Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jason

Room wasn't as big as I thought/ no coffee.

Posted May 19, 2015
Overall good. Liked the gardens but they were not open to the public.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cancun

Mal personal

Posted May 4, 2015
El hotel tiene una excelente ubicacion, de noche estranquilo y es seguro, lástima del personal de recepción, la señora de la limpieza ea la única persona sonriente del personal, y las habitaciones descuidadas con mobiliario roto y sabanas que picaban y en las que dormimos vestidos.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Canada

Terrible place

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Update the rooms...
Location: Location is the only thing this place had going for it
The room we thought we booked looked nothing like what we ended up with... the smell was horrendous only 2 bath-towels that were pretty ratty looking.. no hand towels or face cloths, no coffee maker, air conditioner leaked all over the floor. The balcony is so small your knees are against the railing. And service was horrible... There was so much dust and dirt on the ceiling fan we were afraid to turn it on. Front desk doesn't care.. we asked for more towels and it didn't happen the 1 and only chair on the balcony was broken. We asked for a couple different chairs... didn't happen. We would never recommend this place to anyone... we tell people stay away...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy descuidado pero con excelente ubicación

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: La ubicación
Me tocó en la parte antigua del hotel la cual está muy fea y descuidada, recomiendo llegar a la parte remodelada, la ubicación es genial.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Repentigny

Je pense que l'on peut trouver mieux

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Emplacement
Cons: Rénover les chambres
Location: Plage, restaurants, boutiques
2e visite à cet hotel. La première fois nous étions dans la section rénovée et cette fois dans la vielle section. Nous avons de loin préféré notre première expérience. Pour le prix, la chambre dans la vielle section ne vaut pas la peine... Nous n'avons ni aimé la chambre, ni aimé la vue. On peut trouver mieux pour le même prix.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cancun

Terrible limpieza

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Sábanas sucias, cubre colchón manchado, no tienen roll de lavado de blancos. Piso sucio, no limpian cristales nouebles de terraza. Piso de baño con moho, regadera tapada con sarro. Se ve muy feo unas telas rosas al rededor de los preciosos postes labrados del bar. Vean que bien se ven los postes iguales del hotel de al lado solo barnizados
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Close to the beach and restaurants

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: It would be nice to have maps of Isla around, we found it very difficult to find maps
Location: This hotel is at Playa Norta, nears dozens of great restuarants, and stores
Posada Del Mar is conveniently located for walking around the centro area, and directly across from the beach. We had a great time wandering around find different restaurants and food vendors. This hotel is certainly not one of the fanciest hotels on Isla, but it is a great value for the money, clean and secure. I would certainly use this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne australia

Great position - comfortable

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I didn't expect much having read the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the staff are a little "cool", and the hotel is a bit run down, but it's perfectly acceptable and comfortable. It's in a great location on the beautiful North beach, and conveniently located to the restaurants and shops. I really enjoyed my time there, and would return no problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Dreadful place

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The entire staff is sooo tired of dealing with people. Unplug front desk phone so the wouldn't have to answer it. Argumentative about everything.....the only reason they have anyone at the front desk is to keep more people from punching mre holes in the walls. Wifi either iffy or non-functional. Rooms in 'new' wing are as crappy as the rooms in the old wing. Place should be torn down.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great location. Maintenance staff was fast when reported an issue with the toilet. We got beach towels with no problem. They have a restaurant called "Los Pingüinos" located on the hotel property. Front Desk girl was accommodating (we asked to be moved to the "New Section" per what we booked on Expedia and the Front Desk girl did without hesitation) ; however, it was never a king size room nor the "New Section". Now, be aware when booking a "New Section Room" -like we did-, that's just what "they" call the building (per what we experienced and found out from the hotel staff). It was definitely renovated alright, A VERY LONG TIME AGO that is! if you can call that "renovation"and Here's were we felt cheated yet made the best out of our 2 nights stay at Isla Mujeres. I strongly believe Expedia should strengthen this out with the hotel before selling this rooms quoted as such. Tips: You can rent a golf cart directly from the hotel for about $45 USD for a 24hr period. Get a couples massage for about $50 USD right on the beach across from Posada del Mar hotel. "Café Mango" for breakfast and lunch and "Lancheros Mocambo" for dinner and drinks -ask for their fish "Boquinete" and have it deep fried-. Best beach Playa Norte right where Carlos Lazo avenue is.