Ratings based on 1,248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

2nd times a charm!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, food, facilities.
Cons: Provide self-serve water refills and recycle bins, better house wine generally and specifically at Satay, enlarge/move the gym.
My husband and I stayed here Jan 2-10. It was my second time and his first. Check in with Jesus-- host extraordinaire!- was so welcoming and efficient and it was a pleasure seeing and speaking to him all week. Our reception with Jesus began the stay very nicely and set the stage for an excellent week. The food was mostly very good and some was excellent (we did the all-inclusive) and the staff very pleasant (with a few exceptions at the beach bar). The hotel is very well located, near restaurants, shopping, and North Beach and is very well kept. We ate at all of the restaurants including Satay twice which was delicious though the service was maybe a 3.5 out of 5. The lunch service at the beach, Cafe Del Mar, was incredibly slow 3 out of 4 times, though the food was good. We ate off property a couple of times and enjoyed that very much as well (one recommendation from Jesus in particular-- La Lomita-- was seriously good.) Overall it was an excellent stay and we will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Best resort on the island

Posted Jan 28, 2015
My husband and I booked a vacation for 4 couples on Isla Mujeres and chose Privilege Aluxes based on the great reviews that it had received, and we were NOT disappointed. This resort is phenomenal; clean, fairly priced for all-inclusive experiences, good food, great staff, and beautiful beaches. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a low key, relaxing, tropical vacation. There are great things to do on the island as well, and we recommend renting a golf cart and cruising around the island. You will love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fargo, ND

Honeymoon

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Amazing hotel! Made us feel so welcome and made sure that if there was anything we needed, they would make sure we got it! We had questions about attractions and the staff was more then willing to help us find stuff to do, and even offered to help us book it. We will be going back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

We recently spent 8 glorious days on Isla Mujeres

Posted Jan 24, 2015
We stayed at the beautiful Privileges Aluxes. We would go back in a heartbeat. The food at Sabor was very good for breakfast, we enjoyed the other two restaurants for dinner, as they had set menus that you could choose from and not a buffet. The service was exceptional, especially Sergio on the beach and Ceaser on room service. Very quick to please. We found tipping a $1 US ensured the drinks were continual. They do seem to be watered down, however if you ask for a certain drink and brand, going forward your desires are met. We made a problem with our safe and it took 16 hours to get it open, as although they did the best the can, if we were waiting for a flight and could not opened the safe, we very easily could have missed our flight. Beds, were very comfy and there was a school outside across the street, however if you kept the door closed, it was fine. The only ONE thing that we can suggest to the hotel is to install door pulls on the outside patio door. They need to be pushed open, (there are no door knobs) I found it difficult, anyone older would lock them selves out. We will be back!!! It was a lovely stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB, Canada

Superb Experience!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location, service and high standards.
Cons: Tour booking arrangements
Location: location: the best spot on the beach and close to all entertainment, restaurants and city centre.
This was my first trip to Isla Mujeres and Privilege Aluxes all inclusive. My experience was amazing with the service, the attention, the amazing beach, the service on the beach, the food, the education and politeness in general - since the cleaning lady to Antonio “the Captain” Manager that take his time to come every single day in our table on the beach and ask how we were and how was the service. That is the kind of attitude that 5 star hotels are suppose to give to their clients. I do not have one complaint, one problem. I truly recommend that who might have the opportunity to know Isla Mujeres and Privilege Aluxes should go. It will be a memorable experience and worth your money. The food was amazing... everyday was a different “theme” and was fantastic. The waiters were always very polite and willing to help and give you the best service, as all employees. Fantastic experience, wait for us next year for sure. Love it and highly recommend. Thank you to all the employees for the fantastic service and God for that wonderful beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2015
My husband and I just got back from a week vacation here. This was our first experience in the area and at an all-inclusive resort. We absolutely loved it!! The service was amazing and we were just in heaven relaxing on the beach and at the pristine pools every day :) Definitely recommend!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Shawnigan Lake B.C.

Great small Hotel with fantastic beach and staff

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: This was one of our best choices on the beach. you can walk to the center of town in 5 minutes. The beach is one of the best and calm.
Cons: My only complaints were the lighting in the beach and pool washroom was inadequate. The seafood tended to be overcooked.
Location: You can walk to the center of town in 5 minutes. Snorkeling is great, Restaurants in town are great. Many too choose from. lots of shops for Souviners
My wife loved this Hotel! There were about 100 units, we had a suite as the rooms were all booked and it was lovely. The second floor suite patio was spacious and private with a view of the pool and ocean glimpses thru the trees. The building was very clean looking rectangular shapes with glass rails and timber trellis on the roof gave a very snappy look. The large beach was raked clean at least once during our week stay and they kept it that way. We never had to rush out early and save a spot as there was always a couple of chase lounges under a pallapa. available. Food and drink service on the beach is from about 1 thru 5. They also had a few canopy beds that were quite popular all over the property including the beach. The property is small in comparison to most of the Cancun area resorts and suited us perfectly. there is one buffet and two sit down restaurants all of which had a lot of good choices. We chose all inclusive and were happy to discover they offer bottled beers and nice house wines. The omelets were very popular for breakfast but the buffet was full of great alternatives, or additions in my case. There was fruit to french toast and a great cappuccino and blended fruit drink as well. There was also a great pool with a swim up bar and a barbecue or buffet for lunch that was terrific and very quit as most were on the beach but again great poolside service, no glass. We went for the couples Swedish message that was most enjoyable and totally relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brookings, SD

This resort made our vacation :)

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hotel was great. Food was amazing (I would recommend shrimp tacos from cafe del mar. Oh and the chips and guac). EXCELLENT service! Two servers stuck out. Caesar and Sergio rock!! We definitely will be going back and will recommend to anyone looking to get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Beautiful hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location, pool & beach restaurant.
Cons: We didn't receive our wake up call.
Location: Walking distance to the main street where all the restaurants and shops are located. Walking distance to Ferry.
We were upgraded from a standard room to a suite at check-in which was a great bonus. Staff were very friendly, beach was fabulous and only steps away from the main resort. Drinks are inexpensive, so there is no need to pay for the whole inclusive package unless all you want to do is drink all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Quality, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Get good opinions about our services, facilities and care provided during your stay is the best prize we can receive. It is a pleasure to receive your congratulations, we will always try our best to fulfill your needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northest U S

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The spa and most staff members went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Cons: The beach waiters are terrible!! They were responsive when the supervisor was present. Otherwise, we were ignored, completely!!
Location: We ate at the Maromba restaurant, the fish was exceptional
Hotel is beautiful. The spa service is exceptional. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The ocean views are amazing! Most of the staff members go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, with the exception of the beach waiters who will completely ignore all inclusive guests.!! The beach is beautiful but it is small and crowed, the beaches in Mexico are public.. The chairs and beach beds are sold to non -hotel guest which tends to lead to over crowed conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Quality, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments, since your opinion is of great help to us in our efforts to improve and achieve our main objective, which is the full satisfaction of our guests. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the location and this beautiful island had met yours expectations.