Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Santa Fe, NM

Mia Cancun

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The size, quaintness and uniqueness of the hotel.
Cons: The cleaning staff was inconsistent as to what they provided in towels and some of the staff could learn to speak more English.
Location: Location is right amongst the grand resorts and it is within 2 to 3 miles from their disco area.
The hotel is very quaint and small compared to the grand resorts with just the basic necessities. It was nice in that it was easy to get in and out of and not a lot of people. Most of the time we had the pool and beach chairs to ourselves. The front desk girl was in training and did not speak English and could not provide any information when asked. Sometimes we received 2 towels and sometimes 4 in our rooms. So rooms had coffee pots and some did not. Breakfast was supposed to be open at 6:30 in mornings but instead was open at 6:45 or 7am. Overall, the experience was good and it was nice that person did not have to deal with a lot of people or that the hotel is very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony & Pat from South Bend, IN

Quaint boutique beach hotel with great concierge

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: The beach-front location, the smallness of the hotel, the supportive staff and concierge, and the poolside bar and lounge area are all terrific.
Cons: WiFi throughout.
Location: Great location on the beach on hotel row and easy access to bus transportation. Take the day trip to Isla Mujeres - that quaint little island nearby.
We wanted to stay away from the ginormous hotels with vacationers lined up wall to wall on the beach. We found the ideal place in the Hotel Zone - Mia Cancun. The hotel is well located on hotel row and has a private beach with very few people using it, because there are not that many rooms in the hotel! So you feel like you have your own private beach. The dining room package served the best American breakfast while you gaze out over the beautiful Caribbean. The pool and poolside bar and lounging area above the beach are lovely. The rooms on upper floors are all walkup and are not handicap accessible, but if you are not physically challenged, it should not be a problem. The WiFi only in the reception area is a bit limiting, but compared to the other amenities, it is a minor inconvenience. One of the greatest and most helpful and unexpected treats was having the concierge take us under his wing and give us loads of advice and written material and maps to plan and anjoy our stay in the most efficient way. Juan was outstanding and extremely helpful in making our stay the true joy that it was...from helping us pick out a great romantic restaurant, finding a great seafood place or taking the bus instead of the cab to save money. Our room was on the street side instead of on the ocean side, but it was very clean and basic - but we are much more into the other amenities that made this place so special. We surely will be back to enjoy this little jewel of a place!
1 out of 5
by Abraham from Merida, Yuc

Lowest quality "boutique"

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Beautiful ocean view with large balcony
Cons: Land in that area is very valuable. The best idea would be to demolish this building and build something new
Location: It's well located in Cancun's hotel zone; everything is near
It was hard to arrive to the hotel, because the name "Mia" is nowhere to be found, the name written on the outside is "Baccarat", but they don't use that name on the internet because it has a bad reputation. Once in the hotel, there are lots of stairs everywhere. Our room was on the fourth floor, and there is no elevator. The bed is made of concrete, with an old uncomfortable mattress on top. The bed is not at the same level as the rest of the bedroom, you have to climb two narrow steps to get to the bed, so if for any reason you need to get up at midnight you might have an accident. There is no door from the bedroom to the bathroom. Both bedroom and bathroom are large, but so ill designed that there is no room for toiletries around the sink. I could continue to describe how terrible the facilities are, but I think what I've said gives a good idea
3 out of 5
by chris

it was alright - nice place, poor room

Posted Feb 18, 2014
i liked the resort, but not the room. the staff was very enic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terri from Whitefish Bay, WI

Beautiful unique hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: The beauty of the building, the friendliness of the staff, the beach location, the spaciousness of the suite…..
Cons: The wi-fi was occasionally down, but usually back up quickly.
Location: The little restaurant next door was excellent. The stores across the street were convenient. The beach was right outside. Easy to get anywhere.
We were greeted immediately when we arrived. When we entered our suite we were amazed at the wonderful view - the large windows in the kitchen, living area, and bedroom all looked directly out onto the ocean. The deck was beautiful, with 2 comfortable lounge chairs, a jacuzzi, and other seating. The views were spectacular. I love old buildings with character and this one was wonderful. Every staff member was friendly and always willing to answer questions or help with whatever we needed. The suite was very clean. The breakfast was delicious each day - and very filling. If you're looking for a smaller hotel with great character and good service, this is the place for you!
1 out of 5
by Jonty from Mexico City

Terrible hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2014
This hotel is run down. The rooms smell of damp with very old uncomfortable beds. There is no WIFI except in reception. There is absolutely no choice at breakfast. They don't even have napkins. I was here in late January and the hotel still had it's Christmas decorations & tree up. Staff are mostly disinterested. I travel a lot and it's the worst hotel I have stayed in for over 20 years. Avoid.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angela

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel has potential, but unfortunately I cannot leave a good review in its current condition. Our room was spacious and a little run down but acceptable for the price. There was a kitchenette with blender and toaster but no dishes, cutlery, or other such items. What ruined our stay, however, was the leaking bathroom ceiling. It was dripping above the door, around the mirror (onto my toiletries case) and above the toilet, meaning you could not "use the facilities" without cold water falling on your head and lap. The bathroom floor was flooded. The staff were very helpful, breakfast was plentiful and decent, and the beach would have been lovely in better weather. Because we booked through hotels.com they could not refund our money, but they did cover our taxi fare to the airport. If it weren't for this, my rating would be one star. The bathroom situation was unacceptable at any price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com