Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX.

Beach very calm with no waves

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Very nice Resort and very inexpensive Has live Music by the pool even evening and activities for everybody.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United States

Rating for the 7hrs we stayed @ Grand Oasis Palm

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Cons: The mattress was so hard, and the bedding and drapes felt old and out of date. There was no circulation in the lobby area, it was too hot.
Location: The beach is right next to pirate and dinner tour ships coming in and out...not very peaceful. The beach area has roped off swimming area, felt dingy
I gave this an overall rating of OK, because the Grand Oasis Palm was very helpful in moving us to Sens Oasis for no cost. (Oasis Sens was very pleasing in comparison). The Grand Oasis Palm is a family resort, but we did not expect the overwhelming amount of children, everywhere. After walking around the resort for a few hours we went to the concierge and asked if they could switch our resort to an adults only resort and we would forfeit our oceanview room, she told us we would have to leave immediately if we wanted to do this...we agreed and it was the best decision we made...the 'Sens Oasis' was calm and peaceful. The room at the Grand Oasis Palm was clean, but out of date and the window to look out to ocean was not clean or clear in a section. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the resort literally had at least 100 kids in each of the pool areas...packed full and there is 'no' swim up bar (we thought we read there was). They had one area to get drinks and it had a line so long we never got a drink. The food at the buffet was 'okay'...nothing special. In the future when booking I will do much more research. Again, the concierge was very accommodating and helpful, we are thankful that we ended up at the Sens Oasis and enjoyed our vacation overall :) But if you are not traveling with kids this resort is not ideal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il.

Nice hotel. pretty clean & great pools.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Great experience staff were very nice.. Loved the pool but needed to be a little cleaner. . Elevators were very small...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from thornton, colorado

Nice hotel right of the beach

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Food was not very good. Super long lines every time you want to eat. Hotel room was ok. It's really difficult to get bottled water and enough towels for my family of 5. Taking a shower was brutal. It was either scalding hot or super cold and it was constantly changing temps throughout your shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell, California

Good value for family with small children

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Pools are always clean and beach has little waves, perfect for my small children.
Cons: The Concierge Desk allowed local tour operators to book dinner reservations the night before and they did not have to line up like the rest of us!!!
Location: We visited Isla Mujeres, X-Caret, and the local market for some tropical fruits.
Overall value was good for price we paid. Really enjoyed the run-away program available. Pros: Clean pools; little waves on the beach; close by bus stop for easy access. Cons: Smell from the small fountain in the front near lobby; required reservation for dinner; restaurants closed between 12 pm - 1 pm; limited night entertainment; lock box rental; unfair practice by Concierge Desk. We were told we can only make reservation for dinner at 9 am on the same day. On 1 particular day, I was first in line and yet all the earlier time slots were taken so I asked how that is possible. Lady at Concierge Desk covered up the signed up log with her hands. I saw names on there. As it turned out, my friend got the earlier time slots. She booked with Olympus Tour, a local tour operator, who was able to make dinner reservation for her the night before. She did not have to line up every morning like the rest of us. My friends and I ended up with the late dinner time slot of 9:15 pm most of the time even when we were first in line. This practice seems so unjust and inappropriate. It should be addressed immediate!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Horrible experience

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Hotel service was terrible !! Food was disgusting and unappetizing to look at. Some of the employees were rude.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Rude staff

Posted Jul 20, 2014
My family arrived at the hotel and was told they didn't have our reservation, but then they decided to send us to their "nicer" hotel "5" minutes away.. The hotel was a couples romantic getaway place, that was more like 35 minutes away.. They had none of the activities we paid for and when we got sent back two days later to be staff was extremely rude the rest of our time there.. Awful experience, I will never go back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from abbotsford bc

ok not great

Posted Jul 20, 2014
resort is good but service is not that great the rating on review's is high for them but the other resort is call cancun grand oasis is better looking then grand oasis palm and have nice beach also when you look online for the resort with expedia some of the pics you will see is not from grand oasis palm but the other ones they have which i did not like rating should be a lot lower not that good of food about 9 of us stayed at grand oasis palm
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa

Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
So so, rooms dirty, sellers in the hotel make your stay unpleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great hotel at affordable price!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: My favorite thing is having so many food choices -- everything from buffet style to made to order restaurants with or without reservations.
Cons: Air-conditioning the elevators and adding more if possible.
Location: The location of the hotel is near the pirate ships loading also near the ferry to Isla Mujeres. Xcaret in Playa del Carmen is a must!
We just came back from a our family vacation. Getting to our hotel was a bit of a challenge only because of the different Oasis locations in Cancun, but once we arrived, it was like they had been expecting us. I believe that because we had booked through Expedia, we were greeted at a table (guest services) offered a drink and immediately received our room keys and bracelets. We had arrived much earlier than check-in time so we weren't sure what to expect. Check out was just as fast a week after. I must say I was happily surprised with everything from food, comfort, service and amenities. We recommend it mostly for families as you will see many families (children) around. My favorite thing of this hotel is having so many food choices. Everything from buffet style to made to order restaurants with or without reservations -- you're not limited with the Grand Oasis Palm.