Ratings based on 3,854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

Disappointment

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Could not say because reservation was cancelled upon arrival.
Cons: Lots to improve when canceling people's reservation without notice on their honeymoon night.
Very disappointing to have my daughter and son in law be moved to a neighbor less class hotel upon their arrival to Grand Solaris Cancun on their honeymoon night with no notice. I am owed a partial refund for this unpleasant moment on a special day for my daughter in her life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Wonderful hotel the staff is the friendliest

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The hotel is the best love the entertainment staff it is always a great time around the pool. The wait staff and bartenders are amazing ! We have been there 3 years in a row and I know will be back next year!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Fun Long Weekend at GR Solaris!

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Location: A bus right outside the hotel takes you to anywhere in downtown Cancun including to the ferry terminal for trips to Isla Mujeres!
Stayed here for 5 days, 4 nights with a great rate and we were no at all disappointed! The food was better than expected with many options for dining whatever the time of day and the staff were wonderful. The weather was perfect, the beach was beautiful, and the drinks were always strong and delicious! A great place to stay especially considering the price! I came with myself and my boyfriend (mid 20's) but there were certainly guests of all ages and groups of all sizes that seemed to be enjoying themselves with what the resort had to offer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Very nice place to vacation! Beach is awesome! A bit noisy at night when there are weddings or special occasions on the patio outside. Band plays till 10 pm and can be heard in the hotel rooms. Otherwise its a great place to do nothing and relax or to do many of the outings available in Mexico! Great for families as well as singles!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: INTERNET
The hotel is worth the price. We stayed there for 10 days and Liked everything about it. The hotel is in good condition. The gift shop has pleasant prices. The great choice of food for breakfast. The guy near the gift shop was very helpful in choosing the chichen itza tour and Jolly Roger dinner. The staff was very friendly especially bar tenders. Tips will help you to get very good drinks. As for us the one very big problem was internet connection. Wi Fi connection was terrible but because of that we had a lot of fun time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

nice peaceful vacation

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Cons: the hallways are very stark. some decoration might be nice so you know you are in mexico
Location: Chitzen Itza is a must! And Xel-Ha was the best snorkeling.
Enjoyed our stay very much. Not a lot of partying going on, you could always find a quiet spot at one of the pools or beach. The Marco Polo(restaurant) and our waiter Vermon were a treat! Magic show was awesome! The rooms were nice sized, beds are very comfortable and the walk-in showers were great. We have stayed at Solaris Caribe before and enjoyed it as well, looking forward to trying the Cabo location next!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Maybe should be rated 3 star?

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The service and friendliness of the staff was great. Pool, closeness to the ocean
Cons: Hotel could use some updating. The food was hit and miss.
Location: Para-sailing, jet skis, shopping
Upon arrival, there was some trouble in finding our room as requested. The king room that we requested was not available and was told they had 2 queens, which was acceptable. When we got up to the room it turned out to be 2 double size beds....a little too cozy :-( After talking to the front desk, they said they would have a king available tomorrow and would take care of it, which they did. The bathroom had a smell of sewer gas in it... The next day we moved to a king facing the boulevard. It was nice, but a few nights later, I woke to the smell of sewer gas coming from the ventilation to which I turned off and open the sliding door a bit and ran the bath fan. Not too happy about that, but let it go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, Colorado

FUN IN THE SUN - GR Solaris - Cancun MX

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The hotel is 10 years old, aesthetic, nice, clean with good beaches and good ocean view. The staff is both professional and very friendly.
Cons: Our room was very nice, king size bed, balcony with ocean view, safe, tv, clean, in good condition, but know going that the beds are very firm.
Location: The pools are very nice, hot tub, full spa, outside ocean view massage, catamaran snorkel tour, historical sites, diving and shopping
The GR Solaris job well done and a fun week. Know eyes wide open that there is a pitch coming for "Member based vacation packages". Members do have some special perks to stay at their resorts - free wifi, premium drinks, preferred reservations to the restaurants, planned "members only" dinners, events and activities. Members have paid for these perks, so dont be offended and know that you will see some differences. Upon arrival you will be asked and asked again to see their presentation/pitch - should be breakfast 1 1/2 of your time - it will be more like 4 hours. If you and your family are interested, maybe you should consider. If not, just say "no thank you " and the pitch and pressure to buy a members package ceases. They did a good job to respect your interest both ways. Very relaxed - we found time to just enjoy our stay. The pools are nice (3, 1 is adults only), hot tub, nice beach front, great ocean view, full spa, outside ocean massages, kids zone (if you have kids). The Staff is WONDERFUL - they are professional, courteous and very friendly. They work very hard to meet your concerns 24/7 - they made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel is nice, clean, marble, granite, stone - well maintained, showing some signs of dated. The food - fantastic. 5 restaurants on site. Marco Polo has a very very nice dinner menu. The rest are buffet style w/ variety of American, Mexican, Italian, Spanish foods. All Inclusive is the way GO ! ! !
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

Time-share pressure!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The view was nice... the bartenders, waiters and waitresses were excellent. Very friendly and nice!
Cons: Better beds and possibly let the guest have a day to see what the resort is like before pressuring them into the timeshare part.
Location: Location was nice... and the only thing we tried was the trip to the market (which was crazy... bus drivers weren't too friendly. And then the lagoon
this may have been a better experience if we weren't pressured so much into the timeshare part. We didn't even get into our rooms before we were pressured into listening to the timeshare speech. After a long day, we were just wanting to unwind and see our room as well as see the resort. But.... couldn't with the persistance of the time-share sharks! We spoke to a few other guests and they stated that they went in to the "briefing" and they lost 3 hours out of their day because of the persistance on the time share people! UGH! And... this was THE WORST bed we have ever slept on. We had better comfort on the loungers out by the pool then we did in this rock-hard bed!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ND

Paper thin walls

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beach, offering a build your own omelette station at the breakfast buffet & the build your own pasta bar at lunch buffet.
Cons: "The Deli" definitely needs to be remodeled! We walked in and walked right back out. Obviously add more insulation to the walls. SOFTER BEDS!
When you read that the walls are thin & you hear everything from the people next door to people/doors slamming in the hallways, it is not a joke!! Nice variety of foods at the breakfast buffet, lunch buffet & pool snack bar. Build your own omelette station at the breakfast buffet and the build your own pasta bar at the lunch/dinner buffet was great! We ate at Marco Polo on Valentines Day for dinner (our only time). They had a beautiful set up a well decorated outdoor buffet on the upper outdoor terrace, which had I known, I wouldn't have made reservations at Marco Polo. The food was not worth the wait in line to make reservations the night before. Beach was great! One of the best I've been to! Turquoise blue waters, no reef, sandy bottom, it was awesome! Can't give much of an opinion on the pool areas since we stay on the beach, but the afternoons that we did go up to the pool bar, there were lots of "adult" entertainment that was pretty entertaining. Luis at the pool bar was one of the few that made us feel very welcome at the resort. He went above and beyond to make sure we were having a great time. I've been to four other resorts in the Riviera where by the time you leave, everyone knows your name. Didn't have the same homey feel at this resort, so I really thank Luis for putting forth the effort of making us feel very welcome during our stay :) We loved the large drink menu of blended drinks to choose from!