Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach but needs improvement

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: My favorite restaurant was Bogavante because you get a nice view of the beach. There were 2 jacuzzis with a wonderful view of the ocean.
Cons: Staff should learn more English to better communicate with guests and tourists and should be less rude. There were not active and helpful.
I had a mediocre experience. I had problems with the staff because we had booked 2 rooms and we wanted our rooms to be close to each other. That did NOT happen. Also, the next day when we requested a room change, the receptionist changed our room from 2 queen beds to one king bed without letting us know. Other than that, the restaurants are good although the portions are very small. Dress code (slacks, no shorts, dresses) is required at restaurants like Marco Pollo and Veneto. Buffet was decent, needs more seafood choices. I like the location of the hotel, right on the beach, with a balcony that overlooks the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Great experience.

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Great service, rooms, beach, pool. All you can eat a la carte is definitely better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Very Good Value for the Price!!

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was always courteous. The food was great! Our room was very clean!
Cons: Please provide free wi-fi or lower the price.
Location: Everything is close by. Bus rides are only $1.00. Close to shopping, and some attractions.
This was our third time in Cancun. With so many resorts, it is really hard to choose. We try to stay at a different resort every time to compare and I must say GR Caribe was great! One of the reasons why we choose GR Caribe was the reviews. I was puzzled when some people rated the food "ok." I guess despite the fact I see myself as well versed in dining experiences, I have a lot to learn. The sit-down restaurants all were good. We had a great experience at Bogavante! Our server Ricardo was attentive and fast. We had dinner there twice because we loved the menu s much! Our last night we had dinner at Marco Polo. Henry, our server was top notch. The menu offerings was very good. I love fish, so I had fish every night!. The drinks were great, very well made. The staff was courteous and attentive. The staff at the Lobby bar was outstanding. Our room had an ocean view, and was super clean. My only issues with the hotel was that they charge $16 per day for Wi-Fi. Also, since this is partially a time share resort, we were asked repeatedly to attend their presentation. We just politely declined. I guess nothing is perfect. But I have no complaints whatsoever about the staff, the food, or the facilities. I would come back to GR Caribe if I the price is right like this time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Cons: our room was on the first floor two doors down from the breakfast area and it got real loud b/c of the echoing of breakfast eaters glass doors needed
overall experience was good, friendly staff, clean rooms, close to airport and not far from shopping centers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ellicott City, MD

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Good. Very polite staff except in the buffet. Need to be clear that the windows are so small in the room that ocean view or ocean front does not matter. We were not told about this
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El paso, Texas

Overall great hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2015
The hotel staff is great! Always making sure you are comfortable, the beach is amazing. The food wasn't that great, although, the room service was really good. We used it to save up time and head out to our activities quick. The rooms are always kept clean. Although, the wifi rates are insane. $16 dollars a day?! But anyway, I loved that you could use the amenaties of royal Solaris, it made our staying much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh,nc

Perfect getaway

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Welcoming hotel right on the beach. Wonderful views, great staff, great food. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by Hoteles Solaris de Mexico, Hotel Management
Dear Melinda: We are so happy to read that you enjoy your stay with us, and that was a perfect getaway. We are looking forward to see you soon in your home away from home Thank you so much for sharing your comments. Kind regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice Hotel and staff

Posted May 31, 2015
This hotel is on the beach and staff is excellent. Only drawback is that this hotel does't have much facilities. Only savior was that it was allowed to use facilities of sister hotel Royal Solaris which was adjacent else it would have been terrible stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointing Hotel/Stay

Posted May 29, 2015
Stayed at the hotel for 5 days. Upon our check in, the concierge was introducing the hotel and asked if we talked to the people at the airport, re: timeshare purchase. She mentioned that it was a scam over there and immediately she started selling their timeshare, convincing us to join her for the breakfast next morning and telling us that we will get a free internet for our stay (otherwise you have to pay for the internet per day, per device, no free internet anywhere in the hotel). That was really annoying. Rooms are not clean, the sheets are old, worn out, pillows are not comfortable, towels old, not clean (in the room or the beach towels). Breakfast was so so, nothing special or good about it. Most of the staff does not understand English. I ordered once scrambled eggs, the cook decided that I want a sunny side up. The hostess in the breakfast area was not welcoming at all. The pool area was small, and on top of that they were grilling hamburgers in the snack bar, and the whole area would stink from the grill. The only snacks you could get were by the pool and that did not include any fruits. The only time I could get some fruits was either during a breakfast or I had to go to the next door hotel, which was a part of this chain. The plates, utensils, and cups were dirty. Dinners were not good as well (I was served a burned steak once). No entertainment whatsoever. In the evening there was nothing to do, if you were at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Nice hotel... Could be better

Posted May 26, 2015
Hotel is nice, the beaches are rough, food is mediocre, drinks are watered down, we had a double bed and it was small (like a twin) and hard. Other than that we had a great experience. They tried to get us into purchasing a membership, talked them down to $4,000, but I'm glad we didn't because the sister hotel royal Solaris is trash.