Ratings based on 1,058 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Colorado

All inclusive fun!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The ocean view, beaches and pools!
Cons: Upgraded beds would be nice
Location: Great location and tons of activities to do including day tours, island excursions, dancing and shopping.
We had a great time at the Riu Cancun. The food was great and the staff was top-notch. Absolutely enjoyed the activities at the resort and loved how close it was to the central entertainment area of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent service!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: service, delicious food, cleanliness and the facilities.
Cons: need to improve the bed in their rooooom!!! omg hard very very hard!!!
Location: very nice. close to pretty much wherever you want to go., even buses access to the downtown area.
staffs were wonderful, nice people no complain except the bed was hard as a rock., I woke up with stiff neck and bad back that I have to spend money for deep tissue massage in their spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

David the bartender was great!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Great overall experience! People were friendly and helpful! The only downfall was the food for us. The restraunts were booked up and the buffet was the same everyday. Wish there were a hot breakfast/lunch/dinner of the day that was different. David the bartender was fun,made great drinks, we hung out there every night he was working.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Loved this hotel. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we were tarted like kings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jennifer from Lafayette, IN

Excellent Value- Ignore Bad Reviews

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, Staff, Beach, Cleanliness, Michael Jackson show
Cons: A little outdated, but I think they are remodeling
Location: Isla Mujeres
Our stay was excellent. This hotel is not a 5-Star hotel, but it is also not priced as such. Our room was comfortable, and it was very clean. The food was good, Hermes was our favorite server at the buffet. The servers/bartender/housekeeping never expects tips, but they definitely appreciated them. The drinks were not incredibly strong, but they were more than happy to make them stronger if you asked(If the drinks were all super strong, the Spring breakers would have been puking everywhere, but I definitely had a little buzz for almost 7 days straight). The staff was constantly cleaning everywhere. The beach was very nice. One side of the beach has a lot of rocks, but if you go down a little further there are no rocks. The beach does get a little shady after a certain time, but it never was a huge deal for us. The staff always was walking around looking to help entertain or make our stay better. I almost cancelled our reservations with this hotel because of the review, and I am so glad I didn't. I do not think we could have found a better value for the money we paid. Also, take the ferry that is right beside the hotel and go to Isla Mujeres, we went snorkeling at Garrafon de Castilla on the reef for under $10 each. It is a pretty small operation, but we saw all sorts of sea life(tangs, parrotfish, rays, sea stars, urchins, puffer fish, sgt majors). Our trip was incredible. We would definitely return, but we would maybe wait until the spring breakers were gone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and fun

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great beach and pools. This place is a lot of fun. Good drinks and food and plenty of both! Less than a 10 min. Walk to clubs and nightlife. Only flaw with this place was the room cleanliness. Pillow cases were dirty on more than one occasion. Lamp shades, window shade, and light switches were all dirty. Bathroom seemed pretty clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Australia

Awesome hotel in Cancun

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Location! Right on the beach and walking distance to the night life of Cancun! Friendly staff. Pool with swim up bar.
Cons: Decor in room is slightly dated yet still very comfortable. No wifi in rooms, only available for 90 min free in lobby area. Can be purchased however.
Location: Hotel is on the water front, walking distance to the ocean. Hire a wave runner, ski boat etc. all your watersport needs. Walking distance to shops,
My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of our honeymoon to relax. This hotel didn't fail to impress. The foyer is divine, restaurants are plentiful and delicious. Everything you need is at the one resort. The 3 pools cater for every mood and the bar staff know how to make a delicious cocktail. The 3 restauraunts on site all offer a unique and great dining experience also every taste is catered for at the buffet. Be sure to treat yourself to a treatment at the day spa, Personal favourite total renew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, well-maintained resort on the beach

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Fabulous experience from start to finish. Friendly staff, warm welcome, spotless facilities, delicious food and variety, entertaining shows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel walking distance from all the party .

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I would definitely come back to this hotel .. it is very close to everything . The staff was very friendly . Nothing to complain about this amazing resort .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sokool from Chicago, IL

8 days in PARADISE

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: We liked the proximity to the beach, the shops and stores and the convenience around the hotel to the recreation activities and restaurants
Cons: The water in the bathroom and shower smelled. The air-condition was not powerful enough and the humidity in the room was relatively high.
Location: The location is very nice. Close to the shops and malls.
We spent Spring Break at hotel RIU Cancun. It was a great vacation and the whole family had a very good time. We were a group of 17 people (5 children and 12 adults). All of us enjoyed the weather, the beach, the food and the daily activities. From the walk along the beach and the swimming in the ocean early in the morning, to the volleyball tournaments during the day to the bocce ball or pingpong games, filled with countless drinks and delicious food to the closing of the day at one of the restaurants and the night shows, you feel the day was too short to fit everything in the schedule. We visited the aquarium where the kids swam with the dolphins, which was a very exciting experience. The week went by very fast and we all wished it was longer.....The food was very nice and clean. We will definitely come back to this resort. My sons didn't get to say good bye to Irving (one of the activity employers). Please send him greetings from Joey and Justin! The housekeeper, Jose, was so nice and hardworking cleaning our room every day. The waiter, Jose Luiz, was very nice, too. He did everything he could to keep us happy and satisfied.