Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Entire staff worked hard to make our stay great!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Beach was beautiful, Bars stayed open until 2PM, Staff was tirelessly working to keep things clean and enjoyable.
Cons: Hotel is probably due for a makeover soon, but most importantly things were clean! Palapas were tough to get - gone each day by 7AM.
Location: Great location in the middle of the hotel zone. Use the bus service to get anywhere you want to go for just a $1.
Stayed 1/21/15-1/25/15. Upon arrival (3:10 PM) we were taken to the lobby bar for a welcome drink while they completed our check-in. I didn't like that they took our passports from us for this process, but they did return shortly with our bracelets and keys and all was fine. The room was a bit dated, but was most importantly CLEAN! The bathroom had a hairdryer, shampoo, body lotion, shower cap, & sewing kit. We had a 6th floor ocean view - fantastic! Small balcony had two chairs & table. King bed was just alright, pillows were lumpy but you could ask for more pillows which they were happy to provide. Whirlpool tub had a continual leak from a worn out valve in one of the jets, but I couldn't say if it affected functionality as we didn't use it. In-room safe came in handy. Towels available by pool in exchange for towel card. TIP: exchange your card for a towel the afternoon you check in even if you don't plan to use it that day. They don't open for exchange until 8AM, & all beach chairs & most pool chairs were gone by 7AM. The beach was beautiful, bartenders & wait staff were attentive. Peddlers walk the beach selling items but are friendly and move along if you just say "no thanks." Food was good - we had no complaints. Late night dogs, chicken sandwiches, fries & nachos were great! Bring a cup if you want more than 10 oz. at a time, just remember even phenomenal (they were!) bartenders have trouble keeping up with multiple thirsty drinkers when they all have 32 oz. mugs!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
It was great - staff was awesome. AC could have been colder but other then that it was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The staff are excellent. This was my 3rd time at this resort. The one downfall is we booked for a king and received 2 queen sized bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but food is so-so.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
First time in cancun. Our first day there they didn't have rooms available so they sent us to the Great Parnassus for a night and upgraded our package a little. The staff is wonderful but the food is so-so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Council Bluffs, Iowa

Your staff are true "worker bees"!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Clean atmosphere, friendly staff, closeness to eating/drinking areas.
Cons: More umbrellas on the beach.
Location: We snorkeled at the National Park area, excellent adventure.
The staff are all friendly, helpful, courteous, in every area! Thank you from my entire family. I will recommend your hotel. We were there to celebrate my son's 40th birthday, and we made memories that will last forever.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Communication about activities and dress code. Food quality in full-service restaurants.
Location: Nice beach. Nothing to do within walking distance. About a 10 minute walk to the bus stop.
Golden Parnassus is one of the smaller and less expensive resorts in Cancun.The facility is dated but maintained very well. It was quiet and not crowded. We had no problem with finding chairs at the pool or on the beach. Most of the staff members are friendly and helpful, especially Oskar at the buffet and Fonzi at the oceanfront bar. We were given a worn photocopy showing activities for the week, with no locations listed except for the obvious pool games. My son went to a food-prep activity which started late. We went to one show, a poorly executed version of Grease. Restaurants were all included with no need for reservations. There was some misinformation and confusion about dress codes in the restaurants My son's fiancé was refused service because of "inappropriate dress" although the manager insisted that restaurant had no dress code. No one apologized to her even after the manager assured us they would. Food was okay, but certainly not anything special. Overall, it was a good place to stay for what we spent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great staff and great location!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Great location, great food, great size, and most of all great staff. The bartenders, entertainment, and wait staffs are all excellent.
Cons: There are some maintenance issues, like some old plumbing (our toilet would keep running sometimes and you had to jiggle the handle).
Location: There is a shopping mall within walking distance (about 1/2 mile), waverunners and parasailing all right there on the beach.
This would have been a higher rating had our room been ready the first night we arrived. I was traveling with my sister and both of our spouses. Upon arrival to the hotel just after midnight (as scheduled), we were told very politely that one of the rooms had a maintenance issue and was unavailable. They had pulled another bed into the one room but all 4 adults had to share a room. It was not a great first impression and really not what we wanted to do after travelling for 6 hours. They had the other room ready by 1:30 the next day. The staff was very apologetic and very professional, but not willing to do much to make up for the inconvenience because we booked through Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, NY

Great resort, great beach

Posted Jan 21, 2015
I visited this resort with my best friend and we had the BEST time. While this resort isn't the newest in the area, it was extremely clean, had a great pool, an awesome beach and the most AMAZING staff I have ever encountered. Everyone there seemed to be really concerened that you were enjoying your stay. I will most certainly be returning, and doing so ASAP.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

First trip to Cancun

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Adults only, really friendly staff, very comfortable king size bed.
Cons: Free internet would be nice.
The GP is a nice hotel for couples. It is not a giant resort, but has a little over 200 rooms. The service and friendliness of the staff made our stay a real pleasure. The beach is typical and there is a good sized pool with plenty of chairs. The food is OK. The air conditioner in our room was rather strange .. it would make the room either alternately cold or rather warm and humid without any adjustment to the thermostat. Overall, I would stay here again and recommend it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

Hotel by the beach

Posted Jan 19, 2015
The check-in was horrible...I had paid for a king-sized bed but was offered a 2 twin-beds room, only to be forced to pay an extra $120 to upgrade to a king-size room....this is after expedia and Fox car rental could not honor rental car agreement that I had paid for in full, plus insurance, due to silly credit card technicality...the whole experience was a nightmare. I love Expedia, and I hope this will never happen again.....