Ratings based on 1,287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aileen from New Jersey

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The amenities-pools, activities and food.
Cons: Some minor housekeeping (tile around pool in some spots needs fixing and painting in spots) but otherwise its terrific.
Location: We stayed at the hotel the entire time-no need to go offsite for any food. Location is also fairly close to airport which is a major plus.
My husband and I along with our children enjoyed a nice 4 night 5 day stay at the Moon Palace. This is a big facility with multiple pools and activities. My children really enjoyed the stay and the amenities. One evening they had a "Foam Party" on the beach which really entertained both the children and adults alike. This was our first all inclusive in Mexico and the food was really excellent. The wait staff is exceptionally hard working and they really would like you to have a nice time. A very good experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from St. Louis, MO

Beautiful resort but not for beach

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Located close to airport this resort is easy in/out. Some noise from airport since so close. Nice upgrades from visiting 5 years ago. Small cooking stations for pizza and burgers located conveniently poolside are a nice new touch. Dining options have expanded nn it is nice that for most you wear shorts and do not need reservations. Staff is wonderful at special requests. Ask for guacamole. Beach is nice for sun bathing and volleyball, but not much to swim in with all the seaweed floating in making it difficult to get in the water. Rooms are clean and big enough. Getting an ocean view was worth the upgrade. Spa is nice, near golf course, but a bit of a golf cart ride (10-15 min) to get there. Foam party for teens was a hit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Ontario, Canada

Exceptional service and options.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Multitude of bars and restaurants that did not require reservations. Exceptional service provided by the staff .
Cons: Hard to find a negative.
Location: Golf and shopping are very popular.
We picked this hotel for the multitude of restaurant and bar options that were identified and we were not disappointed. In addition, the service provided by the staff was some of the best we have ever experienced in our 15+ years of vacationing in Mexico and the Caribbean. Don't let any negative comments dissuade you from selecting this resort. Although we seldom go back to the same resort more than once, we may make an exception for the Moon Palace!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T and K from Alabama

3 times there and counting

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff. They go out of their way to accommodate you.
Cons: The mixed drinks could use some improvement. The bar staff have a tough job however, they are challenged to make decent drinks.
Location: The resort is self containing. There is so much to do on the resort that I could not imagine going off the resort for excursions.
My family and I consider this hotel the gold standard for other resorts. It is clean, the employees are courteous, and the entertainment staffs are always engaging. My favorites were: Gustavo, Paty, Felix, Alonso and Shanta. They are located at the Nuzic Lobby. The entertainment team makes a point to get to know your name and engage you daily. We stayed for 6 days and hated to go. That team was like family to us. There is something to do for all ages so, you will not be disappointed. The beds are still hard however; I do not go to Cancun to stay in the room. We stayed at Moon Grand this time – our first. The rooms are larger and the service seems more personable at Moon Grand however, we spent our days at Nuzic or the Sunrise Lobby. Grand Moon's pool area is too quiet for this 40-ish something. Go - you will have a wonderful time. I plan to go again next year. BTW: We are not a timeshare family for this resort. I don't recommend you spend your time listening to these half-day sales pitches. Not worth it. Go, relax and have some fun & drink Tequila .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NC

Hotel was huge making it feel impersonnal

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: It was clean. The restaurant staff was friendly and accomodating.
Cons: Beds, food variety. I found that the check in staff in the lobby were rude.
Location: There are many activities to do near by. You will be doing it by the bus load.
Hotel was beautiful, large and clean. The hotel literally bused in the people and there were crowds everywhere from dinning, pool, lobby etc. felt very impersonal. The staff constantly wanting to stop you to buy into their "deals" packages etc. Very annoying and when you say no, they keep going and ask why are you declining. Bring a pair of roller skates if your room is not centerally located (that would be near the noise) the rooms are far from the main area. The flow rider was the main attraction for my two boys 9 and 13. Get on the long line as it is packed. The photos on this look like this is a large area but truth is, very small and only two persons at a time can ride. The restaurants at breakfast were good because it had the most variety even for picker eaters or vegetarians. However, if you don't eat meat you will be stuck with pizza, fruit and pasta. It would be nice if at the poolside veggie burger is an option. I think the worst part of the stay was trying to share a double bed that was as hard as the floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mona from Raleigh,NC

Perfect hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The rooms were wonderful and had a patio with a sofa and a hot tub. Whenever you needed something the staff were very polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Corinth,TX

Everything on one place!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Multiple pools and lobby's. The variety of places to eat and the really friendly staff.
Cons: The lame 90 minutes of our time trying to be sold on a membership that costs more than a tripped booked on Expedia, has got to go.
Location: The airport is very close, the Cancun strip is not far and the hotel has a shuttle to take you there.
Everything you need is at the resort. No need to leave! Moon Palace is our favorite vacation destination. I can't wait to go back in November
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Los Gatos CA

Pricey experience, but worth it!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
You know how sometimes a hotel claims that a room has an ocean view, but when you get there you realize that the "ocean view" is a teensy weensy glimpse of the ocean that is barely noticeable? Or you think the dinner is "free" only to find out that you're allowed one little salad and a second-rate entree? Not at this place!!! Here an ocean view really is a complete, breathtaking ocean view, and the food and drink is truly unlimited and first-rate. Our stay could not have been better. The food is absolutely incomparable, the swimming pools are awesome. There is never any sense that they are scrimping on anything. There is a nice mix of young families with children, middle-aged couples, and older people. There is different entertainment every night, to suit all tastes. On the down side, if you're going to Cancun to pick up girls, this is probably not the place for you. You should probably stay along the big hotel strip near all the bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from PA

always a good time

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: the service is always great, and the food is awesome.
Cons: Our shower drain was the highest part on the shower floor so we had to push the water down the drain so we didnt have standing water in the shower.
Location: We love the location cause you are not in the hotel zone and cut into the jungle and see the wild life.
this was our 2nd time there and we should have waited a couple more weeks to go cause we hit spring break and there was too many people. But the staff was great and food was amazing. We went for a relaxing vacation, and it was nice but just too many people, but still enough room for everyone. Hard to find a seat around the pools cause everyone puts their towels out and seems like no one ever was in the seats. But we will go again, just not around spring break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Julie from Michigan

Great getaway

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Plenty of room by the pool and lots of pool bars!
The facilities were clean and well maintained. Staff was extremely courteous. Room was good size and the bed very comfortable. The only complaint we had was having to ask daily daily for wash cloths and sometimes towels. The high scale restaurants were outstanding and the drinks were quality liquor. The pool at Sunrise was very big and lots of chairs, it never felt too crowded. We are looking forward to returning.