Ratings based on 1,071 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to beach

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Excellent nice service, good food but should include some asian food too.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal, qc

Okay for a budget vacation

Posted Oct 16, 2014
I wasn't overly impressed with this hotel. In general, I did not find the staff to be very friendly...with the exception of Neftali who was our server at the restaurant. He was very engaging and helpful - if you do stay at this hotel, make sure to eat at the Albatross restaurant and say hello to him. The buffet restaurant was not very good, and we only at there once during our stay. Our hotel room was always very damp, as the air conditioning system cannot keep up with the daily heat and humidity. It was so damp in our room that the fuse on our TV blew out, and we needed to have it replaced. In addition, you would think that at an all-inclusive resort that the Internet would be free. Not the case here, it costs about $7 usd per day! On a positive note, the pool facilities were very nice, and we were upgraded to an ocean front room upon arrival. The beach area is well kept and staff sweep up the seaweed every morning. So, overall, I give this resort 3 out of 5 stars, as it is truly a middle-of-the-road type place. Don't expect high end like The Grand Oasis, but this is definitely not bottom-of-the-barrel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Nice for a budget

Posted Oct 15, 2014
I love the flamingo , second stay here!!!!The hotel is not terribly fancy but it is great for the budget, the food offered for all inclusive at the restaurants is good, the place is very authentic to mexican culture , i have always gone during the offseason , so it's not too crowded which I love, the deluxe junior suite is very nice
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Cheap "motel" experience!!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: nothing
We came here to celebrate our second anniversary and it was totally disappointing. The room smelled like mildew. There were spots all over the bathroom mirrors. The hotel has a big charge for beach towels if you forget to return them. SERIOUSLY?! Nobody wants to worry about a $30USD per towel charge when on vacation. One of the employees offered a free breakfast to us when we were walking up to the restaurant, this ended up turning into a timeshare-like scam! Took up about 2 hours of our time. The beachside resturant had bugs on the table crawling up to the plates. It was so disgusting. The entire time I wanted to cry, I can't believe Expedia would do business with a hotel like this. Total waste of money. We ended up paying for a day pass at a MUCH better resort that was clean and polite to their guests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach area

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Hotel staff was not very friendly and everyone shouldnt expect a tip for lousy service
Location: Directly across from the mall which we were told didnt open until !0am. When 10 am arrived we were told we still had to wait to enter because they was
The hotel is old and moist. Floor and walls felt wet constantly. The staff did not go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Mostly natives were staying there. Breakfast horrible as well as the dinner. We eventually stayed at the beach palace resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: It is a shame that you did not enjoyed your stay as other guest do. Hope to change your mind and wait for you again. We´ll do our best
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Kid friendly hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
If your honeymooning I wouldn't recommend it, great staff very clean hotel, great food, awesome bars but they close the pool to early and tons of kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Hotel overall is nice, but the stuff is very friendly helpful and smiling faces (especially Elie)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Estimated Salah: We appreciate very much your review. Why not 5 stars?? :-( Hope you spread the word to all your friends and family and return home to Flamingo Cancun. Look forward to hear from you Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but outdated hotel.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The location is great and the rooms are very clean.
Cons: More than one person at the Check-in desk at times. Updating the photos on the web. A new Chef.
Location: the location is great. it's close to the beach, shopping, restaurants and, if you walk a little further, discos.
Just checking in was not very nice; one of the rooms I had booked a month in advance, 'was not available', so I had to be put in a different one and moved to another one the next day. then, the view on the second room, was a busy street and a bank, instead of the great views advertised in the website. The most disappointing thing about the hotel was the food. If you expect the great Mexican food to be served here, forget it! We had to go out and eat at places some of the staff recommended to try real Mexican dishes. There is WiFi in the rooms, ONLY if you pay for it. Well, you have to pay for one code for each day you want the service. I paid for seven days, and could not use it two of those days, because they gave me the wrong codes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear guest: What I shame a few details make your stay not what you expected for. One of our main goals is that all of our guest enjoy Flamingo Cancun Resort. Look forward to hear back from you. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice hotel, close to beach good food

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Had a great time, staff very nice Would return, we were celebrating our 25th anniversary the only thing we never got our champagne bottle like we were told we were there 6 days and asked almost every day but never got it other than that my husband and I had a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Gerencia, Hotel Management
Dear Olga: Thank you so much for your review. Congratulations¡¡ It is really a shame that this incident change your point of view of Flamingo Cancun Resort. Hope you can give us another chance to change your point of view. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Average hotel experience, nothing to exciting.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: If you pay peanuts, you are bound to get monkeys. Technically meaning, this was okay for the price we paid. Overall, eh.
Cons: Our top three possible improvisions: 1. Internet fees 2. The food in general 3.The flexibility of the curfew
Location: Located in between a chain of other hotels, you can visit the small mall acrosss the street, but for any "real" activities, there aren't many.
Hotel was pretty average, with a few errors. For one, the internet was not free, but instead very costly. Secondly, there was minimum security in the hotel room. And lastly, after ten pm, there was no areas open in the hotel, so not recommended for night-owls. Otherwise, the food was okay, nothing too exciting. Same as the other activities provided by the hotel. Overall, a somewhat bland experience, with our personal rating of (at the most) three star hotel.