Ratings based on 1,623 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Nice (Mega Massive) Resort - Not Great

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Service staff were always very helpful
Cons: Check in processing & tour fee(s) disclosures
We (parents w/2 teens (13/15)) enjoyed our return to Mexico & the break from Canada’s wicked winter. Moon Palace is a very nice resort but not great...because: -well documented seaweed (& smell) problem was real - the beach was unusable for most days with 2+ ft high seaweed piled along the entire shoreline – despite the constant efforts of the resort to remove it. Without ability to walk the beach to get to other resort areas, the 'hit/miss' shuttle is essential . -airport is conveniently close – just too close & very noisy for the 2 last rows (Sombrero & Piñata) of buildings in Sunrise directly below its very busy flight path -check in process is very slow - supervisors dealing with complaining guests impact long delays (suggestion sent to resort that they move ‘situations’ to another counter area to improve efficiency (& remove poor first impression 'optics' from new guests)). -teen lounge (Wired) is usually filled with youngsters & parents (not sure how they can limit access to kids with fun stuff to do there (a common complaint from older teens)) -undisclosed 'extra' tour fees (e.g. docking fees ) in addition to those advised (apparently a common problem dealt with by tour registration agents daily). Other than generally nicely kept grounds, the best feature of the resort is it’s service staff (restaurant/poolside servers, bell-persons, guest services) who consistently do their best to deliver a great vacationer's experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

An Operations Marvel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Moon Palace is an amazing experience. They are the pride of Cancuun and it shows through their employees. All other operational functions are a business model for other all inclusive resorts. I "almost" even considered a time share, and that is saying alot ;-) This company understands business and will continue to bring significant value over other resorts, because it also has its staff ingrained. I wish I could go into all the details, but I see things from this perspective which speaks to all the other details. Thanks and see you again Moon Palace, Shaun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Overall not bad... but not great

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Pool is great
Cons: Service needs a bit more attention...
Location: Close to the airport- about 10 mins away. not near other hotels
Stayed here with a friend for a girls trip for 5 days. the resort is TREMENDOUS, so a little difficult to get around. Pool was crowded, and it is difficult to find a chair. they are not super accommodating with food, so if you like true buffet style this is better for you. Not many a la carte options unless you go to another part of the resort, and its tough to get around. you have to call for shuttles, they don't come around like they tell you they do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond Canada

Nice Place Good people

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The sea and white sand.
Cons: The food
Location: I only stay in the resort
Place is nice and clean. The staff worked there is wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Hotel is just 15 minutes from the airport

Posted Mar 22, 2015
This hotels is just about 15 minutes to the airport, the beach at this hotel is not the cleanest in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom in

Found cocroach in the bathroom and in my shoe.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Found cocroach in the bathroom and in my shoe. service was excellent so didn't report. Would love to give excellent but cocroach won't let me rate excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SATX

Class resort

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Best family experience with so many features. Never left resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Voyage en famille au Moon Palace

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Service, restaurant, activité
Nous avons passé 11 jours au Moon Palace. Même si le site est très gros (3 lobby) le service est impécable. La propreté du site est également excellent. Plusieurs attentions font en sorte que le Moon Palace se démarque de certains hotels. Pas besoin de carte pour les serviette. Le service au chambre est très facile a utiliser et rapide. Il y a des autobus et cars pour le déplacement entre les lobby. Plusieurs activités sur le site également (mini-putt, volleyball, vélo, planche à voile, glissade dans la piscine du Sunrise, etc...). Tous les restaurants sont excellent (Steak House, Brésilien, asiatique, italien, etc.).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice and comfortable hotle with kind staffs

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Great
Cons: Room is a little small for my family
Location: Good
It was great to spend 5 day in the hotel with my family. If I go to Cancun again, I will stay Moon Palace again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mn

My 3rd time here!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Love moon palace. Great service and great dinner restaurants with good food! Breakfast is good too but repetitive. I'm fine with eggs and bacon but others may want more variety. Biggest disappointment is the resort credits. My first 2 times here they didn't charge to use them but now you pay 16% fee and there's more restrictions. Golf still costs $50/Rd due to that and now you can't use them for club rentals so now it's basically $100/Rd to golf out of pocket. Last 2 times I was golfing for free with the credits. It's still a great resort but because of the new credit policy I may give other resorts a try. I would have kept going back here if not for that.