Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrey from Vancouver, WA

1st trip to Latin America

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Food is good (all inclusive option), room is good (big but a bit old, and TV is that bulb-operated with cross-lines running on the monitor), free wi-fi is great, water is calm on the beach (almost no waves), yes the sea is warm here. The place is quite most of the time and feels lonely. It is not far on bus to other busy locations and mall. If i come again, then I would try next hotel down the beach called Holiday Inn (more modern). Thanks to staff for doing excellent maintenance and cooking!! Gracias!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off strip very cheap but not a good hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: View of huge beach was great
Cons: Food and service
Location: Was not near any other restaurant and the nearest shopping you had to take a taxi or a bus way off main strip
Staff here was not helpful. Before we could even get to our room we got attacked by a lady trying to send us on excursions or sell a time share. Did not even have a coffee pot in the room and the restaurant did not open till 7 which was when they would pick you up for excursions so you could not even eat there. We did eat there one time and the food was terrible!!!!
3 out of 5
by ed from il

Good price and location terrible cleanliness

Posted Mar 20, 2014
I was there on time and when i got there i asked for some information and they didn't help me to find the information. They make me wait for 1 hour until I complaint and forgot about the service that I was trying to get. The personal are the worst they really don't care about their business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rog from Missouri

It was what I expected

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Friendly locals. Be prepared to ask plenty of questions before you pay or buy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from British Columbia, Canada

ON the beach

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Quiet
Great location. Calm beach...no big crashing waves. Handy to bus stops to go downtown or to the tourist clubs farther down the Hotel Zone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monica from Gilroy, Ca.

So much untapped potential,great price, but....

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The smallness, the staff. Thank you Jesus, Luis, Eusavio and Eusavio(sp), Alexis, Omar, my maid, Miguel, and all the others that took care of my needs
Cons: Maintenance.
Location: Good location for being out of all the party atmosphere. As a "mature" woman traveling alone, I felt safe at all hours. Short cab ride to "In" spots.
I loved this hotel and its staff. I had a clean bed, a huge shower, and a big screen tv. The grounds were beautifully maintained and housekeeping did their job. It was past all the Vegas-like atmosphere of the bigger chains, quiet, and intimate. It is the launch site for catamaran and diving trips and had a beach-side bar. That being said, it would be perfect if the owner put some money back into it. If it were my home, I'd make sure the drains worked properly, the stucco was repaired, the tile work wasn't done by toddlers, the lamps worked, and some of the decking was replaced. At some point there were kitchenettes , there are a few remaining pots and dishes; now you are fortunate to have a fridge. It would be lovely if these facilities were restored and a coffee pot added. Or, at least free coffee in the lobby- I gotta have my coffee!- which I bought at the little market on-site (not recommended unless you are hard-core). Both rooms I was in (I asked to be moved for a better view and it was taken care of as soon as a room was available the next day) had a table with 2 chairs. It would be nice if there was something else for clothing and to get luggage up off the floor. I was alone, so the small closet was adequate for what I brought, plus the kitchenette counter served a purpose. The meal buffets had good and bad days for my taste, but I was not all-inclusive, so I had other options if I was up for a short walk. Restaurants and mini-marts close by.
2 out of 5
by Thomi from Hopkins MN

Beautiful view low cost

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Well on a shoe string budget this is am OK place to stay we did get an ocean room view without that this would not be the place to stay. The rooms were clean however we struggled with having towels in the room, there was never a happy medium with the room temperature with the air on it got too cold and with it off too warm. No blankets so had to use our pool towel to cover up and oh my the bed as hard as a rock. But the view was nice. Wifi was only available in the lobby every once in awhile I did get to log onto the pool bar wifi. The fridge worked but the stove did not.
2 out of 5
by ATiri from Hoboken, NJ

Avoid it.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Cancun is simple; in the Zona Hotelera, you are already in the beach and all the activities are very close. Buses are fast, cheap and ubiquitous.
It looks like that after they built the hotel in the 70´s, they did not bother to upgrade anything, not even the paint on the walls. Rooms are awful, with useless kitchenettes, horrible beds, unpractical closets and bathrooms that cannot justify more than thirty dollars for the room, but it was listed several times higher. Cancun has its fame of being absolutely overpriced and this hotel should be the poster for that. The only thing that saved the stay was the cleaning ladies that kept the rooms and baths sparkling and smelling decently. The staff at the desk was somewhat helpful but they could not make a miracle to hide the wear and tear of the whole building. The only relatively new thing in the room was the TV but if you do not ask for a remote, no one will tell you are entitled to one. If the weather is good, it may be an OK place to sleep and take a shower, but if it rains, it may be an ordeal to stay there. They only have WiFi at the main lobby and it can get crowded on a rainy day.
1 out of 5
by kate

The worst hotel I've seen in years.

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Terrible! It's so dilapidated I couldn't believe expedia would keep it in it's site! The smell was terrible and all the facilities so bad I was afraid to touch anything! I want to mention that I couldn't stay in this hotel even when I couldn't get any refund!!! Please save yrself a horrible experience. I'm not a super demanding customer and stayed in a hostel before but when u are not sure if u can sleep even with yr clothes on or sit on a chair without shuddering it's bad!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tequila is unlimited in this hotel!

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: hotel stuff
Cons: Wifi
Location: Coco Bongo, by bus about 10 minutes
first time to Cancun, a little bit rush for five days tour