Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

REWARDED for making Expedia adventure!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The beauty of it, inside and out…. the staff was amazing, and we just enjoyed every bit of it!
Location: We would have taken the day trip to the Mayan ruins, but we only had 2.5 days total, so we couldn't tear ourselves away from the hotel pool and beach.
Though not my norm, I decided to see if there were any "deals" to be had to get away a few days with my teenage daughters. On a Thursday I found and booked flights and hotel for just under $600 each. While we did end up spending more than anticipated on food, the deal for the flight to Cancun and the JW Marriott ON THE BEACH was unbeatable. I can't tell how happy I am that I did this! We don't usually "vacation", and now my girls have some memories they won't soon forget. Thanks Expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A regular stay for us

Posted Jul 8, 2014
This is one of two places we love to stay at in Cancun. Great facilities and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manassas, VA

Long Weekend Getaway

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Service
Cons: Champions could use a makeover.
Location: centrally located to just about everything, with bus service just at the end of the driveway.
This was our second stay at the J.W. in Cancun and it did not dissappoint! Even though the hotel was sold out, it never felt as though it was really busy. We had no trouble getting a table for dinner or finding a seat at the pool. Amazing, as always!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Outstanding hotel with a great view.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Incredible balcony view of beach and pools.
Cons: I could have done without the harassment from a vacation club (timeshare), which had a desk close to the elevators. Two morning phone calls!
Location: Jet ski location at the beach. Good seafood restaurant across the street.
We tried all of the restaurants, and they all had wonderful food and first class service. There is a small food mart store for water, snacks, and medicine. Taxis were on standby for not wait at the front door. The taxis at the hotel were big and comfortable, unlike most of the small taxis on Cancun streets. The pools were beautiful, although chairs in the shade were constantly occupied. The room and bathroom were spacious. There was a constant construction noise heard in the walls during the daytime. Not sure where the construction was coming from, but it was not bad enough to complain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
I would say it was overall good. The staff was really good and the location of hotel is also nice. its in the middle of the street and have public transport every 3 minutes right in front of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Great resort

Posted Jul 5, 2014
We had a great time , staff is friendly, rooms and hotel are clean,food is great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burnsville, MN

Beautiful hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The pools were amazing! The beach was beautiful! The hotels Sedona Grill, where we had our breakfast each morning was wonderful.
Cons: Drink prices were a bit high but they served premium liquor and service was excellent and friendly.
Location: Location was good. Wonderful restaurant across the street, which was walking distance (Fred's seafood & Grill) diving was a 10 min walk (aqua world)
Everything about this hotel was 5 stars! The hotel was breath taking as we rode up the drive to the entrance. The inside of the hotel was just beautiful! The location was centrally located in the hotel zone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Delicious food, great service, safe, beautiful.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Very relaxing, great restaurants within the hotel. The service was excellent and it lived up to my expectations and went beyond them. Peaceful and great for families or couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Best Hotel in Cancun

Posted Jun 25, 2014
We thought the JW Marriott was better than the Ritz in Cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christy from Las Vegas

Great resort

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, organized, friendly, infinity pool that overlooks the beach. View from balcony in my room.
Cons: Lower the prices at just one of the restaurants to more reasonable prices comparable to the Chilies about 1 and a half miles down the street.
Location: McDonalds is one block away. Take the bus about 1and a half miles down the street to eat at Chilies, Jonny Rockets, Outback and other less expensive.
Great time. The beach is beautiful. You can't beat the value for the quality (except the food) and the emerald water and white sand beach can't be beat. I'd stay again in a heart beat! The staff were fantastic. We were treated with so much kindness. The only downside is the restaurants are far too expensive. $20.00 for an average burger and fries is too much at Champs. Also, $60 for a mediocre steak is far too much. The breakfast is good, but not worth $20. It's only a buffet with an omelet station.