Ratings based on 2,161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Great Location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: The rooms lacked a microwave and fridge. They had a mini bar type fridge but not room for much.
Location: Location was great and easy walking distance to everything.
The Krystal Grand is located right at the tip of the 7 putting it in easy walking distance to restaurants, nightlife, and shopping. It had 3 pools, a great beach with plenty of chairs, friendly staff and property was in good condition. Although we didnt have ocean front room we were able to see parts of the ocean each direction from our balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle, Australia

Great location and Hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Located on the corner or "punta" of the hotel strip, this hotel is located close to clubs, restaurants and shops, and is at the end of the beach, nicely secluded behind a break wall so great for swimming. Or of course swim in their 2 large pools. Hotel Restaurants are varied and well priced for a resort. There is also all inclusive but we chose the breakfast only, and there Was a great selection of food as well as canapés and cocktails from 5-7pm which almost covers you for dinner too, and there are some great taco stands around the corner! Shout out to Rudy at the Pool Desk- he works for Aqua World and helped us purchase a tour to Akumal to snorkel with turtles. He was super friendly and helpful- go see him if you want anything water related. Expedia Local Experts are also available to organise tours to Chichen Itza. Only down side of our whole experience was being put in a room next to a construction site. The work went on until 8pm at night, then we also had staff working in the stair well next to our room, almost gassing us out with paint fumes. The hotel construction next door is in its early stages so expect that for at least another 3-6 months. You can change rooms but it will cost you another $100 bucks per night which is ridiculous, so word of advice don't book unless you can confirm your room is on the beach or pool side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place and close from busniss

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Location: WALKING DISTANCE
Love my stay, clean place, good food ,BUT DID NOT LIKE THE EXPEDIA REP.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom austin, tx

Construction next door, nose, dirty. food is bad.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Air conditioners are very loud, cleaning use chlorine so smell is awful has to keep dorr open for 3 hrs at least, food is low quality and variety is very limited. Beach is good, pools just ok. Tried massage, was ok, except "relaxing music" was 10mins recording looped, so by the end of 80 min session you can imagine the client "relaxing stage". Furniture in room is old and eclectic ( not in style). I paid full to Expedia for "Altitudes" club room, and didn't get it ( they short on rooms due to construction next door). You may get ocean view.. through construction site.. Don't risk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ca

Best ocean view around

Posted Apr 15, 2015
We had an ocean view and it was one of the best views we have ever seen. The whole hotel Zone and the turquoise water is the best. Hotel staff was great and there were plenty of things to do in just the hotel. Tip stay away from "great deals" in the streets, people are hustling hard and will rip you off quick. Trips or anything just book it thru the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, California

Two different hotels in one.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
So we stayed in the family club side of the hotel which was perfect for us. We took a walk down to the beach and discovered the Spring Break side of the resort with many people in the pools with drinks in hand having a good time. We were traveling with our two children, 6 years old and 1 year old. My 6 year old fell in love with the kids club and pretty much ditched us for the activities that the kids club offered. Our 1 year old loved the water park. No area was too deep for him so he felt secure walking around. There was also a little grassy parklike area that he used to climb on a little play structure. We had pool access off of the back of our room but the water in that pool was very frigid so the kids did not like that pool. Appreciated that the kids club had its own bar. We enjoyed the buffet more than the al a carte restaurant, so did the kids. Only bad thing that I can say about the kids club was that none of the amenities were explained to us. We had to kind of figure everything out on our own. Oh yeah, ice cream shop was a great bonus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Good hotel close to everything

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Had a very nice time. Only complain is the swimming pools which isn't that clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but facility needs upgrade

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We stayed at Krystal Grand for 5 days during kids' spring break. The hotel is very conveniently located near the nigh clubs, restaurants and supermarket. The beach is just as nice as other hotels. The beach is near a wave breaker where you can see fish in shallow water, which is fun for kids. The staff were great with the kids. But facility needs upgrade. Many things did not work or did not work well. Examples: toilet can only flush half way; safe is not working properly or at least no intuitively. The wall is paper thin. The hotel has very loud music in the lobby that can be heard at mid-night in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Villahermosa

Todo fue bueno pero...

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Las albercas y las actividades en la playa para los niños.
Cons: La limpieza en las habitaciones.
Location: Excelente ubicacion ya que está junto a la zona de Bares y discotecas, te puedes salir caminando de noche sin problema.
Todo fue muy bonito en los días que estuve ahí, solo tuve una desagradable experiencia cuando le pedí al chico de recepción si me podía ayudar para enviar algo de comer a mi madre que estaba en la habitación y me contestó que "no podía", que yo tenía que regresar a la habitación y marcar desde el teléfono del cuarto. Que hice? le dije a un botones que me comprara un sandwich y lo subiera "problema resuelto". Lo que me molestó aquí fué la respuesta del tipo de recepción "NO SE PUEDE", amigo todo se puede en este mundo sólo es cosa de dar opciones y sobre todo buscar soluciones a las necesidades del huésped. Por lo demás todo el demás personal del hotel muy amable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Brilliant hotel - clean, great food & service!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Variation in available restaurants/bars. Service was excellent. Rooms were clean, modern & spacious. Great pools & beach.
Cons: Wifi is slow, if your phone is your lifeline you might not enjoy being so disconnected! You can pay extra for high speed wifi in the Deli.
Location: Lots of day trips available to book on-site. We did snorkeling with "Aqua World" which was fun. Daily activities for both adults & children.
I had read many reviews about this hotel & was a bit worried about some of the negative reviews but our stay was fantastic & well above our expectations! As many people recommended we booked an ocean-view room to avoid the construction noise. It starts early & runs late so if ocean-view is out of your budget I wouldn't advise booking. We also booked an "altitude club" room. I didn't see much benefit of paying extra for this, apart from the view. The altitude lounge is nice, but breakfast in "O" restaurant/buffet has a much greater choice. The hotel itself is fantastic. The rooms all open into the circular lobby so a bit of noise is expected. Not an issue for us. We were aiming for a romantic holiday & although this is a family resort the adults only pool was a welcome addition! Staff will ask kids not to play in the adults infinity pool (which overlooks the beach - the other 2 family pools don't). The beach was a few steps away & being at the end of the hotel zone you get a fantastic panoramic view of the rest of the beach. We went all-inclusive & found the staff at the restaurants/bars very attentive & friendly. Their English is perfect, unlike other reviews have said. Pool-side drink/snacks service was really good. The 2 reservation required restaurants on-site ("Risotto" - Italian & "Ayami" - oriental) are fantastic - we kept going back. They're also fairly cheap, 2 courses & drinks for 2 was less than £45 if you're not going all inclusive. Highly recommend!