Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much better than expected

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: location, spacious, well airconditioned room, nice pool
Cons: when there are two people in the room give them two keys. More and better wi-fir
I almost cancelled our reservation at this place when I got a chance to read all of the negative reviews. Glad I didn't. I don't know if it's recently chanced or they just finally got their act together but this place is a gem. The location is superb - walking distance to the ferry, close to the center of town but far enough awary so the noise doesn't bother you and directly across the street from a terrific beach. There's also a beautifully maintained pool that's almost always empty with a poolside bar. Didn't get a chance to see the older section (which I would guess generated the complaints) but if you stay in the new section (opt for the second floor) the rooms are great. Beautiful views from the terrace, spacious, and clean. They could use a more drawer space and the one-key only policy is a pain, so is the lack of wi-fi except in one little spot in the lobby, but otherwise the place is fine and the staff is very cooperative.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location..that's about it!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Awful and rude service from the minute we got there. Bed was hard as a rock in the old building. Asked for another room in the new building which they had available. They said no. We asked to use the phone to make a local call for our taxi pick up and had a 10 minute argument with the gentleman who does nothing but watch movies behind the counter all day. Romy the bartender along with the location from the beach is the only reason to like this place. I'm using the word "like" very loosely.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Island, good hotel Location

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location, Big bed.
Cons: New bathrooms, New bathrooms Doors.
Location: Beaches in the North are very close. Hidalgo Street with many Restaurants and Bars are a 5 min walk away.
The hotel is located perfectly, but the condition of the rooms and especially the bathrooms are old and shabby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Québec

La situation de l'hôtel est parfaite, plage, Resto

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Propreté, cruche d'eau potable disponible gratuitement en tout temps, situation et vue.
Cons: La peinture de la piscine serait vraiment dû. Améliorer le Resto.
Location: Plage du Nord, on peut marcher. Snorkeling et plongée. Musée sous marin. Tour de l'île en kart de golf. Rue piétonne très sympa.
C'est la 2ème fois que je réside a cet hôtel simple et cute. J'adore l'île et la position de cet hotel. Café latte du matin et bons Restos à pied 5 minutes. Le Resto de l'hôtel est juste un bon dépannage, cher et moyen. Le Beach Club, bar de l'hôtel, très l'fun avec table de billard et belle vue sur la plage juste en face. Chambre toujours très propre. Piscine agréable. Assez tranquille. Attention ma Visa avec NIP a 5 chiffres ne fonctionne pas... Pas compatible avec leur terminal. MC et AE ok. Nous avons loué un bateau pour plonger en apné, vraiment l'fun, millier de poissons! Location de kart de golf très pratique pour tour de l'île. Party du jour de l'an super, feu d'artifice, musique et danse de minuit a 8 am sur la place en face de l'église. 80% de mexicain sur l'île, habitant et touriste du centre Mexique.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Madison WI

Great location, across from the beach!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: It was so close to the ferry, restaurants, beaches anything you could need. The staff is so nice and friendly.
Cons: Maybe softer beds? If had had to pick something. But I slept like a baby every night!
Location: Beach is right across the street nothing blocking your view but palm trees. Close to el Centro where all the action is.
When we arrived we had flowers waiting for us in the room (anniversary trip). The room was spotless and had an amazing view. We stayed for 9 nights and didn't want to leave. It was the perfect place for us! Nothing too fancy and had some nice "Mexican" character to the building and design. Sat on the balcony and drank wine and watched the sunset. Perfect romantic place to stay. The manager is very friendly and willing to help with anything you may need. Bar is nice with friendly bartender. There is a restaurant out front if you don't want to go very far.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Great Family Vacation

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: it was fine for the price
Had no idea what we were getting into but were very pleased with our stay. Still had some Mexican "flavor/funkiness", but had comfortable beds, and nice linens. It was close to the beach, shopping, and restaurants so very convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great trip to isla muheres

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Comfortable, close to beach, food, and shopping. Great family place to stay
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom distrito federal

POSADA DEL MAR HORRIBLE!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
El hotel está en pésimas condiciones. El balcón y la habitación en general no tienen pintura, las paredes son huecas y se escucha todo, abajo, a los lados y arriba.. Las toallas y las sábanas huelen a viejo y no lavan nada. Le precio es mucho mayor a todos los hoteles a su alrededor. Hay miles de opciones mejores al posada del mar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel beach across streer

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Hotel gets a bad rap in other reviews. You get a great deal on an affordable hotel. It's clean. It's in the center of things. If you want 5 star- pay for a 5 star. Ask to see your room before you accept the key. They'll show you choices. If a locking safe is important check to see that it works. For us, a.c. & acceptable bathrooms was ours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy bien ubicado.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Ambiente familiar, la playa esta enfrente del hotel, alberca agradable.