Ratings based on 1,415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Right on a beautiful beach

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Well, one of our rooms was not clean when we arrived. There was sand on the bed. Hotel staff treated you like you were an idiot. Not very helpful people at all. Also, everything closed down way too early. Pool closed at 8pm. Hotel is in walking distance to the strip, so that was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Beautiful location and great amenities

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The location, The Deli, the room, the view from our balcony (we booked an ocean view room), and how friendly everyone was.
Cons: The speed of service at the front desk could definitely be improved.
Location: The location is great. It's at the end of the hotel zone, so the beach isn't as busy as other parts. It's also near Coco Bongo and tons of night life.
Overall, we had a great experience at the Krystal Grand. It is located in a beautiful part of the hotel zone, with a large, not-too-crowded beach. They had plenty of tiki umbrellas, beach beds, and lounges to relax on after swimming in the ocean. The room itself was very comfortable and everything was pretty updated. Nice tile, comfortable beds, good AC, flat screen TV etc. We didn't use the pool, but from what we saw, it was well taken care of and it looked like a nice place to relax. The food at the hotel is pretty good, especially at The Deli, but be aware that everything is marked up in the hotel zone. If you want to save money, you might be better off going to the local Walmart and grabbing basics, especially water. You only get two free bottles a day, so I highly suggest going to buy your own water. I only have two minor complaints about the hotel. The first is that the clerks at the front desk move very slow. They're not surly or anything, but they move at a sloth-like pace for the most part. Just plan ahead and leave plenty of time for dealing with the front desk. My other issue with the hotel is that the atrium is prime for echoing. We didn't have any trouble sleeping, but it can get a little noisy when everyone stumbles back to the hotel at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seven Hills, OH

Nice hotel good location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The location. The friendly pool staff & of course the ocean view!!
Cons: Inform guest of what is happening at hotel BEFORE they book it. I would still stay at a hotel with renovations - but let us know what they are!
Location: Shopping/ lots of resturants within walking distance. This is the heart of Cancun.
For the money this was a decent hotel. However, they did NOT disclose that there was construction in the hotel & next door at another hotel. They start working at 7 am!!! Renovations are necessary but PLEASE let guests know before they book so they can make a decision whether or not to stay. Roberto (at the front desk) was EXCELLANT and more then accommodating & helpful when we asked for our room to be changed. I cannot say that for the restof the front desk staff. I ONLY would speak to Roberto. He was the only one who seemed to care about the guest. The rooms were CLEAN and well kept. The grounds were beautiful & the pool was good (the water temp was a bit warm for my liking) but can use some updating. There are pool activities everyday & the persons running them were fabulous!!! Fun/friendly & got everyone involved w/volleyball/water polo/yoga/kids activities/ping pong etc. the pool bar staff was average. Not very friendly or inviting. They weren't very attentive. Enrique at the Terrace Lounge/The Grill was EXCELLANT!!! He remembered us & what we ordered. The food quality was good - not 5 star but good. Never had a bad meal. Prices are what you would expect at a resort. The hotel is running a "special" until 12/31/14. You get a double bonus. basically you are paying 1/2 off of whatever you order. Great deal - no brainer. Everything is in PESO's!!!! Exchanging money is a good idea. The rate changes every day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Expensive food and no staff service

Posted Jul 27, 2014
1 corona is 55 pesos. 1 hamburger is 250 pesos.. Room is clean Beach is amazing with Cristal clear water but it is public No much of staff services Hotel restaurants are not the best and are very expensive Take note that we've booked with the Hyatt regency and later changed administration for kristal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beachfront.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Great staff, great location. Very comfortable. Will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

great hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: close to the beach and very clean.
Cons: Prices not to go up.
Location: Oxxo was close and all the night lifes very close. i would recommend this hotel.
our experience was great. Second time staying in this hotel . The hotel change name to Krystal. Prices were more expensive the second time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring Md.

First look and getting redy to enjoy, but!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, and facilities
Cons: First the customer service on your staff! Second information about the hotel facilities
Location: Rstaurants and discos great!
First the front desk attendant was not in great mood of service (her name ebe, etel, egel who knows) second there were several others around doing anything, so, this lady took several minutes to attend our arrival, then not even worse she attend another customer that just step betwwen us, minutes pass by she went back to teh office several times, I inquire with another staff they just frown and said anything at all, also our rooms (2) wasn't ready it was 3:00 p.m she said we have to wait until 5:00 p.m. Two hours later???? Really bad! She has to offer us another rooms , this was really inconvinient ! Why have to wait if the rooms have to be empty by 12:00 noon!!,!finally when we get our keys, there was no explannation of the Hotel services or facilities at all, so we have to search or find out in our own! This is the worst customer service I ever experience, so at the end I didin't get my final bill with a desclosure of my stay, I hope no hiding charge will appear cause I will complain and fight back. Because I have the original amount of the booking. The rest of the staff was friendly no regrets on that part, just this person should not be part of this hotel! If I plan tp go back that will be a nightmare to confront!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Md

Too much construction

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Hospitality of the staff was great. Food at all of the hotel restaurants was very good, especially the fish. My kids loved the ice cream in the deli.
Cons: Housekeeping and building maintainence staff were nice, but need to do a better job. The demolition and construction is a downer.
Location: Beachfront location was great. We were far enough from the restaurants and bar area so we don't get the noise, but close enough to walk there.
Our family of 6 had 2 rooms. My husband, 2 small children, and I lucked out and had a room with a great view of the beach and pool. My parents ended up with a room on the other side of the hotel facing a demolition site. We kindly asked the front desk to change their room, and they did so without question; the view wasn't as great as ours, but better than the demolition site. The hotel lobby was also under construction. Check-in was a problem. Their housekeeping staff seem to have a problem turning over rooms in time for check-in. Our room was not ready for check-in until around 5:30. I saw others throughout the week were having problems with the room being ready at check-in. Housekeeping services was not very good. The tub had hair in it the first night and every night after that. They always removed dirty towels and trash, but sometimes forgot to provide new bathroom floor mat, bottles of water, etc. One night, we noticed a funny smell in the room when we returned from dinner. We ran the water faucets and flushed the toilet a few times and this seem to take care of it. Rust was a problem in the rooms, but I suppose this was a problem with building maintainence. The hotel offers great beachfront shaded seating to enjoy the sea breeze. They have 2 recreation staff that plan pool and beach activities. My son enjoyed playing beach futbol with the other guests. The water was great. The sand wasn't as powdery as I anticipated; lots of shell debris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Beach is good..staff nice..pool nice ..goodprice

Posted Jul 22, 2014
I would return..not really a party hotel at all but it's on the same strip as the clubs so that's a win..good place to relax with ur loved ones
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Please check your air conditioner system

Posted Jul 21, 2014
My room was always foggy and damp. The air conditioner system needs to be checked.