Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

No balconies!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff, pool service. Excellent Beach
Cons: The hard beds. Room was dark and felt like I was in prison. Food was just ok.
Rooms old, beds very uncomfortable! I felt as if I were in a prison. Unable to open windows in my room because there were no screens and no balconies. Housekeeping was hot and cold. One day our room would be cleaned, toiletries refilled, then on other days it would be neglected even with a tip. One day they took our comforter and never returned it throughout the visit. Food was just ok. Marco at the front desk was outstanding! The bartenders at the bar were friendly and fun. Make sure you get down by the pool before 5am to save a chair with your towel. I will go to Cancun again, but I will stay at the Solaris down the road for better food and rooms were all newer with balconies.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Mixed feelings...

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The beach was very close to our room. Housekeeping kept our room sand-free.
Cons: The food. Oh boy, the food. Please improve the food. Also, less aggressive staff doing the membership presentation.
Location: South end of the hotel strip. The beach is very nice. Hotel center is about 15-20 minutes by bus (only $1 each way)
My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon trip, our first time in Cancun and first time at an all-inclusive resort. I liked the size of the place, the housekeeping was great, good beach. The food was hit or miss, I thought we'd be able to enjoy good Mexican food.. instead they kept making different "fancy" European food that didn't taste that great. The mixed drinks were pretty good, the bar staff was fantastic, very fastidious in asking whether you wanted a drink or a refill by the pool or beach. The main negative would be how crowded it felt, the pool at the hotel felt too small for all the people there. We also had a bad experience with the hotel Membership presentation. Apparently they do it for all the couples/families; they spend 1-2 hours showing you their 3 hotels and telling you about their membership benefits for a big annual fee (similar to a Timeshare sales pitch). Towards the end of the presentation, one of the managers got aggressive towards us because we kept saying no to their offer and we had to walk out of the place. Thankfully the rest of our vacation was super enjoyable. We enjoyed Cancun for what it was, but probably wouldn't stay at this particular hotel again due to the small size, food, and crowded feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas texas

The hotel was awesome!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Amazing experience. I definitely will be coming back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom spokane wa

Great staff, not so great food

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Everything about our stay was great, except for the food. For the amount of money that we spent the food was less than desirable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We had a great time at this resort. The room,food, waiters,swimming pool and hot tubs and hotel grounds were great. We will be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

The resort is not a 4 star resort.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The wait staff are professional, engaging and work very hard for the guest!
Cons: Communication, room presentation the rooms are dark and smell moldy, I could hear my neighbors conversations.
Location: Beach location is beautiful and extremely accessible.
The resort does not merit the rating given as 4 star, with the exception of the wait staff at all the resturants they were exception! The resort practices segregation in many of the amenities offered to it's members, which is wonderful if you happen to be one. If you are a non-member you are not given the quality, liquor, resturant reservations are not accepted for non- members for the fine dining meaning if we are slow they will seat you if they are busy you are turned away as non-member. The GR Caribe Deluxe cannot accommodation the number of guests on a Friday, Saturday or Sunday when the hotel is fully booked in any of the dining options within their resort, you must search for dining options at their sister resort. Our reservation was for King Beds, 3 rooms in writing on our confirmation, upon check in we were told those rooms where taken by other guests, yes you guessed it members! I appreciate that members pay for their level of amenities, I don't appreciate a resort that does not make you aware prior to booking that your amenities as a non member are not presented factually and are in fact reduced as a non-member, here is the catch after our 6 day stay I would not accept a membership if it was free, I will not book again. The rooms have mold issue, they smell, they need updated. There are very limited (less than 1/4 of the resort) rooms with Balaconies or beach views, non were available to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach, food was good.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location!!
Cons: More American food. A lot of the food was foreign to us.
Beach was wonderful, food was okay. The hotel staff was wonderful and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wausau, WI

second visit to this elegant resort

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Rooms are spacious and comfortable, and if you get a balcony (request one), it's wonderful. The staff is attentive, and food selection is broad.
Location: Walk south to Punta Nizuc to greet the iguanas, go north to pretty Playa Delfines, or take the bus downtown, to Coral Negro or Mercado 28 to shop! $1
Clearly a return trip means we are fans...As before, we found the Caribe to be sophisticated and elegant, from the decor to the food. There are two more formal restaurants, Bogavante and Veneto, for fans of understated gourmet foods in small portions (which comes with gourmet territory). There is food for everyone, though. Choose your breakfast or a personalized omelet at the cafe. For lunch fun, burgers, nachos and more are found at poolside (or order service on the beach). You get full run of the Royal Solaris next door if a party atmosphere is more up your alley. Foodwise, that means personal pizzas baked on hot stones. The restaurant Fuentes (at the Royal) has something for everyone, but their fish is especially tender and perfect. Walk the full circuit before selecting foods! The theme changes nightly, but the selection is endless. And trust me, the hot sauce table includes liquid fire...The service everywhere is excellent! A particular shout-out to friendly and attentive Uber Aron at Fuentes, Charly and the bartending staff at the Caribe pool (who indulged my taste for Mayan Roses and lemon margaritas), and lovely Veronica, the perfect cocktail waitress during the nightly music at the Caribe. This hotel is spotless, and one of few that regularly grooms their beach (I watched the beach Zamboni many mornings before sunrise :-) You can be happy choosing a hotel that is run by a Mexican company and benefitting people of the host country.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Holly Springs, Ms

Overall our stay was fair.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Swimming pool.
Cons: food service/ bar service an updated rooms
Location: Had to travel several miles away for anything to do except swimming.
Over all the motel was fair .We feel the food was not great an not a good choice. The two outside bars ran out of beer several times a day with 45 minutes delays. We feel this should not happen this many times a day. They would only put a small beer keg each time they ran out. We book a king bed for our room. When we check in they only had regular beds in our room. The bathroom deep tub which was very hard to get in an out of. We take a trip with around 13 people every year. This motel rates at bottom of list compare to others we have taken. Thanks Terry Byrd
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maryland

Very pretty and clean resort, food could be better

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and the staff was very friendly.
Cons: food
Location: Good location, easy axcess to the bus and shuttles
We had great weather and a good experience with the hotel staff but wished the food was better. All the restaurants had fancy menus that you couldn't understand and the portions were very small. We wanted some real mexican food and American food but found the burgers and chicken were not very good quality. Also, it seemed like the time share holders (people with the gold bands) had better food choices than the non-gold members.