Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not convenient, cheaper but not much

Posted Apr 18, 2014
The hotel is in a bad location making it hard to walk to a local convenient store or restaurant. The front desk did not have any change to exchange currency, nor was there an easy way to buy a meal since this hotel was not an all-inclusive. The room was in better shape then we imagined. The front desk service was courteous. Overall, this hotel is not recommended to tourists.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chema from Texas

Nice close to the beach.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
I liked it, the food was good, it was next to the beach and the room was clean. Good for the money. Nice staff and friendly. Drinks too strong for my taste but overall good.
1 out of 5
by Ha from Washington DC

Solymar all inclusive package

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: It wasn't even a hotel, it was like a like a villa with rooms. The room we stayed at was nothing we expected for what we paid for.
Cons: I wished Expedia never post this package we bought nor promote Solymar Hotel Resort, because it wasn't a hotel at all.
Location: The beach was nice. But Solymar Hotel Resort as it was called was horrible. Extremely dissapointed!!
My friends and i booked for an oceanview room and we got a ground floor level room. The room was horrible with broken faucets and seemed very old and unsanitary. We asked for the staff for a different room and showed a printout of our confirmation. The staff was rude, and said no room was available. We had a horrible experience at the Solymar Resort where we stayed at and we feel cheated for what we paid for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't fall for the cheap price!

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: The food and staff was good
The room was terrible.... The food and staff was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mónica from San Jose, Ca

Nothing fancy, good value

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Elevator on second floor, requiring hauling suitcases up one flight from the lobby. Not for the elderly or handicapped. Perpetually short on towels. Breakfast adequate (lots of fresh fruit) but many dishes too salty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2013
First of they tried to tell me that my online confirmation may not be good because they had no record of it and the staff in charge of that were not in, but eventually after a long wait they decided it was good. and in the morning we want for breakfast and thy had buffet stile breakfast and when i wanted to pay they charged me 200.00 pesos per person including my 6 year old daughter and 14 year old son who don't eat more than just a small bowl of cereal and when i asked the waitress in charge she rudely told me hear everyone pays and everyone pays the same.
3 out of 5
by Muder Mode! from Dallas, TX, USA

You get what you pay for

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: The quiet view and bartenders - Young funny guys that made very delicious powerful drinks that got you feeling good...sometimes too good :/
Cons: The food - The first couple of days it was bearable but by the third and fourth day we were taking the bus into town to eat real food.
Location: Very quiet area at the very beginning of the island about 20-35 min bus ride or a hour walk down the beach from the closest restaurant/large resort.
Had a pool view first floor room that was very spacious and nice. Also had a inside room with a view of a abandoned hotel that got very hot and was on the small side. The beds were very firm with only a very thin set of sheets. The staff was very friendly for the most part. The food was okay for a couple of days but got repetitive and bland very quick. All inclusive drinks included Corona on tap and anything the bartenders could mix with the assortment of cheap liquors behind the bar (Pina Colada and Margaritas are too good and the bartenders are very friendly and will make them strong so be careful!). This resort is about an hour walk down the beach from the major resorts (Oasis - Marriot) or a thirty minute bus ride that cost about 1 U.S. dollar. The beach in front of the hotel is okay. The sand is thicker with more shells than near the bigger main resorts mentioned above but still a beach and ocean view. The main residents of this resort are locals, family's, or couples so it doesn't get very loud or wild. Overall its a okay, quiet, hotel. If you are looking for a crazy beach party you will need to stay in/closer to the main resorts. If you are wanting to go to a super cheap all inclusive hotel in Cancun Mexico this is your place (paid approx US$320 per night for 2 rooms, 7 people, all inclusive)
3 out of 5
by Kimmi from New Jersey, USA

great Hotel for everyone with older Childrens

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: The staff and the beach
Cons: The food and the room
Location: The location is perfect
The Food and the Room is not that good but from the outside it was wondeful. The beach is beautiful and the service great and the stuff very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as terrible as reviews make it seem

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff, the beach, the pool.
Cons: The food. See the full review above.
Location: It's at the quieter end of the strip, close to the hotel. You're a 10 minute drive to the airport, and a 30 minute bus trip to downtown.
The Solymar Hotel is three stars all around. My friend and I went down for a vacation week in February. We are very easy going, and we did not come in with high expectations for this "all inclusive resort." If you've never been to Cancun be prepared to realize that it is not like the other tall, gleaming hotel chains you'll see all along the strip, but that it is a great spot with really kind staff and a beautiful beach. I'll start with the most disappointing aspect of the trip: The food. My friend and I purchased the all-inclusive package which meant all meals and alcohol are included. While the drinks were great, the food was not. The buffet/dining hall style food is your only option for food at the hotel itself, other than a store that sells chips, snacks and soda. If you don't purchase the all inclusive meal package, you can't eat there. That being said, the food was nothing special, and after a few days, my friend and I needed to go downtown for dinner for some variety and quality. Definitely not a good choice for anyone with dietary restrictions/needs. There's always fruit for breakfast, omelettes (if you can speak Spanish), and pastries. Lunch and dinner are a mix of chicken, beef, rice, beans, and other sides, but they're not always hot, and not always appetizing to look at. It's not bad food, but there's not a lot of variety or options available. The room: Nothing terrible, nothing great. The beach and pool: beautiful. The staff: Helpful, and everyone speaks English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice simple hotel with guest personnel

Posted Feb 14, 2013
simple hotel but clean and secure , for the rest was ok