Ratings based on 2,176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Recent Stay at Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The grounds of the resort were beautifully maintained.
Cons: The food was only mediocre. We've definitely had better at other resorts.
Location: We did not leave the resort.
Upon check-in, the hotel did not have a king bed for us as had been confirmed by email with the hotel. The late night activity at the hotel is little to none. On nights when they offered live music and karaoke, there was a crowd but on other nights the hotel was dead by 8:30 or 9:00. Waitresses rarely make visits down to the far end of the palapas and the palapas are placed well away from the water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from geargia

Disappointed

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Food was BAD! Room was hot. Bugs! Find another place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful resort, great location.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: The beds were very hard and uncomfortable.
Location: The location is perfect! Close to nightlife, restaurants and shopping. Only a 20 minute walk.
My daughter and I just returned from our visit at The Grand Park Royal. I will comment on things that were important to me when I was looking to book my vacation. Lets start with the location, It was perfect! Close to nightlife and restaurants such as Coco Bongo, Senior Frogs, Carlos and Charlie's and more. Also shopping, the flea Markets and the Mexican outlet mall, all within a 20 minute walking distance or buses run 24 hrs for $1. The Food: The fine dining restaurants were ok. The menu has a handful of items to chose from and the portions are very small. The buffet was good, the breakfast was the best. I was a little disappointed because I wanted my daughter, since it was her 1st visit to Mexico, to experience some authentic Mexican food. We had to leave the resort for that. The rooms: All rooms are facing the ocean. I was offered an upgrade for a price but honestly I didn't think it was worth it. The upgraded rooms offered Jacuzzi's (which was to hot to use) and they were beach front. However my room, #3511 was in the main building and was on the 5th floor, was perfect! The view was amazing! I also like the main building better because it was close to the outdoor snack bar that served burgers, hotdogs, nachos etc. Also the outdoor pizza place and the bar were near the pool and right outside the main building. The pools: There are 2 pools and a Jacuzzi. Both very nice & clean.I would recommend this resort. We will definitely be back! Beautiful resort, great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Beautiful beach views

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We upgraded to the Royal Tower (adult only). Our room and view was incredible, with a personal butler to attend to all of our needs. I'm glad we did, because our friends did not have the same luck with their room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In love with cancun :)

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: EVERTHING
Location: WITH DID XPLOR,COBA,XSCARET
WITH LOVE OURS HOTEL AND ALL THE PEOPLE WAS NICE , THE VIEW OF MY ROOM WAS SO BEAUTIFUL I WILL COME BACK TO THIS HOTEL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bognor Regis UK

Nice Hotel with nice beach

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: It on the beach, clean and tidy, friendly staff, good bus service, good food and pleasant people. The American clientelle are very friendly.
Cons: The tele phone to use to phone home could be moved as it is in a echoey corridor making conversation difficult
Location: Lots of night life within a half mile either way from the hotel. Turtles lay their eggs on the beach in June, and can be seen at around 3am.
This hotel is mainly used by Americans. So you can expect it to be of good quality, and it is. The money used is mainly US dollars, and I would recommend this, as this currency is preferred over pesos. The staff are meticulously clean and proud of the hotel and its grounds. The food is very nice, but after two weeks the british stomach becomes a bit delicate and lots of oil and seafood can make you queasy. But everything is laid on and near perfect. The drinks were all original, Baileys was baileys etc, no cheap stuff. The pools were clean and always tidy. There was entertainment from some loud staff around the pool, and this was mixed with lots of tequila. The bus R1 is best for Cancun town, but it is more for locals, so keep an eye on yourself. Overall this was a very good holiday, and very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AR

Great hotel, unimpressive food.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
We had a great week at this resort. Our room was big and comfortable with beautiful views of the ocean. They staff was very nice. Our only complaint was the food. You had to have reservations for the nice restaurants and had to make them by 2 on each day. We arrived too late the first day, they were booked the second, the food was great at the Oriental restaurant, and we returned too late from our excursion the fourth day. Every other meal we only had the buffet. A few things were good but many things tasted old and stale. If the food could be improved there would be no complaint about this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

GREAT PLACE WITH GREAT STAFF!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Cons: The haggling needs to be controlled. They definitely do not need to disturb guests as soon as they arrive. We had a long trip to arrive- be courteous.
Grand Park Royal was the best experience. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted with cocktails which definitely made us feel like it is VACATION TIME and time to relax! It was our first visit to cancun, and I will definitely book this hotel again. The pools were fun, the beach was great, and our room was always so clean. We would put out the DO NOT DISTURB sign on our door when we would leave for the excursions, but they would still go in to clean the room. THIS IS OKAY, just make sure to lock up the valuables- as you should regardless of where you stay (common sense). The restaurants were all great! The service was exceptionoal. The only downside is some of the staff is ALWAYS trying to sell you the time share and the adventures. It got very annoying, especially since I speak spanish and I am of mexican decent. They do take advantage of the tourists, but it is the tourist part of mexico so I should have expected that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Great place!

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The specialty restaurants were VERY good and the staff very attentive!
Cons: The AC, bed was HARD, children should be kept away from the adult pool. The Mexican restaurant wasn't great. Hard to make reservations!
Location: All excursions are great! Great beach!
I'm fairly well traveled and I thought this was a very nice place. Great location! On the bus route which only cost ~$1 each time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

2nd Time Around

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The staff and the atmosphere
Cons: Some of the room features felt a little dated. It would also help to see infrastructure updates that give more ability to the A/C in the hotel.
This is my second trip to Cancun staying at this resort. The first was with a party of 6 friends a few years back, and we had a great time. This visit was just for myself and my girlfriend. Both trips provided exactly what I was looking for from each. This trip, I bathed in the sun for hours at a time with the occasional dabbling in the events and games being put on by the entertainment staff. They really know how to include you in their activities without forcing you to do anything you don't want to. The food is good, it may not be US restaurant quality, but it tastes great and it's always available. The atmosphere around the resort is very laid-back. It really helps that all of the hotel staff has adequate English. The staff that you spend most of your time dealing with (i.e. hostesses, waiters, bartenders, and event staff) all have very good English, while many of the room service and grounds staff know enough to allow communication. All in all, the next time I visit Cancun, I'm pretty confident that I will be staying at this hotel again.