Ratings based on 1,930 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Somerville, MA

Great if you are looking for a nightclub atmospher

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Stayed five nights to seriously relax after a trying time at work and spend some time by the beach. As an older couple (mid 30s), we weren't looking for a nightclubby type atmosphere. However, the ME Cancun is more oriented toward mid-20 somethings looking for a club atmosphere. The lobby is dark and secluded, with wispy curtains and a huge bar blocking sight of the ocean. (Because the bar is closed during normal waking hours, this means that the wonderful ocean views are totally obscured.) Restaurants aimed toward more chic than functional. Decor relies extensively on (scented?) candles and more wispy drapery. In, would be appropriate for a slightly dated midtown NYC nightclub, but not really what we were looking for in a bright, sunny Caribbean location. Other things to note: - Breakfast buffet was the best in our opinion. Lots of options. - Sit-down restaurants were not as great, although we liked the Asian fusion restaurant the most. We were disappointed that no traditional Mexican dishes were offered at ANY of the restaurants. - Service was overall very excellent, especially at the beach area and in the restaurants. We were confused as to what many employees (who appeared to be loitering in the lobby) were doing; it appears some are just paid to chit chat with guests. - Pool nice too, although (again, carrying on with the exclusive nightclub theme) the main pool area didn't have the awesome ocean views b/c it was blocked by the swim up bar/restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Great beach terrible experience

Posted Dec 19, 2014
We stayed at ME for 5 nights and besides the beach, the hotel experience was bad. Our waitstaff throughout the trip was either really nice and accommodating or dismissive and aloof. Veronica on the beach was amazing and Camila the hostess was also incredible, everyone else was lackluster at best. The resort tries to play up that it is fancy and sophisticated, but the food is bad and the quality of the all inclusive isn't worth it. I highly recommend going else where.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Do the loft suite- it is awesome!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The modern feel, several different things to do and different types of restaurants. I appreciate that there are not games at the pool.
Cons: Hours for food service are somewhat limiting. The noise from the club on Saturday was annoying after 1am. The pool is pretty cold.
Location: Limoncellos, Lorenzillos, Bubba Gumps, Outback and shopping are all walking distance. Xel ha was far, about 1.5 hours on the bus.
Good: The room, the loft suite has the terrace with a bali bed, rain shower, Jacuzzi, etc. The room type upgrades you to VIP which has a ton of perks (top shelf liquor, chef specials at restaurants, a concierge, a beach dinner, etc. The concierge was super helpful in setting everything up for us, even outside the hotel. The food is good for an all inclusive, and we were not even sick of it after 6 days. Silk sushi was really good and the chicken wrap and cheesesteak sandwich from Water Grill were my favorite things. The beach and pool were both perfect. The best service we got the whole stay was from Veronica on the beach- she was sweet and was bringing new drinks before our glasses were even empty. The hotel is very modern and nice. We had a great experience at the spa, and thought prices were reasonable for 50 minute massages. Not so good: Dessert was pretty unexciting everywhere. They have lifeguards which are a little whistle happy and won't let you go out too far. They were doing a ton of work to the property (which we do understand) but the beach house was closed for half the trip and my husband was pretty disappointed in not being able to use the swim up bar until our last day. The pools are freezing! Making them a few degrees warmer would make them a lot more enjoyable. Also, by the last day, we were seeing a lot of bugs in our room, which was worrisome. We had one night with horrible service at Silk and then tried to order room service which then took over an hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom KC Missouri usa

Well staffed friendly hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, and the front desk people helped you get reservations at outside restaurants along the strip. They had tour reps to help.
Cons: Breakfast buffet needed to be kept hot along with a plate warmer. I spoke with management about it and he seemed to be interested in changing that.
We were made to feel welcome at every turn by the staff. Location was great across from one of the shopping districts. Security was great too. We were all inclusive and found most everything was good. The beach was large and staffed well by attendants who brought you anything you needed. There were several good options for food in the restaurants. Plenty of beach loungers and other options to utilize while there.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Food is a problem

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Service. It was as if they really didn't care. WOW. Is all I can say. This was the first time I experienced this in over twenty trips to cancun.
Location: Location was great
Great beach. Nice room. I waited for over an hour for a drink more than once while at the beach. Several times actually. No buffet for lunch or dinner. This is a problem if you want some variety. Very limited food. I wouldn't recommend this hotel due to poor service and limited food. I have been to Cancun over 20 times and this was the worst trip I've had. Perfect weather and beach every day. So that was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Staff very nice, nice spaces in hotel, nice beach seats and beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Right on the ocean

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Very friendly and accommodating staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and happy. Beautiful pools and views. Great restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Great time at wedding Simone and Vito Only complaint was food was ok And served room temperature not hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ON, Canada

Cancun hotel on the beach, with personal touch.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: See above.
One of many Cancun beach hotels, ME keeps it personal and relaxed with their personable, polite and helpful staff. Be careful though, to keep them accountable. Also, be selective about menu and restaurant choices. The dining experience was not all consistent, from 'send it back' to excellent. Overall, it satisfied for a week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colombia

Great hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Outstanding wonderful experience...great food...excelent service...