Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Rapid City South Dakota (15 min from Mt Rushmore)

The facilities were great and the staff friendly

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Our time in Cancun was awesome and the Holiday Inn Arenas was nice. I booked our trip last minute so we kind of 'got what we got ". Next time I will book something closer to the middle of Hotel Zone, only because everything is within walking distance. Holiday Inn is fine though if you are comfortable with the bus or taxis. It really is a personal preference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lot under expectations

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Me and my wife chose the HI because we had a great experience in this hotel in Ecuador. However it was very dissapointing to reach and get a very bad service starting from the bellboy (nobody helped us with our bags) to the counter people (take a lot of time). We had to sleep in separated beds since there were not king bed as informed in the website and the queen beds are too small for two people. Hotel premises are not nice, the TV signal was terrible, not even one complimentary water and when asked for 1 additional hour for checking out, they asked for extra money per each additional hour of stay. The only good thing was the breakfast and nice attention from the people at the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Arenas, Cancun, MX

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: staff was nice, kept clean
Cons: long distance telephone service from the room, more variety for the room service menu
Location: Hotel is far from hotel district, shopping, and downtown.
The Breakfast was good, the beach is very narrow, could not call long distance to the USA from my bedroom telephone, I had to go to the front desk and they had to dial for me, I could not listen to a dial tone at all. Very few Americans at the hotel. Accommodations were very good, clean, and the staff cannot do enough for you. The hotel is located far from everything.
2 out of 5
by Ray

Hotel on the Beach

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Location was OK
Cons: Self laundry only had 1 washing machine and dryer. Disappointing given the size of the complex.
2 night stay but unable to leave the room due to inclement weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lesa from Michigan

Nice quiet location, clean, Great Views

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Views, friendly staff, quiet location, close to downtown Cancun
Cons: More variety in food and formal restaurants open more days. Ocean Grill only open 1 day per week and Italian only 2 days per week.
Location: Close to Downtown Cancun, Isla Muejuris, lots of shopping, Bus Service easy to use, cheap and available 24/7.
As expected for a Holiday Inn. Very Clean, fairly comfortable, great ocean view, quiet and family friendly. Close to downtown Cancun. Fantastic customer service. Food was good, but the hotel caters to mostly Mexican and Spanish cultures, (Northern South America). If you like the local vacation experience and speak Spanish, great. If you want a resort catering to English speaking or parting, you may want to stay closer to the other Hotel Zone Hotels. The shows were great. Food was good, but got a little tiring after 2 weeks. If you like local, authentic Mexican, You will love it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst food I have ever eaten!

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Food
Really expensive for the all inclusive US$45 per day. The food wa awful and there was only 1 restaurant (buffet) out of 3 that was opened.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 14, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathleen from seattle

Large rooms. Helpful staff

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Good baee camp. City bus right outside. Good for travels who like to plan thier own fun and meals. Well staffed with friendly staff 24/7 on grounds and in lobby. Only ate at hotel once and food was american fare at buffet.
1 out of 5
by john from texas

Terrible hotel, management was the worst ever

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Had a horrible experience in this hotel, i will never ever stay at this hotel again, to make it short management didnt even want to give me a small bag to place some wet clothes. Manager wanted to sell me the bag which is the ones they use for the small garbage cans in rooms. Thats just the beginning..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Pet friendly

Posted May 6, 2013
Paid $35 USD for each dogs. Only decent hotel that takes dogs For reasonable price.