Ratings based on 1,499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The beach was nice, water is beautiful.
Cons: Staff the front desk, took over an hour to check in and over half and hour to check out. Fix the WIFI connections.
Location: Walking distance from major shopping and restaurants.
Average Hotel, Good beach..but at the end of the strip and next to new construction. Loud entry/atrium area. Staff nice, but slow and definately understaffed at the front desk. WIFI only works sometimes. Other nicer places in the area to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Columbus Day Weekend Getaway

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel was beautiful, the room was comfortable, and the beach was beautiful.
Cons: The food could be improved. If you are going to eat from the hotel, go to the beach bar or O. If not, buy food from vendors outside the hotel.
Location: We visited the Mayan Ruins in Tulum, swam with dolphins in Playa del Carmen, attended a festival in Playa del Carmen, & visited Chichen Itza.
The hotel is beautiful. The room is clean and you have a view overlooking the beach from the balcony. The hotel is located in a great location, central to most things. We rented a car, which I think is essential if you want to get around. Some of the staff is great and really helpful, others are not as friendly. Review your bill after checking out. They put a hold on our credit card in case of damage and didn't release it until we called and told them about the additional charge. They took it off without a hassle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: In All inclusive package food is really good, and drinks are premium (they will give you a bottle of you favorite beer instead of draft beer).
Cons: A restaurant that offers a buffet all day would be good. Sometimes we were really hungry but the only options were restaurants with menu.
Location: Great location, 5 minutes from the best discos in Cancun and the beach is amazing.
My wife and I visited this hotel, the beach is awesome and the service in the hotel great. Your best bet is to take the All Inclusive Package, you get great food and premium drinks. If you don’t take the all-inclusive be aware that “menu “prices are really high. The extra charge for all inclusive is about 100 dollars per night. If you are planning to eat and drink the whole day at the hotel you will easily spend more than 100 dollars a day. So take the All inclusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Good hotel. Great location.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, Price, Room view,
Location: Location great.Close to night life , transport, best end of beach.
Very happy with hotel. Friendly staff, great location, facilities good. Buffet breakfast excellent. General food & Drinks pricing good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Venice, FL

Noise an Issue

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Location, View, Spa services.
Cons: Better sound insulation from noise within Atrium. Warn guests prior to booking about major construction next door and related noise. Food prices.
I have been staying at this property off'n'on for over 20 years. I liked it much, much more when it had some Mexican atmosphere ....considering it is in Mexico. When Hyatt refurbished it after Hurricane Wilma, they adopted a rather stark, minimalist decor.....just not my thing. Krystal has not changed that.The hotel location is great, some views from rooms looking down the coast are truly sensational (used for years in Cancun post cards), and it is a short walk to many night clubs, shopping, and restaurants. Hyatt sold it to Krystal and purchased and is rebuilding what was Dreams, next door on the Point of Cancun. When finished, it will negatively impact the views from about 25% of the rooms in the Krystal. Construction noise is an issue. I never stayed in a hotel (over 50 years of world travel) that offered "ear plugs" if desired. Hummmmm! The staff, in general, was welcoming, friendly, and professional. I liked the convenience of the Deli, but restaurant food prices were over the top. Even the breakfast buffet, at about $30.00 per person is a bit much. The hotel does offer a "match price" special which would be a great savings if staying 3 or more days....ask about it at check-in. The beach is fantastic, the pools lovely, the Spa one of the best experiences of my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davenport, Fl.

Decent hotel walking distance to nightlife

Posted Oct 6, 2014
The hotel has had a facelift, but it is still in need of some work. However, can't really complain much. Our room was pretty decent. Everything was in working condition. The hotel staff couldn't be friendlier. The breakfast was more than excellent. Such a great variety to choose from. The beach was excellent. Needless to say, I'm not sure that I would recommend the hotel. Really depends on your hotel expectations. If you have high expectations, then stay at a more expensive hotel. We were only there for four days, so it worked out for us. If I happen to book another mini vacay, I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Ocean views and nice pool

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: nice ocean views , patios and beds in the gardens facing beach... nice pool and bar.... overall very beautiful hotel...
Cons: The Refrigerators are not cold enough.... no Microwaves in the hotel....if you are planning longer stay ...food and beverages will be inconvenient....
Location: clubs...
The Refrigerators are not cold enough.... no Microwaves in the hotel....if you are planning longer stay ...food and beverages will be inconvenient.... there is a construction going on next door..looks like the neighboring hotel demolished and reconstruction happening....noise until late night....But overall nice ocean views , patios and beds in the gardens facing beach... nice pool and bar.... overall very beautiful hotel...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Great beach, good food for the all inclusive

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Great stay, nice anniversary gift for the all inclusive, not crowded, beach was beautiful, service was good. Room service was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, great location

Posted Sep 29, 2014
great pool and beach, food at the restaurants were good. Quick walk to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, Ne

Beautiful hotel and great experience

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I have no complaints!
Location: Its at the point on Cancun, at the end of "hotel row" where the beach turns. Location was close to restaurants we wanted
The Krystal Grand was a great hotel. The staff was unfailingly gracious and helpful. The food was wonderful. As far as cleanliness - they were always cleaning the hotel. It was spotless. Our room was spacious and comfortable. I can't say enough about the entire staff! I don't think I've been anywhere where they were more friendly and helpful! From the doorman, to the lobby desk to the wait staff - everyone was great!