Ratings based on 1,529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simona from New Jersey

Nice hotel on the beach!

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness
Cons: I would ask a computer kiosk to give guests the opportunity to check in online for their flights.
Location: The hotel is walking distance to the mall Plaza Flamingo and downtown Cancun, where you have Carlos and Charlies, Senor Frogs, Fat Tuesdays.
We had booked this hotel based on reviews and some of the reviews had made me nervous about the food, the location as well as the staff. Once I got there, I could see those reviews were unfairly based. The hotel staff was very professional. Because we had booked two rooms, one was ready before the other, which was fine and in time for us to change and still enjoy a game of beach volleyball. I had also read that the lines to make reservations for the specialty restaurants were ridiculous and staff was unhelpful. Not so, there was no line and staff was available for reservations from 9:00am to 2:00pm. Each morning we went, we were able to get something for that evening. I had read one review that scared me into tomorrow about room cleanliness. A huge pet peeve of mine. My family and I have been traveling at least twice a year for the last 12 years, and this hotel beat all in the amount of dedicated staff to keeping the whole hotel clean. The first thing I normally do when I get into a hotel room is pull the covers, look under the mattress and under dressers. I have my game face on ready to call the front desk. But this time, there was nothing to call about. Under the dressers, was spotless, the bathroom was scrubbed as well as the closets. I'm grateful for the stickers on the balcony window, or I would have easily walked through the windows were so clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura from Denver, CO

Clean, safe and beautiful location

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The staff overall is pleasant, food was good, location and beach was beautiful.
Cons: No pressure right off the plane to sit before you get to your room to listen to a guy tell us about future vacations when we haven't even had one
Location: Location was perfect. If you want a beach and pool for the family-great
Staff when you arrive is pushy to sell future vacation packages and have you sit through a 3 hour long presentation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Syracuse, NY

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, food, drinks, staff, facilities, poolside chairs, and ocean proximity.
Cons: The ocean water was warmer that the pools. I think that at least one of the pools should be heated.
Location: In the Hotel Zone, and right on the ocean. Flea market was nearby, and downtown could be reached easily by bus or taxi.
We had a good experience. Cleanliness, food, drinks, staff, facilities, and poolside chairs, were "All Good".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BeachDoc from Southern California

very nice hotel not so friendly front staff.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: 1. Beach 2. Grill station at the buffet. 3. Room view.
Cons: Front staff, not friendly. Just barely doing their job.
overall a very good experience, not as big as other all inclusive. Best beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Chicago

An excellent experience after an initial hiccup

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant and helpful. They are always cleaning, the grounds are well kept. The food was very good even on the buffet.
Cons: They try to upgrade anyone who books a regular room to the tower so they over book the tower. They should have the rooms that are reserved available.
Location: The Expedia local Expert was great and helped us choose and book an excursion. We went on the Jungle Tour from Sunrise Marina.
Over all our experience at the Grand Park Royal was excellent after over coming an initial hiccup. We booked a room in the Royal Tower (the adults only section of the resort.) Then when we check in, the receptionist says "I'm gonna be honest with you, we over booked the tower so we don't have the room you booked available." At this point she brought in Ernesto who offered us a room in one of the new Villas. He took us to see the room before we agreed and the room was great. I was not happy that they did not have the room I book available. Once I saw the room I told Ernesto we would take it as long there would not be children in that section. He assured me that section of the resort was quite and there would be no kids. Our first night in the villa was great, the second night a family with kids checked in to theTh room next to us, which meant jumping and splashing in their plunge pool, lots of yelling and banging on doors which was annoying, and the reason I book a room in the adults only section of the resort. Thankfully the parents managed to get their kids under control and it did not become an issue. Aside form the issue with our room, everything else was excellent. The bar tenders in the lobby bar were great, we had a lot of fun hanging out there. Our waiter in the buffet, Aaron, was a lot of fun. All of the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful. They are always cleaning so the grounds are pristine. The food was very good at all of the restaurants and the buffet.
3 out of 5
by Rezzza

Just OK!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The room itself.
Cons: Internet for free at least in lobby, entertainment, a fully stocked mini bar, free gym.
Location: Various tours, lots of agents will try and sell them to you!
Had a good time, but the staff don't really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Even though I tipped at every opportunity still not really getting service. No internet, have to pay for gym, no real entertainment and no beach bar service are also downers. For the money we paid, would expect more as experienced at other hotels near this one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S. from Wash. DC

Great hotel and beautiful beach.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Wonderful stay with our 2 young children. Staff very friendly. Food delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KT from Maryland

Wonderful vacation!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Staff other than front desk were great.
Cons: Friendliness, efficiency and helpfulness of the front desk staff.
We enjoyed the Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe very much. We upgraded to the Premier Ocean Front Room and very glad we did. The view from our room was fantastic. The only reason for only giving this hotel 4 star rating is the staff at the front desk - they could have been friendlier and more helpful. Everyone else at the hotel was wonderful! The place was always clean, our room was comfortable and the food and drinks were great. I have read some reviews complaining about the drinks being weak but we did not find this to be true. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel to others. We ate in the special, reservations only, restaurants 2 nights and I would say those experiences were okay at best. The food in the Oriental restaurant was wonderful. If you eat in these restaurants beware - men must wear long pants and closed toed shoes. Really? This is a beach vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will

Very nice resort

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Really nice staff clean room great food Next to attraction and clubs would go back again. Price reasonable for want you get in return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Nebraska

Great place to stay!!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The location and amenities were perfect!
Cons: The only thing would be maybe a place to listen to music during the later hours (after 11 pm).
Location: We did so many excursion and the hotel is in the middle of all of it!
It was wonderful and everyone was very nice and professional! Will be back and would recommend to everyone!