Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Do Not Stay Here!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
This hotel is a dump. If you are from the U.S., then DO NOT stay here. I was told I was in the "new building" but there was nothing new about it. Cracks in the walls, holes in the doors. Mold in the shower. Dilapidated housing (not part of the property, but 10 feet from our door) with residents hanging laundry and such.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is the Best

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Location so close to the beach.
Cons: Decent towels and linen without stains and rips.
Location is really the only thing going for this hotel, otherwise it's old, shabby and mouldy.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom israel

Lousy hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Good location right on the beach. Rooms are very very basic and the entire property looks like it needs a serious renovation. Staff look like they all want to resign. At least price was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Not a good worth for your money, the upgraded rooms were also a dissapointment. The pool looked bad so we didn't get inside it at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by montanalohafrom missoula montana

Basic but location makes it a great deal

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was not luxurious, but when I think of what we would have gotten for $55 a night - the rate we got on hotels.com - in our hometown in terms of view, amenities, neighborhood, etc, it was an absolute deal! A few minutes walk from the ferry terminal, the main shopping district, and the exquisite North Beach, and right across the street from a lovely beach. The pool was clean, the service and food in the restaurant were good, the room (old wing) was big with lots of closet space, hot water (if you want it), cable TV and absolutely arctic airconditioning. Consistent wifi but in the lobby only. Yes, the fixtures and floor tiles were old, and the ceiling fan wobbled so much it had gouged a hole in the ceiling where you could see the wires, but for that price, what do you expect? If you can afford better, go for it, but if you are on a budget and need to be by the beach, the Posada del Mar is great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Dated Hotel rooms

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The Location is great and there is parking available, The pool area is nice.
Cons: Internet in the rooms would be great, The rooms need more maintenance as a number of items where not working.
Location: Jax Restaurant next floor was great for Dinner and Breakfast, there are plenty of other type of restaurants minutes away and the beach right across th
The Hotel is in a great location right across the beach and close to restaurants, shops and so on. The rooms are a bit dated we booked there supposed to newly renovated suite but it showed its agar, The refrigerator was not working, the shower head was spraying water all over and a number of other small items . But considering the price and location it is a good option for Isla Mujeres. Internet is only available in the Lobby Area which is a drawback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NO WiFi .. No bridge to go there .

Posted Jul 29, 2014
There is no WiFi in rooms .. you have to stay in lobby to use the WiFi .. Also, you need to take a ferry to go to Cancun each time .. The ferry costs about $16-19 , so you can add this amount and stay in a better hotel in Cancun .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indy

The pictures and description are not accurate.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I was smart enough to research my trip through various websites to know that the pictures posted through Expedia was not completely accurate. My room was clean. The housekeeping staff was very friendly. The front desk staff wasn't rude however they were overly friendly. I didn't let this impact my experience, I wasn't on the island to be in the hotel or mingling with the staff.