Ratings based on 1,641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: great pools
Cons: Food
The pools are huge and they have enough chairs at any time. The hotel staff are very polite. The food is average especially the buffet which serves the same food for breakfast, dinner and lunch. The food is very repetitive. For basic food items you have to ask the waiters to bring it out as they are not on display at the buffet. The beach is nice but waves are rough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erica from New York

Would not recommend upgrading to family concierge

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: The family concierge service
Location: We never left the resort.
Overall the hotel and the beach were absolutely beautiful. The staff was friendly. Upon arrival we upgraded to the family concierge service and an ocean front room for an extra $80 per day. We read reviews before our stay that said that chairs are very hard to get by the beach and pool. People stated that we would need to get out there at 6am to get a seat. The family service is supposed to have many perks to it. We selected it mainly for the seats at the pool. We were assigned a butler who told us that she would be able to provide us with seats at the pool. When you upgrade you are guaranteed a Bali bed at least one day. The service was great in that respect because it provided us with a bed for 6 days straight. Unfortunately, there were many other things that did not meet our expectations. We were told that the butler would take care of dinner reservations nightly for us. She either didn't make reservations or made them for times or restaurants that we did not want. Also, (even though it sounds petty), we never received the bed turn down service, the upgraded mini bar, chocolates on our pillow, towels daily, the kids towel, slippers and robe that were supposed to be included in this upgrade. Each day we told them that we didn't received these things and they promised to rectify the situation, but that never did happen. In addition, the poolside wait service was terrific. The drinks kept on coming. The sit down restaurants were adequate, though Bana and Vento were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anita from Southern California

Daughter's Wedding

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: The private beach was clean and beautiful.
Cons: Our butler service was lacking at best. We met him at check in and that was pretty much the last we saw of him in our five day stay.
Location: Conveniently located to the airport, downtown, and water excursions
Paradisus gets an A+ when it comes to meeting our expectations for our daughter's wedding ceremony & reception. Lulu did a fabulous job at easing the stress from my daughter and her fiance. It was absolutely a dream wedding experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wally & Nan from New York & Texas

Beach & pool were beautiful.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Too much noise in pyramid 3- main building while we slept. Between the maintenance work & guests with children and the workers talking the echoes made everything sound louder. Other buildings seemed quieter. The smell of the candle aroma was too strong at times but was a relaxing aroma. Elevators were hot no air, so we took the stairs which was a good work out and nicer view. Food could be a little better in the restaurants We went to Ruth Chris steakhouse at the mall one night just to have a change in buffet food. Long walt on line at reservation desk but it depends on time of day you get there. Not enough info displayed of locations of spa, restaurants, gym, other guest rooms We did a lot of walking in order to find some of these places. It was like a maze sometimes. Staff was helpful and pleasant. It was a clean hotel. Decor of landscaping and art work throughout the resort was beautiful and gave it a relaxing atmosphere. Music was nice bc you have a little bit of everything. My favorite activity was Zumba by the pool at 10:00am. Great to do if traveling in a group. We purchased shuttle service transportation to and from the hotel. Definitely a family resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Resort

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Amazing time, royal service team were very helpful especially Victor and Ceasor. Met every needs we had and made sure we were having a great time while enjoying our stay. They treated us like family and the resort had many interesting activities planned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tim from Pennsylvania

Great Family Get Away!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The staff were VERY friendly. Room service was lightning fast.
Cons: Not so many restaurants that need reservations. Also, the teen area is hidden away in a lower floor and we didn't even see it until day 3.
Location: The Flea Market and El Rey Ruins were great. Public transportation was very easy.
My family experienced our first all-inclusive vacation at the Paradisus Cancun the week of 4/7/14 and had a great time. Although the check-in was a bit confusing and our rooms were moved around a few times (first we got one King bed for a family of 4 and the second room the mini-fridge was leaking water on the floor) but the third room we got was just right. The place is beautiful and they seem to always be doing updates to it (which shows that they care about the resort). The beach and pool were fantastic. Simon and Jorge at the main pool swim up bar were the best bartenders ever. They were professional, yet fun to be around and very friendly. In the buffet area, Alberth Pech and Jesus Gonzales were great servers. They ALWAYS made sure our drinks were filled and that we were taken care of. Overall, all the staff were friendly- even down to housekeeping, who made sure we had plenty of towels and toiletries. We did not get pressed for the time-share stuff, which was great. They have an on-site Expedia office at the hotel and they were VERY helpful, too. Overall, we had a great time for our first out of country vacation. Just some info to know, though: 1. Not all of the hotel shop's take American money. Some only take credit cards or peso's. 2. All but a few restaurants require reservations and they book up very quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west coast

Lovely hotel close to beach with great pools

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Room, view, clean, good beds, lots of food choices nicely prepared and staff both housekeeping and dining that were unusually helpful and efficient.
Cons: Check in. It seems someone wanted an extension, but that shouldn't take the room of the person with a reservation. It all worked out later though.
Location: I couldn't make myself leave. But the family went to Xcaret. (Sp) shows were fun at night in hotel.
I would give it an overall 5 but for the first day room hassle and the work being done overhead the day before I left with much moving of chairs on tile. I was hoping for a little siesta. I do know work has to get done, but it was disappointing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

R&R Time

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Only thing there wasn't to like was the pools all close at 7pm And there is only 1 restaraunt that you didn't have to have reservations at and to make that even worse your reservations have to be made atleast 24 hrs in advance so you couldn't even wake up and discuss dinner plans over breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise!!

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Best stretch of sand/beach on the hotel zone...Perfect for R&R. Family friendly. Great staff and service. Variety of restaurant options for food/Snacks, nightly entertainment etc. would definitely go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Ct

All Inclusive

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent common areas
Cons: Romms are not that enviting
Very good- excellent service, food, and ammrnities