Ratings based on 1,219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Tasteful lobby and rooms in colonial style, amazing view from the balcony, great facilities whether the pool or the gym or a good selection of restaurants. The beach has great soft white sand, is kept clean, never feels crowded. The staff is super friendly and makes you feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

I was very good, easy going environment

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: wifi should be free in the rooms
Location: Location was perfect from the city and jet at a good distance of the parties and noise
I had a problem in my room one of the pipes was leaking and they gave my a better room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom st. louis MO

very good services overall

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: service,good food ,excellent staff
Cons: no
Location: good location good transportation system
Very good ,clean,staff excellent ,restaurant shotel service very good
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom B

It was suppose to be all inclusive that's what the

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The expidia description of this hotel is wrong. It was suppose to be all inclusive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Week before Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 23, 2014
We took our kids and had 2 rooms, both identical premium rooms with free breakfasts. The rooms were small but very nice and very clean. The staff was excellent and the food was also very good. We were told that the JW Marriott next door honored all restaurant charges, but found later that the free breakfast did not happen at the JW. The hotel could have made it more clear. Also make sure and get the hotel restaurant coupon which gets you 10% off 1st meal, 20% off second, and so on up to 40% off. Big deal when lunch is $100 for 4. Beach is clean, pool is nice, but JW is way nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2014
nice hotel in a good location, pleasant time spent there. attentious attendants. good structure and building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Stayed Nov 13-17

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Very impressive hotel. Staff is amazing...from the doorman to the bar staff. Everyone take pride in their work and go out of the way to assist you. The facility is very beautiful and well maintain. I really like the fact that nobody tried to sell us any timeshares. One last thing, their breakfast buffet is well worth it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north of Boston, MA

Celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Everything, it felt like a second home; we like how the hotel keeps the surroundings natural with the palm trees, fauna, plants, flowers and the birds
Cons: Lowering the prices at the hotel store. Too expensive!
Location: Ideal location in the center of everything; very accessable to everything. Hotel sits back off the main road as well.
This was our third vacation trip to Cancun Mexico, with this trip being extra special as we were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary. Previously, we had stayed at the Marriott Casa Magna 5 years ago for our honeymoon. We continue to come back to this hotel for the location as well as for the way we are treated like family. The hotel has a motto "welcome back". We certainly were and treated like extended family upon arrival until we checked out. The hotel staff is always friendly and accomodating. They made sure the first day we arrived to send up to our room a complimentary bottle of champagne and some desert treats acknowledging our wedding anniversary. On the day of our 5 year wedding anniversary, they made sure that the roses I ordered were personally delivered to my wife sitting relaxing on the balcony, enjoying the ocean view, surprising her. At the breakfast buffet, we got to know one of the waitstaff Jose who ensured that each day my wife was provided with one of her favorite food items, the red cactus fruit, which was personally delivered by one of the chef's from the kitchen. In addition, Jose also suggested that she try the red cactus juice with honey water and ice. It was refreshing and we both enjoyed having this with our meal every morning. All week we were assisted by Daniel Romo at the concierge area for any requests or specific needs that we had, and his local knowledge came in very handy. Mario, the hotel bartender made some amazing drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Berkshire, UK

Suits us down to the ground

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast buffet, very friendly staff who spoke English pretty well. Hotel backs directly onto a superb beach with glorious blue sea.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi available in lobby area (plenty of comfortable seating available). Room Wi-Fi costs extra. Would appreciate free Wi-Fi everywhere in hotel.
Location: Middle of the hotel strip. 5 minute walk to a marina offering all sorts of water activities. Good variety of well-known restaurant chains close by.
We have stayed there 10 years ago on our last visit to Cancun. We don't regret returning. The staff were very welcoming and ready to help. We initially had a minor problem with an air conditioner so we were given a change of room (with an even better outlook) without any problems. We took the breakfast included option and found the buffet to be varied and good quality. There is a bus service on the main road outside which costs just 10 pesos per person per journey and it seems to run every couple of minutes (literally).so you don't need taxis for local journeys. Local tour companies picked us up at the hotel on time to visit nearby attractions. BTW - Xplor was really good fun. We would go back to the Casa Magna again without hesitation. Used by airline staff for their layovers so that in itself is a recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Cancun

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Location: Right across the street from Aqua World if you like to scuba, snorkel, or want to go fishing, etc.
This hotel is not one of the large resort areas, and that is what I like about it. It is nice, clean, and much more private than some of the larger hotels. You don't pay any extra for all-inclusive meal fees, and therefore you can get better food out in the city or at the hotel's Parrilla which is excellent. The service was so nice - they even reminded me when I left that I had a $50 free gift with the deal I signed up with, and that I could go get myself something from the gift shop - for free! Who does that? I was very impressed.