Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tampa

Hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
So so, rooms dirty, sellers in the hotel make your stay unpleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great hotel at affordable price!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: My favorite thing is having so many food choices -- everything from buffet style to made to order restaurants with or without reservations.
Cons: Air-conditioning the elevators and adding more if possible.
Location: The location of the hotel is near the pirate ships loading also near the ferry to Isla Mujeres. Xcaret in Playa del Carmen is a must!
We just came back from a our family vacation. Getting to our hotel was a bit of a challenge only because of the different Oasis locations in Cancun, but once we arrived, it was like they had been expecting us. I believe that because we had booked through Expedia, we were greeted at a table (guest services) offered a drink and immediately received our room keys and bracelets. We had arrived much earlier than check-in time so we weren't sure what to expect. Check out was just as fast a week after. I must say I was happily surprised with everything from food, comfort, service and amenities. We recommend it mostly for families as you will see many families (children) around. My favorite thing of this hotel is having so many food choices. Everything from buffet style to made to order restaurants with or without reservations -- you're not limited with the Grand Oasis Palm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, P.R.

Nice Hotel at Paradise CancĂșn

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Cons: I think the Buffet could improve in a way that it gives the guests more mexican choices.
I was in the hotel for my honeymoon and the moment we got there, we were stunned by the inmediate kind service of the staff and the beautiful pool close to the beach. The beach is like a paradise, no waves or disturbances and the water is crystal clear. The hotel is close to great ammenities, especially for young adults and the surroundings bring peace to the mind. The food is very good. I have been to other caribbean hotels and the food at Grand Oasis Palm is the best I've tasted so far. The buffet could improve a little with mexican variety, but overall it was really good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All Inclusive with Limitations

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Good nice hardworking staff always with a smile, Buffets and lunches good. Sushi bar had great food. Kids friendly
Cons: Concierge staff: Improve their services, feel welcome, not focus on all the exclusions, Optional dinner booking, a free tour, free internet?
Location: Close to Captain hook, ferry to Isla Mujera nothing much.But a bus ride away for 9.50 pesos which could become harder with kids or 180 pesos for taxi
This facility has potential but somehow fell short. Concierge hands over a piece of paper and explaining what will not be included inside the room and what will not be available. Sort a felt cold, especially if you have booked at Expedia. Once you ignore the initial encounter you can start trying to enjoy the facility. Good: 1. Good nice hardworking staff always with a smile, Buffets and lunches good. 2. Room service with small fee 3. Beverages unlimited - Although felt the cocktails alcohol content reduced and looked more fruit juice which was ok with us. Bad: 1. Internet connection did not work even after paying $30 for one device in the room. Had to search for spots to catch up on work. 2. Formal dining/Restaurants can only be booked at 9:30 am, so did not try even try one. 3. Need to grab beach recliners early in the day or hard luck
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riner, VA

Really enjoyed our stay!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Hotel was very clean and the staff was great. Bars were fast and kept us satisfied.
Cons: Need to overhaul and add new updated elevators with space and air. Need more staff working pool side bars and short order.
We had 6 people in our group and had an excellent experience. Hotel - very clean and maid service was excellent! Front desk and staff very helpful and pleasant. Previous reviews on elevators said they were small. Yes, they are very small! Never had a problem waiting too long, just very tight during peak times. Literally, you can stand in it and touch the walls both ways if you stand in the center and hold both arms up. Plus there was no circulation or a/c in them. Food - good restaurants with a variety of foods. Need reservations for a couple of them. Poolside ice cream and short order grill was good and fairly fast. Bars - great...pool bars were great, they do need more staff manning them during peak beach/pool times. never had to wait long. Tequila Lounge was excellent!!!! Overall - great stay and was very pleased with our selection. We also had a good time using the day pass to the Oasis Cancun!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your time or money!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Food was awful, you are nickeled and dimed for everything. You're charged for the minibar after the first use, you're given towel cards then have to tote towels around everywhere because they won't give you the cards back. Definitely won't go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO IL

OUR TOWELS WERE DIRTY, ROOM WAS HOT

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: THE FOOD WAS GREAT AND THE LADY BY THE POOL OFFERING BURGERS AND HOTDOGS WAS WONDERFUL!
Cons: GYM FACILITY, SERVICE, AND ADD A DJ WERE GROWN UPS CAN DANCE AND HAVE A GOOD TIME WITH THEIR KIDS, DISCO DIDN'T ALLOW KIDS THERE.
Location: TOOK THE FERRY TO ISLA MUJERES WAS VERY CLOSE TO THE HOTEL - TRANSPORTATION 24/7 THE BUS WILL TAKE YOU THE STORES, WALMART WITHIN 5-10 MINUTES
THEY WOULD CLEAN OUR ROOM BUT FOR SOME REASON, THEY LEFT DIRTY TOWELS AS IF THEY WERE CLEAN, I ASKED FOR A CLEAN TOWEL THEY TOOK A WHILE TO TAKE ONE, AND THE AIR-CONDITIONING WASN'T WORKING PROPERLY THEY WOULD SAY SOME ONE WILL FIX IT BUT NO ONE WOULD FIX IT, AVERAGE HOTEL, GYM FACILITY IS HORRID AT THIS HOTEL, NEXT TIME WE WILL STAY AT GRAND OASIS CANCUN, DON'T GET THEM CONFUSED GRAND OASIS PALM NOT SO GREAT :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from USA

Great family friendly resort

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This is a great place to stay with kids. Event staff is excellent, daily activities at the pool and each evening. No complaints about the food. Captain Hook cruise is wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Family friendly hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff, pool and beach.
Cons: The facilities. Specifically, the elevators and the water pressure.
Location: We stayed at the resort most of the time, but there are plenty of excursions if you are interested. Our family went on the Captain Hook dinner cruise.
We decided on a trip to Cancun at the last minute. The hotel staff was fabulous and always courteous. The hotel itself needs updating. The rooms smell musty and there is no water pressure. There are towels, but no washclothes. We booked a room for 5 people, but were given a room that could comfortably accommodate 4. The WiFi at this facility is odd. You need to pay by the device, not by the room and you need to pay extra for a key to the room safe. There are also very small, very crowded elevators. The restaurants on the property are diverse and offer good variety. The staff is very eager to help everyone have a great time. The pool and beach areas are great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for younger families

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: It was not over crowded or overly busy. It made for a very nice relaxing vacation.
Cons: Towel service could be better. They ran out of clean beach towels more than once.
Location: Day pass for Oasis Cancun, beach had bigger waves better beach for teen aged children. Shopping mall, public beaches, Market 28, El Rey ruins.
Calm beach. Great pool. Plenty of chairs by pool and on beach. Very helpful staff. They helped us navigate to other area attractions and hotels so were able to see and do a lot without using a cab or tour companies without a rental car.