Ratings based on 1,553 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kitchener, Ontario

Great location!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, happy employees, lots to do if you wanted to, and right on the beach.
Cons: Front desk processing people
Location: Location great close to airport, but we chose not to leave the hotel because we were just there to relax
10 minutes from the airport! We were thrilled! 6 of us totally enjoyed the Moon Palace experience and would definately go back. Every restaurant we tried had really good fold. Breakfasts were exceptional with lots of choices. The staff was great and always happy. The only one blip was when we got there at 8 pm they took quite awhile to try and get us close together (3 couples). They finally did and everything worked out well. We all said we would go back again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel- poor ocean site

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Great Hotel, staff and food. Disappointed in the ocean water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Awesome. Best resort I have ever stayed at. Service is amazing. Food is amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was great.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Wave runner and chichen wing there were great and food was great.
Cons: Warmer pools
Location: Zip lineing and horse back riding lots of fun, Dolphin experience excellent.
Food was fantastic over all ok,Dolphins were a blast. However we did have one major problem, we forgot to lock our safe one day and one of the employees went through the safe and our dresser and stold our money from the safe and found my wifes purse and took her money that was hid under her clothes. We contacted the Manager and security and after checking out our room to make sure we didn't hide the money somewhere? They said they would talk to the staff. They contacted us later and said there was nothing they would do for us. We should have locked up our money. Not even a credit for the gift shop. Nothing. This is your resort and your employees and they stole from us! Sorry was all I got. We also went zip lining with resort credits. Take extra $ with you and book the hourse back riding and atv ing on the bus it is cheaper, they will try to sell you a dvd of your photos, hold out they will lower their price a long way. Over all it was ok, would most likely go back to cancun however I might look at other resorts as an option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Family vacation with twin boys age (8)

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Great food, drinks, and work staff.
Cons: The front desk area is slow, and they try to push you to go for the timeshare tour.
Location: Location is far from the Cancun strip which was nice, we wanted to just enjoy the pools and ocean. I would defiantly take a trip to Xceret.
The hotel is very only about 10 mins from the airport and we got in early at 9:30 and check-in does not start unit 3pm. We were able to use the workout locker room to change into our swim gear and head straight to the pool and the room was ready by 1pm. We had the deluxe suite with queen beds, whirl pool tub and ocean view. The restaurants were very good and the breakfast buffet was good but busy. The pool area was great with a very small water park for the kids and the flow rider was awesome. The beach was a bit disappointing but we knew this from the other reviews we read online, we did find a beautiful clear blue area in the ocean not far from shore where we seen stingrays and other fish life which was nice for the kids as they could walk out as it was only a few feet deep. there are also bikes to use at the resort and a mini golf area, The pool activities/shows were great with different shows each night. Overall we would return to the Moon Place (Sunrise).
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatoon SK

Moon Palace Golf & Spa

Posted Jan 23, 2015
It was a fairly large and very well kept resort. The food was very good at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants. I found the staff to be friendly and polite. Check in and check out were quite lengthy. The pools were great and I appreciated all of the kids amenities (kids pool, kids club/playroom, etc). Overall, our family had a very nice vacation. However, we will not be returning because the beach was a huge letdown. The sand was white and soft but even though there are staff who are trying to combat the seaweed daily and diligently, it is a huge problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cranbrook,BC,Canada

Food, staff and view was perfect your service!!!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: staff's smile and service!!!
Cons: nothing
Location: no problem!
Very comfortable vacation! This vacation is great memory to my family. We were promised. we are going to visit again Cancun. Absolutely use with your Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Beautiful pool, not great food or beach. Expensive

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Pool, kids club
Cons: Beach, FOOD
My husband, my 7 year old and I stayed in Sunrise at Moon Palace. Like a 10 min cab ride to the resort from the airport. The lobby and rooms are beautiful. We got a $1500 resort credit (You pay 16% tax on whatever you spend) We only used the credit for the dolphins, a tequlia package and cigars. There are lots of different excursions you can do but all the good ones you can't used the credit for. Sunrise is central to everything at the resort. The massive pools are right outside the door. Pools were beautiful. This kids pool area is great. The staff are very friendly, entertainment staff are hilarious. The evening shows were great. There is a really nice mini golf course. You can also ride bikes. I went to do it one day and was told I couldn't because I was wearing sandals, yet they allow you to ride without a helmut...that makes a lot of sense... Now the bad begins. The beach is basically unusable. You have to walk through a foot of seaweed to get into the water, which is also full of seaweed. It stinks and there are bugs everywhere. The food was also VERY dissapointing. I'm sad to say the mexican buffet restaurant is the best place to eat. We tried 5 different places before we got tired of having unsatisfying meals and settled on the buffet. With that being said we didn't eat at any of the places that needed reservations. I would not come back here based on the food and beach. Way too expensive for the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Exceptional all around

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We are in our late 20s and we absolutely loved it here. Great pool, bar, restuarants, service & staff!!!! Recommend this place to anyone. We loved Momo & Los Tacos. But everywhere was delicious!!! Enjoy your stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Paid for Ocean View and Got Resort View

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Staff was pleasant, food was good.
Cons: LOUD MUSIC even at 11:30 at night when there are private functions. They need to keep it down since this is a family resort.
Location: Chichinetza is good, XCARET is amazing.
I specifically paid for an Ocean View Room and ended up with a resort view. There is no point of talking in the reception since they would say, they have no Ocean View rooms available and this is all they got.