Ratings based on 894 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Air conditioning did not work properly for majority of the week. The property is old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elko

Grear vacation.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Staff is amazing. Rooms outdated and water in shower and sink stunk. Stayed for 7 days and air conditioner never worked that great. No swim up bars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Cool Hotel near ocean

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: All inclusive and staff were great
Cons: Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning, and Air Conditioning!!! Also, processing Check-In's a little better
Location: Perfect location near everything
Great experience but could have been a lot better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Honeymooners

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The friendliness of the staff, the view of the room (ocean side) and its adult only. It's smaller size makes everything centrally located.
Cons: It needs to get into 21st century and offers wifi. Also to fix the a/c, seem like a recurring issue. Also more alcohol in the drink, its a bit weak
Location: there's a nice mall about 20 minutes walk away but you could just stay at the hotel and enjoy the beach and the pool
we stayed here for 4 nights and reading prior reviews, I have an expectation thing would go wrong so I called the hotel to confirm. Upon arrival (around 9pm), we were told to wait at a lobby lounge area, welcome drink was served but the area is open air so it was pretty hot, 20 minutes later we were informed that there were 5 rooms with a/c issue and they transferred us to a different hotel with taxi rides paid, we reluctantly took it and the manager on duty promised a VIP upgrade to room with Jacuzzi... the next day when we returned, the room they checked us in was not the Jacuzzi room, the same manager promised that the following night we would get the room he promised us...and on the 3rd night he finally delivered on his promise. the VIP experience include champagne in the room and dessert/cheese tray, which is nice...the in room Jacuzzi is nice but not well maintained. Other than the snafu with the room issue, we enjoyed our stay here, the ocean view rooms are great, the food selection is good and the hotel entertainment really trying to get people to engage in the events. The service was great and the waiters were pretty attentive. Everyone we encountered were pretty friendly (except for this one guy at the front desk, he's just seem very irritated whenever people ask him questions), the beach is very nice with little huts to provide shades. All in all, it was a great experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Martinsburg, WV

HOT in Cancun

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The small resort feel made for meeting new friends.
Cons: THE A/C!!!!!! Teaching staff English!
Location: It is beachfront and convenient to La Isla Shopping Village, although we did not leave the resort.
The open air lobby was a bit too hot for everyone we met as it was very hot in Cancun. Our rooms were about 82 degrees and called downstairs to be told the AC would be fixed in the hotel by Tuesday, this is Saturday. There was no relief from the heat anywhere but in the Old Barn restaurant which had good steak, not alot of variety of sides. The best part was the people we met that were there on vacation as well. The entertainment of Antonio and Santiago were great, the others not so much. The food at the Old Barn and Shangri La were very good. The buffet was not good at all. No selection unless you are looking for a mish mash of mexican sides. The beachfront was great and they take great care of the sea turtles giving birth. The bartenders are either pleasant or rude. Their staff could really use some training on english and front desk needs some training on being friendly and helpful. If you are looking for air conditioned accomodations in your room and in the restaurants and lobby this is not the place to stay. It is a small resort so great for making new friends. The games that were played were entertaining. There is little to do at the resort at night but to hang out at the 2 bars. The tiki bar was great at night, it was right by the pool and the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, Hotel Management
Dear wenwen We truly appreciate the comments you share about your recent stay at Golden Parnassus, I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during with the failure of our Air conditioning equipment, I want to inform you that it is already working. I am glad to read that you enjoy almost all our restaurants specially Old Barn and Shangrila, I will share with our Executive Chef your opinion of the food we offer at our buffet restaurant with the purpose to work on improvements at this area. Just yesterday we start with our release turtles program,Just yesterday we start with our release turtles program, i hope on your next visit you could be part of it. We are in the process in the improvement of our liquor selection and it will be done very soon. Our all inclusive beer selection is Dos equis and Dos equis dark, at the Beer garden lobby bar we offer, Sol beer beside dos equis and Dos equis dark there you had three options of Beer. It is great to know you enjoy our bars specially the Tiki Bar the heart of Golden Parnassus. It will be a pleasure share your comments with our entertainment team specially Antonio and Santiago they will be delighted to know their enthusiasm were really appreciated. It will be an honor if you give us the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Respectfully
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A few tips before you go

