Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Another reason to love Mexico!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: We had a King Ocean room with our own sandy area with private chaise lounge. Just steps from the edge of the pool and great ocean views!
Location: The hotel in one block from town and all the excitement!
I have always preferred boutique hotels over the larger glitzy complexes. Playa Media Luna was everything a boutique hotel should be; just a little off the beaten path, quiet, romantic, well appointed (but not too much), friendly approachable staff, clean, great views, calm pool for relaxing after a long hot day in the Mexican sun! Just the spot for our long weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lia from Israel

Best location on the north island!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Great hotel, amazing view! Swimming pool is great, beach is amazing! Rooms are OK, not too fancy but with personal balcony . Breakfast is good, continental . Love this island :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kay from MO

nice location for romantic sunrise

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was not luxury like others at hotel zone in Cancun, but was romantic and cozy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from FL

Love Playa la Media Luna

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Longer pool bar hours
Location: Ideally situated to be near shopping and good food, but also isolated enough to feel away from it all. Get a golf cart, and the island is at hand.
This was my second visit, so I had good expectations. The hotel has gotten better since the last visit. Lots of work on the main campus, hardscape and grounds in evidence. You need to be a little conversant in Spanish. The staff's English is good, not flawless. Incredibly nice people who work hard to make your stay memorable. The view is awesome. Best place to watch the sun rise on the island, imho. Good, basic breakfast. Pool bar could be open longer. But the minifridge is your friend for that, anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gayle from Illinois

Bargain for family vacation on wonderful island

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is not a luxury hotel but we were very happy there. It is a small hotel, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. There is no restaurant on site however a few blocks away there are many eating choices, including gourmet restaurants, amongst small shops. All rooms face the Caribbean and it is a five minute walk up the beach to a swimming area. The pool area is lovely with lots of comfortable seating and some shady areas. There is a bar by the pool in the afternoon and evening. You can see the sun rise over the sea from your patio, balcony, or the beach in front of the hotel. The town is quaint, unique and we always felt safe there. The best snorkeling is a cab ride away at a private park, located next to the more expensive national park. There is a beautiful cliff side church along the route south. Our entire family relaxed and came back refreshed. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family trip to Isla Mujeres

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Safe small private ideal location for quiet time.
Cons: Better breakfast selection.
Location: Beach. Its right near downtown.
Our first time in Cancun. This hotel was lovely. Right by the ocean though not ideal for swimming in it, its beautiful and you could soak your feet. The actual beach is only 2blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gayle B from Oak Park IL

Fantastic bargain in paradise, close to everything

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This 18 room hotel was perfect for our family 6 room vacation. We looked out over the pool to the Caribbean crashing over coral and rolling up the sand beach. There were gathering places and solitary places. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. We missed having a food outlet on site, but the variety of restaurants within walking distance was amazing. Isla Mujeres is unique in our Mexican vacations. We loved it. The people were friendly, it is safe and beautiful. Unspoiled. Has definitely earned the designation of one of the best islands. We wished we could snorkel off the hotel's beach, but you can take a taxi to a small beach for good snorkeling. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Oregon, USA

Great place to enjoy a front row seat to the ocean

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: We very much enjoyed sitting out on the patio enjoying the beautiful view and sounds of the ocean. The hammocks didn't hurt either. More wind here.
Cons: Would have liked a coffee pot. We enjoyed eating out so didn't feel like we needed a microwave and we had a fridge to keep our drinks cold.
Location: North Shore Is beautiful. Cito's for breakfast was great and Ciro's Golf cart rental also. Lots of shopping and restaurants near by,
We visited North Beach and ordered food and drinks at Greg's Grill. This allowed us to use their lounge chairs with umbrellas for free and swim off their beach. Picture perfect view and good service. The beach is a public beach but most chairs have to be rented. We enjoyed the turtle sanctuary and the gentleman who talked to us about lobsters, showing us live ones from the tank and laying them on our arms. Expect that there may be a sudden storm or shower but after all it is tropical.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Quiet hotel right on the beach.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Location, covered balcony, view, tranquil atmosphere.
Cons: It wasn't a problem for us, but others may need to be aware there is no elevator.
This tranquil hotel was the perfect choice for us-very close to the Carribean with a great view off of our 2nd floor balcony. We went to sleep each night listening to the waves and watched the sun come up before a simple continental breakfast each morning. A reef protected snorkeling beach was just a short walk with the very busy North Beach area just beyond. Hidalgo Ave was also just a short walk down a quiet lane, providing endless choices for dinner each evening. The rooms are simple,clean, and very comfortable with air conditioning and cable television present if needed/desired. The staff is friendly and helpful, but nonobtrusive. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to be back next year with friends.