Ratings based on 1,499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: It was recently remodeled and it is very modern and clean.
Cons: Close the swim up bar then guest will have to get out of the pool to get a drink instead of sitting on a stool and drinking excessively.
Location: There is a shopping plaza across the street and walking distance to Señor Frogs, Carlos n Charlie's, Coco Bongo and all the bars/clubs.
This hotel was located within walking distance to all the night clubs. But the party started in the pool bar during the afternoon which could get very loud and spring break like. On the plus side the staff was very friendly and they were alway cleaning. The food was also very good we ate at the buffet and all the speciality restaurants and we could alway find something for everyone. If you are looking to party and play in the pool all day this is the hotel for you. But if you are looking to relax and take long walks on the beach this is not the hotel for you. The location of the hotel is not on the pristine part of the beach in Cancun and there are many obstacle when walking on the beach. The beach area is very small and there are also rocks in the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Conveniently located resort

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location! You can walk to great restaurants, bars, and clubs. Food was amazing! Clean.
Cons: Elevators. More chairs, umbrellas, and waiters by the pool.
Location: Location is great if you like to walk around to do some shopping, eating, bar hopping. For the beach, I've seen better.
Overall, we had a good stay. Check in was fast. Our rooms were spacious and clean. We had a great view of the ocean. The food was REALLY GOOD! We never even bother to make reservations for their restaurants. We don't like being on a schedule, so we always ate at the buffet which had a great variety of food with excellent taste. The beach was nice and clean. If you like going into the ocean, you just have to find a spot without rocks, or otherwise, you can end up cutting your feet. Here are some cons that wouldn't stop me from going back, but I think I would have liked to know them before booking our trip: Pools are small and there's a shortage of beds and umbrellas by the pool. We were a family of 5, so maybe that's why we had a hard time finding good lounges by the pool. My husband had to wake up at 7am to save us some good ones. If you get there at 8am, 90% of the beds are already taken. The ocean is beautiful, but I've stayed at other resorts in Cancun were the water so crystal clear, that you can see your feet when the ocean is up to your waist. Also, there were some days when it was hard to find a waiter to bring you drinks by the pool. At the Riu in Cabo, there were always waiters bringing you drinks. Here, sometimes we had to go to the bar to get ours. Elevators were horrible. One of our friends got stuck in one of them. They would take for ever. Fortunately, we were on the 6th floor, so we could use the stairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NC

Riu Cancun June 19-23

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location and food.
Location: Close to shopping and nightlife.
Great hotel and location. Something for everyone. Not necessarily for young children, but not an issue for us as our party was all adults. