Ratings based on 2,125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Everything is great except the food

Posted May 22, 2015
Staff are very friendly and they the resort running really well. There are 5-6 restaurants in the hotel and only Mexican and Italian restaurants are pretty good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ants

Posted May 21, 2015
Cons: Spry while no one at the room for ants
1- My request was king bed and they give me 2 small bed 2- Room was full of ants and they were on my bed and all over the room. Called but they came and spry it and that was not really fun Real bad hotels and really expensive Shop for other hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bogota

nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Nice hotel... the pool beatiful. Nice beach... need to improve food service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Decent for the price

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: The restaurants, while not the greatest quality or quantity, had a large variety of offerings and we never went hungry or disappointed by meals.
Cons: Much of the staff acts annoyed if you have questions or are ordering a drink (except the swim up bar staff). Clean rooms but very humid.
Location: Great location on the ocean-side with prime beach property. Night clubs are a brief (and we felt, safe) 15 minute walk down hotel zone and were fun.
To give you perspective on my review, I traveled in May with a group of 6 guys who all just finished graduate school at my suggestion to Cancun, as I had spent a week with my ex the year prior and had an amazing trip. The guys and I were in Cancun primarily to drink and relax during the day and go clubbing at night, and we wanted an all-inclusive resort that was clean, comfortable, with good food and not too many kids. Overall, Grand Park Royal mostly met these standards. My group and I had a great vacation, though there were some major hang-ups worth noting that may make or make your decision to stay here. Check in was disappointing, as they claimed Expedia's request for 3 rooms with double beds wasn't valid and that they hadn't received correspondence from us requesting such, so all they could give us were 3 king rooms spread out. Not the worst thing, and we were still comfortable, but still disappointing seeing as we had booked months in advance. The three specialty restaurants and buffet were pretty good, with everyone being pleased at the variety and quality of food overall. Portion sizes (especially at the mexican restaurant) tended to be on the small side, but there is no limit on how much you can order, so that wasn't an issue. Drinks were good, but bartenders tended to have an attitude most of the time, despite adequate tipping. The cleaning staff did a great job, and the two pools were fun and relaxing. We felt very secure and had no other issues during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Great honeymoon! The staff is truly wonderful! Very clean,and welcoming atmosphere. We loved every bit of this place and can't wait to go again! It is a little quiet at night so definitely plan to go somewhere at night if you want lots of entertainment. Besides that, we couldn't have had a better vacation. We especially loved the El Mirador restaurant and a lively pool bartender Francisco. We are already planning our next trip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Cancun for Two

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location and cleanliness. Beach access and large swimming pools.
Cons: The waitress at the pool was overwhelmed. Too many people for one waitress. I would place an order and wouldn't get it for 15-20 mins.
This hotel was an excellent choice. The room was large and very well maintained. I upgraded to a Villa on the beach. Very well worth it. The Villas are quieter and each one has their own little pool, along with reserved beach beds/chairs. The dining was superb! Every night had a different theme and the food was always delicious. Restaurant staff was very friendly. Dinner always had music (live musicians) playing songs requested by guests. The hotel itself was located about a 20 minute walk from the main downtown. Transportation around town is very inexpensive if you take the bus. Buses run every 5-10 mins and can take you just about anywhere. One way trip per person is only 10 pesos. Overall an excellent experience. I would definitely recommend Grand Park Royal Cancun to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Nice place

Posted May 19, 2015
Great stay. Hotel, beds, beach and pool were great. Entertainment, plus, plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryville, TN

Ocean view room with balcony

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Accommodations, service, views, great food.
Cons: Cooler rooms (the coolest temp is set by the preprogrammed thermostat), the room refrigerator needs to be colder and could be better stocked.
Location: Grand Park is 20 minutes from airport. Buses are easily accessed to go to downtown Cancun, shopping, or to other hotels or activities.
BD Travel provided transportation from the airport to the Grand Park Royal. Relatively short ride and the van was air conditioned and very comfortable. Bellhops at the hotel were very helpful (although I don't recommend asking them to break large US currency bills as they will likely be a "dollar or two short" of exact change. Right). Checkin was fast and we were escorted to our rooms (walk or by golf cart). Great ocean/beach view from our 6th floor balcony. Beautiful water which transitioned from aqua to light blue/turquoise to deep blue. A nice breeze and cool drink on the balcony usually topped off the evenings. Restaurant offerings varied from Italian, Asian and Mexican which we enjoyed for dinner (dinner reservations are required and recommend getting those soon after check in). A cafe offered buffet style dining for every meal and the selections were varied and well-prepared. The beach was beautiful. Swimming area was somewhat restricted (due to undertow we were told) but no complaints. Nice 4-5 ft waves for boogie-boarding. Shade (if desired) is in short supply so get up early to reserve a spot. We used our towels to assure our usual beach cabana. Service (drinks) was fantastic and the waitress (ask for Olivia!) kept us well-supplied all day. Don't forget to tip! Had a great time and highly recommend Grand Park Royal. (Only negative is the frequently offered "opportunity" to attend a "brief" presentation (to invest in a timeshare we assumed, though we did not attend)).
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel and nice peoplr

Posted May 18, 2015
We can recomnd this hotel but need new activities like life music, dance etc etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Loved it

Posted May 16, 2015
Very clean very relaxing. Great food great entertainers. Very nice and helpful staff. Beautiful beach great pools. It's a must try!