Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location. Beautiful views. Friendly staff.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Beautiful hotel with very courteous and responsive staff. Food was expensive but this is true everywhere in the hotel zone. Very clean and overall great stay. Traveling with 2 teenagers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

I got a room that smelled like mold.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Hotel is nice, bit my room had this awful smell. Even my pillow smell bad. I should have complained, but I didn't. I thought the smell was because hotel was close to the beach. I thought all rooms would have the same problem. The following week I stayed at the Krystal Grand. After moving twice to different rooms I found one that was comfortable. Other than my room at the Marriott the hotel was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Miguel Flores, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Nelida, It is great to hear you loved out hotel and hope you really enjoyed the facilities. Regarding the room issue you are commenting, I have discussed it with our housekeeping team and are correcting it right now. I apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for bringing the case to my attention. I sincerely hope when you have the chance to comeback to Cancun you can give us the opportunity to welcome you again. Sincerely, Miguel Angel Flores C. | Gerente en Turno / Manager On Duty
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location and wonderful staff!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The staff and location are key to this resort. It's smaller than some of the other resorts, but has all the ammenities you need and want.
Cons: Rooms are nice (and I'm picky), but could use a bit of updating. Renovations are happening now though.
Location: Right in the middle of everyting, quieter area. Close to El Rey ruins, boat launches and great restaurants and shopping. Great area!
We stayed at the Marriott Casa Magna many years ago and decided to revisit in June. The staff is absolutely amazing and one of the main reasons I would return. They remember your name and treat you like family. A special call out to Hugo who greets everyone coming or going from the hotel with a friendly smile and really nice conversation. Our son Evan loved him and is still talking about him. Javier and Samuel at LaCapilla were awesome too. The buffet breakfast is amazing! Our oceanfront room was very nice; comfy bed, had a fridge which was great and was always cleaned with no hassles. Coffee in the room would have been nice, but I brought a small coffee pot from home since I knew this beforehand. There was always a chair to be found at the pool or beach and the service was fantastic. The beach in front of the hotel is clean and beautiful. The location is ideal, quieter area, but close to all the activities. It's great to have a convenience store, McDonald's and restaurants right across the street. In particular I recommend La Dolce Vita, walking distance. Catch the bus for cheap right outside the hotel to take you to restaurants and shopping. Really enjoyed La Isla. Hotel is showing some signs of age, but renovations are taking place and I'm excited to come back and see what's been updated. That being said, still a really beautiful hotel! We very much enjoyed our time in Cancun and our stay at the Marriott!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali, Colombia

Nice hotel in front the sea with a beatifull beach

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The amability of the personal.
Cons: The only restaurants open at the lunch time are all for joung people. May be you can open one of the tradicional restaurant at this time.
Location: Tehere are many options to do around the hotel. The bus service is frecuent.
I enjoy very much my stay. The restaurants are excelent and we can select in according with the people age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for family.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
It is very convenience to take bus from the hotel. The restaurant is not good. The Japanese one is not tasty. The Grill one is ok but the price is not ok. Except the restaurant the hotel is nice and comfortable. Front desk and door man are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Great location

Posted Jul 4, 2014
We had a wonderful time and the staff was superb! Thank u!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Best hotel on hotel row in Cancun, Mexico

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The view, location, staff, and facilities are five star. The travel agent and car rental are located in hotel and offer great tours.
Cons: The only improvement would be bigger beds, which from what we understand the hotel is renovating each room to accomplish this.
Location: City bus is @ curb side that takes you everywhere for $1.00. The mall is 20 minute walk and a few nice restaurants right across the street.
The welcome starts @ the door and follows you to the beach. The staff greets you by your name where ever you go and make you feel @ home. The service is exceptional and We would return here for our following trip. GREAT view from every part of hotel and excellent restaurants including snack bar on beach. Location is wonderful as far as beach and walking distance to stores and shops. This hotel comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by my family. Never wrote a review before but this hotel desires it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca.

Super duper nice hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Excellent hotel. I loved the food service at the pool..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frisco, Texas

Rest & relaxation

Posted Jun 21, 2014
I arrived 4 hrs before checkin time, and Manuel at the checkin counter was kind enough to get me in a room without the wait. In fact he upgraded my ocean view room to a premium ocean view in celebration of my birthday. What I loved most about this hotel is it wasnt as massive as the others on the island. Everything was in close proximity, with a lot of the same amenities as the others. Lastly, the spa services were totally awesome, thank you Aiyanna. Lastly, all the staff there are great. Special thanks to Leonardo and Daniel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel and staff

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean, friendly and accommodating staff. Great amenities!
Cons: La Capilla restaurant was great for breakfast but not so great for dinner. Slow service, over priced and small portions.
Location: Great location right on the beach. Close proximity to restaurants and attractions either by bus (cheapest option) or taxi.
This was our first visit to Cancun and Marriott Casa Magna was a recommendation and we loved the hotel. It is in the middle of the hotel zone and right on the beach. Wonderful accommodations and staff. Clean room and comfortable beds. Great staff looking to fulfill your needs to make for a wonderful vacation. Great food options for breakfast and close by to great restaurants and attractions. We would definitely stay again at Casa Magna and would readily recommend to friends and family.