Ratings based on 1,760 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel staff and beautiful resort

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Just returned from a 6 day stay at Live Aqua and already having withdrawals. My wife and I have never felt so zen in our lives before and so calm/at peace. Everything about this hotel was amazing from A to Z and I definitely recommend to anybody looking for a 5 star experience in cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

First Class!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
The resort was everything they advertised and more! From the moment we stepped onto the property until we left, we were treated like royalty. Food and drinks exceeded our expectations and the pampering by the staff was a welcome treat. Already planning the next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Good hotel right on the beach

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Good position. Excellent food - presentation god and portion size not too big. Staff helpful
Cons: Start music at 9am in pool area nd maybe at 9pm in larger bar
Location: Diving, Golf, Shopping mall across the road,
Just returned from a 10 day stay at Live Aqua. Had a really good vacation. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent with several restaurant portions. Most night they could accommodate our party of 6 quickly - the only time we had to wait was when the hotel was fully booked. Did not pay the extra $60 to eat in the restaurant which served lobster. There is plenty of shade provided by umbrellas around the pools and on the beach. The pool seats are reserved early but we never had a problem getting a seat on the beach on there was more breeze there. The gym was well equipped but the only exercise classes were yoga which were held outside and so it could be hot. The only complaint would be that there is constant music which sometimes can be quite loud - some mornings it started before 6am! the larger bar had very loud music which meant we did not use it - the music could have starred later in the evening. Buses cheap and easy to use. Two dive shops within a 3min bus ride.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Almost Perfect!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The wait staff was exceptional (outside of the front desk), Food was exceptional, and the beach was Awesome!
Cons: The check in could greatly be approved! The pools were disappointing...not big enough. Some form of night time entertainment...Karaoke??? Bands???
Location: We just visited the shopping mall across the street and the Forum (Local Mexican shops) down the street about a mile or two.
Everything was exceptional with the exception of the actual checking into the hotel. Due to weather we did not get to the hotel until around 1am. This was a full 12 hours later then when we were suppose to arrive. With that being said and understanding that we were late in arriving we didn't expect to get the full treatment when we arrived. But what we didn't expect that it would be a battle to just get a room and the room that we paid for! The front desk lady was extremely unhelpful and not until we got really mad did she get us a room...a room that we had upgraded to and a room with a King bed that we asked for when we made the reservation back in February. We had upgraded to an Ocean View...just a hint...they are all Ocean View with the exception of the bottom floor. When we paid for an upgrade we thought we were getting something better and higher up. Then we found out that just by requesting a King bed didn't mean that was what you were going to get..."it is simply a request". Never in all my travels did I ever run across this! As I am watching her on the computer I could see that they simply overbooked the hotel and after about 30 minutes of arguing she simply deleted off someone else and put us in the room...7th floor with a King bed. She kept telling us it was Expedia's fault. If you don't want to honor a third party reservation then don't use them!!! Now, once that was all taken care of the rest of the time was AWESOME! The best wait staff ever!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta GA

Enjoyed Live Aqua

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: More information about the hotel. Map, Poolside rules, How to reserve Cabana.
We stayed 3 nights at Live Aqua. Food was excellent. Our favorite was AZUR. The breakfast at Siete was the best breakfast buffet I've ever had. The hotel was very clean and all stuff were nice. Unfortunately there were several cons about the hotel. When we checked in, we were told that no King bed room available. So we got the Double Bed ocean view room with $40 vouchers. It was in the lower floor but the view from our balcony was good enough. The problem was the neighbors. They had some college trips near our room and they consistently knock the doors, chatting really loud in the hallway, dragging chairs all the time. One day, they woke us up at 4:00 a.m. and we almost called the hotel front. I wonder if I should've paid the extra for more peaceful room. Another issues was the poolside. It was extremely hard to find a chair. Most people leave the towels on the chair and never use them. We found the cabana that doesn't have "Reserved" sign for a little while but we found out that the staff moved our personal stuff and let the others use it. Also, there are a lot of smokers on the poolside. Some were smoking IN THE POOL. I'm sorry, I don't want to swim in the ash tray. They should have some designated area since I don't like smoke on my way. Most of my complaints were about the manners of the customers. The hotel itself was great. They need a little more information. (Maps, Poolside Rules etc...) I would come back again and book a better room :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Absolutely Beautiful hotel. Awesome staff!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We loved this hotel and will absolutely go back! Great food, staff, pools, beach!! Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2014
My stay was amazing! The rooms were clean, service was great and staff worked very hard to make us feel like we were in paradise. Restaurants could be a little slow , but food and drinks were good !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Awesome all inclusive

Posted Jul 25, 2014
My wife and I just got home from a 3 night trip to Live Aqua. We've done a good amount of travel and this hotel is by far the best all-inclusive we've ever experienced. From the moment you walk in the door you feel like you are in a zen spa. Your wish is their command and they all seem truly grateful to have you as a guest. Upgrade to a suite at checkin and you get a cabana every day, a 20 min foot massage daily and access to the concierge level. Highly recommend. We were there for our 13th anniversary and they made it special for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Pure Beauty, Balance, and Nirvana

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: I liked the attention to detail about Live Aqua the most.
Cons: The dining choices have changed slightly since our last visit (2 yrs ago). The dishes across all restaurants seem less memorable this time around.
Location: It is located in the Zona Hotelera, between the Caribbean and a large lagoon. There is nearby shopping and close to many other activities.
This was my third time coming to Cancun and Live Aqua. In truth, Live Aqua is probably the main reason why I keep coming back. It's truly the attention to detail which makes Live Aqua an immersive, relaxing, and luxurious experience. Upon entering the lobby — a gracious, airy space scented with Aqua, a fragrant blend of Eucalyptus, Rosemary, and Peppermint — you're immediately taken into a meditative, zen-like trance. The staff is attentive and gentle; Sometimes they offer newly arrived guests with tea or hand massage. This time around, we decided to book an exclusive Aqua Lounge room. These ocean-facing rooms are located on the 5th floor with exclusive access to the lounge, a nice perk if you are looking for top shelf alcohol and afternoon canapes. The room size is generous, comfortable, and well-furnished. Bedside zen accents change from day to day, rotating between a zen garden, a zenergy chime, and an incense burner. Each room also comes with an aromatherapy diffuser and a menu of scents to suit your mood. The Spa is an amazing perk at this resort, as it is easily the core of Live Aqua, defining each breath and movement as you explore the resort grounds. Each time I visit, I make sure to treat myself to the spa services. Besides the spa, there are multiple pools facing the turquoise blue ocean. Cabana boys/girls cater to your every poolside need and top notch restaurants and multiple dining options packages it all up with a bow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

ALMOST HEAVEN!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Live Aqua is the next best thing to heaven. The entire staff is top notch. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is a memorable one. When you enter the hotel, the smell is so inviting. Check-in was very smooth and they offer you refreshments. Our room was very clean and the view was simply gorgeous. I could give you so many examples of how they treat their guests. I will only list a couple that stood out for me. My daughter and I wanted a pizza. The pool staff said "the restaurants had closed for lunch but I will see what I can do". About 10 minutes later here she came with our pizza. Ale and Amanmel at the pool served us for several days. They always came by and asked us if we needed anything. Amanmel even came into the pool to serve us. Is that dedication or what. This was only our second time at Live Aqua but many of the staff remembered us from last year. Oscar at Azur, Ale at the pool, the two guys at the coffee shop. Jonathan at Varenna went out of his way to get us a table for dinner. I could go on and on and on. I will NEVER stay anyway else but Live Aqua.