Ratings based on 1,903 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great hotel but overpriced breakfast

Posted Dec 12, 2014
I like the breakfast buffet but it was overpriced. USD 30 per person. And it was unexpected that the room didn't provide a water heater. I could not make baby food for our baby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, but far from Excellent

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Internet connection
Location: Pool and beach
FAGCB was the first hotel we stayed in Cancun in 2004. We loved it then, hence why we kept returning here every time we felt like going to Cancun. Although it never was too obvious, the quality of our stay was always a notch below the one from last time. This year was our fourth visit to the hotel and, if nothing changes, we may go elsewhere next time. If you read your books and newspapers using your tablet or laptop, then you won't be able to do it in the room. The line is unstable, the system falls and the IT management is not located in the hotel. On the third day of our stay, I had to tell the receptionist to come for himself to the 9th floor and check the signal if he doesn't beleive me. That did not help, the internet was back only 10 minutes before we checked out of the room. Don't go to the Buffet Restaurant more then once during your whole stay, unless you like to eat the same thing, over and over again. It's tasty, but it's boring. One thing that keeps FAGCB on the top (not the very top, though) is the service. Friendly, well trained (IT is the exception) and polite staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Dover Ma.

We stayed for a week in early December

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Stop the rain!
Location: Water activities abound
We stayed a week in early December & aside from one day of rain it was fabulous.Staff,facilities are top notch. Pick the breakfast buffet in a package-well worth it.Best hotel in Cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Luxury hotel and a very nice beach

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Impeccable service and facilities. Very nice location, with beautiful beach and calm water. Fantastic restaurants and spa. Only negative - being nickle-and-dimed with small annoying charges. $5 bottle of water (you can drink tap in Cancun hotel zone, but it tastes horrible). $3 for coffee, $2 for tea you make yourself in the in-room coffee-maker - really?! I think there is a charge for using the gym. Those little things are complementary in all luxury hotels and the little charges are negligible, but they just rubbed me the wrong way...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom East Coast, USA

Now We've Been There

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Location, beach, our room, great views no matter where you went. Free Wi-Fi, which surprised the you know what out of me. The pools, wow beautiful!
Cons: Would be nice to have an adults only area. If you like good wine, too bad. I enjoyed the margaritas though. Well, this is Mexico, not Italy.
Location: Very good location towards the north end of the hotel zone. You can walk to places. The beach is narrow, but somewhat sheltered and not too crowded.
Have wanted to stay at Fiesta American for several years, having walked past it many times in the past. It's really a beautiful place, but expensive. The lobby is large and elaborately decorated, with live flowers and open spaces everywhere. The restaurants are very good, and the service is top-notch everywhere, from the concierge to the pool staff. But the food is very expensive, so keep this in mind if you are at all budget conscious. The breakfast buffet was about $70 for two people (including the tip), and one time I dropped $100 on lunch. That said, we did not have any complaints about the food, and the waiters and waitresses were more than attentive. The nickels and dimes add up: $15 for 40 minutes on a cheap kayak, $10 if you feel like a gym workout, even about $3 to use the in-room coffee maker with the little paper filter things that are free everywhere in the U.S. C'mon man. But the quality is all there, five star hotel in my view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice hotel to stay for a beach and pools.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: The view from the ocean front rooms.
Cons: If they will provide a car services between the hotel and airport, it would be nicer. The 50 US dollar from airport to the hotel is too expensive.
Location: We went to downtown but we didn't like it. I went to Playa Del Carmen by bus which was very well serviced, but I loved Cancun more than Playa del Carm
I liked the concierge service at the hotel. The breakfast doesn't justify its price. $45 US dollars including tips away too expensive. I'd say that it's worth USD24, not more than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Nice hotel, close to beach and central location

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Hotel was great, breakfast included (yummy food). Kids eat free with every adult meal. Close to shopping and town, walking distance. Pools and beach are close to each other, easy access to go from pool and beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sao Paulo

Hotel tropical clássico

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Me senti muito bem dentro dele. Tudo muito bonito, todos os apartamentos com vista para o mar.
Cons: É um hotel caro, e todos os serviços são relativamente caros. Foi a primeira vez que fui a Cancun, talvez uma opção all inclusive valha mais a pena.
Location: Acho que é o hotel melhor localizado em Cancun, próximo ao agito e à ponta, mas sem perder a tranquilidade por conta disso.
Hotel muito bom, muito confortável, bonito, tem um estilo que me parece ser de hotel top dos anos 70, acho que é o hotel melhor localizado em Cancun. No saguão, toca música clássica o tempo inteiro, o que me agradou e combina com a arquitetura do local, mas não deve ser para todos os gostos. Um dos melhores hoteis de Cancun para quem não ligar em pagar relativamente caro pelo hotel e serviços. Talvez o número 1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana state

Clean

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, Kindness staff, Pool, private beach
Cons: nothing
Location: Chichen-iza, Tulum, Coba
When I ask to use printer, they accepted kindly and told me the way to the business center in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom philadelphia

Beautiful hotel with a couple of hiccups

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant and professional: Staff was attentive and the greeting at the front door by the bell staff was very impressive.
Cons: Coffee in the room was not complimentary. I was surprised by that. Breakfast Buffett was pricey. However, Location is excellent so we left for meals.
Location: Lots to do near the hotel: markets, mall and restaurants
Staff was attentive and the greeting at the front door by the bell staff was very impressive. Construction/ repairs was ongoing next to my room. I had to complain 3 times in order for them to offer to move me. To their credit, the move resulted in an upgraded view. Tip. Take small currency because getting Change in USD s very difficult in most establishments including this hotel. Change will be given in pesos.