Ratings based on 1,927 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Excellent staff, very clean , very comfortable. Could use more shade, food is only ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia WA

First time in Cancun

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Beautiful room, gorgeous view, and fairly close to small shopping centers.
Cons: Keep kids out of the advertised Adult Only areas. Keep them out of the hot tub, with their floaties. Treat English speaking people as well as Spanish.
Location: Walking outside and to the right, were a few restaurants and bars. Walking to the left, two shopping centers and other restaurants.
This is our first time in Cancun, so we have nothing to compare it to. I am assuming that most all of the same priced hotels that are all inclusive would have about the same issues. The check in went fine, and the room was beautiful. Very humid in the room, as the ocean was so close--gorgeous view--and the marble floors were very slippery. We had to be very careful not to slip. The bed was huge, but a bit hard. We asked several times for extra coffee pods, but never got them. We just started ordering a pot of coffee from Room Service. We did find Crystell in the Royal Tower Lounge, and she was able to get us the chair that was missing from the patio, and solved some other minor issues for us. She even printed our boarding passes for our flight home, which was great. The food in both the Oriental and the Italian Restaurants were decent. Service in the Italian Restaurant the first visit was excellent. The second visit seemed to find us being ignored in favor of a couple of large groups. We only at at La Concha for breakfast, and it was okay. The buffet was really good. Lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, and enough variety to be interesting. My complaint, is that it was very hard to get reservations into the Oriental and Italian restaurants, but then when you were eating, they were only half full. My guess is that they do that on purpose, as it's cheaper for them to have people eat in the buffet. The Adults Only pool was not adhered to at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fits like a glove...

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Third straight year we've spent a relaxing week poolside, walking the beach, and getting recharged for the rest of the winter back home. There are glitzier places and countless resorts with more action in the Cancun hotel zone. But for good value, very friendly staff and a low key vacation with plentiful and reasonably good food and drink the Grand Park Royal Cancun Caribe is an excellent choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Great hotel with friendly staff. Impeccably clead

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, beach
Excellent hotel. The food was great and the staff was super friendly and helpful. Large, clean beach with plenty of lounges. Pool service waitress named Olivia is awesome. So is pool bar tender Jose. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F

Very nice all inclusive, huge stretch of beach!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This hotel has one of the largest beaches but since it is not all huge towers you feel like you have it to yourself. The food at the restaurants was really good, just need to make reservations when you arrive. Even the buffet was good, though I was not that impressed with pizza and grill snacks. The Royal/Premier Tower pool with swim up bar was amazing. Chairs and cabanas were relatively easy to secure. We stayed in the Villas and my only concern was lack of execution on VIP perks...no drink service at the beach except one server one time in 5 days, and when I called for help with reservations they still told me to come wait in line in person. Royal Tower lounge was not busy nor stocked with food at the time we wanted to be in there. Otherwise, a perfect experience!! Excellent service on a beautiful property and the Cancun beach can't be beat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

THE BEST IN CANCUN

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Clean, clean, clean. Very friendly people. Wide beach front, never feel crowded, white sand, clear sea, always warm water.
Cons: Add more beach umbrellas and chairs.
Location: Well located, near malls. Many activities also offered, for visiting historic sites or water activities, just stop at the Expedia desk in the hotel.
Excellent experience at this hotel, food is very good, rooms are impeccable. Everyone working there is smiling and ready to help you to make your stay more enjoyable. Beach front is kept clean, all the Equipment (chairs, matresses, etc) are cleaned every evening. The whole complete hotel is in perfect clean condition. Restaurants are also very enjoyable, the largets one with the buffet has a great selection of food and they change the offering every day and they have Mexican singers every evening and they are good. There is a desk with the Expedia representative who is very helpful to book other activities. Around the pool, music is not too loud, and not annoying. Nice place to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Excellent customer service

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Not one complaint, took my teenagers on vacation and chose this hotel because of their current rating, I was not let down, they made it as pleasure able as could be, my 19 year old even wants to stay here again, 5 STARS all the way, thanks for giving my family an awesome unforgettable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great Resort!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Immaculate, great location, friendly staff, good food
Cons: Could be more shade areas available at pool and beach. More palapas/palm trees.
Location: within walking distance to shopping and clubs and easy access to tours and activities
We've traveled to Mexico many times, and the Grand Park Royal is the best! We met many people who have returned numerous times. Staff is continually cleaning EVERYTHING! The resort is beautiful, well laid out, and although large, it has a relaxed and intimate feel to it. We stayed in the tower by the Italian Restaurant and loved it! Beautiful ocean front view!! Two pools to choose from with bars at each, and an expansive beach area. Just like any other all inclusive, you have to get down to the pool/beach early if you want chairs with a palapa for shade. Food is delicious, with made to order options every day (omelets, eggs, pasta bar, tacos, gyros) in the Cocay Cafe. Also available is freshly made pizza and hamburgers/hot dogs all afternoon by the big pool in addition to the buffet. Gelatto is a must every afternoon! Specialty restaurants are great. We went down around 11AM and never had a problem getting a reservation - booking 1 day in advance and can book for 2 nights). Some people complain about long pants/shoes for men and that kids under 12 are not allowed in specialty restaurants. If they READ about the resort before booking, they'd have known that!! Also, the beach is awesome for beach walks and swimming. We would definitely choose the Grand Park Royal again!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom texas

servicewise terrible, absolutely NOT for children

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: there is one woman named "Cristell" who helped us alot. she works at the front desk, and she was the only woman helped us the best.
Cons: FOOD, more amenities for kids, better services
Location: subsea, fish doctor, shopping
1. At the restaurant We were waiting for waiter but never came which I had to find my own, however I found one and asked for help and the waiter said "NO". 2. they don't have enough amenities for kids and You can't go to any restaurant except one! and they have same menu everyday, my both kids lost weight while they were in this hotel. 3. room cleaning guy spilled water and it ruined GUCCI boots and luggage, we found out right before we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom williamston, MI

Review is based upon stay in the Royal Tower.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Cannot stress enough your level of satisfaction at this resort depends upon whether you stay in the Royal Tower or Villas vs. a standard hotel room. If you are aware of, and can accept my he idiosyncrasies of this resort beforehand you will greatly enjoy this beautiful, spotlessly clean resort. Here is a list of frequent complaints from whiners. - free internet in a few common areas only - $8 per day to use gym - children under 12 not allowed in reservation only restaurants - no nightlife scene If these things do not bother you, you will have a fantastic stay at this beautiful resort. The quality of the rooms, facilities, and food offered for the price is one of the best values in the Cancun hotel zone.