Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice for families

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Openness
Cons: Humidity in the rooms
Location: Nice little convenience store beside
Good, staff seemed to be in a rush all the time yet very polite and effective
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Middle of the road hotel but got a great rate.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Beautiful courtyard & pool area. Breakfast was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Nice hotel, too far from mall, beach, etc. Staff were helpful and friendly
2 out of 5
by Kris from Washington, DC

Misleading description. Subpar Holiday Inn Expres

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Decent buffet breakfast.
Cons: A complete remodel of the hotel and a complimentary shuttle to the main street.
Location: Once you walk 15 minutes to the main street in 90 degree heat, you have access to the local bus, which is very inexpensive.
Holiday Inn Express' description of this hotel is misleading. It touts itself as being located in the Hotel Zone of Cancun. The hotel neglects to notify its guests that the entrance to the hotel is a 10-15 walk to the main street. Most hotels are immediately accessible the main street. This one is not. This is not an original Holiday Inn Express. The hotel is very dated and subpar to any HIE I've ever stayed in. There are no elevators and the WiFi is very slow.
2 out of 5
by Deb Mac from melbourne australia

Just ok for 1 night

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Smell, and maybe update rooms, fix pavement outside rooms
Location: Didn't look as arrived late, left in the morning.
Picked this hotel because it was cheap for 1 night and included breakfast, as we were stopping over en route to Cuba. Glad we were only stopping 1 night. The hotel was clean, but the rooms smelt really damp and were dated and would be horrible if any more than 1 night required. Breakfast was small selection of cereal,, couple of fruits, I think eggs tea and coffee, again just ok. They had a large boring oblong pool, which would relieve some boredom. Thought this place was close to the airport, but 25 mins drive, cab cost $50 in but $ 30 back to the airport...so airport ripoff. The staff were pleasant enough here, but this would not be enough to entice to come back
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by HIExpress, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to read from our costumers on how we are doing. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabriela from PA

Amazing

Posted May 9, 2014
Awesome hotel. Amazing people, free breakfast and in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by HIExpress, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to read from our costumers on how we are doing. Best regards.
2 out of 5
by jen from melbourne

Too far away from the restaurants

Posted May 5, 2014
We had a huge teenage soccer team staying there at the same time as us. It was terrible, so noisy. Just bad timing
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2014 by HIExpress, Hotel Management
Grcaias por sus comentarios, nos ayuda a mejorar
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hanan from London

Budget hotel North Hotel Zone

Posted May 3, 2014
I was looking for a hotel to stay overnight before beginning my road trip of the Yucatan peninsula. It was ok to stay overnight as not as expensive as the other hotels in the Hotel Zone although a little away from the strip. If you are driving then it isn't a problem. The breakfast buffet in the morning by the pool was nice. Plenty to choose from and the waiters were very friendly and helpful. Yes the breakfast was a nice experience. The only thing I didn't like was the moodiness of one of the receptionists when checking out. I tried using a public telephone with a card I'd bought from the nearby shop not long after my early checkout. I needed a little help but got a 'sorry I don't care now that you've checked out' glance. I went back to the shop and figured it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt and Vilma from Bristol

very good if not for reception staff

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: restaurant staff, not too busy
Cons: reception staff needs training in customer service
Location: there is a shop next door, not much of choice though. Try few local restaurants on main road, in front of Intercontinental hotel - cheap and good!
overall - very good value for money. with nice breakfast and comfortable bed, air conditioning - all you need for a stop in Cancun. Restaurant staff was amazing, so was housekeeping. Not much luck with reception! not welcoming, hard to approach and short of advise - we avoided them as much as we could. No thank you for staying with us, how was the stay or even goodbye! ,,Concierge'' lady was not happy that we bought the tour not via her and though she tried to convince us she was there to welcome us and give information, seemed she only wanted to sell the tours...there is a bit of a walk to the main road to the bus stop, about 5 min only.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Gwen from Oshawa, Ontario

Very disappointed

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel needs upgrades. Toilet seat missing one bolt to keep the seat on toilet, (found the rotten bolt on the floor). Slept on the most uncomfortable bed in Cancun. Drain in the shower took half an hour to finally drain from our morning shower. Hotel was one restaurant open from 7 to 10 only. Poor choice on my part picking this hotel.