Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The view from the Jr. Suites has been ruined by a grove of palm trees. These were our favorite rooms on our last five visits, but now you can barely see the beach from the patio. We were extremely disappointed that we didn't have the view of the beach that we paid extra for.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi.

Excellent ocean/beach view.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The food wasn't all that great and staff speaks very little English, But they did try to assist as best they could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Sheila Thank you very much for submitting your review and we regret not fulfilling your expectations as that is not what we aim for. We can make it better next time so you can feel as good as other guests do. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The Ocean area, beach, the palapas
Cons: Some of the staff employees, when they are trying to get you to go to the presentation about vacation buying deal, their to pushy.
Location: Is in a good location
I did not like receiving a note from one of the employees saying that I need it to pay 240 dollars because he offer me a deal package in order for me to spend 90 minutes for a presentation. I was clearly with him about and he said I did not have to buy in order for me to get the activities, he just stop me from going to another hotel then he got mad, that's the only mal sabor de boca q me quedo about this hotel. Other than that small issue everuthyng was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments and will forward this review to Vacation Club, allow me to inform I will be glad to place notes in the system you do not wish to be invited to sales presentations by Vacation Club in future stays. Do not hesistate to contact me if you think of coming back to our resort. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Cancun Stay Honeymoon

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The location. The staff. The d├ęcor. It was all amazing.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: There is a lot to do in the location we stayed. Very tourist friendly
WE stayed here for 2 nights during our Honeymoon stay. It was an amazing place to stay. We had a blast and the hotel was very nice and the staff was very accommodating. We needed anything they were right there to help. The pool was very amazing and our suite we stayed in was on the first floor and had an ocean view with a lounge chair on the deck for us to sit in and enjoy the sounds of the beach. It was very romantic and I will definitely go back if we ever visit Cancun again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Michelle, What a wonderful review! We appreciate your comments and can not wait to have you back! Flamingo Cancun Resort your home. Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

NICE HOTEL, UNPLEASANT EMPLOYEES

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The food
Cons: Customer Service training for the employees
Location: The location is perfect
Nice hotel, excellent food and very clean room but some employees were very rude. We asked questions and nobody knew anything. The date we were leaving employee Monica called me to give me the wellcome gift and the wine that was supposed to be given on the first day of our arrival. The check out date they had no clue what to do. We asked what was going on and the two girls at the front desk just ignored us. We waited out there 30 minutes before they checked us out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Rocio Thank you very much for submitting your review and we regret not fulfilling your expectations as that is not what we aim for. I would like to take the opportunity and speak with to see if we can make it better next time so you can feel as good as other guests do. Best regards
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Rocio Thank you very much for submitting your review and we are truly sorry you felt this way as this is not what we aim for. We put ourselves at your service and we will be glad to contact you and see if there is anything we could do to help you come back and change your mind about our property, as we are not happy until you are. Sincerely, Flamingo Cancun Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Used to be a great experience

Posted Jul 16, 2014
My and the wife stayed at the Flamingo four years ago and it was magical. No magic this time. The staff were rude, the waiters only provided service to larger parties. We waited 12 minutes one night and finally got our drinks ourselves. If it weren't for the two waiters Mathias and Ricardo, who were awesome, I would have rated total zeros. The toilet wouldn't flush in the room and we called it in, but nada. I fixed it. The food is subpar at the buffet. However the food at the Albatross downstairs was great. At checkout they tried to charge us for a room change. After arguing the charge, it was a different person listed in the invite. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone until the staff has been trained or replaced. Sad that this once good hotel should now be avoided.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Jbaldie Thank you very much for submitting your review and we are truly sorry you felt this way as this is not what we aim for. WeI put ourselves at your service and we will be glad to contact you and see if there is anything we could do to help you come back and change your mind about our property, as we are not happy until you are. We will give your comments to Mathias and Ricardo. Sincerely, Flamingo Cancun Resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The beach is beautiful, the hotel does not provide free internet, there is not service in the beach if you are thinking drink and relax in the beach you have to go to the bar which is open since 12 am
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We are sorry we did not meet your expectations, as that is always our goal with every single guest that comes to our resort, The bar is close enough, and internet is included only in 6th floor. I would love to change your mind about our property. If you give us another chance Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

great view

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The location and beach access. The food was really good.
Cons: More updated decore.
The staff was great and treated us awesome. Hotel was a little dated and was being updated. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Great Ocean View

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The ocean view was absolutely beautiful. Room was nice, my only complaint is that I wish they had a mini fridge in the rooms for non-all-inclusive customers. Just so there was a place to keep drinks bought cool. Read previous ratings, made sure to stay away from the food.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Service and Unorganized management

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The view of the sixth floor temporary room was nice and the cleaning service was polite. I liked the shows they had at night and the beach was close
Cons: Customer service, Management, and maintenance
Location: The plaza caracol was about 2 miles away and the flamingo plaza and margaritaville was close but that is about it, there was not much to do.
we were promised rooms on the 6th floor beach front that were not given to us. One man kept telling us about the promotions that we didn't want and he was upset after we were not interested. We checked in at 12 and got our rooms until almost 5pm. They didn't have rooms available and when we got ours it smelled like cigarette residue. Everything was unorganized people everywhere waiting, rude staff, and the rooms were falling apart broken door locks.