Ratings based on 1,010 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Par from Macomb, MI

Quick check-in, room was available at 1230pm

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Issue we had was with the reservation with expedia. The hotel could not determine that we had purchased the all inclusive package. It took sometime and luckily had the paper work and receipt to prove it. The could open a bar at the second pool which would make it a much better hotel. Food was good at the buffet and excellent at the main restraunt, Albatros. Drinks were also best at Albatros.
4 out of 5
by Marian & Keith from Vancouver, BC

A last minute choice as another matter evaporated.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The location, and the staff!
Cons: Free WiFi.
A worthwhile experience, but we have nothing to compare it to, since it was our first. Some would say "about Time". A wonderful start to our 60th anniversary, (actual date in Oct.) The building seemed old, or maybe hurricane evidence, but the staff is outstanding ~ from the welcoming girls inside the front door, the registration desk (including finding us a rope to tie an airplane-damaged suitcase), the housekeepers, and the delightful buffet "boys", a great experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rip Off!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The food quality and beverage quality.
This is the first review I have ever written. I don't expect a lot from most hotels. The food at this hotel was absolutely unbearable. They did not get a room key to us for the first 2 days because they ran out. So each time we wanted to get back into the room we had to go to the front desk to have someone escort us. Do not stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Nice hotel in the Hotel Zone in Cancun

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very clean and it was easy to get around the hotel.
Cons: The rooms are very basic in their decor. They could use a few more pictures, an alarm clock and a in-room coffee maker.
Location: The hotel is directly across from the Flamingo Mall, Bubba Gump's, Outback and Margaritaville. Catching the Cancun shuttle bus is easy.
The Flamingo hotel is medium sized and has 2 nice pools. The beach area and chairs are very convenient and nice. We were greeted by friendly front desk staff and got into the room with no issues or delays. The hotel has 2 restaurants and 1 bar. We found the food at the pool bar to be average at best. We were not on the all-inclusive plan so we didn't sample much of the hotel food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Hotel room was clean and nice size. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is across the street from Margaritaville, Bubba Gump Shrimp and a souvenir mall. A 5minute bus ride or 15minute walk to the nightlife.
2 out of 5
by LucyLu

Id say this is a 2 star hotel!!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Food was repetitive drinks are watered down and no activities around the resort! Plus it needs some updating. The staff was ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bec from Brighton, UK

Right on the white sandy beach

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The amount of varied areas to sunbathe depending on whether you have children, a private couple, romantic hot tub, or socialise at the pool/bar areas
Cons: The gym - it only had 1 working bike ...and the dumbbell weights were all far too heavy
Location: Directly between the beach and the Flamingo Shopping Mall for souvenirs, as well as Bubba Gump for food out or Margaritaville for sports and drinks
What a pleasant surprise this smaller hotel along the Hotel-zone is, with super friendly staff, multiple pools and areas to sunbathe, right on the beach with perfect sand and sea colours. All inclusive option worked fantastically for us, plenty of food and drink options - as well as a top class restaurant with set menus too.
2 out of 5
by Kenny & Elise from Ohio

Please read this review!!!!!!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The location is the only good thing about this hotel. Again, it is not a resort.
Cons: Everything
Location: Restaurants and shopping.
So excited to go to Cancun to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. What a disappointment the Flamingo Cancun Resort is. This "resort" is nothing but a rundown, deceiving, boring cheap hotel. Toilet doesn't work, air doesn't work, doors drafty which lets hot air in. You can hear everything through doors and walls. All inclusive here doesn't include room service, fridge in room, or top shelf liquor. No entertainment of any sort. No music or dancing of any sort, if you want music by the pool, you must wear headphones. We are the type of people that read reviews and always give benefit of the doubt.. Please read every bad review and believe it. We will say most of the staff were very nice, food average, pool nice, and beach beautiful. Nothing else positive to say.
2 out of 5
by Bri from BC Canada

Downgraded with no compensation.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms were well kept, and most staff were quite friendly. Pools were location were nice.
Location: Great location with a mall across the street, beach was beautiful, bus stop close.
I called the hotel 3 times to see if they had adjoining rooms and if we would be able to get one as we needed two rooms with 3 kids, each time was told no problem. We paid for the deluxe rooms for the fridge and wi fi. When we got there, my husband and my room were several doors away from each other. They said we could have adjoining rooms if we downgraded and they would put a fridge in our room, I asked for the extra money and was told I had to sign a release to get them adjoining. It was changed to an ocean view, but still standard, figured with adjoining I could at least share a room with my husband so I agreed and signed release. Got to the room, it was side by side, not adjoining. There are adjoining rooms for club members. There was no coffee pot in the room, and you couldn't get coffee until 7 am. The staff were fairly friendly, the view was beautiful and the meals were good. The pools were nice for playing with the kids, but they close down early as well as the pool bar, the inside bar is challenging to get drinks for the kids. They did not want to give us pitchers of water for the room so we had to go buy water or go to the restaurant for a glass of water.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Xiomara from Northridge, CA

Nice beach

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The beach view
Cons: To be able to accommodate people that arrive before the check in time, specially early flights.
Location: Location was great about a ten minute bus ride to the clubs, across the street from the hotel good shopping area, bank and a good cheap restaurant
For the most part the stay was ok, but when we first arrive at 6:30 in the morning it was horrible. They had told us when we first book that our room would be ready for us when we got there, but it wasn't ready till almost 2pm. The morning staff was very rude about it and said that we just had to wait till check in time which was till 3pm, then the next shift just kept giving us the run around. The only thing that made it better was beach view, which I had requested but did not get. The hotel is very small and most of the staff was friendly, specially the night shift front office guy. He was always so helpful and friendly.