Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Buffalo, NY

Poor Experience.......

Posted Feb 24, 2015
What can I say it was horrible almost from start to finish. At check in we were upgraded to a room that had a non working jacuzzi and smelled of sewage. When we tried to change rooms they said they would come and fix it. Poured something down drain. Did not work so our room smelled all trip. Jacuzzi never fixed. The AC in room did not work as the control panel was locked. Food was sub standard at best and service was not very good. Some spots of great service and mostly surly or no service. This is more like a 1.5 to 2 star hotel. Lights in hallways were turned off at night presenting a safety concern. This seemed to be done randomly. Elevators were horrible from how often they worked and again at night they seemed to be turned off except for one or two. Stairways unsafe and dirty. Beer was skunked at each line in restaurants. Only clean ones appeared to be in buffet or at pool. Poor Experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eau Claire, WI

Very family friendly all-inclusive resort!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Room was nice, food choices were very good, pool and beach area was nice, staff was great! I really like being able to book excursions in the lobby!
Cons: It would be nice if the pool was a little warmer, but it was OK. At times, service was a little slow for dinner but it was busy.
Location: We took a tour to the Mayan ruins from Cancun Passion tour company - would highly recommend them! We booked it in the lobby of the hotel.
This is a very nice family-friendly all inclusive resort. The location was good, facilities were nice, and the staff of the hotel was very helpful and friendly. The "Guest Services" representatives near the check-in desk are a little aggressive (they seemed to be interested in selling us a future vacation) but once we politely told them no they backed off. Would definitely recommend this resort!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom uk

great for families with children

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Large rooms all with sea view balconies. Family rooms have a sectioned off bunk bed bit so can get some privacy. Pirate ship water park great.
Cons: All a bit dated and could do with a revamp and modernising. Restaurants were themed but corney. Water in pools was cold, children did not mind !
Location: Bus runs up to market where Mexicans annoyed me by calling out to buy things. Swim with dolphins in sea on a nearby island, wet & wild was rubbish.
Chose this hotel as we have a 4 year old and 8 year old, the water park on site and family rooms were perfect. If we did not have the children with us we would have chosen something more luxurious. The reviews all say it's dated and that is what we expected, the reviews are true but it is not dire just not a UK 5 star hotel, the children did not notice though. Food was great, excellent choice of restaurants all family friendly. Location right on beach and has a fab bus that runs up and down the main road taking you to the night life, markets and centre, for 50p each there is no need for expensive taxis, tell the bus driver where you are going and he will shout out the right stop for you. Staff were all so friendly and helpful and the whole place was really clean. Our 4 year old was in the pool all of the time and it was safe enough for the 8 year old to join in games on the beach Go if you have children if it's an adult holiday go somewhere without lots of children running around.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Wouldn't go back

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Kids club, water park, Aquaworld. PM manager (Alejandro, I think) saved our trip...outstanding customer service skills! Outstanding wait staff.
Cons: Unless you like dorm food, the restaurants are terrible. Instead of repairing, try renovating...the hotel is tired.
Location: The location is okay. For $1 (US) you can take the bus anywhere. Loved all services offered by Aquaworld.
My original reveiew was well over 2500 characters, so I'll do my best to get my point across in about half that many. I booked a King sized family room through expedia. We arrived in the wee hours and our room had two double beds. At 10 the next morning, I talked to Patricia at the front desk about it. She told me to bring our 6 bags to the lobby and they will move us. We did so and were told that check out is at 12 and the room would be ready at 3. This wouldn't have been too much of an issue except my backpack had all our cash, medications and passorts in it. I asked how I could secure this one bag so we could go to the beach. She suggested that I leave it with my bags (out in the open in the lobby) or put it behind the desk with her. I then asked for a manager. He was kind enough to allow us to check into our new room at 1215, but with the understanding that it would not be cleaned until later. Patricia assured me that the bags would be transferred to the new room. We secured the backpack in the safe at 1215 and went to the beach. At 5pm, we went to our room but our bags weren't there. I talked to Patricia who apologized and reassured me that they'd be there momentarily. At 530, Patricia apologized again and told me she'd take care of it. Eventually, I spoke to the bellhop myself who said that they'd been looking for me all day because they didn't know what room to deliver them to. Several other issues for the first 2 days. We were ready to check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest, US

