Ratings based on 1,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Georgina from Salem, Oregon

Awesome!

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Don't pay attention to the bad reviews! This hotel is awesome! Beautiful view from the room and personnel are extremely helpful and greet you at all times! Highly recommend this hotel! The buffet had a variety of foods!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wendy from MA.

16th Wedding Anniversary, April in Cancun

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The lobby was huge with statues and large planters, chandeliers & air conditioned, very impressive
Cons: A welcome cocktail :)
Location: Romantic sunset lobster dinner, All day Catamaran cruise to Isla, swim w/ dolfins, Mall right across the street! flea market one block over. Snorkelin
Cancun was much nicer than I expected! The water is the bluest I've ever seen! The staff at the hotel was Great! The food was wonderful so were the drinks! The rooms could use some updating and come to find out Riu Cancun is closing May 6th for Rennovations! The only thing I didn't like was you had to go to the lobby every day to make reservations for dinner and they were always booked 2 days in advance :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Resort

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and the views were amazing!
Cons: The steak at the Steak House restaurant could be better.
Location: Many restaurants and shopping options nearby within walking distance.
Very excited about our stay at RIU Cancun from the moment we walked in. My biggest compliment goes to the staff for making it such an enjoyable vacation. Special shout out to Manuel for taking such good care of us in the lobby bar each night. He was funny and hospitable and made sure we had anything we asked him for. Plenty of food and many options available. Great shows every night and amazing views from the infinity pools! Great place for families or couples on vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful ocean view

Posted Apr 25, 2014
RIU cancun reception desk was a little rude when we asked a questioned. the food was great everyday was a different theme. The junior suite ocean view has a beautiful view! It does not have a night life but the great thing about this hotel is the fact that it is so close to seƱor frog, coco bongos, the mall, etc it's walking distance. One thing I did not like was that the bed sheets felt moist .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IM from saint louis, mo

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Nice beach. Great pool area. Friendly staff. Loved the entertainment staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, centrally located.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the friendliness of the staff and the food.
Cons: The rooms are a bit small, but the view from my room compensated for that.
One of the best experiences I've had in Cancun. the food was good and the staff was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Best time ever, will go back in the near future. Next vaction coming up in September.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful beach

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: great beaches, nice atmosphere, beautiful pools, easy to find taxi and bus stops in front of hotel,
Cons: Rooms need to be updated, especially the beds!
Location: Great location in a quieter part of Cancun. Swimming with dolphins about a half our away. Jungle tour with snorkeling a five minute taxi drive
This is a really nice hotel located on a gorgeous beach. The beaches on this side of Cancun do not have large waves so it's nice for families with young children. The staff was friendly for the most part, and went out of their way to make my daughters birthday special. The food is not bad. Similar to buffets you'd find in Las Vegas. We did find that the Brazilian restaurant was not good at all. All the members of our group felt it was not near as good as the other restaurants. The steak restaurant is ok. Remember this is a large hotel that feeds a lot of people, your steak is something like you'd find at a local inexpensive restaurant. We did encounter a problem on our last day and were not very happy about the way the front desk handled it, but overall it was a good stay and we would highly consider returning to this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mayra from sacramento

Nice view to the beach

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The food was super good, they had a lot of options:)...The shows at night were fun and the people working there were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice place for a relaxing vacation

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel was large enough to get that resort feeling but small enough to have a very "homey touch. We enjoyed it a lot.
Cons: There were two wedding ceremonies performed while we were there and the hotel could have done a better job of preparing us for them.
Location: The Carocal Mall was right across the street and there were several shops nearby as well.
Our stay at the RIU Cancun was very satisfying. The room was spacious and very clean. The staff was courteous, and for the most part, were helpful with any concerns brought to them. The beach was adequate. The variety of food was good and the taste of the food was very good as well. Our experience was a positive one.