Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cancun

Terrible limpieza

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Sábanas sucias, cubre colchón manchado, no tienen roll de lavado de blancos. Piso sucio, no limpian cristales nouebles de terraza. Piso de baño con moho, regadera tapada con sarro. Se ve muy feo unas telas rosas al rededor de los preciosos postes labrados del bar. Vean que bien se ven los postes iguales del hotel de al lado solo barnizados
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Close to the beach and restaurants

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: It would be nice to have maps of Isla around, we found it very difficult to find maps
Location: This hotel is at Playa Norta, nears dozens of great restuarants, and stores
Posada Del Mar is conveniently located for walking around the centro area, and directly across from the beach. We had a great time wandering around find different restaurants and food vendors. This hotel is certainly not one of the fanciest hotels on Isla, but it is a great value for the money, clean and secure. I would certainly use this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne australia

Great position - comfortable

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I didn't expect much having read the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, the staff are a little "cool", and the hotel is a bit run down, but it's perfectly acceptable and comfortable. It's in a great location on the beautiful North beach, and conveniently located to the restaurants and shops. I really enjoyed my time there, and would return no problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom louisiana

Dreadful place

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The entire staff is sooo tired of dealing with people. Unplug front desk phone so the wouldn't have to answer it. Argumentative about everything.....the only reason they have anyone at the front desk is to keep more people from punching mre holes in the walls. Wifi either iffy or non-functional. Rooms in 'new' wing are as crappy as the rooms in the old wing. Place should be torn down.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great location. Maintenance staff was fast when reported an issue with the toilet. We got beach towels with no problem. They have a restaurant called "Los Pingüinos" located on the hotel property. Front Desk girl was accommodating (we asked to be moved to the "New Section" per what we booked on Expedia and the Front Desk girl did without hesitation) ; however, it was never a king size room nor the "New Section". Now, be aware when booking a "New Section Room" -like we did-, that's just what "they" call the building (per what we experienced and found out from the hotel staff). It was definitely renovated alright, A VERY LONG TIME AGO that is! if you can call that "renovation"and Here's were we felt cheated yet made the best out of our 2 nights stay at Isla Mujeres. I strongly believe Expedia should strengthen this out with the hotel before selling this rooms quoted as such. Tips: You can rent a golf cart directly from the hotel for about $45 USD for a 24hr period. Get a couples massage for about $50 USD right on the beach across from Posada del Mar hotel. "Café Mango" for breakfast and lunch and "Lancheros Mocambo" for dinner and drinks -ask for their fish "Boquinete" and have it deep fried-. Best beach Playa Norte right where Carlos Lazo avenue is.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Close to Ferry, Beach, Restaurants etc.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location, Location, Location...
Cons: Needs new AC units, TV, possibly a phone.
Location: Several Beaches, Restaurants, Bars, etc.
Great Island, and nice people. Hotel is close to everything at North end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal Canada

Nice hotel by the beach

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The closeness to the beaches. The hotel pool was very clean, the hotel is located very close to restaurants and golf cart rentals.
Cons: The Wi fi could be improved. One does not want to go to lobby all the time to use the computer.
Location: The location is excellent. There is access to the back of hotel where you can take short cut to shops and restaurants. Golf carts are a necessary.
First time to Mexico, this hotel fit my needs. Minutes from beach, this quiet hotel was not lavish, nor was it huge with elevators, this hotel was old, yet comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful. I would recommend the new building. In the new building, the rooms are a bit larger and the air conditioning seems to function better. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Pleased be advised there is no Wi fi in the rooms, one would have to go to the main lobby to connect to Wi fi. Television has a few English channels with Mexican sub titles. The hot water is not very hot, when taking showers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Great location!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Updating the rooms
The location is ideal. Easy access to everything. The room is just ok. The staff at the front desk is not friendly at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MSP

Average hotel with surly staff

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: mostly everything
Location: great location - close to downtown shopping and a walk across the street to the beach
I would not return to this hotel nor recommend it to anyone. The staff was curt, dismissive and rude. Even when we prompted them a simple good morning in Spanish, often they would not acknowledge or respond. The front desk staff offered no welcome to visitors nor a review of any of the hotel facilities. The restaurant staff did not greet guests; instead, they deliberately turned their backs to us. As we spoke to other guests, they had very similiar experiences. The bathroom was very dirty throughout the week and the pool was also poorly maintained. Too bad, because the hotel is in a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Wonderful stay!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Went to Isla on a girls trip with 3 close friends. Posada was wonderful!!! The staff were so nice and helpful, and the hotel was clean. The pool and bar were great!! Only con was that the beds were very hard. But I would stay here again in a heartbeat!!