Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Beachfront Property

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Beautiful property. Convenient to restaurants, shopping, fishing. Would highly recommend. Beautiful beach and pool area. The only negative is that the beds are very hard but the rooms are very clean and well-appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janine from South Dakota

Fantastic Beach Hotel!

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The beach is fantastic! The staff at the beach was great. The location is wonderful. Our room was very clean and comfortable.
Cons: I would reserve an upgraded room/suite. We weren't in the room much, but it would have been nice to see that beautiful view and feel the ocean breeze
Location: Shopping, restaurants, swimming, snorkeling, sunbathing.
We reserved a standard room with two double beds 7 months before our trip. When we checked in, there was only a standard room with one king bed left. This room also had no view, and the window did not open (room 211 west building). Although we were disappointed, the room proved to be very clean and spacious and had a wonderful shower. We really appreciated the large water dispenser with fresh water. We always had plenty of clean towels and soaps. Housekeeping did a great job! I would definitely upgrade to a room or suite with a view in the future. The beach is outstanding! Although the hotel has two very nice pools, we never used either one. We spent most of our time on the powder soft beach or swimming in the calm, clear, turquoise ocean. We never had trouble finding lounge chairs, and the staff was very helpful in setting up umbrellas and a small table if we asked. The water is clear and warm, and you can walk out quite far before it gets deep. It was fun to watch the yachts docked just outside the swimming area. The hotel is located within walking distance of many wonderful restaurants and shops. We rented a golf cart for a week, and were able to take our time and explore the entire island. I would definitely recommend renting a golf cart for at least a day just to see all of the beautiful different parts of the island. We enjoyed the freedom to come and go as we pleased. There is much to see and we put on many miles!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

3rd time at Hotel Ixchel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Rooms are clean and simple. Location is excellent. Breakfast at the pool is always fantastic (many thanks to Giovani and Arturo!).
Cons: Elevators are getting a little old (but the stairs do just fine).
It is our favorite location to stay when visiting Isla Mujeres - their beach is beautiful and staff are always there to help with chairs and umbrellas, the beach service is excellent, the pool area is well kept and quiet, and access to downtown is a quick walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on preferable north beach.

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Walk to Hildago and Main Street RESTURANTS Easy walk from water shuttle and 50 pesos taxi rider to south side RESTURANTS Next to Sunset Grille for beach and sun set. Enjoyed laid back pace. Very family friendly and good size group of 40+ vacationers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna Maria from chicago

Wonderful and spacious hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Near the beach, great pool and a walk away from the town
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to beach and a clean and private pool
This was a wonderful hotel with great service! It was very close to all the restaurants and shops. The pool was wonderful and clean along with being near the beach. We spent a few days on the Isles before we went on to Cancun! You really get a great feel of what Mexico is all about!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Suburban Chicago

Ixchel Beach Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel and beach staff were very professional and attentive.
Cons: The hotel could be improved with a REAL restaurant and improved drinks. We gave the bar two chances on two days to make a decent margarita. No luck.
Location: Great beach. Great location by shops and restaurants.
We were assigned to a 1-bedroom suite on the 1st floor just one room away from the elevators and front desk. The sidewalk to the pool and beach were right outside our patio and windows. We had no privacy at all. We were very uncomfortable opening the drapes and sitting on the patio. We could hear the front desk staff talking with other staff throughout the night and early morning hours as well as guests waiting for the elevators and walking into the hotel from the sidewalk outside our room. We also heard loud talking through the night from the adjoining room separated only by a locked wooden door. at 6:30 the next morning I asked to be moved. We were promptly accommodated and given a suite with a balcony on the second floor. This room was private, quiet and beautifully appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience!!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Great time at ixchel the staff was amazing and the views and location were awesome! We booked the beachside suite and were very impressed !! Highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Buffalo, NY

Nice place near everything

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, amenities
Location: Beach, restaurants, bars, tours are all within walking distance. You should, however, rent a golf cart and tour the island for a day.
The hotel is right on the beach and many restaurants and nightlife are just a short walk. Staff was nice and the concierge, Mauricio, is great. Great spot in Isla Mujeres
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Esteban from IA

Nice Hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: beach and location
Cons: Lobby dark,dreary. No lobby guest computer.Entrance was a sheet of overhanging plywood. No complimentary breakfast. No restaurant. land around trashy.
Location: At end of Hildago st. where all restaurants and shops are.
Clean, Good beach, nice location but no restaurant, dark dreary lobby, entrance shabby. no guest computer. No complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ixchel Review February 2014

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff was the best part.
This hotel was very accommodating, clean, and comfortable. The room we stayed in was a double standard room. It was comfortable and was cleaned thoroughly each day. The room had temperature control, and a dehumidifier that we emptied each day (was very glad to have that!). The staff worked very hard to ensure we were satisfied and was helpful with visiting various sites around the island. The beach in front of the hotel was relaxing, offering food, drinks, massages, etc. The staff always made sure we were equipped with umbrellas and beach chairs each day.