Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom portland maine

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Hotel did not have room we had reserved with 2 double beds Only had a room with king bed and no ocean view. They agreed to give us a roll away bed for no charge and room was fine for the 3 of us. Staff was very friendly and otherwise accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UT

Best hotel on Isla!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Nothing beats this hotel. We were tempted to stay elsewhere for cheaper but decided to stay here based on the reviews. Thank God. This hotel is beautiful! Very nice landscaping and the beach....wow the beach. I can't get over how beautiful playa Norte is. Best beach on the island and this hotel sits right there. They clean the beach every morning and are so quick to bring you an umbrella or a drink. The staff at the hotel is just fantastic. Always smiling and so happy to help any way they can. This place is within walking distance to the ferry and many of the top 10 restaurants in Isla. We rented a golf cart but quickly realized we could walk to a lot of places. It's right at the end of Hildago street which is the main drag. Lots of food street vendors set up shop right there too. This hotel is so convenient in every way. Do yourself a favor and have the best vacation here!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bend, OR

Nice place but...

Posted Jan 14, 2015
The rooms are modern, spacious, and comfortable. Staff is nice, facilities nice. Beach area is small, but plenty of chairs and umbrellas, and the water is amazing. My disappointment comes mostly because we splurged on a nice hotel for the honeymoon, only to find our room did not have a balcony and the one window did not open. We did have a 'partial ocean view' in which the ocean was not visible at all, although a mess of a construction site next door was. I gave it three stars because I suppose my lack of research was at least partially to blame (and I was too tired to complain so I don't know how accommodating they might have been), but there was certainly some misleading advertising. My advice if you choose to stay here? Ask before you buy. Who wants to spend their beach vacation looking at a construction site when there is a beautiful beach just steps away they could be enjoying?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Family vacation

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: We stayed in a beach front room, beautiful views. Rooms were excellent, clean and modern décor. Staff was excellent, treated you like family.
My wife and I have traveled to the island before and stayed at another hotel. We saw this hotel on our last trip and others we met on the island said they were very pleased and recommend we try it on our next visit. We traveled with our 4 children, ages 20-10.This hotel was a great place to spend the week. We loved the location on the beach, the children enjoyed the pools. We were just minutes from walking downtown. The restaurants and night life were literally right at your door step. They all enjoyed their first experience on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We enjoyed our stay nice Hotel close to the beach. Great service!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing beach but mediocre hotel.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel is showing its age. Musty and air was not working properly.
i didn't know where to stay and reviews seemed encouraging so we booked the ixchel. The location and beach are amazing however, we were very disappointed with the accommodations. We are not world travelers with high expectations but when I book a room with double beds and a partial ocean view that is what I expect to get. After getting to the hotel 5 hours late I was in no mood for Wendy the front desk girl. We had booked 2 rooms for 5 of us. 2 adults and 3 kids. My only request was that our rooms be on the same floor. Well not only were they not on the same floor but they were in completely separate buildings. In addition, one of the rooms had a king size bed and a view of the across the street garbage pile- a far cry from the partial ocean view we paid for. This meant that we had to pay additionally for a cot in the room for one of my kids!! Wendy basically said too bad. Luckily, Flory in the other building was a bit more compassionate and was willing to look at the computer to see if they could do something. The next morning after speaking to someone she was able to move us into the same building although not the same floor. I will say the concierage Maurico is a shining star. He was warm, personable and always willing to help book fun and exciting adventures!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oaklan, CA

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Good choice in Isla. Very central location in Playa Norte. Views even in non-oceanfront units. Fully-stocked kitchen if you want to cook but also close to all the best food options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas TX

It is a nice place to stay in Isla Mujeres!

Posted Dec 26, 2014
We had a wonderful 2014 Christmas trip. It is a nice place to relax and rest. Peaceful and full of beauty. The sand is soft and white, the Caribbean water clear and sparkling, nice place to swim with tropical fish and worm weather. The hotel was always clean, the personnel always smiling and ready to help. It has many restaurants in a walking distance, the shower has nice pressure and all the hot water you may need. They put a five gallon water fountain in every room. If we can, we will be back sometime soon. When you arrive to Cancun, everybody is trying to get your money, the food and the taxis are pricy, if you rent a car with anticipation, they will not honor the foreign insurance. The car rentals are cheap, but the insurance is too expensive. They may offer you to void the insurance requirement if you pay a ten thousand dollar refundable retainer and then you can rent a six thousand dollar car. At the island is also easy to use all your money too fast. Expect for a $60 taxy, $25 Ferry, $5 soft drinks and $10/$20+ for a simple meal plus drinks… If you want to save, there is a small market and some small restaurants with nicer rates. All suites have kitchen and silverware. We stayed in a small room first, then moved to a suite. Overall we enjoyed the trip and recommend the hotel to everyone looking for pace and relaxation.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Don't. Waste your money.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
I will complete write up on trip advisor s it's not edited. Don't waste your money here nice beach rooms stink and are mildewy. Bed sheets stained and room wasn't as described.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Dec 19, 2014
The rooms are beautiful and the views from the room amazing. Convenient to restaurants and shops if you ever want to leave the beach.