Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Convenient to airport, great beach!

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: We liked the size very much....not a mega place...just perfect for us. It was beautiful in appearance, & we loved the layout.
Location: Didn't leave the resort just because we were so content! There WERE advertised events nearby, but we were very happy staying put.
This is our first time in the Hotel Zone (usually head south to playa del carmen & beyond), & it was perfect! I was hesitant because of possibly being noisy & too crowded, & I was dead wrong. Beautiful white beach, access to the Solaris next door as well, GREAT room (upgraded due to no king on our day of arrival) our 2nd & 3rd night, usual food (we're not too picky....it was all good to us!) & loved the size of the resort. The waves were AWESOME! There was a good amount of seaweed, but that was ok with us. The water was spectacular!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Posted May 18, 2015
Didn't get what was promised to me. The consierge is not a consierge for you. Not all restaurants were open every day. WiFi is not free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted May 15, 2015
This was my 2nd time going back to the same resort...loved it every time. Had an amazing time. Food was great at Marco Polo(@Solaris hotel) and excellent breakfast at GrCaribe downstairs next to the lobby. Don't recommend to have dinner at their french restaurant. The food was really bad at Royal solaris buffet, cold and very insipid...yuck! All the other places the food was great. After we checked in we went to our room, thinkING it would have a beautiful view like last time when I stayed here, to my surprise it was the worst room with no views from 2nd floor n can see the streets only. I refused to stay. In that ugly room, I was so upset paying so much for the trip and getting a room in the corner of nowhere!!! I spoke with the manager, paid lot of extra $$$ to upgrade to a room with a really beautiful stunning view on the 6th floor with a balcony. View of both the ocean and the lagoon! They didn't care I was a repeated customer, they made me pay for an upgrade. & said if it was a slow season then they would not have charged me for a better room/view. Since I had a stunning view my whole mood changed...I was happy finally :) I would recommend this hotel GR Caribe...N hope you all can manage to get a nice room with a great view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth, TX

Best Bang for your Buck

Posted May 12, 2015
We couldn't have been happier with our stay. Overall it was a great experience. They staff was so friendly, especially Cynthia and Fernando. There is always something to do if that is something you are looking for, or you can relax at one of the two pool. The food was great, dinner was by far my favorite. I read about people complaining about wait times, but they couldn't have been more wrong. We never waited more that 25 minutes for a table. The beach was beautiful. Perfect for laying out. The waves were huge during our trip, which made body surfing fun. Drinks were wonderful. They will make them strong if you ask for it. Also, be sure to try the Miami Vice. We will definitely go back in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FL

It really was a nice experience

Posted May 12, 2015
My over experience was great. If I had to make any suggestions I would recommend the hotel to improve on their drink specials and some of there food. The drinks and food where not bad but they just were not wow. I would come to this hotel again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami , FL

Great attention. Excellent

Posted May 12, 2015
Just love it!!!!!!! Is a Family Hotel. Is super clean and the attention is the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente atención!

Posted May 12, 2015
Todo el personal con el que interactuamos durante la semana, fue excelente! !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Excellent choice for a Short Vacation

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Pool, Beach and restaurants, along with the extremely firendly staff and service...
Cons: Please revise the check out timing and policy...
Location: All that you need and want is nearby...
This hotes has all the amenities you'll want for your vacation to The staff is extremely friendly and the food is very good. The beach and pool are designed for simple relaxation and enjoyment. Defenitely worth it...my only regret, the check out is way too early...11:am
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Overall good place

Posted May 8, 2015
We did enjoy our stay at this resort. The food and drinks were good, the staff was very friendly, however, the rooms could have been kept up a little more. There were hairs found on the bedspreads & in the bathroom, there was not enough hand towels & face cloths & there were large roaches running around on the whole second floor (main floor of hotel). Housekeeping sprayed our room with a heavy duty pesticide & told us that it was fine to go back in. However, it smelled really sting like chemicals. As a public health nurse, luckily, I knew how harmful it could have been to inhale these chemicals. I requested another room, and was accommodated with a nice ocean front room on the 5th floor. We did not see any more critters up there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Reston, VA

Great for couples and adults

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Loved the architecture, the character, the cleanliness, and most of all the staff.
Cons: The food was a solid B+, rising to an A at times. But for an all inclusive resort we had no complaints.
Location: We did parasailing right off the beach --pricey but fun. Highly recommended is XPLOR jungle park (ziplines, ATV through the jungle, etc.)
We had a wonderful weeklong vacation at the GR Caribe Solaris. After an initial disappointment that our reserved room with King Size bed was not available, we discovered that the room with two double beds we were assigned instead was a huge upgrade (a villa down by the water). And on our first day of room cleaning service they pushed the beds together and used a huge set of sheets to make one monster bed. Wow. All week the staff was amazing, never balking at any request. Small $1 tips were always appreciated but never required. In our weeklong stay we made several friends of the staff who always looked out for us. One example: on Thursday morning the buffet breakfast room had watermelon juice in one of the juice dispensers. The next day, at the sit-down breakfast restaurant I asked for watermelon juice. After only a second's hesitation our friendly waiter said, "Of course." He came back in a bout 3 minutes with a delicious glass of watermelon juice. Only later did I discover that the juice machine in the other room contained something else, and he had actually gone and squeezed the juice himself from a watermelon, yet never complained or even mentioned it until I pressed him. The staff was like this the entire week. Affiliated with the Royal Solaris next door, the Caribe Solaris is worth the extra few bucks per day. It is smaller, has much more character, is NOT crowded (like the Royal), and all the amenities of the Royal are still available to you (the reverse is not true)