Ratings based on 490 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor, ontario

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Everything was good, only I found the pool side staff were not servicing the people well. I prefer the beach, did not sit around the pool much. So in order for my family and I to get a drink, we would have to get it ourselves. We found that the staff next door, which is a hotel you could also use, the staff were consistently serving people on the beach. So we hung out next door for the remainder of our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Nice hotel. Loved the fact that you could use the sister hotel next door as well. The beach was very nice and clean. Staff were friendly and did a great job. Great vacation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from New York, NY

Overall, Quite Nice

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The property itself is in very good condition, and the staff was generally quite attentive and courteous.
Cons: The TV selections were quite limited, and the staff around the pool was nice but not very attentive.
We had a very pleasant week. Having two properties right next to each other is very nice because it significantly expands options for activities and dining. The resort is very nice but not necessarily special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Above the average not the best!!!! There are many hotels around that will provide better conditions for the same price!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by crowman from grand rapids, mi

Good resort for the price.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Good food. Small bedroom with small beds. No patio or balcony. Friendly staff especially poolside. Beautiful beach. Good evening entertainment. For the price, this is a great place to stay. We have been to higher rated resorts that offer more but cost substantially more.
2 out of 5
by Tom from WA

Ok if you your usual stay is Motel 6

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: another hotel
Beach is beautiful, hotel just OK. Food ok if your usual diner in McDonalds. Nothing special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ramsey (couple) from Ohio

Fantastic hotel that is right on the beach!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Seriously--Everything, but food and staff were top notch!
Cons: I noticed they were painting, while we were there. Keep up the maintenance, let the staff know they are excellent and treat them well-Just keep it up!
Location: The hotel is very close to the airport and only a short bus ride away from the popular shopping and restaurant venues.
We stayed at the GR Caribe from 4-9-14 through 4-14-14 and had a wonderful time. THE BEACH-The hotel has a wonderful strip of beach (beautiful) and provides plenty of shaded areas on the beach to relax.THE FOOD-The food at all three of its restaurants is delicious, one is breakfast only, one is beach casual, the other has a dress code, but all three offer **delicious** food and variety, as well friendly service.THE Accommodations-THE ROOM was very clean and comfortable-Bed was not as soft as we prefer, but comfortable enough to rest. The bathroom and shower was the best. The only disappointment was there was no walk-out area, but the views with seating on the 7th floor made up for it.THE STAFF-All of the staff, and I do mean all, were very friendly and helpful. They truly made you feel like a welcomed guest! TO DO-Keep in mind that we are not party goers, so we like quiet, relaxed environments. The environment was quiet and relaxed at night, but you do have access to the Royal next door that provides additional entertainment options. Also, Cancun itself, offers plenty to do. We did think they shut down the pool and hot tub area pretty early (8 or 9), but by that time, we were ready to go eat or do something else for the evening. GR Caribe has it all, a great beach, great staff, great food, and great accommodations! They found the secret, and have got a good thing going, I hope they keep it up, as we do plan to return one day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location, wonderful grounds, sketchy food

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Rooms, great service by the special few staff, proximity to airport, beautiful beach and grounds
Cons: Don't like towel coupons but I'll bet it prevents the infamous resort "chair holding" practice Food was not good - all bland; no Mexican
Location: Close to Cancun; close to airport; did not leave property
Property - very attractive Morrocan style with comfy guest rooms and well appointed bathrooms, rooms could use deep clean to maintain the many grout lines but that is to ne expected, great A/C, ceiling fans, nice TVs and channel section Staff - the great ones were a 5 stars, the average were a 3 star - all in all solid service (special shout out to Virgilio, Gaby, Diego, and David - with others whose names I can't recall) Food - breakfast 4 stars, all other meals 2.5-3 stars (refried beans at Solaris buffet were the best thing I have ever eaten in my life) Pool & Beach - 4.5 stars except there were red flags each day we visited, need more up-tempo music at the pool at Royal Solaris Liquor - house red was good tempranillo, the white (Airen) was not so great; no top shelf available :(, drinks watered down at pool (smartly, saw a few drunk folks carried out of pool on weekend)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the beach was very close.
Cons: The hotel needs a remodel and update. The noisy work needs to be done during the day and not while people are trying to sleep.
Location: The taxi drivers charged $14-26 dollars for the same trip
Room 2262 had to be the noisiest room in the hotel. Workers constantly rolling carts up and down the ramp all night long. The floors were power washed at midnight. Sleep was almost impossible for our entire stay. The sand on the beach desperately needed to be cleaned of trash and cigarette butts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from Canada

Nice beach side resort

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Location: Only other resorts near by, have to take bus to mall, clubs, etc.
Bought the all inclusive package. STAFF: really friendly and always in a good mood ROOM (for 3): quite spacious and clean, had a safe in the closet BATHROOM: very nice and spacious, had two sinks and stand up shower (no tub) ROOM SERVICE: efficient and food was pretty good for it being free (included in all inclusive package) AMENITIES: Had large swimming pool and 2 hot tubs, nachos shack (with bar included, that made strong drinks!) by the pool was amaaazing. Can go over to sister resort next door (3 min walk) for more pools and theatre, gift shop, more restaurants, etc (using their services was also free of charge). OVERALL: the resort was smaller than most but had really pretty architect and felt more cosy. The other patrons there were mostly families and elderly couples, whereas the sister resort next door had a younger and louder crowd. Really enjoyed my stay here :)