Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Stayed in the new section. Pleased with quietness of air conditioner. Balcony nice, overlooking the pool. When I checked this hotel out it said in room safe was included. It is, for a deposit of 100.00 dollars, which you get back at the end of the stay. I opted out, did not get the safe. Also bring your own washcloths as none are provided, which I read about on a previous review. All in all, a very good place to stay. Be sure to tip your maid, I had wonderful animals made from towels everyday with fresh flowers on them, very charming. I traveled solo for a week, and never once felt unsafe at this hotel or anywhere on the island, for that matter.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrrible Experience

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: beside the location, nothing.
Cons: everything
This is the worst hotel we have been to. Upon our arrival, the man(relative fat, no offence but just to distinguish from the the other man at the night shift) at reception gave us a hard time for checking in. We were then assigned potentially the worst room in the hotel. The room seemed to be not in use for a long time. The two glasses in the bath were complete dirty and as a result we didn't brush our teeth for two days. The were small bugs crawling on the ground and the bath room. Bathroom were smelly. We had three people in the party but were only given two towels and when we asked for more, the man at the reception again gave us a hard time saying the maids were not available. We went back to ask again at a different time and were told they will send someone but no one ever showed up. After the first night, they didn't change the sheets but took the tips. We really like this island but this room made our trip a little unpleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate Hotel Close to Beaches

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Wasn't looking for anything fancy. The air conditioner stopped working the first night. We were moved to another room the next morning. No problems the rest of the week. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would book the same hotel again.
3 out of 5
by MJ from TX

Not terrible, but you get what you pay for

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We stayed here 2 nights. Bathroom was a little dirty, floors were definitely not the cleanest. But it was a good place to stay in Isla only because we were out and about most of the time. I'd only come back if I were staying a night or two on the Island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the staff and the closeness to the beach.

Posted Mar 15, 2014
George, Alex, Romie have been there for years and is a great to see them every trip we make to the Island. We noticed several improvements in the hotel and services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but...

Posted Mar 8, 2014
The hotel is tired & the front desk is even more tired, well maybe just complacent. It is a great location with the beach right across the street & the sunset glowing across the sky. The internet can only be accessed in the lobby which is tiny with no privacy. And don't expect too much hot water for your shower. You will need to make your own good time which luckily, it is easy to do on the island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from New Jersey

Facilities: Decent, clean and close to beach.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Pool, view of beach, close proximity to shopping and Hidalgo Street, food mart around the corner, golf cart rental at premises, quaint restaurant-
Cons: Open up bar on other side next to pool, add signs of services offered, customer service training and change mattresses
Location: Sunset Beach, Fishing co-op (went fishing and snorkeling), beach, Hidalgo, Beach Bar down two blocks (2-1 and good lunch + service)
Had to prompt staff for safe key, towels, and money exchange.(no signs of services offered) Appeared as though they first opened as staff appeared clueless and not committed to customer service, and trust me I'm easy going. Room was nice and clean, beds were hard and uncomfortable with a concrete headboard (ouch, who thought of that), tv reception was horrific, pool was maintained and clean, bar was ridiculous (small- 4-5 seats_ under big palapo- big screen tv (never on) and uncomfortable chairs in that area. Restaurant on premises not bad but better off going to xo for coffee and danish or to Amigo's on Hidalgo (two blocks). Oh by the way, we went on Carnival week (didn't know) and the Posada was part of the celebration playing the loudest music for 6 hours a day (4 days). One day in the afternoon (2) they started playing, my friend asked them to turn it down- they refused - and i had to go get the manager with good results. Make sure you check their schedule- overall could have been better-
3 out of 5
by Annette from Iowa

Have had better experiences at other hotels.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Hotel facilities were fine. Not in room much so don't need anything high scale there. Food service at hotel restaurant was slow but that does not destinguish it from anywhere else on the island. Be careful in bar. My husband ordered a beer and handed the guy a $50 bill. Received two pecoes back. Could have been an honest mistake but that would not have been proper change even if he handed him a $5 bill. We don't need to be pampered but the hotel staff acted like they could care less whether we stayed there or not. Great location but this hotel leaves a lot to be desired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from Alberta

Great Location.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Front desk staff could smile. More towels could be provided - perhaps have daily towel washing optional to save environment and towels?
Location: Central - restaurants, dive shops, main road, beach
The location was close to amenities, dive shops, great restaurants, and the beautiful beach. The hotel itself is fairly basic, but quite adequate. We stayed in the upgraded side, but the air-conditioning did not work and the staff did not seem eager to fix it and didn't. The staff was not friendly, which we found surprising as most people on the island were very friendly. The restaurant was always empty and we discovered why when we had a meal there. Having said that, the bar was always friendly, the pool was refreshing, it was a relaxing and friendly atmosphere with the patrons, many of whom have stayed here for years. The maids were wonderful and made cute animals out of very worn towels :) It was an average hotel, but likely a good bet for this island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by claudia from iowa

Clean and great Location

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: location and cleanliness of rooms
Cons: as in most of Mexico, things need to be cleaned up in back yards. There are some old falling down buildings on the property.
Location: the location is excellent! right across the road from north beach. Rented a Golf Cart right in front of the hotel for $55 per day.
the rooms are spotless, the staff is friendly and the location is excellent. Asked for a King Size bed, but was not reserved for us. Got to change to new room next day. Romy at the bar is a pro. He is very nice and helpful, gave us ice and limes for our beer that was not bought from the bar ... We did do a couple of buckets of beer and margaritas but got six packs for the room to keep expenses down also. This is my second stay there, love the location across from the beach and the pool is really nice.