Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by clara from Chicago

Surprisingly spacious and good rest facilities.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The balcony with jacuzzi on the beach ... and the proximity to restaurants.
Cons: The condition of the building, furniture upholstery, the overall image of the room because it looks sloppy.
Location: The Cancun Hotel Zone offers fun and variety, great restaurants and fabulous beaches, this hotel is in a convenient place and was probably a fancy.
One night before reaching the hotel, I try to know the place, see the facility ,but was not allowed me, I understand safety, but I did not like the tone of the person who was in the reception . Then, we were in Kristal hotel before, and was nice.When change, this with a little trepidation, but we were pleasantly surprised by the place. It has many good things, maybe I my favorite :enjoy the jacuzzi on the balcony of this beautiful sea Cancun. The state of this building is unfortunate because the hotel is a wonderful place, was a beautiful building, but it needs better maintenance. The price is convenient because it allows good location, even enjoy tranquility of this Mexican paradise. But paint missing, many details are neglected. For example we had a phone in the room but not served, and a sitting room chairs are dirty and stained. Anyway, the site is a treasure to be recovered. Internet works only in common areas. Parking is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Seattle

Hotel was ok

Posted May 16, 2014
The hotel was in a good location and had a great pool. There weren't a lot of people staying at the hotel at the time, but unfortunately we were put in a room facing the road, with glass blocks for windows (which let in a lot of light at night). The bed was fairly hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom certainly needed some updating - didn't look like there was any ventilation out of the shower area, which I think would cause mold issues. There was quite a bit of closet space, which was a plus. The drinks at the bar were pretty poor and expensive, and I would not recommend them. Overall it was an ok hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

4 day week end in Cancun

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The honeymoon suite facing *the beach* was really nice. Breakfast room with a view, convenience store and bus stop across the street
Cons: The honeymoon suite with the jacuzzi facing the *lagoon* really needs a new mattress. Paint job towards the pool area not yet finished.
Location: Not in the heart of Cancun but 15min taxi ride to everything. Convenience store and bus stop across the street.
For this 4 day week end in Cancun, we had booked the "honeymoon suite" at the Mia Cancun. Once we arrived there, we realized there were actually 2 suites: 1 with the jacuzzi facing the beach, 1 with the jacuzzi facing the lagoon. Both are very large rooms but the one with the jacuzzi facing the ocean (pictures on expedia) is definitely better, larger and more comfortable and quite frankly pretty awesome. It wasn't available the first night, but the staff switched us to the better room the next day. All in all, very pleasant stay at this hotel in that particular room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Washington State

Excellent location right on the beach!

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Beach
Cons: Update the beds
Location: Location is good, right in the middle of hotel row, restaurants, shopping, etc. We ate at an excellent restaurant, Lorenzillo right down the street.
Our stay was good, nice breakfast every morning. Would have liked to stay on the beach side, not the street side and the beds are hard. Liked everything about it except when my family arrived and wanted to come to our room for a couple hours until check out the staff was apposed. It did the trick for the 2 nights we were there before checking into our resort property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Santa Fe, NM

Mia Cancun

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: The size, quaintness and uniqueness of the hotel.
Cons: The cleaning staff was inconsistent as to what they provided in towels and some of the staff could learn to speak more English.
Location: Location is right amongst the grand resorts and it is within 2 to 3 miles from their disco area.
The hotel is very quaint and small compared to the grand resorts with just the basic necessities. It was nice in that it was easy to get in and out of and not a lot of people. Most of the time we had the pool and beach chairs to ourselves. The front desk girl was in training and did not speak English and could not provide any information when asked. Sometimes we received 2 towels and sometimes 4 in our rooms. So rooms had coffee pots and some did not. Breakfast was supposed to be open at 6:30 in mornings but instead was open at 6:45 or 7am. Overall, the experience was good and it was nice that person did not have to deal with a lot of people or that the hotel is very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony & Pat from South Bend, IN

Quaint boutique beach hotel with great concierge

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: The beach-front location, the smallness of the hotel, the supportive staff and concierge, and the poolside bar and lounge area are all terrific.
Cons: WiFi throughout.
Location: Great location on the beach on hotel row and easy access to bus transportation. Take the day trip to Isla Mujeres - that quaint little island nearby.
We wanted to stay away from the ginormous hotels with vacationers lined up wall to wall on the beach. We found the ideal place in the Hotel Zone - Mia Cancun. The hotel is well located on hotel row and has a private beach with very few people using it, because there are not that many rooms in the hotel! So you feel like you have your own private beach. The dining room package served the best American breakfast while you gaze out over the beautiful Caribbean. The pool and poolside bar and lounging area above the beach are lovely. The rooms on upper floors are all walkup and are not handicap accessible, but if you are not physically challenged, it should not be a problem. The WiFi only in the reception area is a bit limiting, but compared to the other amenities, it is a minor inconvenience. One of the greatest and most helpful and unexpected treats was having the concierge take us under his wing and give us loads of advice and written material and maps to plan and anjoy our stay in the most efficient way. Juan was outstanding and extremely helpful in making our stay the true joy that it was...from helping us pick out a great romantic restaurant, finding a great seafood place or taking the bus instead of the cab to save money. Our room was on the street side instead of on the ocean side, but it was very clean and basic - but we are much more into the other amenities that made this place so special. We surely will be back to enjoy this little jewel of a place!
1 out of 5
by Abraham from Merida, Yuc

Lowest quality "boutique"

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Beautiful ocean view with large balcony
Cons: Land in that area is very valuable. The best idea would be to demolish this building and build something new
Location: It's well located in Cancun's hotel zone; everything is near
It was hard to arrive to the hotel, because the name "Mia" is nowhere to be found, the name written on the outside is "Baccarat", but they don't use that name on the internet because it has a bad reputation. Once in the hotel, there are lots of stairs everywhere. Our room was on the fourth floor, and there is no elevator. The bed is made of concrete, with an old uncomfortable mattress on top. The bed is not at the same level as the rest of the bedroom, you have to climb two narrow steps to get to the bed, so if for any reason you need to get up at midnight you might have an accident. There is no door from the bedroom to the bathroom. Both bedroom and bathroom are large, but so ill designed that there is no room for toiletries around the sink. I could continue to describe how terrible the facilities are, but I think what I've said gives a good idea
3 out of 5
by chris

it was alright - nice place, poor room

Posted Feb 18, 2014
i liked the resort, but not the room. the staff was very enic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terri from Whitefish Bay, WI

Beautiful unique hotel.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: The beauty of the building, the friendliness of the staff, the beach location, the spaciousness of the suite…..
Cons: The wi-fi was occasionally down, but usually back up quickly.
Location: The little restaurant next door was excellent. The stores across the street were convenient. The beach was right outside. Easy to get anywhere.
We were greeted immediately when we arrived. When we entered our suite we were amazed at the wonderful view - the large windows in the kitchen, living area, and bedroom all looked directly out onto the ocean. The deck was beautiful, with 2 comfortable lounge chairs, a jacuzzi, and other seating. The views were spectacular. I love old buildings with character and this one was wonderful. Every staff member was friendly and always willing to answer questions or help with whatever we needed. The suite was very clean. The breakfast was delicious each day - and very filling. If you're looking for a smaller hotel with great character and good service, this is the place for you!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com