Ratings based on 974 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nc

Terrible experience

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: check in experience
Location: ok
Terrible experience at check in, wrong type of room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Good Choice for Families

Posted Mar 31, 2015
We stayed at Great Parnassus for four nights and got a pretty good deal considering it's an large all inclusive right off the beach. We have three small kids and they enjoyed the pool, the beach, the waterpark, and everything else the place has to offer. They had a number of restaurants to pick from and the buffet has a good variety of offerings as well. There are probably nicer places to stay in Cancun but if you're traveling with kids and looking for a good deal you can probably find it here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Cons: The only complaint (and most resorts in Mexico are the same) is the noise level coming from other rooms and hallway.
We had an amazing time at the Parnassus. The resort is beautiful and the food is good. The staff was awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sherwood, ND

Wouldn't stay here again

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Beach & Pool
Cons: Beds! Food!
I was disappointed with our stay. I had reserved 2 rooms. One for the kids and one for my husband and me. When I was checking in, I was told we would have rooms 724 & 725. When we got up to our rooms, they were not side by side. They were across from each other. This is not what I wanted. My kids are 14,12 & 10. I went down to the front desk and they said they didn't have anything available. Very irritating! The beds were very hard! The pillows were crappy. There was 2 mornings we didn't have hot water so we couldn't shower. The food was really not very good. The service you received was hit and miss. Some were very good and others were not nice. The pool and beach were nice. The Wi Fi was horrible! had to sit outside your room in the hall to get any kind of service. I had read before about staying in the odd numbered rooms and that is correct. We had both and the even numbered room, you could hear the sound of the Iberostar a/c unit the whole time. I have stayed at 6 different resorts in Cancun and this was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. I will never stay here again nor will I recommend to friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Nice Hotel for travelling with kids

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Kids Club
Location: Nice place to stay with a lot of historical sites around.
Very friendly and service orientated personell, good quality of food and well maintained facility. Kids Club could not fulfill the expectations, the personell didn't seem to be very ambitioned. Overall a good hotel with a lot of good options, a nice beach and good value for the money. During our stay the weather conditions permitted swimming in the ocean for our Kids 10 and 8 while on their own. I would book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Nice hotel, Beach side, staff extreamly friendly.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Had a blast at this hotel, staff was great, activities were pretty decent, wifi service the worst, do not buy the $30 deal..you only get wifi at the lobby at times. The biggest down fault. except from the wifi service everything else was awesome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

needs a renovation, lots of kids, but still fun

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: large rooms, many bars
Cons: alcohol is watered down, children all over the hotel, tile in the pools kind of dirty
Location: good location, nice beach, 20 min drive from the strip, 45 min bus ride from flea market 28/downtown
Food wasn't that good, but our room was really nice. Got one on the top floor on the odd side/north facing. It came with a hot tub in it, which I didn't know it'd have. An annoying activities director at the main pool for the kids. Too many kids btw. sooo many children. The adult pool was better, but the swim-up bar was closed. The adult pool is pretty small and the hot tubs were only lukewarm, but they face the sunset, which is nice. The beach is spacious, and there are a lot of huts to lay beneath if you have easily burnt skin. The AC in our room had an annoying drip the whole time, but overall the room was very large and clean. The alcohol is watered down, and you have to pressure them to put a full shot in your mixed drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice hotel close to the beach !!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Breakfast is very nice.
Location: I went to Chichen Itza. It was convenient to make a reservation for our trip. Because there was a Best Day travel agent in the hotel.
This hotel is very convenient for family. Also, hotel staffs are very kind.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom dallas

Worst experience in a hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
People from the lobby try to sell you a time share if you want to go for a Walt a 8 am they ask you where are you going , why, etc etc they don't want you go to another place because they think you go to buy a time share from another hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great Parnassus not so Great!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
We had a late check in and there was not enough people to check us in and explain the hotel amenities. The beds were rock hard and the television lacked English channels. The food was average and the drinks were made with cheap liquor. It's definitely a family hotel, my kids enjoyed the waterpark but the staff member was very rude in the Kangaroo Grill bar. I can understand the kids wanted the smoothies but if you serve the drinks in larger glasses they would not come back so often for lore drinks. The best restaurant was the Japanese restaurant. The only problem was it took 2 hours to get served. The big bend stark house was also great but it took three hours to eat.