Ratings based on 2,345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel, walking distance to everything.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Was a decent hotel. We stayed for 4 days. The location was perfect. It was walking distance to bars, flea market and restaurants. Nice beach access. They don't have the best customer service but the room was nice. Loved the beach access. Close to the grocery store too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Look up the street

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location, and thats all
Cons: Bring the hotel up to the area standard, and train your staff accordingly.
Location: I love to haggle with the locals, so the nearby market was great. Mocambo was really good, and crepes at VIPS were awesome!
First off, my wife and I are pretty laid back people and tend to make lemonade with lemons. My recommendation would be not to stay at the Krystal Grand. We had to change rooms mid-stay due to the hotel not having the correct reservation (we reserved a king, and all they had was 2 fulls). They said our reservation was a preference not a guarantee. I say false advertising, but whatever. It would have been bearable if the AC worked. The next morning we cleared out and left our luggage with the bellhop. We left at 9am and they said our new room wouldn't be ready until after 3pm. The new room was a little better, and it had a king bed. The lowest the temperature got was 78 deg F. We did not have all-inclusive since we wanted to do more outside the hotel in the first place. The most basic amenity, safe drinking water, cost $5/bottle. We went to the supermarket 2 blocks away and got a cooler and 5L of water and some other things for $10, which lasted us the whole trip. If you don't have all-inclusive, don't buy anything direct from the hotel. The one thing we got was a pina colata for my wife at the pool bar. It was $10. The location was great, good shopping and restaurants very close. We walked through the nearby hotels and were shocked at how much nicer they were than the Krystal Grand. We'll go back to the area, but we'll stay at the Americana or Riu instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gulf Coast, Texas

Nice hotel on the beach & close to the party zone.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: I liked the beach layout, it was located behind the jetty that protects it. It allowed some waves behind, but kept the beach much calmer than others.
Cons: Clarify choices for rooms. If something is an option, state it clearly. And if an option, provide a means to assure the choice, even if extra cost.
Location: Many clubs within walking distance. But, we were not there for partying. Plenty of buses available to get to more distant activities.
Overall the hotel was nice and clean. The staff was attentive and helpful. Was only unhappy with the fact I reserved a king bed with ocean view. The website requires that you pick a bed type and view before you can go on, these are not options. When we arrived, was given a 2-double bed room with ocean view, and was told the king bed was an optional choice. Was not able to get moved to a king room until 3 days later. The beds were hard for my taste, but I prefer a much softer mattress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We had an overall wonderful experience at this hotel. We had the most beautiful, clean beach with gorgeous views. The hotel staff was wonderful and we enjoyed the location near downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Hidden charges!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We checked in and room was not ready until almost 6pm!! We never had cool air, the staff was hit and miss.. Facilities were "ok" bath could use updating. We also had purchased through expedia the all inclusive and they made us pay an additional 1200. US!! Food was "ok" not a lot of choices
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Krystal Grand stay

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: It is a nice hotel though and local at a great spot.
You get what you pay for. When I arrived, the hotel was not full at all. However, don't expect an upgrade without an additional $70 a night fee for ocean view. I understand that they do not have to honor my request from one side of the hotel to the other, exact same room plan, but my floor was completely empty. If they would have honored it, I would want to stay there on every visit I go to in Cancun. Now I have no loyalty towards them. In the middle of the night on our third night, the water turned off as well. That makes flushing the toilet a problem. Then the water came out brown for the next half day. That made me question the cleanliness of the water. You know what they say about Mexico and its water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible

Posted Jun 28, 2015
This hotel is not comfortable for us at all. Stuffs are not kind and they didn't do their jobs. Wi-fi didn't work and water stopped several times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Would not recommend

Posted Jun 27, 2015
First off, our all inclusive experience was disappointing. My husband and I went to Ayami, one of the restaurants included in our all inclusive. My husband was denied a table by a snoby restaurant manager Marcos because the hubby was wearing t-shirt & shorts. For a paying guest on vacation, this is the last thing you want to experience. I would of not written a bad review if they were more kind of how they treat their guests. The waiters and bartenders take good care of you but management here needs to step it up. The hotel is next to a construction zone. We did however, enjoyed the pools, activities, bars and violinist the hotel offers. Sadly to say we would never stay here again or recommend it to friends or family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Krystal Grand Cancun

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: The people were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Facility maintenance: door lock broken on balcony, room safe working sporadically, elevator lights would go out.
Location: A lot of shopping near by, great! Super Market near by, great!
The hotel was OK but is in obvious need of some TLC by the facility maintenance staff. The daily room service: beds, cleanup etc. was OK but there were times when the coffee making was not cleaned or hand towels were not left or changed. Also we were promised a King sized bed with ocean view but when we arrived we were given a twin bed ocean view. Jonathan the front desk person was a bit cavalier about all this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Feels like paradise

Posted Jun 27, 2015
I stayed at the Krystal Grand Punta for 1 week. Best location to stay at because you can leave the hotel and eat at other restaurants outside the hotel & there's markets to buy things as souvenirs. The room itself is nice I liked the ac I could change it myself. The house keeping cleans your room everyday you get clean towels everyday. Can't complain. The staff can be a little rude. Slightly discriminating towards my boyfriend. I will not go into details. The grill is good. The restaurant O was gross there were flys all over the breakfast. Overall great stay just need better service.