Ratings based on 1,599 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice pools

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Restaurants and food were wonderful. The pools were nice, clean and activities were fun. Beach was beautiful. Liked seeing the lizards, crocodiles.
Cons: Explanation of bands, house keeping lights, and shop currency as listed in experience.
Due to weather, we got in after midnight. The place was clean, beautiful and warm. There were a couple of things we were not aware of that would have made the stay a bit better....lights at the door to inform house keeping that we needed service (would have prevented us from running out of toilet paper and having our room a mess for 3 days) or what the color of our wrist bands meant (that we were not diamond members and could not sit in particular cabanas or use particular pools).This upset my children when told by staff that they could not use these. The beds were a bit stiff and uncomfortable...maybe they were better in the diamond suites. Everyone was friendly, but I got the impression I was being watched, maybe the staff was just over eager to please. Having a shuttle bus to the other areas of the resort was REALLY nice! We were told you could go by golf cart as well, but never found one to take us...always directed to the bus, maybe that had something to do with our band color, I am not sure. Buying souvenirs at the shops was great except your change was in pesos, so you lost money exchanging. Overall good time, and would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom colorado

Nice hotel, everything you need!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
4th time we've stayed here, no complaints, beautiful hotel, staff is great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Nice resort, not the best beaches

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The diversity of places to eat and drink. The resort's facilities in general.
Cons: The shuttle to the other hotels is pretty restricted. The booking times for the things that need reservations.
I went with my wife for 7 days to this resort in Cancun. The resort is huge, it has 3 lobbies and the rooms are spread across the whole place. So going from one place to the other requires 5-10 mins walking in general. The place is not located in Cancun's hotel's area, it is 15 mins south from it. The resort has two hotels in the hotel area and there are two buses that take you there and back if you want to enjoy the beaches of those which are great. There is a reef in front of the resort's beach. Because of this, the beach is not the great. There is algae and not those turquoise waters that you see in Cancun pictures. But also this makes the sea really calm with no waves and no currents compared to the beaches of the hotel area. The food and beverages diversity is really good. In the resort there are *several* restaurants, each serving different kind of foods. The quality of the food is pretty good. Not astounding, but it held up to the expectations we had. About the beverages, as expected you can order as much as you want, the quality is OK. And I was surprised that at some of the bars they had some imported beverages that were included in the All-Inclusive service. As the hotel is huge, some things require reservations and the booking requires a couple of days in advance. Be aware of that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Very good hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Had a good time and nice golf course. One problem too many golfer that getting tee time was hard. 10 day advance reservations is recommend by email or phone call. Mosquito was another issue on golf course after late afternoon e everthing was good food entertainment swimming everything was fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY

funny place to vacation with kids

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: water activities, foods,mini golf, bicycles, dolphin
Cons: bed is not comfortable, a little bit noisy in the evening even when you close the door
I chose Moon Palace after looking through the review online. After I came back from Moon Palace, I'd liketo reommend it to other parents who are looking for a hotel to spend vacation with kids, because it's just that amazing place. There's a lot of activities there, we played with the dolphin, played the minni golf which is funny and easy for young kids and family, rode the bicycle here and there, sometimes we spent our tme playing games in the teen's lounge which is a game center. My son loves the kayak in the beach. All my family members love the food there, especially in the Mexico restarant and Asian restaurant MOMO in sunrise building. There are all kinds of water activities so that the kid will not get borned. There's even a playroom taking care of kids so that the parent can escape for a while to enjoy SPA, that's very convenient. My son loves Moon Palace and will go back again. The weakpoint is that our beds are not so comfirtable, and it's sometimes noisy outside, not so good noise-prevent-skil like a 5 star hotel. But if you are not so soft sleeper, that's acceptable. All the staffs thereare willing to help, great. I suggest to talk with your planner first to arrange how to use your hotel credit, and then make other plans according to that. There're lots of tours the hotel can arrange to reserve, but they're tipically whole day long, so, if you don't want to go out for tour or do SPA, you'll find it's hard to use out the credit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice resort. Close to airport. Nice pools

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean and close to airport. The pools were great too.
Cons: I think the pools should be a no smoking area. Or have a designated area for smoking.
Our stay was very nice. We plan on coming back next year. The food was great, the resort was nice and clean. Friendly staff. The only we were disappointed in was we booked a king bed and got 2 doubles and were not able to change?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a wonderful stay.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The hotel was clean and inviting and the staff was very friendly.
Location: We went swimming with the dolphins, parasailing and had a massage.
Our stay was wonderful. The staff was very exceptional and always greeted us with a smile. The room was very comfortable, large and very clean. The pools always had activities going on and the beach and sand was very inviting. The food and service was always great. We had a wonderful stay and experience and will be booking future trips soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maine

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Great experience, wonderful service, excellent food. Don't believe other reviews about the food being bad - yes, some things like burgers are not a 10, but what ca you expect? We will definately return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

great food and service , room was OK

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: service at meals and at the pool
Cons: better ride service- we did a lot of walking - it is so big!!!
Location: we did no need to leave the resort.
There was great food and service escpecially at the pools and diner. We had a great time . I would definately go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the place

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Great hotel. Had a wonderful time in the pool, water a little to cold. Great service great people all around. Golfing was not very good, course was great, but had unlimited golf and the only time we could get in was twilight, no golf score cards on the cart, no pencils, no towels. For the price people pay there to play they should be going all out for the customers. The workers there tho we're wonderful.