Ratings based on 3,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DJS from Minneapolis, MN

Wonderful amenities, views, and service.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
We had an absolutely fabulous stay, made most memorable by the fantastic service we received throughout the entirety of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
I have been coming to the GR Solaris for the past 7 years. I bring my friends and sometimes family for a relaxing stay. The staff is always friendly and hotel offers something for everyone. Great pools, excellent beach...look forward to it every year.
3 out of 5
by Jason from Marietta, GA

Nice hotel close to beach, average food

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Proximity to beach
Cons: FOOD
Location: Ocean, parasailing, jetskiing, shopping within 5 minutes.
The hotel is in a good area and very close to the beach. The pool was well-located, however, too deep for younger kids, even in the most shallow areas. The food was mass-produced, as expected, however, very average. Breakfast was old, greasy bacon and left out too long scrambled eggs. The omelettes were great though. Dinners were not good...simply put. The best of the food was probably the outside bar by the pool with pizza oven. The staff were great, very friendly..although trying to "upsell" you at every chance they got. The rooms were way too small for a family of four on an all-inclusive package.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: pool area
Cons: updates to room and food selection
Location: shopping
The Hotel could have been a little nicer and the food selection.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by caribbean sea from surrey bc

Good size. Nice beach. Very clean.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We had a good stay at GR Solaris. There were no issues with checking in and checking out. Staff were friendly and attentive. Saw some very good shows a few evenings. My 9 yr old really enjoyed the neon party on Earth Hour. Kudos to all staff for putting on such a nice event. Only disappointment was the food. I still somehow managed to gain a few pounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irina from Federal Way

Nice hotel close to beach, good friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Everything is ok
Location: Right on the white sand beach
Like everything there: room, view, clean hotel, style, food, shows, friendly personnel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Maine

Beautiful beach and amazing weather

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: It was small enough that you got to recognize staff and travelers which I thought made it more of a personal experience.
Cons: There was only one restaurant I would have liked a couple more options a couple restaurants would be nice with an option of one dinner buffet.
Location: There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which makes it very easy to explore Cancun, take advantage of this!
My husband and I went for a weeks vacation without our two young kids. We really enjoyed our time here. The beach was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied. We spent 90% of our vacation on the beach sipping cold drinks. The beach service was a plus. We never even heard anything about timeshares unlike some other reviews I had read. The atmosphere was not to wild even though we stayed during a typical spring break March7-14. We are however in our mid twenties and do like to have fun and the atmosphere was not to dull either. There was a good mixture of people of different ages. There were some families but I wouldn't consider this a family resort, there were not kids everywhere which we were happy about since we left ours at home. The nightly entertainment was fun we really enjoyed the magic show and the Mayan night. The best meal by far was breakfast. We really enjoyed all the fresh fruit. Also come to the Solaris thirsty there is always plenty to drink. I would recommend that you spend the money and go see Chitzen Itza. Also we used the city buses with no issues. We never felt threatened or nervous exploring Cancun on our own. Also go off the resort and get some authentic Mexican food. One warning about the beach although it is gorgeous the surf is very rough and there is a strong rip current. I am a strong swimmer and never went past my lower chest. It is nice to go in for a dip but you do get tired fighting the waves even when standing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carrie from Maine

Beautiful beach and amazing weather

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: It was small enough that you got to recognize staff and travelers which I thought made it more of a personal experience.
Cons: There was only one restaurant I would have liked a couple more options a couple restaurants would be nice with an option of one dinner buffet.
Location: There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel which makes it very easy to explore Cancun, take advantage of this!
My husband and I went for a weeks vacation without our two young kids. We really enjoyed our time here. The beach was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we were satisfied. We spent 90% of our vacation on the beach sipping cold drinks. The beach service was a plus. We never even heard anything about timeshares unlike some other reviews I had read. The atmosphere was not to wild even though we stayed during a typical spring break March7-14. We are however in our mid twenties and do like to have fun and the atmosphere was not to dull either. There was a good mixture of people of different ages. There were some families but I wouldn't consider this a family resort, there were not kids everywhere which we were happy about since we left ours at home. The nightly entertainment was fun we really enjoyed the magic show and the Mayan night. The best meal by far was breakfast. We really enjoyed all the fresh fruit. Also come to the Solaris thirsty there is always plenty to drink. I would recommend that you spend the money and go see Chitzen Itza. Also we used the city buses with no issues. We never felt threatened or nervous exploring Cancun on our own. Also go off the resort and get some authentic Mexican food. One warning about the beach although it is gorgeous the surf is very rough and there is a strong rip current. I am a strong swimmer and never went past my lower chest. It is nice to go in for a dip but you do get tired fighting the waves even when standing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and nice facilities.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Had a great trip and the resort was great. Rooms were clean, the staff was good and friendly. Pool and beach were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JG

I'm for sure going back here!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I loved everything about this place! Best staff ever!