Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Hotel Stay on Isla Mujeres

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The location and friendly service.
Cons: The only thing I would comment on was the fact that the phone didn't work in either room we stayed in - we just ended up walking to the Front Desk.
Location: You are in the middle of everything - many restaurants with great live entertainment each night and only 2-3 blocks from the beach.
We recently enjoyed a lovely week at the Hotel Plaza Almendros on Hildago Street. It's a small hotel with fantastic staff. We aren't extremely fluent in Spanish and they did a great job translating my broken Spanglish. Every request was answered with a smile and 'si!'. While there weren't many extra perks you find a the larger resorts - we had absolutely everything we needed in our room. Nice open floorplan, kitchenette so we didn't have to eat out every meal, large walk-in shower, and lovely balcony overlooking the busy street. Most of the rooms are on the courtyard/pool area, which is very nice as well. We originally had one of those and decided to switch partway through our stay to people watch on the street side. There is a lot of hustle & bustle throughout the day, so if you need quiet then definitely stay on the courtyard. We didn't mind the noise so it was perfectly fine for us. There are a few bars that can get quite noisy in the late night/early morning hours - so definitely keep this in mind when you're making requests on your reservation. We didn't really use the pool, nor did we see anyone else in there - it was well kept and clean the whole time, we were just too close to the beach to not want to make the walk. For the price we paid and the proximity - I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. It was a fraction of the beach hotel prices! Yes, the amenities are limited, but it does offer complimentary WIFI which was great. Loved it and will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Nice hotel short walk to playa norte. My friends stayed here in February so I already knew about this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Clean hotel in the heart of north isla

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: very clean, helpful staff, wifi available in the room, clean pool.
Cons: the kitchenette could have been a little better equipped and stocked, and almost no counter space at all.
The hotel is on the main street, close to everything you need. Lobby, rooms, pools etc always clean. Prices in November were excellent. Beds were quite firm. Kitchenette consisted of a microwave, mini fridge, toaster, coffee maker and doubles of mugs, plates bowls, cutlery...very little counter space. This is as it was advertised. (although a little hot plate would have been great) I would book again but would be more prepared to bring a few of the basics...salt, sugar, coffee/filters, scrub brush, dishsoap...etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Spotless, close to beach, Quiet, nice pool

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Bathroom light was burnt out when I arrived and couldn't get the fan going, but these were immediately attended to. Wifi in room was quite reliable. It'd be great to have a comfortable arm chair or sofa in the room to watch TV , or at least cushions on bed. I was totally satisfied with my room, will definitely go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Nice and quiet place

Posted Oct 25, 2014
The hotel is absolutely ok for its price. Staff are all friendly and helpful. We were the only guests (in low season), hence it was very quiet. Excellent location. Clean and spacious rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom waxahachie,tx

Hotel in the middle of downtown

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: A/C was great and location and price.
Cons: Better bed, bottled water even if not till you can go to store.
Location: Restaurants, and bars and beach was close enough.
We stayed here at Plaza Almendrous on Hildago St. It was easy access to everything. Had a nice pool and the A/C would freeze ya out. Nice big balcony overlooking Hildago and was neat for people watching at night and we had a couple storms come in and was able to watch it from there. Bed was hard as a rock only downside. Big shower. Pick up bottled water cause they don't furnish it but that's standard at some hotels. Big closet and safe. Toaster, coffee maker, small fridge and micro wave. Table and chairs and some dish ware. Tv kinda sucked if ya wanted tv. Only at night a bit we turn it on cause we arnt in our room. But mostly all Spanish and when it rained didn't work. Do have wifi in lobby. All in all was a good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great location, nice pool, noisy fridge

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, close to ferry, hidalgo and playa norte. Nice pool. Fridge very noisy. Would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom montreal

Simple, basic but all we needed

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It's simplicity, it's all that we needed
Cons: The linens: some not washable stains on the bed sheets or the beach towels. Also the shower, we had to remove the top as the water was not going throu
Location: Amazing location! Many restaurants in The street with different cuisine. Try restaurant The Rooster and the dive center Squalo Adventure.
Hotel simple and basic but it's all you need and is very well located (in the main street and 2 mins from the beach). Pool is clean and is beein clean every day. There are microwave, fridge, some plates and the TV (TV is an old small set but you're not going to there to watch tv!) Since it is located in a busy street i was afraid of the street noises would bother us at night but it did not. The AC is modern and works perfectly AND is quite silent! The staff is wonderfull: nice, pleasant, helpfull! When i booked it i was a little afraid as the price was much lower than other hotel but it's a very good value for your money. If you're looking for a convenient affordable place, you should definitly go there. The only reproach I would have: our bed sheets had some stains. They were clean and being changed but thoses were not washable stains (from someone who ate sthg on the bed before). You just need to ask the staff to replace them. Restaurants nearby: try angelo's they have amazing pizzas and The Rooster has an excellent menu, affordable (and they offer great deals) and the quality of the food is reaally good. Service is very good as well. Near the hotel there is a dive center, Squalo Adventure: great people, seriouse and affordable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montana

great spot on isla

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: location cleanliness air con,towels supplied,always a smile
Cons: wi fi was a bit hit or miss
Location: restaurants shops dives etc
always clean, air con great, location right in the middle of everything,