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Pier 12 and The Old Bar were delicious. The staff was very friendly and the view of the ocean was incredible
Just got back from the Golden Parnassus and we had an incredible time. For the price tag (a bit lower than most places) it still felt every bit as luxurious as any other hotel in Cancun could possibly be. I have a few suggestions for those of you about to book your trip or those who have already booked it. 1) We arrived at 7 in the morning and our room wasn't available till 3 pm. That was a HUGE challenge as we sat in the raging heat of Cancun in the beach area waiting for our room to be available. Of course, the staff was super friendly and gave us food and drinks but 9 hours of waiting seriously destroyed me. 2) The alcohol isn't watered down, it's practically water. I noticed the first day 90% of the visitors had bought this gigantic jug from the gift shop at approximately $30 so they could feel a buzz but I found that kind of a bad idea considering the amount of liquid you have to drink to get a solid buzz. I'm a light weight and even I couldn't get buzzed off of a triple shot of the no name alcohol they used. It was my BIGGEST disappointment and the reason why I didn't give 5 stars. I did find out on the last day that some of the bars have smirnoff vodka and all of them had Dos Equis beer but otherwise I did not recognize a single brand of alcohol they used. I suggest buying a bottle down the street from the hotel and just asking them for mixers ie margarita mix or orange juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and for the time you took to share it with us. I want to take the opportunity to share with you that we are in the process of the improvement of our liquor selection to be able to offer you a better experience at our bars. Our all inclusive Beer selection is Dos equis and Dos Equis dark that you will find at all our bars and at our lobby bar Beer Garden we offer three beers Sol, Dos equis and Dos equis Dark. It will be a pleasure if you give us the opportunity to welcome you back and experience the changes we are working to offer you a better experience at Golden Parnassus. Sincerely
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Best vacation yet. Outstanding staffing at all included restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments, I will share your review with all our restaurants staff it is a pleasure to have the opportunity to let them know that their service was truly appreciated. Sincerely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Hotel Needs Updates. Staff are Great!

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Very outdated decor in rooms, shower door never cleaned, room smelled like mildew, drinks were lack luster. Staff were A+ (friendly, helpful, responsive, professional).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words you dedicated to our staff, they are the best asset of our hotel. I am taking action along with our Executive Housekeeping to improve the quality of our cleaning process to avoid this situations from happening again. Thank you one more time for the time you took to share your experience with us, it will be an honor if we have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Housekeeping stole money from our room!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
The sad part is I was looking forward to leaving a really good review for this resort. But the fact of the matter is when we first got there we were moved to three different rooms because the AC was so awful. The third day after being there we realized that some money was missing from a purse that my gf hadn't used since being there. The staff for the most part were ok, excluding the blonde lady at the front desk, extremely rude, no hospitality whatsoever ever and a few of the midnight cooks having horrible attitudes. The Barn restaurant is amazing, the staff is amazing as well, you would think that you're off of the resort. I had an amazing time in Cancun off of the resort but I will never ever ever even think to stay at this resort again in my life. Great view though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Air conditioning is not working - TERRIBLE

Posted Jul 15, 2015
I returned from a four day trip to Cancun Monday July 13th. When we arrived, we were told by the staff there was a "little problem". Upon further explanation, we were told that the air was being serviced and was out for 18 days - that only "fresh air" would work in our room. Looking through other reviews, and reviews of the sister property the Great Parnassus - it looks like this in an ongoing problem at both hotels. After one swealtering night in our room and waking up to everything being damp due to condensation, we were able to move to a new hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Hector Guerrero, Hotel Management
Distinguished Lori First of all I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due the unexpected failure of our A/C equipment, our goal is that all our guests have the best vacation experience during their stay. I want to inform you that our A/C is working properly we already change the equipment, took us less time than the expected. I will be an honor if you give us the chance to welcome you in the near future. Respectfully