Ratings based on 1,657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay and truly all inclusive...

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I was extremely impressed with this property and the fact that the liquor and food was not skimped on under the premise of "inclusive". All the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The massage at the spa was amazing. Opportunities: Wifi was spotty and the resort credits are pretty restrictive in application to the spa and other key items. Overall I will look to come back with my kids (this was a girl's weekend) as it was family friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio Texas

Not a great hotel and I visit Cancun a lot

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Not much I paid for a concierge room which was a little more then my kids room and I did not see a difference.
Cons: For me most of the restaurant the food was ok but not great like other Cancun hotels I have stayed at.Also one representative should take of all needs
Location: It was close to the airport which was nice
As soon as I arrived I was give limited info and was give a $1000 dollar resort credit which I used about half of it. When I tried to use the rest of it I had to pay a taxes which was fine but the taxes cost all most as much as the items them selfs. I was suppose to receive a fruit basket and I did not I was also suppose to receive a candle light dinner for two and did not. When I arrived they tell me what I needed to do to get what I paid for but they have you running around to two or three places just to complete what's suppose to be yours. They should have one person or representative to take care of this. I also received a wedding dinner with a wedding cake which the cake was plain with no wedding anniversary on it. The dinner itself was terrible the food was horrible for it being a five star restaurant it was not good at all also receive a breakfast for the morning after the wedding which I received but like 10:30 a.m lunch starts at 11 a.m a little to late in my opinion. If I rate this hotel by the star method from one to five I rate it a 2 star hotel. I would like to add I would not recommend this hotel to to my friends or family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Very expensive fee (16%) to use the free point. I paid $12.00 service fee for a $75.00 free point/ 250mg lobster.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomfield Hills, MI

This place is NOT a Quality Riviera Maya Resort

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Room quality
Cons: Everything else.
We have just come back from a week at the Moon Palace Hotel in Cancun, Mexico. The week after Easter was NOT the week to be staying at this hotel. Crowded, loud and pretty much short on every service, this was not the place to be for a relaxing time on the Riviera Maya. Not so well maintained facilities ( except for the rooms that are very nice ), loud environment with the Cancun Airport flights literally taking off over your head, narrow weedy beach and brown waters. I do not understand how this hotel can get decent reviews on various tourist sites. Stay away from it and enjoy beautiful Riviera Maya in a quality hotel as there are a few. XO
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Sea Girt, NJ

Beautiful, HUGE hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Lots to do, huge resort with golf, pool, transportation to sister resorts.
We were overall very happy with the Moon Palace and would go back. When we arrived on a Monday night at 10:30pm, we were upgraded to a villa by the golf course. I was a little disappointed because I wasn't near the ocean, but the resort is so huge, if you stay by the golf course, you get your own personal golf cart to drive around in which was great. When we got to the room, we saw there was only a king size bed (there were 4 of us) so they brought in two cots and promised to change our room in the morning. The villa was so big and so nice, that even with the two cots, there was plenty of room, so we stayed there the whole time. My only complaints were 1) the maid would leave the door open when she was cleaning so the mosquitos got into the room and tore up my two boys, and 2) you literally had to set your alarm clock for 5am to reserve your seat by the pool. If you didn't do that, you would not get a seat. Other than that, the facility had lots of stuff for my teenage boys (wave pool, teen nightclub), the food was good, the staff was nice, and we just had a blast. I highly recommend the moon palace and would go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom O

Good food, relaxing vacation

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Instead of a beachside condo, we were sent to the golf villa. Long way from beach. A little inconvenient with 2 teenagers to go that far to the beach
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Great staff! But the resort is too spread out, the rooms too small (jacuzzi next to bed) and the food, though fresh, is too average for this to be a great hotel. Solid B+ all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Fantastic Family Vacation

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: We were very impressed by the staff and their friendliness and helpfulness.
Cons: It was almost impossible to find a vacant lounge chair on the beach or at the pool area. You had to get up by 0600 and go reserve yours with towels.
Location: We took advantage of the free shuttle to the Beach Palace and spent a few hours on their beach where the water was much rougher but had no seaweed.
We just returned from Moon Palace yesterday. Traveled with our two teenagers and we all loved the place. The resort is huge and we stayed in the Sunrise section. Our room was clean and well maintained. The beds were a little hard but not uncomfortably so. We stayed on the second floor and the ocean view was beautiful. Our kids loved the hammock on the balcony. Next time I would not accept a room right next to the stairwell and the elevator as it was pretty noisy at times. The staff was wonderful, just can't say enough good things about them. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and all our needs were met. The pool area was lovely, beautifully landscaped. The beach was nice except for the seaweed. The resort staff cleared the seaweed off the beach daily so it was not a problem on the sand but if you wanted to go in the water most people made their way to the sandbar just a short distance away where the water was clear of any vegetation. The water was very warm and pretty calm which was nice if you wanted to use the sea kayaks or paddle boards. The food was excellent and always the right temperature and fresh. We actually preferred going to the buffet even for dinner as there was always something new to try. We also used the gym almost every day. It was pretty packed in the mornings but they had a good selection of cardio equipment and weight machines, even free weights and kettlebells. And the view from the treadmill was beautiful out to the ocean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey, UK

Disappointing and stressful.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Public areas and room spotlessly clean. Waiting staff really hard working and helpful.
Cons: More restaurants and more tables, efficient and fast seting by staff No holding of pool beds or if unoccupied by 11am belongings removed by staf
Location: Nothing near by. 35 minutes taxi ride into Cancun or hotel shuttle (4h stop over)
Very disappointing holiday in Moon Palace resort which certainly did not meet my expectations of 5* hotel, would not recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday. Guests reserve sunbeds in the pool area by putting towels and personal belongings on them, in some cases from the night before or before 5.30am! this seems to be condoned by the hotel and therefore we were unable to get a sunbed if we arrived at the pool after 7.30am even though many of the beds were not occupied until lunchtime. The beach and shallow part of the sea is full of thick slimey seaweed! When we stayed in Cancun before (not at Moon Palace) I remembered huge crystal clear turquoise waves crashing on the beach, this certainly is not the case at the Moon Palace. The hotel does work hard to clear this weed from the sand every morning but you are still walking through a seaweed sludge to get into the sea and the stench is revolting. Trying to eat in the evening is also survival of the fittest - you have to stand in line for about twenty minutes to get a buzzer and then hang around the lobby area for anything upto an hour to be seated. In conclusion the Moon Palace does not have enough restaurants or pool areas for the amount of guest bedrooms and is therefore overcrowded which does not give one a sense of relaxation and wellness but a need to always run/fight for a pool bed restaurants place etc etc. We also booked a room with 2 double beds but were given 1 king size and one folding child bed for a 12yr
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice hotel , no beach

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Very elegant , good food - nothing extraordinary
Cons: There were no chairs available at the pool in the morning. People place there towels and go somewhere else for a long time. That needs to be regulated
Location: Location was fine , close to Cancun, the best-transportation to the wonderful beach and another hotel Beach Palace- no chairs there .....
If you like the beach don't choose this hotel. You will not be able to swim there and you can not enjoy the feel of the caribbean sea It is a great hotel with very good service and food