ratings we viewed we thought if we were going to try our first all inclusive trip this looked like the best bet for our price range. From the moment we arrived it really was everything we hoped it would be. The grounds are beautifully kept and the hotel staff couldn't have been nicer. We of course were skeptical of the all inclusive meals, but we were again pleasantly surprised and only really had one so so meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fort lauderdale, fl

The best hotel i have been to in a while!!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
From the food to the drinks to the incredible room and even better staff, our trip to the excellence cannot be topped. Our 4 days there was too short and we cannot wait to return there in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leeds (UK)

Great hotel - awesome food!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
This really is a 5* hotel all inclusive. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. We stayed for 10 nights in April 2015 for a relaxing holiday (it's probably not a party resort!) as a last relaxing holiday with my pregnant wife ahead o parenthood! The main attractions for me were: - spotless rooms - amazing food at every single one of the restaurants (a la carte rather than buffet, no reservations required) - friendly staff, no tipping pressure - room service included in all inclusive service - mini-bar which included everything you could imagine - premium bar drinks included - lovely beachfront location - no screaming kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Our favorite Mexican retreat!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
We have been to this hotel 2 times now, and it is our favorite place to stay! Look no further and book this hotel, you will love it! The resort itself has plenty to do - from dining, to drinking, to pools, beach, and entertainment, you don't even need to leave the hotel to have a fantastic vacation. We've been in December and April - both enjoyable and memorable. During the busy season, you'll have to be prepared to wait a bit at the restaurants and get up early to get your beach chair (but that's certainly not a deal-breaker, just a tip). The service was more on-point when the hotel wasn't so busy, but nothing that would detour us from going back. The beach was too rough and not swimmable in December, but in April the ocean was clear, calm and lovely. The food is hands down the best you'll get in Mexico, with a lot of variety and delicious options. They recently added a coffee and dessert bar, which was like an upgraded Starbucks for free!!! The rooms are big and luxurious, but the beds are nothing special - that's the only main upgrade we'd like to see for next time. Overall, we 100% suggest this resort and we will definitely be back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Louisiana

Perfect getaway

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Anniversary trip for 4 nights was exactly what we wanted it to be. Great hotel, food, drinks, and beach!! Very easy shuttle to the hotel using Great Day van. Will go again with friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale, FL

Like vacationing in a post card

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Resort was super clean and beautiful. Every picture we took looked like the background was photoshopped! The staff was genuinely friendly and accommodating. The resort is all inclusive but be sure to bring some small bills along because you will WANT to give them something extra. The staff doesn't expect it and you will get the same level of excellent service regardless. The security to get into and out of the resort was tight- 2 guard gates and security checkpoints each way. It never felt crowded. Although most of the covered cabanas and chairs will be reserved by 10am. It's not allowed but people do it anyway. The food was ok- probably a little below cruise ship level. But the Indian restaurant and the Lobster House was amazing. And the seafood options in any of the restaurants are always the best because it is local and fresh. Be sure to speak with Vilma at the concierge desk for any special requests.