Great family friendly place to stay.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Great price, food and family friendly.
Cons: Hotel security and not letting people save chairs with towels that only use those chairs for a few hours a day.
Location: Great location on hotel zone beach and many activities, such as dolphin experience, Mayan Ruins, etc. close by and airport is only a 15 minute drive.
Great place to stay for the price. Our room was loud and next to another resort's large cooling units, but we could have had a nicer room if we paid more, so we were completely fine with that. Nice beach area, pool area and great kids pool and slide area on backside. Hotel also has a small "green space" next to it with many Iguana's sun bathing and our kids really liked that. There are also some Iguanas and small lizards along the sides of the hotel walk ways if you look close. The restaurants were not the greatest, but very good for a beach resort. Overall had a great time here and would recommend to others, but please pay for a key for the room safe at check-in as my Iphone 6 was stolen from our room on the first day even with "do not disturb" and "privacy" tag on door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Not having to look around for food was great! The water park was the highlight for our 2 year old. We were extremely disappointed by the ridiculously long check-in time - it took almost 2 hours to get through 4-5 families in front of us! Yikes! We asked for and were offered a room upgrade to get a fridge. Clerk told us it was the same type of room (family room), however we got to the room and it was a single King bed with jacuzzi -- not what makes sense for a family. So everyone's hungry after a full day of travel and standing in line for two hours to check in - and now we've got to change rooms again. Bellman was great helping us get the room switched around. Also - avoid the sales pitch from the guest services folks right after you check in. They try to give you free stuff for a "no obligations" breakfast for their "new VIP experience". Stop trying to sell me stuff! Food was mostly good - there were a few things to avoid. The adult outdoor pool looked awesome but was *freezing cold*. Heat the pool and it would have been *so* much nicer! There was a small bulletin board next to guest services describing all the restaurants and their open/close times. Don't miss it! There isn't much instruction about where things are located or when/how things are open other than this board. I guess you're just expected to pick it up as you go? Put together a welcome packet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern New York

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The variety of restaurants for dinner besides the buffet. The pools were very nice as well as the additional adults only pool and bar. Friendly staff.
Cons: Upgrade the mattresses; too hard. Refrigerators in every room as well as bottled water and beer. Heated pools. Premium draft beer
Location: There were plenty of excursions available for additional cost
We stayed at this resort for 10 days and really enjoyed the experience. I do not understand why some reviews of this resort were bad. I think those who did complain should probably stay at a 5 star resort instead. We found the staff to be friendly and hard working. The food was OK in most places and there was plenty of it! The Mexican restaurant, Big Ben and Manhattan restaurant were very good and staff there we found to be exceptional. We also enjoyed our visit to the sister property at the adult only resort, the Golden Parnassus with shuttle transportation provided every hour. The beach was very nice. There was plenty of cleaning staff and the pool and beach areas were kept clean and tidy. Our only complaints were that the bed was too hard and there was no refrigerator or bottled water in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Wish the pool's were open later. Drinking glasses were a bit small. Really enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Posted Feb 18, 2015
the best experience i have ever.....great parnassus was an amazing vacation spot....good job and thanks for the good memories
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Not the best experience.

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Arrived there at midnight. First 3 sets of keys did not open the door. They let us in with a master key. Found 1cm long red ants - many of them - in the bathroom. Asked for a different room . Key did not open the room again. Was able to get in by 1 am. Phone did not work in the room, could not call reception or any other room, except the room service. Requested to have it fixed, it was done on the 4th day of my stay. Black mold in the shower area. Food was ok. Requested bellboy services for 5:30 am, waited until 5:45- nobody came, called them and they came when we already carried everything to the elevators. I will not recommend it to my friends and will not go back there.