Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Only thing good was having a place to sleep.

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We have stayed on the island 6 times now. This was definitely the least enjoyable as far as accommodations. The other reviews are pretty spot on. We booked this last minute & were not expecting too much other than a place to sleep/get ready. The pool is fine, no bar that is open around it. Hotel staff are all rude... Usually I wouldn't complain but it was bad! No one smiles at all at this place other than the maids- whom did a very good job cleaning the rooms considering what they were working with. If you want a chair/umbrella on the beach then you must pay for it, but don't expect that until 11. Wifi is exactly as reviews say-horrible! The lobby was packed with ppl on a regular basis all crammed together trying to get access. The ONLY place you can get it is in the small lobby or if you are sitting in the restarant (which considering how rude & Unattentive the staff are id go somewhere else). The room was ok, we had a room in the "new building" with a cold air conditioner & a not very cold mini fridge. We were satisfied with the room bc we weren't expecting too much. If the staff, service, wifi weren't so horrible or if we didn't have to pay extra for beach chairs that they advertise as with the hotel then I would recommend it for a super cheap vacation. I would definitely recommend spending a few more $$ and stay somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh NC

Hotel Posada

Posted Feb 12, 2015
We made our reservation months in advance and upon arrival, told that we disn't get the room. Paid for a king suite and initially was given two doubles. Ended up with a king but not the suite. The shower was filthy, bed was stiff as a board, there was rotten wood for the tv table, shower never got hot, fridge wasn't cold, no wifi in the room. Only good thing was the a/c- the place washing overall run down and old. Not worth the money we spent. Overall a poor experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, AMAZING LOCATION on the Island

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: We liked the pool on a hot day or at the end of the day as it is chilly. We LOVED the LOCATION. Good beds.
Cons: More friendly, helpful front desk staff. Better WIFI and accessible in rooms, a pool heater. House keeping that cleaned the showers better.
Location: There's SO MUCH to do on the island. The hotel is directly across the street from the best beach, you see the sunset every night.
This is a great hotel as long as you are aware of what you are getting. It is great for kids as it's clean and the ground floor rooms are great. Make sure you know your terminology. The NEW BUILDING DELUXE rooms are the ones you want. NOT the "New Section" as they are quite mouldy smelling. The front desk is not friendly at all. The WIFI is frustrating as it works ok at the bar and at the lobby. Not in your rooms, but it's a nice break from the social media craze. The rooms are clean. Just ask the house keeping for more towels as they are tight with dealing them out. The bathrooms are small and the showers are getting some mildew, but such is island living. INCREDIBLE location and the TV's were updated and had lots of channels.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Austin Texas

Not the best.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: the rooms were clean.
Cons: The hotel staff was so not friendly .
Location: Being close to the beach was it's best quality.
Not the best place to choose . This hotel clearly was once the hot place to stay back in it's prime, but now it appears to be outdated and lacking in so many ways compared to the newer places that have opened on North Beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

OK Accomodataions

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Location is GREAT!
Cons: Update the beds and try to rid the birds from the balconies.
Location: The hotel is on the North End of island and very close to the Ferry and blocks from the main street - Hildago where all the restaurants are.
My Husband and I stayed for 3 nights January, 2015 in the new section on 3rd floor. The room was OK - the balcony had a VERY BAD problem with birds. Beds are extremely HARD. Internet is only available in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denmark

Perfekt beliggenhed

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Tæt på det hele
Location: Tæt på det hele
Perfekt beliggenhed lige ved stranden og tæt på færgen. Masser af butikker og restauranter i nærheden
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, old hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Location
The location is perfect, next to Playa Norte. But the hotel is basic, everything works but it really needs a make over.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Nice room,great location and very quiet but not so clean and too expensive for what it offers
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Okay for the price you pay.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
They seemed unfriendly, but I think the problem was they didn't always understand. The room was clean, but smelled. Water ran under the shower and over the bathroom floor. I think that's where the smell was from as it never dried completely. I can't say the stay was bad, but I would't go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Hotel is centrally located & right across the street from the beach. Easy access to the beach, restaurants, ferry, & activities. Hotel & linen were clean. Staff is friendly & helpful. I'd stay here again.