Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is everything

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The staff, location and ocean breeze make this a hotel #1 with me.
Cons: The shower floor needs to be freshened up, the toilet leaked. Neither were a big deal.
Location: Near a variety of restaurant , Ruben's on Guerrero only a slow 5 minute stroll away. Perfect location .
We stayed Playa La Media Luna for 2 weeks and have booked again for next year. The standard rooms are plain , comfortable beds, lots of storage areas with a fridge , a/c and a balcony. A simple continental breakfast was included, tea, coffee, cereal, fresh fruit and a pastry each morning. The staff goes above and beyond to help out, especially Alma.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Roseville, Mn

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean, affordable, location.
Cons: Air conditioning units are noisy.
Older Mexican style hotel. The hotel appearence is pleasing. I believe they are doing a good job on outward maintainence. The rooms are clean and comfortable, although the wall A/C units are noisy and do disturb sleeping. The continental breakfast is not remarkable and every day of our stay the coffee ran out during the breakfast and they never had another pot ready to go, so there was always a wait while a fresh pot was brewing. I believe this is a family run hotel and they are helpful and accommodating when asked for or about something and we found the price here very reasonable. (We booked through Expedia and got a better price than if we booked with the hotel directly). The ocean view in front of the hotel is beautiful, stunning-but the beach here is not swimable, too much coral and big waves crashing in. However, just a short walk away is North Beach which is great for sunning and swimming. I would recommend this hotel and plan to return here on my next trip to Isla Mujeres.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty location, quiet and removed

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Quiet,
Cons: Update furniture, bathrooms, breakfast
Location: Quiet
Hotel is in desperate need of needing updates on room furniture,bathrooms, breakfast has very little. Like the location and the quiet but facility needs a lot of attention. Bar is never open
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Stunning view

Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a ground floor room with 2 double beds. The room itself is fine. Nothing to write home about. Having a fridge, ceiling fan, a hammock outside, and some English TV channels is nice. What is incredible is the view outside our room. From room 11, the pool is almost directly in front of us. And just beyond that, the ocean. The hotel sits on this little half moon shaped bay that is absolutely breathtaking. Love the sound of waves crashing at night. All of this more than made up for the no frills hotel. Continental breakfast is included and you can get filtered water on every floor. There is wifi in the lobby but very spotty. When we were there, the bar by the pool never opened except on Sunday. There is no room service or restaurant here. You can get beach towels at the front desk and there are golf carts available for rent. My sister had room 17 on the third floor which has a king bed and a balcony. Her room seemed larger and brighter than mine. Hotel is very close to Hidalgo, where all the restaurants and shopping is located. If you want a luxurious hotel with tons of amenities, I suggest you look elsewhere but if you are ok with a more rustic hotel, the view here cannot be beat. We usually prefer more upscale hotels but we will definitely return to this sweet little spot. What a find!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Dayton OH

Authentic Mexican hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: The view of the Caribbean.
Cons: Small room and cramped bathroom.
Location: Convenient yet quiet.
A little rough around the edges, but gives you a true Mexican flavor. The staff isn't real attentive--in fact, if you don't ring the bell at the reception desk, you may be waiting a bit! The walkways are interesting...not even and a few pieces of wood are missing. The rooms are clean and adequate although they lack a table. The marble floors are very slippery when wet and heavy rains penetrate the doorjambs. Room locks aren't sturdy. Balconies are roomy and the view is outstanding. The pool is lovely and is furnished with nice but worn furniture. Breakfast (a bit more than continental fare) starts late for early risers...most mornings nothing but coffee is available even at 8:00 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect room

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel has everything in the room that you need for comfort. The beds are amazingly comfortable, the room is large, the air con is cold. We slept fantastically. The only slight downside was that I had requested a room with a private patio and we were given one in the main walkway to reception where people could see into our room, but I suppose someone has to have it!. If you are able I would suggest trying to get one close to the beach / pool. These are more private
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wesley from Kerrville, TX

Excellent Location

Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and housekeeping did an excellent job. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed it very much. Some of the front desk staff was a little less than helpful, but all was okay. The hotel definitely needs some updating, but I guess this is hard to do when you only have 18 rooms... I am sure the revenue they bring in limits them somewhat. The pool is great and the ocean view from the 2nd floor is wonderful. We would stay again, overall a good choice for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by satxdebbie from San Antonio

Lovely, quaint hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Awesome view with well kept pool and grounds. Really comfy beds with a variety of pillows to suit personal tastes. Outstanding continental breakfast
Cons: Some of the walkways leading to the hotel rooms were in need of repair.
Location: A short walk to a pristine sandy cove with shallow, lapping water. A very short walk from town or from North Beach.
When we checked in, we were told that due to a private party, the pool area would be unavailable to us for a whole day. For our inconvenience we were upgraded to a higher priced room! Absolutely charming. Our thanks to the staff for a memorable stay. We will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Guy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice private hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2013
The pool and privacy of the beach here is exceptional. It's very close to the main beach but if you like privacy there's no need to leave the back of the hotel. The hotel needs updating but the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. It's close to everything (though a little hard to find at first--just let someone take your bags from the ferry and you'll be fine). The hotel also rents golf carts but they were out of them when we arrived and had to go into town instead To rent one. If you aren't able to get around easily or frankly dont want to walk in the heat, you'd best reserve one in advance. Breakfast is a bit pathetic but at least you can have coffee/tea/juice by the beautiful pool with some fruit and toast. I enjoyed that they had peanut butter for some protein. Overall if you're looking for privacy and to just relax, this place is for you. The patio is wonderful!!! A big plus is they have purified water on each floor so you can refill your water bottles.