Ratings based on 1,548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Family vacation with twin boys age (8)

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Great food, drinks, and work staff.
Cons: The front desk area is slow, and they try to push you to go for the timeshare tour.
Location: Location is far from the Cancun strip which was nice, we wanted to just enjoy the pools and ocean. I would defiantly take a trip to Xceret.
The hotel is very only about 10 mins from the airport and we got in early at 9:30 and check-in does not start unit 3pm. We were able to use the workout locker room to change into our swim gear and head straight to the pool and the room was ready by 1pm. We had the deluxe suite with queen beds, whirl pool tub and ocean view. The restaurants were very good and the breakfast buffet was good but busy. The pool area was great with a very small water park for the kids and the flow rider was awesome. The beach was a bit disappointing but we knew this from the other reviews we read online, we did find a beautiful clear blue area in the ocean not far from shore where we seen stingrays and other fish life which was nice for the kids as they could walk out as it was only a few feet deep. there are also bikes to use at the resort and a mini golf area, The pool activities/shows were great with different shows each night. Overall we would return to the Moon Place (Sunrise).
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatoon SK

Moon Palace Golf & Spa

Posted Jan 23, 2015
It was a fairly large and very well kept resort. The food was very good at the buffet and the a la carte restaurants. I found the staff to be friendly and polite. Check in and check out were quite lengthy. The pools were great and I appreciated all of the kids amenities (kids pool, kids club/playroom, etc). Overall, our family had a very nice vacation. However, we will not be returning because the beach was a huge letdown. The sand was white and soft but even though there are staff who are trying to combat the seaweed daily and diligently, it is a huge problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cranbrook,BC,Canada

Food, staff and view was perfect your service!!!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: staff's smile and service!!!
Cons: nothing
Location: no problem!
Very comfortable vacation! This vacation is great memory to my family. We were promised. we are going to visit again Cancun. Absolutely use with your Expedia!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Beautiful pool, not great food or beach. Expensive

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Pool, kids club
Cons: Beach, FOOD
My husband, my 7 year old and I stayed in Sunrise at Moon Palace. Like a 10 min cab ride to the resort from the airport. The lobby and rooms are beautiful. We got a $1500 resort credit (You pay 16% tax on whatever you spend) We only used the credit for the dolphins, a tequlia package and cigars. There are lots of different excursions you can do but all the good ones you can't used the credit for. Sunrise is central to everything at the resort. The massive pools are right outside the door. Pools were beautiful. This kids pool area is great. The staff are very friendly, entertainment staff are hilarious. The evening shows were great. There is a really nice mini golf course. You can also ride bikes. I went to do it one day and was told I couldn't because I was wearing sandals, yet they allow you to ride without a helmut...that makes a lot of sense... Now the bad begins. The beach is basically unusable. You have to walk through a foot of seaweed to get into the water, which is also full of seaweed. It stinks and there are bugs everywhere. The food was also VERY dissapointing. I'm sad to say the mexican buffet restaurant is the best place to eat. We tried 5 different places before we got tired of having unsatisfying meals and settled on the buffet. With that being said we didn't eat at any of the places that needed reservations. I would not come back here based on the food and beach. Way too expensive for the quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Exceptional all around

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We are in our late 20s and we absolutely loved it here. Great pool, bar, restuarants, service & staff!!!! Recommend this place to anyone. We loved Momo & Los Tacos. But everywhere was delicious!!! Enjoy your stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Paid for Ocean View and Got Resort View

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Staff was pleasant, food was good.
Cons: LOUD MUSIC even at 11:30 at night when there are private functions. They need to keep it down since this is a family resort.
Location: Chichinetza is good, XCARET is amazing.
I specifically paid for an Ocean View Room and ended up with a resort view. There is no point of talking in the reception since they would say, they have no Ocean View rooms available and this is all they got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, OK

Awesome hotel!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Everything, golf, pools, bars, clubs, restaurants, selection, variety, the staff, mini golf, bike rides, the spa services, etc.
Cons: Improve the water. This goes for everywhere in Mexico. They need to up their standards for potable water.
Location: Take the shuttle to the Beach Palace in the hotel district, it's free.
Second time vacationing here. We will be back next year. Love this place. Perfect for a couple or the whole family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom saskatoon

Moon Palace Golf Resort & Spa

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Staff, Cleanliness, Lots of places for dinner and drinks
Cons: quality of food could be improved
Location: ruins, water park, beaches, zip lines, dune buggys, and many others
My wife and I stayed from Jan7th - jan 14th, Had a great time. Staff was excellent, rooms were excellent, we went on 2 excursions. We went to Tulum ruins which is actually a hour and a half ride there not 45 minutes that they tell you. The ruins were fantastic and we had an excellent guide. The 2nd excursion we did was wet n wild waterpark, this was fantastic although the food was not the greatest. Our experience at the Hotel was all and all was a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Beautiful hotel, great food, very clean, lots to do for the whole family from as young as 1 to adults.... The only negative is the beach, beautiful sand but not so much the water... So much Seaweed ... But we would take the shuttle to beach palace were they had a gorgous beach and everything was included as well.... This was our 2nd time to moon palace and they'll be a 3rd... We choose moon palace over beach palace for the kids as there's a lot more for them to do at moon palace...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this resort!! beautiful.

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Cons: better communication by staff
Location: very remote area
- sad that the beach water isn't clear close to shore but that is not the hotels fault. they do try to clean it often and keep the seaweed out. They have a shuttle that takes you to Beach Palace where the water is CLEAR. - very large resort take comfy shoes! - communication by staff could be a bit better and explainig things more clearly esp in the spa - we had small bugs in our room and they could never get rid of them they did try to spray a few times. Didn't bother us a ton we just didn't use the table area where they were - my bed did have an odd scent to it that they could never seem to get out. Just didn't smell clean no matter how many times they changed it. - we went with a conference group and was trying extend our stay. I contacted them several times and they told me that it was fully booked. However later we found out that a lot of consultants contacted them last minute and was able to extend their stay. Disapointed we had to move. - love the free wifi & phone calls. Although the wifi was very inconsistent