Ratings based on 700 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will choose the same hotel if I ever get to go bac

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Front desk took a while to check us in. Told us they dint have the kind size room that we reserved but had it ready in 20 mins. After the check in...everything was a breeze. The room was perfect except for the fact that it dint have a coffee maker and a microwave. It had the bestest view of the ocean. Pool area was well served. TIP : if you want a shaded area to hang out by the pool area...wake up early and put down towels on the seats. The food at BEACHWALK restaurant who serves the pool area is bit expensive but good. Servers are super friendly. They actually decorated our room for my birthday upon my husbands request. Must say they did a pretty good job with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Nice but room for improvement

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Gorgeous pool areas with easy access to beautiful white sand beaches.
Cons: Could use a bit updating in the rooms. Club 91 room needs some more energy.
Beautiful setting, lovely restaurants but Club 91 lacked. Though worth the extra price for food, disappointing that you can not take anything out of the room. The room itself was beyond boring. very pretty view, with sad, dull music. Staff tries to be cheery, but there needs to be some more life put into it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort

Posted Apr 1, 2015
beautiful resort, great location with great ocean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London On, Canada

Excelent quality food

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I don't know if because we book with Expedia they gave us a roof view ( I know, doesn't even exist that option) but they did. We called and complain. They gave us another room . This is not an all inclusive, the food is great, the service excellent, the massage therapist are real massage therapist , the spa is very comfortable. This is my thigh time in there. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Amazing as always!

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Service, food, staff, beautiful property
Cons: the battle over the shaded tables and extension chairs, it was fierce and distasteful at times
LOVE this property. Beautiful, super clean, staff is extremely friendly always and service is outstanding, they even remember us by name from a year ago! Super relaxing, and everything you'd ever need. The breakfast buffet will make you pig out, but totally worth it. Everything is fresh and delicious. Even room service food is amazing. Love that we never have to leave the resort as the restaurants located on the property and the Casa Magna (also a Marriott) beside this one offer plenty of eating options. They are pricey, but what do you expect from a 5 star resort? Food is delicious! I have two somewhat minor complaints this year. One was that the beach had so much algea, it was essentially not enjoyable as it was everywhere you swam and piles washed up on the shore. But that's not necessarily the hotel's fault. All beaches seemed that way, something must have happened at sea. I've never seen it like that in all the times I've been to Cancun, but maybe they could do something to try clearing it up a bit. The one thing that really annoyed me was this year we experienced for the first time a daily struggle (even 1 battle one day) to find a table with extension chairs. People were out at 6 am to lay towels down everywhere, and many wouldn't even appear at the chairs/tables they'd selected until 4-6 hrs later! I say if it's unused for more than 3 hrs, it's fair game for anyone. The hotel needs to do something about this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great hotel and wonderful, friendly staff

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the friendly people, great resturants at the JW Marriott and the Casa Magna. The hotel has a great property.
Location: The hotel is in a great location. Close to the plazas, resturants, and easy access to the local bus.
This was our third stay at the JWMarriott in Cancun. The hotel staff excels in customer service. We were made to feel welcome and the staff is courteous, efficient and caring. We enjoyed our 3 weeks vacation and highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Luxe resort at the beach.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Great atmosphere, friendly staff. Room with oceaan view. Great pool(s), good food.
Cons: Check in and check out procedings.
Location: Xel-ha and swimming with the dolphins. Chitzen Itza is an absolute must and Isle de Mujeres go all the way to the south-East side.
We had an absolute wonderful time. Staff is great, our chamber maid made little animals for the kids every day which she put on the bed. We recommend to make reservations for a cabana upfront. The only thing that did not go so well was the check in. Took way too long, especially considering the fact that it was 1am and I had two small children waiting for me during that time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location, wonderful pool

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The staff at this hotel was amazing. Always ready to help. I would highly recommend it to everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

gorgeous--good luck finding a pool chair after 8am

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: beach view
Cons: see the pool problem
fine staff, everyone speaks English, very clean, beach is beautiful every seat at the pool with any shade was gone by 8am -- grabbed by towels, even tho there was rarely anyone sitting on them
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

The Mattress on our beds were old and dirty

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The building was very nice.
Cons: Get people that speck English, Train someone who can fix the wi fi, And get new mattresses. In the 60 years I have traveled I never slept on worse one
Location: Very little
I have seen better Mattresses in dunpsters in new york city. It was saggy and fithy. When I booked the trip it said I would have Wi FI in the Lounge, we never did. My wife was there for a medical seminor, and could not comunicate with her patients or hospital staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Martha Castroman, Hotel Management
Dear Martin Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us, I apologize for the condition of your mattress I will follow up with the proper departments in order to correct this as soon as possible. In the other way, about the internet I am very sorry that your wife had a hard time to communicate with her office etc, but unfortunately our internet provider experienced some technical difficulties which affected our guests connections and there were anything we could do on property to fix it, what I can say is that everything is fixed now and we hope to have no more situations like this again. I hope we could be honored with a second chance to host you in your next visit to Cancun. Sunny regards Martha Castromán Quality Manager