Ratings based on 3,657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

It may be better to find a better hotel out there

Posted Dec 16, 2014
It is a nice hotel overall, but it has some flaws. I don't think I will come back to this hotel - I will probably spend a little extra, and go to a nicer hotel. Pros: Next to the beach. Beach is beautiful!!! Very good service. They are very attentive and always ask you if you need something to drink, etc. Rooms are clean, and they will check your fridge every day to make sure you are always full of beverages etc. Food - even though you will read A LOT of reviews complaining, I didn't think it was that bad. Yes, it is not the best, but there are some things that are really delicious. If you can, try to always reserve a place for dinner at Marco Polos - it is always your best choice for dinner. Variety of drinks. Nice non-motor activities like kayaking, wind-surf, etc. Excursion packages. Always buy them in the hotel, and not online. CONS: The drinks - most of them don't taste the best. Specially the pina colada is really really bad!! WIFI - you need to buy the wifi, and even if you buy it, it doesnt work. There are 2 packages, the limited package (2 mb per second) and the unlimited (super fast). We got the "unlimited" and it was a piece of crap, and they WON'T refund you that money. Tennis courts under construction. One of our rooms didn't have hot water, and in another, the toilet didn't work. You can hear EVERYTHING in the next room - walls are extremely thin. Shows -they are horrible. We went to 3 shows, and the only one that was ok was the magic show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Great hotel for the price!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
This hotel provided an amazing vacation. The pool and beach area were wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly. Food was good but not 5 star. What you would expect food to be for the price. Fun shows and entertainment. Would recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Nice hotel with awesome crew

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Nice hotel beautiful beach and awesome crew makes you feel in paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Lauderdale

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Cons: I really enjoy steam rooms, but the only time you could use it was with a booked massage. I would have paid for a week pass if one was available.
Location: I never left the resort. I've been to most of the interesting things already
I completely enjoyed my stay at GR Solaris. The service at the hotel & restaurants was really great! The restaurants offered a variety of food, changing daily at each location, & the food was well prepared. Bar service was great! The employees were cheerful & willing to take the extra step to make my visit enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Hotel Service, Rude Staff

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Lot of Things
Hotel Staff was rude , Including the Supervisors. They were not at All friendly and had no inclination to help customer.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cancun

Decent hotel....nothing too special

Posted Dec 11, 2014
The food was hit & miss! Very friendly staff pouring cheap booze! A little far away from where you really want to be! Great for families that want a slightly quieter hotel....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Nice but noisy

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Drinks and Shows!
Cons: Noise proof rooms. You can hear everything in the hall and in the adjacent rooms.
Location: We went to Chichen-Itza-other than the pictures, it was a disappointing trip. We had to wait over one hour on the bus to depart.Too many sales people.
Overall it is a better hotel than I expected. They upgraded our rooms, provided free internet for a week, and although we didn't need it they offered early check in and late check out -- this is for being VIP gold + member. They gave us ocean view rooms. The one thing that was very annoying is that the adjacent room was separated by a very thin door. You can hear EVERYTHING, and it feels like the persons in the adjacent room is like 5 feet away. Thankfully we needed both rooms and so we had these two rooms to ourselves, but still, if someone sneezes - you hear it, coughs -- you hear it, breathes deeply -- you hear it. Very annoying and you can't sleep well. Plus you kind of know that the other people can hear what you are doing in your room. It was really help to update the hotel room with some noise proof protection. The food -- just OK, not a lot of selections that I was impressed by. They did have a lot of papaya=fruit -- that's the best! Keep doing that! I was impressed by the drinks and the shows! We were not bothered by the time share people, which was nice. We went to Chichen-Itza - very disappointing as compared to my previous trip in 2003.Too many sales people there, very annoying, and they wouldn't let you take a small tripod to take self-pictures, wanted $300 fee for it. Just disappointing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2014
entire staff ( and I mean everyone person I ran into were very pleasant, willing and knowledgeable enough to help with any questions I had, Room was always clean and food was excellent and plenty of it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and eager to please. Food was good and selection plenty. Beach was within walking distance and beautiful. Really enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Especially the Micheal Jackson tribute night. My only complaints are the lack of a mini bar in the rooms. The only thing that is offered in the mini fridge is beer, water, and sodas. Also didn't like that the water activities were not at the resort. Have to take shuttle to go kayaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
The staff is very nice and the room is comfortable. The food does not taste good, however. And they really hassle you to join their membership club. DO NOT waste your time doing the presentation, especially if you have a short trip. It is not the 90 minutes that they tell you that it takes up front, I was there for almost THREE HOURS! Other than that, it's not a bad property and the convenience of staying at an all-inclusive is great!