Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Louisville, KY.

Beautiful setting, wonderful staff

Posted May 27, 2015
We were very pleased with our stay at the JW Marriott, Cancun. The building and grounds were beautiful. The pools were very clean and the service was outstanding. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. My only, slight disappointment was, I thought, the bed was too firm for my taste. The Italian restaurant on site was absolutely fantastic! We would definitely return to this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Perfect hotel for our stay in Cancun

Posted May 26, 2015
We were immediately delighted by the look and location of this hotel. We got a room on the 8th floor facing the ocean and it was truly stunning. We didn't think we wanted to stay long in touristy Cancun but when we got to the Marriott we realized we had made a mistake. Cancun was gorgeous and the ocean was pristine. We had spent 9 days traveling between Tulum and Playa del Carmen and enjoyed the small boutique hotels we chose to stay in but there was a problem with seaweed on the beach and in the water so we much preferred swimming in the many Cenote's we found. However, the ocean in front of the Marriott was perfection. The place was very beautiful and luxorious and we had a fantastic swim in their infinity pool and a fantastic snack at their grill. We then had dinner across the street at Fred's Seafood and everything was superb. I only wish we could have stayed longer. All high marks for this wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Overall very good experience. Enjoyed Breakfast buffet, Pool, and Cabanas, thought attention from staff at Cabana was lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Very comfortable

Posted May 15, 2015
Second visit to the Marriott. Very nice place with only a couple of suggestions. Can't get coffee until 6am and sometimes things are planned that make this too late. The Sedona Grill for dinner left something to be desired. Had pork tenderloin and it was rare. Pork ALWAYS needs to be well done!! Couldn't eat it. Breakfasts on the other hand were very good. Pool is wonderful and staff are great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kasson, MN

Great place, nice pools, great food!

Posted May 10, 2015
With the favorable US exchange rate, things were even better than expected! Pizza for lunch at the 750 is less than $5 U.S. Room was great, tip 100 pesos a day and get awesome treats and surprises. On-site eats were excellent. Packages with breakfast are completely worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great for families

Posted May 10, 2015
We have stayed here previously. We had also stayed at the adjacent Ritz. For families with children, this property is a winner. The food quality was exceptionally good. The reasons why I did not give this property 5.0 all the way are: 1) the facility is starting to show its age in the pool area and needs renovation, 2) the palapas that they had built replacing the gazebos they had previously takes away the elegance the property used to have; 3) the staff was not as helpful as in prior years since now the tip is included in the breakfast buffet invoice; and 4) the pool was not cleaned throughout the day as we found muck floating in the corner a couple of times. Stay away from the Marriott Vacation Club sales people. They really try to sell you points (it's their new time-share idea). We felt that we spent an inordinate amount of time reviewing their proposal, time we could've used relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Amazing Hotel...

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Location to everything!
Cons: Just add WIFI to the gym! Free please!
Location: Excellent location!
Great place my 2nd time coming back in August! Super clean , awesome staff and beautiful location! Highly recommend this place! One thing please add "WIFI to the Gym" other than that I'm back every year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TX

In my top three of best hotels in Cancun

Posted May 7, 2015
Luxury, super clean, superb facilities, nice spa, incredible suite, fantastic food, great service. No bad adjetives for this hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: The design and layout was great. Grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. Morning brunch was fantastic.
Cons: Wish it were all inclusive.
Location: Quiet location, taxi and bus service was always available at anytime.
Hotel was was beautiful and very clean Staff could not do enough for you. Would most definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lafayette, LA

Beautiful beachfront property

Posted May 1, 2015
The resort was beautiful, the service was exceptional, and room was spotless with towels being replenished as quickly as they were used.