Ratings based on 2,308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Second time

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Simply put --Everything!
Cons: A few more floats for the pool wouldn't hurt.
Location: We stay at the resort so I can't comment.
This was our second time staying here and love it. We find it very relaxing, great food, plenty of drinks, excellent pools and TOP NOTCH staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Excellent service, no ocean front view

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Staff and service are excellent. Excellence club upgrade makes you feel like a true VIP.
Cons: Don't sell ocean front rooms when the view is truly not ocean front.
The staff and service at the Excellence Playa Mujeres are top notch. Food at Toscana was excellent. Excellence club upgrade is worth the extra money. There are a couple of issues that keep this review from being a “5-Star.” First, we paid for an “ocean-front” suite, yet we could barely see the ocean from our balcony. (Room 8170 is not ocean front; needs to be listed as partial ocean view.) Second, the hotel tries to “upsell” guests at every opportunity; not appreciated at an all-inclusive. Every night at dinner we were presented with the wine list where bottles started at $65 USD. Also, events that are normally included at other all-inclusive hotels we’ve been to (such as tequila tastings or wine tastings), the hotel charges $25 per person. Also, snorkeling is not available off the beach. Overall, a great week and a hotel we would go back to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Amazing Resort, Amazing Food, Amazing Staff!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Restaurants, pools, beach activities, staff, and hotel room
Cons: The mattress/pillow comfort levels did not match the luxury of the rest of the hotel
Location: Did not leave resort, more than enough to do
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff was amazing. We walked into a luxurious room with breathtaking views of the resort, pool, and sunset. Room was stocked with goodies and bottles of alcohol, which was AWESOME. The bars and restaurants actually had a great variety and unlike other all-inclusive resorts we have been to were not limited to the bottom-shelf. The restaurants had excellent food choices, but the popular ones did require on-site, day-of reservations, which was fine. The best part of the resort were the pools, cabanas (FCFS), and activities, which meant you did not need to leave the resort. Overall excellent getaway for the wife and I, will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great hotel with a great staff and incredible accommodations. Could not have been happier!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: More shops.
Beautiful resort, great location, wonderful staff, very nice rooms, we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Napa, Ca

30th Anniversary Stay-Don't hesitate booking here!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: Giving times of Housekeeping for each building would be nice. We were in building 5 and the cleaning staff arrived daily when we were getting ready
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dearborn heights mi

Unbelievable !!!!!!!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Unbelievable!!! They make you feel like royalty. I can't wait to go back. This place is worth every single penny!!! Gladys at the beach was awesome. Everette at spice rest was awesome. Ismael at breakfast was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Fantastic week

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: See above - food, drinks, staff, swimming, activities, games, entertainment . . .
Cons: Needed to figure out how to turn off the ceiling fan. Too cold in the room at night.
Location: We stayed on the grounds, but friends did the whale shark trip and were very happy
The grounds and buildings are impeccably maintained. The staff is absolutely wonderful. We were greeted with "Welcome Home" and a cool cloth to freshen us, and mimosa drinks after the ride from the airport. The pools and lazy river are ready whenever and wherever you want a swim. Wonderful nightly entertainment preceded by live music and dancing. Always creative drinks steps away. Carlos makes a very nice espresso martini at the Martini Bar in the main building. Veronica will keep you happily moving. We ate and drank plenty, but only gained one pound due to Veronica's Latin Dance, Bike ride, swim aerobics, water volleyball, to list a few. No wonder she is in such good shape and always smiling. The food is great and very international. HobieCat is lots of fun. OK, from the first day, we were saying :we're coming back!!!"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Genuine Desire to Please

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! Most important - Employee's desire to please Entertainers: Veronica,Elias,Felipe, & Alejandro - Outstanding job! Unforgettable fun
Cons: Front desk didn't warn me there were two ferry's to Isla Mujeres, 30min ferry and 3hr ferry. We unfortunately bought tickets to the wrong one.
Location: Beautiful & lush. Free Sailboats!!! Isla Mujeres - Rent a golf cart, grab some beers and cruise around the island taking pictures, eating and shoppi
After months of research for my honeymoon, I came to the decision to go to the Cancun area, where I would get more for my money. I wanted it to be relaxing, easy, and straightforward on the pocketbook! What I ended up with was the most amazing vacation I have ever had and the strong desire to return with my family and friends. The Excellence hotel exceeded in every aspect of the trip; the rooms, the bars, the restaurants, the pools, the beach, the activities, and MOST IMPORTANTLY, every single employee's genuine desire to please you and make it a trip you will never forget. This hotel establishes its relationship with you from the first step of your arrival, throughout your entire trip, until the time you hop in your car to leave. Not one time during the entire trip did I feel as if the employees were annoyed by the guests, which I have felt at other resorts that costs far more. If you need something at Excellence, just ask and it is delivered immediately, from an employee exuding a smile and giving the happiest greeting. Price: Absolutely no "nickel and diming". Take $100 w/ u and leave w/ $100 in ur pocket. U will feel the desire to tip a few bucks many times throughout the days, so split that $100 up. Food: All 9 restaurants are delicious- Not your 5 star, $100/plate restaurant, but better than 4 stars Bars: Everywhere you turn, super friendly bartenders make anything desired. Entertainment: excellent from morning til late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great place with outstanding staff! Everything r

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Excellent!!!! Best place in Mexico. Unbelieveable