Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
The shaded pool was so refreshing after a hot day at the beach.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Indiana

Nice spot with a great view!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Clean. Good location. Modern with nice showers.
Cons: Noise from the street and pool is noticebale even from the fourth floor. Bring a white noise machine or app. Not a big deal for me.
Location: Social Justice is a seafood place right across the street. Several places to eat nearby where they will put you literally on the water. Just ask!
Could see the hotel from a half mile out on the Ultramar ferry. Easy two minute walk from the boat. It isn't on the water side, but just across the street. Pay for the Bay View and get a high floor. The view of the bay is awesome. Huge sliding glass doors open up completely, and you're out on the balcony (which had three nice chairs) and the breeze blows right into the room. The only time we closed the doors was between four and six or so, when the sun was setting and it got too hot. A half hour before sunset, we opened the doors up and enjoyed the show. Nice walk in showers with plenty of hot water. The WIFi worked just OK, but was free so that was good. iPhone WiFi worked pretty well. The room was VERY clean--all hard surfaces, no carpet--and the maid service was excellent every day. Breakfast was included and basic but adequate. Cereal, fruit, toast, OK coffee, orange juice. The street noise is definitely there, but I used a white noise app on my phone and slept great. Ice is free for your room or a cooler to go. Bring a soft sided cooler for beach drinks! Golf cart was handled by the front desk and delivered right to the room. $54/day for the 24 hour option. We did it for two days and were glad we did. The day option was $45 and only from 9a-5p. Well worth the extra nine bucks to get the 24 hours. Easy five minute walk to HidalgoSt.--the main drag for restaurants, shopping, etc. Hidalgo is OOK, the go local for a cheaper but nice night out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hussle and Bussle

Posted Mar 10, 2014
This is a newer hotel located right on the busiest street on the island. It's a pretty noisy place! We were there during Carnaval 3/1 thru 3/5. Dance groups periodically stopped at the hotel throughout this time in the afternoons and evenings and did their thing (think flash mob with costumes). At other times, normal traffic noise was pretty high. The noise tends to echo around all the hard tile surfaces of the hotel as well. We got used to the noise after a while and all the activity had its own charm and interest. The bed was pretty cheap/lumpy but again we seemed to get used to it and didn't have much trouble sleeping. This should be considered a home base type of hotel. There is really nothing to do here but sleep and shower. The beach is about a 3 block hike to the north. Lots of great restaurants, shops, scooter and golf carts rentals, tour operators, etc. are within easy walking distance. We had a nice view of the ocean from the balcony but it was too noisy and exposed to the afternoon sun to spend a lot of time on. The pool is 100% shaded and the water was too cool for us to use but we spent at the beach instead, so, no big deal. Overall I recommend the hotel with the caveat that it be use as a home base for exploring the island not to be confused with a resort type of hotel. The island itself we found pretty interesting and gave a good taste of Mexican culture. Seafood choices dominate most restaurant menus and it seemed to be mostly locally caught and very fresh.
3 out of 5
by CA from Mercer Island

Great location, basic hotel, a bit loud.

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location and great staff at the front desk.
Cons: Breakfast selection could be greater, even just by addition of tea and a greater assortment of cereals.
Location: The hotel was away from the louder nightlife, so the only noise was from the hotel occupants themselves. Great to walk to downtown and Ferry!
Loved the location near downtown and the ferry dock. Basic, clean place with great staff, loved the free bottled water on tap. BUT: the open air courtyard style building meant sound echoed when people were coming and going, or the doors beeped when they hadn't closed all the way (a useful feature given that they didn't swing closed). It is not a big hotel, but I was woken up most mornings by loud departures. Breakfast is literally boxed cereal with only 3 choices, toast, yogurt, banana, oj and coffee. Not even tea. There are a number of nice breakfast restaurants in the downtown, so we often ate there. The pool was not heated, and is shaded all day. WiFi was not very fast. It was almost impossible to upload photos. Bed was rather hard. Note that it is Double beds, not Queen!
2 out of 5
by VIN from IN

Close to beach

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: It was clean and close to beach
There were days without water in a.m., one day without AC, no phone in the room and right on the main road which is very noisy. It always seemed to be something and no hurry by staff to get it corrected. I will not stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonathan from Minneapolis

Suited to our tastes

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff, pleasant feel, good location.
Cons: It isn't the cheapest place on the island.
Location: The main drag for the north end is just s few blocks away and all your moped/golf cart needs are right outside the hotel yet the rooms are peaceful.
We very much enjoyed our stay. It is a few scant blocks from the ferry and close enough but not too close to the main drag. We found the bay view and the coming and goings of the boats lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and comfortable accommodations

Posted Feb 19, 2014
We stayed at Bahia Chac Chi for 6 nights. We enjoyed our room overlooking the bay! The hotel is well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not plush but are comfortable and have a wonderful dual shower system. The beach is a mere 10 minute walk or 3 dollar can ride. The pool is small and in the shade, however perfect for a swim after the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Parrish's and the Kindervater's from Richmond Va.

Great stay close to everything

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff accommodated us on our early arrival and let us store our bags and changed into our island clothes. We will definitely stay at this hotel in the future. Great Place. (4) very happy tourists.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bay view room is actually over a very busy street,

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Very loud, the bay view patios are uncomfortably hot. The rooms are spartan. Showers only have water if no one else is showering. For the money it was a terrible valu. The staff were great, which is the only reason we didn't check out and find another hotel.