Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Very basic all inclusive with no extras

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Cost, pool, ocean swimming great for kids!
Cons: Very slow and tiny elevators. Offer free wifi, shuttle service or other options than a $30 cab ride
Location: Loved Captain Hook cruise. Aqua World snorkeling and subsee
Overall a good stay but would not return to this resort. The food was okay and I liked that a lot of it was buffet as we had our 3 kids. There is no shuttle service so the trip from and to the airport was $130. The resort is quite a distance from any attractions so a cab will cost $20-$30 one way. They really like to push the bus because it is $1 but we had a very negative experience on the bus and I would not recommend. The beach is super tiny. It is 90% filled with chairs so there is little to no sand for kids to play in. The water had no waves and was pretty shallow which was nice for swimming and the kids could play with no worries. One of the biggest negatives for me were TONS of people that appear to work for the resort but actually are trying to sell you timeshares. They are all over the resort and would pounce on us every time we would go through the resort. It was so annoying that we had to be rude to be left alone. Wifi costs $10 per day. The wait staff was very friendly but really slow. It would take 20 minutes for drink refills etc. rooms were very basic but clean and the maid service was really good. Strongly recommend going on the Captain Hook dinner cruise! Overall an okay place. We chose because it had okay reviews and was a decent price but we made up for the cost with expenses for things most hotels cover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Great Hotel, staff is friendly enough. Had trouble at check out with the front desk. They charged us twice and the employee just kept repeating a script he was given from him employee handbook and would not use any logic or reason to understand that we had been charged twice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Nice hotel to relax at. Food needs a little work.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Service Location
Cons: Food
Location: All activities are nearby
This hotel has good things and bad things about it. The staff was very accomodating, but the bars were a little understaffed. I understand, they aren't trying to give alcohol out at lightning speeds. I usually start off the day throwing a bartender a nice tip. That way, I'm not one of the poeple waiting in line for a drink. Food was pretty inconsistent on the resort. Breakfast was good, then at the same buffet, the lunch was terrible. The restaurant Las Careyes that you have to actually reserve had amazing food and the sushi was good. Check-in was easy. Beach access was nice. Hotel is in a cove, so it's not completely open ocean in front of you. It's close to a lot of activities, such as jet skis, boat rides, helicopter rides, etc. If you're looking for the crazy spring breakers, go to the OASIS CANCUN. If you're looking for more of an adult experience, this is the place you'd like to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Collins

Nice family vacation

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Before our vacation we read a lot of bad reviews but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Even though it was spring break with 3 kids, everyting turned out great. It wasn't too crowded or loud, the food was great, and the staff was fine (the houskeeping did a great job). We would totally come there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The hotel had fabulous amenities, it had a great vibe and it made you feel happy and glad to be there. Also, the staff is super attentive and friendly
We had a fabulous time, there were plenty of things to do and you would never get bored. At the hotel, there was something for everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom nj

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The problem was there were a lot of people who were rude in the hotel. They would scream or you would see them drunk on floor it was not appealing to see. In addition, the staff was not as pleasent as I thought they would be.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Do not recommend

Posted Mar 17, 2015
The hotel is not the real grand oasis where all spring break activities go on. The beach isn't that nice. Hotel management and staff was, for the most part, unfriendly. We had a problem at check-in regarding extra charges the hotel wanted to charge but we were never notified of. Long story short, I do not recommend this hotel. Plenty of other nice hotels in cancun.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Where to even begin..

Posted Mar 17, 2015
We booked this vacation in hopes of having a relaxing weekend getaway. From the moment we arrived at the hotel (after 8-10 hours of traveling) they wanted to charge us an extra $30 per person because we were "spring breakers". Our age range was 22-24 year old GRAD school students.. By no means are we rowdy undergrads looking to get drunk all weekend. We tried to reason with management for THREE hours. The hotel policy said they charge $30 for everyone that stays at the hotel, however there was no age range that specified 18-24 as they told us or 18-26 year old as they told another group of "spring breakers". They had the audacity to tell us they do in fact charge ALL guests and when we asked a family of four and several other people above age 28, no one had paid. It was clear to us that the hotel was just taking this money from "spring breakers". The best part is that they justify this charge by saying it is an "insurance" in case anyone breaks something or something happens to you.. I found this particularly interesting and plain hilarious. First and foremost what they were charging should be defined as a "security deposit", in which case the $30 should be returned to the guests at check out if nothing was broken in the room. Second of all, the $30 isn't an "insurance" because what if a 65 year old hotel guest falls? That person didn't pay the $30 so do they just leave him there on the floor? EVERYONE as a hotel guest is already "insured". Also, staff wasn't friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
FOOD CHOICES WERE ALWAYS THE SAME,NOISY STAFF CATERED TO SPRING BREAKERS
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Hotel was nice, close to the beach.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Good staff and helpful. Free Captain Hook boat
Cons: Shuttle service, free wifi, free locks for the rooms for the safe. More variety of food
Better communication about what is going on in the sister hotel and what was available to see. The food was less than satisfactory, there was never anything hot, only warm. The staff was helpful.