Ratings based on 2,088 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, service good, hated sales pitch

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: food, restaurant service, pool service
Cons: Don't keep pushing the sales on Club Melia. Just accept it if a guest says no.
We stayed the last week of February 2015 for our 30th anniversary and my brother's honeymoon. Building itself is beautiful, very clean and well decorated. The room was nice, bed very comfortable. Refrigerator well stocked with beverages and snacks. Had a Oceanside room on 3rd floor, but poor view with large roof extension blocking our view of grounds. Very noisy at night due to close proximity to lounge and kitchen under room. We found the food excellent. Breakfast buffet fantastic, with great omelete bar! Pool staff excellent, keeping us well stocked on beverages. One problem though, right after checking in we were introduced to staff member (can't remember name) who would "take care of us during stay." Led directly to table where she informed us on restaurant reservations, map of hotel, then she started on sales pitch to Club Melia. We told her we were not interested, were in Cancun for rest and relaxation. She became noticeably upset when we finally had to walk away. She never checked on us again and refused to acknowledge us when we met her in hotel multiple times during our stay. Would have rated hotel as excellent and 5 stars if it wasn't for the hard sales tactics. Undecided if I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santiago, Chile

Great all inclusive very well located

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, pool, beach, ocean view from the room.
Location: Across the street from Aquaworld for adventure tours on the sea and a mile away from mayan museum, San Miguelito archaelogical site and money exchange
Great and very abbondant buffets, even though the fruit wasn't what i would call top notch. A lot of restaurants (during my 8 days stay I never repeated a restaurant for dinner), each one of them very good, except La Perla, a big disappointment. Don't even bother to go there, unless it is to its bar, when you're at the pool. There were 3 big pools, not very deep but big enough for a little swimming (i guess thats not possible during the high season) and very, very clean. A lot of chairs and a lot of sun umbrellas, both at the pool and the beach. They're free, but they run out pretty quickly, so i would recommend to get one early, its worth it, and a lot better than paying (a lot) for the "balinese beds". Besides, you get permanently waited there by the staff, at all times making sure that you have a drink in your hand. The propertyy is 10 feet away from the marvelous beach (the free wifi still gets a very good reception there) and the hotel offers free towels for their guests, although with a "1 card/1 towel" system i didn't care much for. I)ts also just across the street form aquaworld, if you want to make a trip to isla mujeres or to the underwater museum. The gym is absolutely great, big enough, never crowded, and the most important, very clean and packed with new, working machines. You get a free towel and a bottle of water the minute you enter the place. The staff was very friendly and kind, and I apreciated a lot that nobody harrassed you trying to sell you timeshares.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

beach front 5 star hotel

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: We like everything about the hotel : room, beach, view, food, service...
We stayed at Paradisus Cancun for two nights. As soon as we arrived, staff greeted us at the door, took us to the check-in area, and brought us a bottle of cold water. Hotel is tasteful decorated and well maintained. We got an ocean view room overlook pool and ocean, and the view was breathtaking. We went to the buffet for dinner, there are lots of selection, jumbo scallops and roast beef are our favourite. Waiters were attentive, service was very good. Beach is gorgeous, and beach bar is beautiful, quiet, and conveniently located.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Resort is ok but not great

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Sushi in Japanese restaurant was exceptional.
Cons: housekeeping (perhaps they are understaffed). additional/separate bar and lounge areas.
Location: we took a $20 taxi ride to the flea market.
Facility is lovely and staff helpful and friendly. Housekeeping was an issue - we were there for 7 days and I think we had to call housekeeping 6 of those days (towels, washcloths, Kleenex, coffee, restock mini-fridge, etc). Nothing major but little annoyances. Resort is huge (I think 750 rooms) with only 1 bar/lounge inside and 1 pool bar (that we were able to access.) In a place like Cancun where drinks flow freely, a resort really needs more than 1 inside bar. Unless we wanted to sit in our room, there was no place to go for a quiet after dinner drink. Also, this was an 'all inclusive', but we could not use 2 of the restaurants unless we wanted to pay for our meal. Really? Not too happy about that. Food was decent, and it isn't a bad place - just not as seamless as we were expecting. Next trip to Cancun we will probably go back to a smaller resort so we don't have to fight the crowds for a beach chair. This resort was too large for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We had a Great time except wi-fi was very poor We did not have Internet access from the room or anywhere in the hotel area except in the business center which made it very hard . In this day Internet should be easily accessible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh pa

Beautiful ocean views

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Great food, great staff, beautiful ocean and pool views. We had a relaxed, wonderful time. Second time here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mo.

First time to CanCun

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Didn't know what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised by cleanliness of hotel,friendliness of hotel staff and beach front, the all inclusive food and drink was great, walking distance to aqua world, I would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Resort was ok.

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Food was good in all the restaurants. Wait staff was attentive.
Cons: needs larger or additional bar/lounge area - or stage nightly entertainment some place other than only lounge on premises.
Location: location good.
Premises were lovely. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Housekeeping was an issue - had to call about something (bath towels, Kleenex, restock of mini-refrigerator, etc) almost EVERY day. Not pleased that we were not able to access all restaurants (unless we wanted to pay) - even tho this is an ALL INCLUSIVE resort. And not pleased we had to make reservations every night for dinner. Food was good in all the restaurants (the sushi was exceptional) so no complaints on quality. The bar/lounge was way too small for the size of the resort, and that's where the nightly entertainment was staged, so it was really chaotic for a couple of hours every night. Just a lot of little things that added up. Problem was - resort was too big for our liking, and appeared to be filled to capacity (which is to be expected this time of year), which really put a strain on the housekeeping staff. We've been to several different resorts in Cancun and this is the first time we came away not totally satisfied. Overall - it was OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very happy with our stay at Paradisus Cancun.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Nothing bad to say about Paradisus Cancun. Stayed in room 3544 which was an ocean view from 2/18 - 2/24. From past reviews that I read, was skeptical that we were given a room in tower 3 since I had 2 young children. The room was considered tower 3 but part of the connection between tower 3 and tower 4 so we were right next to tower 4. Did not have any issues with noise from late night shows or bar/lounge crowd. Baby crib was immediately sent to the room after we checked in. Food was great at the buffet (Naos) and our kids enjoyed the kids club and baby club. Service was great and all staff members were friendly and had a smile. Hotel was very clean and well kept. Did not notice any flies at the buffet which was a good indicator to me of how clean the hotel is. Would definitely consider coming back to Paradisus again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Prince George, BC

Family Wedding

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Food, facilities, rooms were good.
Cons: More lounge chairs around the pool areas. Most of the cabanas are reserved,however not all of them were used, so the lounge chairs were held for noone
Location: Easy day trips to Cancun, shopping, nightlife, trips to Ruins and boat trips.
The hotel staff are very good, the food is excellent as well as the beach, pools and facilities. The reason we came was for our son's wedding. The service provided by the planner, included a full beach wedding, reception and dance. All of the people who attended enjoyed the wedding, most of them upgraded to the Royal Service, which included a butler service. This was very personalized. My only complaint was that the additional charges for extras seemed a bit excessive based on the size of the wedding party and the amount that had already been paid. So if you are here for a wedding make sure you check what you are getting and what is an extra.