Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

plaza almendros

Posted Jul 29, 2015
as usual the people at plaza alendros were great the only problem I had was my room #101 didn't have hot water just semi warm which wasn't to bad because it was july but it still would have been nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from valladares

Agradable cerca de los bares y playa

Posted Jul 22, 2015
De lujo me encanto ya que tiene la comodidad en las habitaciones que un huesped quiere y mas por su alberca que esta increible el agua.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

El hotel cómodo, limpio, cerca de la playa

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Una estancia cómodo y agradable, el hotel está ubicado en una calle con muchos restaurantes y tiendas, cerca del malecón
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Good stay

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: nearness to everything we needed; inexpensive
Cons: conmfort of beds
Location: Cute courtyard with pool. Just a few blocks to the beach...easy walk.
Beds were extremely hard, but otherwise a nice place to stay. Basic, bare bones room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Can cun, Quintana Roo

Buena ubicación

Posted May 5, 2015
El hotel se encuentra en excelente ubicación, ya que por las noches la calle esta llena de restaurantes y bares además esta muy cerca de buenos restaurantes y la playa. Sólo un inconveniente fue que al reservar las habitaciones se reservaron camas queen y no tenían disponibles ya que según ellos la agencia no les había pasado esa indicación al final nos dieron las habitación que se solicitaron pero si tuvimos que esperar a que accedan, la piscina deberían darle más mantenimiento ya que no estaba muy limpia. Los empleados son amables pero algunos son más agradables que otros deberían mejorar sus servicio dos personas que están en la recepción.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marco from Switzerland

Close to beach and surrounded by restaurants

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Had room with balkony towards pool on upper level. Liked location directly on busiest street while less than 5 mins to walk to playa norte. And noise level in room was very much ok.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by aharon from anchorage

Dirty and Overpriced, Rating is misleading

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
Lets start by saying this hotel has the perfect location, near the main strip of Hidalgo and a 5 min walk to the beautiful Playa Norte. The hotel rooms themselves are filthy and extremely underwhelming. I book based off reviews and opinions by others I have no idea how this hotel achieved the rating it has, the rooms were filthy and the service was nothing above average by any means. I later learned that if hotel inventory on the island is low look for vacation rentals on Airbnb, vrbo, homeaway etc. Do not let this property ruin your stay on Isla Mujeres it is a lovely island. We checked in and saw a large number of small bugs roaming around the bathroom sink, we saw a centipede on the floor by the bed which we killed. The room needed to be bleached and cleaned thoroughly for the bugs to even start to go away, we had to put up with them the entire stay which was disgusting. The room floor was dusty, the sheets and bed spreads had large stains and were soiled so we asked to have them replaced immediately. The AC seemed to work sometimes until the remote would stop controlling the unit. A terrible waste of money for $85 a night in mexico, I got much much more for this price in other more touristy locations dont waste your money. I didnt spend much time in the pool or common area but they appeared to be a bit better than the room itself.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Just OK.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
We were prepared to stay in a budget hotel, and that's what we got. Had to change my kids (21 and 18 years) room when we arrived, to a room with a balcony, as it had very small windows and felt quite claustrophobic. The room my husband and I had was OK, though the view from the balcony was onto the roof boilers. Had to ask for an extra chair for the table in the room as there was only one, and also more pillows, as were had only two. The worst part was about the 3rd day. The maid had obviously cleaned our room and did a good job as usual. However, she had not left any toilet paper, and we were completely out. I made a call to the front desk. He told me he would be right up. An hour later, when noone appeared, I went downstairs. He apologised, and said he would be up in 5 minutes. Another hour later I went down again, and he said he was unable to get me toilet paper as the closet was locked!! I had to go out to the store and buy it myself. A silly thing perhaps, but a bit ridiculous. Paid for two double rooms for five days, and expect to at least have toilet paper! Location is great, near the beach, but wouldn't stay there again. Even when we were leaving, noone at the desk said Thank you, goodbye, how was your stay, nothing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: The location is great! We loved being right in the heart of Hildalgo St. and a short walk to Playa Norte.
Cons: Hotel staff could be much friendlier. They were available for help, but didn't go out of their way to greet us or offer services.
This hotel was all we needed for the few days we were on the island. It was nice to be located in the heart of Hildalgo St., the small kitchen was handy but the many restaurants on the street offered all we wanted. The pool area was very relaxing but having access to Playa Norte was really nice for beach time and sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

A great find

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: We felt very comfortable
Cons: Beds were a little hard, pillows were a little thin, but after playing in the ocean and dancing the night away we didn't really care.
Location: Everything is with in a couple blocks
My family just enjoyed a 7 day stay at hotel Almendros. It was a great hotel in a great location. The staff was nice and friendly. The room was nice and clean. The maids were very helpful. We stayed on the the street side 2nd floor and enjoyed the music and people watching. The hotel had great policy's that helped conserve energy and protect the environment! We have stayed in other hotels on Isla but will be making Almendros our new home when we come to the island. Ben who has a stand that books tours in front of the hotel was so helpful and very friendly!