Ratings based on 1,662 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Great facility with beautiful grounds.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: I liked being on a large property. Large variety of places to go and things to do. Wonderful, welcoming staff. Great food thoughtfully prepared.
Cons: Early morning phone calls from the resort were quite annoying. Happened twice. Double beds seemed small, difficult to sleep in for 2 people in a bed.
Location: Resort is perfectly located. Remote enough for great privacy, yet close enough to major attractions.
Our stay at Moon Palace exceeded our expectations in just about every way. The grounds were beautiful. The quality and variety of the food was impressive for an all inclusive resort. The staff was courteous and always aiming to please. They went above and beyond what was necessary and seemed happy to do so. There seemed to be great attention to detail. From a refreshing drink and cold towel upon arrival, to chocolate covered fruit delivered to the room the night before departure. The layout of the resort made everything convenient even considering it's massive size. The staff was very organized moving everyone from one area of the resort to another. We were very pleased with our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: What they lack in beachfront, they make up for in customer service. All the people serving you are tremendously friendly.
Cons: All the credit points. This is an absolute joke. To long to explain all of it. Beach front is bad...not much they can really do about this.
Location: Highly recommend going to Beach Palace and enjoying their absolutely beautiful beach! Also enjoy the town why you are there.
Great overall experience. Excellent food and service at all locations. This is our 8th trip to Mexico and our 2 time to Moon Palace. The food quality and taste is the best of the many large resorts along with a great staff of happy people eager to make you stay memorable. Rooms are a bit small...Jacuzzi Tub in every room is a nice touch, but for a family of four, takes up to much room. Would rather have bigger beds or a couch in place of tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Perfect resort for families

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Many different pools around the resort Food availability around the resort Jacuzzi in each room Hammock in each balcony Kids club(included)
Cons: Better transportation from rooms to the lobby Time sharing push
Location: Many pools around the resort Flow rider and Water slide Mini golf
Definitely recommend for families with kids. I don't think there are any better places than Moon Palace for families with kids to stay in Cancun. My kids had so much fun, they asked if they can come back to Moon Palace next time. Kids clubs (Included in All-Inclusive) are available until 9:30PM for adults to relax too. When I walked into the lobby, I was little bit skeptical. It seemed outdated and almost had looks of 4 star hotels in Reno but luckily that was the only downside in terms of quality of this resort. Our room was clean and amenities were very nice and clean too. I read many people complaining about food but it was way better than my expectation. We actually enjoyed their buffet than their fancy Italian restaurant that required a reservation (Also included in All-Inclusive). My family is very picky when it comes to food so set your expectation low and you will be surprised. The only complaints I had was the distance between our room and the lobby where they have the main restaurants. (They do have food available in different areas close to pools). My advice is to learn the routes where their employees drive their golf carts around the resort so you can hitch hike and ask for rides whenever you are going to the lobby. This was our first All-inclusive resort and we had a great time at Moon Palace. All you have to pack is your swimming suites, one polo shirt and a trouser (required for reservation only restaurants) and $1 bills for tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and truly all inclusive...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I was extremely impressed with this property and the fact that the liquor and food was not skimped on under the premise of "inclusive". All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The massage at the spa was amazing. Opportunities: Wifi was spotty and the resort credits are pretty restrictive in application to the spa and other key items. Overall I will look to come back with my kids (this was a girl's weekend) as it was family friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio Texas

Not a great hotel and I visit Cancun a lot

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Not much I paid for a concierge room which was a little more then my kids room and I did not see a difference.
Cons: For me most of the restaurant the food was ok but not great like other Cancun hotels I have stayed at.Also one representative should take of all needs
Location: It was close to the airport which was nice
As soon as I arrived I was give limited info and was give a $1000 dollar resort credit which I used about half of it. When I tried to use the rest of it I had to pay a taxes which was fine but the taxes cost all most as much as the items them selfs. I was suppose to receive a fruit basket and I did not I was also suppose to receive a candle light dinner for two and did not. When I arrived they tell me what I needed to do to get what I paid for but they have you running around to two or three places just to complete what's suppose to be yours. They should have one person or representative to take care of this. I also received a wedding dinner with a wedding cake which the cake was plain with no wedding anniversary on it. The dinner itself was terrible the food was horrible for it being a five star restaurant it was not good at all also receive a breakfast for the morning after the wedding which I received but like 10:30 a.m lunch starts at 11 a.m a little to late in my opinion. If I rate this hotel by the star method from one to five I rate it a 2 star hotel. I would like to add I would not recommend this hotel to to my friends or family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Very expensive fee (16%) to use the free point. I paid $12.00 service fee for a $75.00 free point/ 250mg lobster.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomfield Hills, MI

This place is NOT a Quality Riviera Maya Resort

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Room quality
Cons: Everything else.
We have just come back from a week at the Moon Palace Hotel in Cancun, Mexico. The week after Easter was NOT the week to be staying at this hotel. Crowded, loud and pretty much short on every service, this was not the place to be for a relaxing time on the Riviera Maya. Not so well maintained facilities ( except for the rooms that are very nice ), loud environment with the Cancun Airport flights literally taking off over your head, narrow weedy beach and brown waters. I do not understand how this hotel can get decent reviews on various tourist sites. Stay away from it and enjoy beautiful Riviera Maya in a quality hotel as there are a few. XO
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sea Girt, NJ

Beautiful, HUGE hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Lots to do, huge resort with golf, pool, transportation to sister resorts.
We were overall very happy with the Moon Palace and would go back. When we arrived on a Monday night at 10:30pm, we were upgraded to a villa by the golf course. I was a little disappointed because I wasn't near the ocean, but the resort is so huge, if you stay by the golf course, you get your own personal golf cart to drive around in which was great. When we got to the room, we saw there was only a king size bed (there were 4 of us) so they brought in two cots and promised to change our room in the morning. The villa was so big and so nice, that even with the two cots, there was plenty of room, so we stayed there the whole time. My only complaints were 1) the maid would leave the door open when she was cleaning so the mosquitos got into the room and tore up my two boys, and 2) you literally had to set your alarm clock for 5am to reserve your seat by the pool. If you didn't do that, you would not get a seat. Other than that, the facility had lots of stuff for my teenage boys (wave pool, teen nightclub), the food was good, the staff was nice, and we just had a blast. I highly recommend the moon palace and would go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom O

Good food, relaxing vacation

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Instead of a beachside condo, we were sent to the golf villa. Long way from beach. A little inconvenient with 2 teenagers to go that far to the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Great staff! But the resort is too spread out, the rooms too small (jacuzzi next to bed) and the food, though fresh, is too average for this to be a great hotel. Solid B+ all inclusive.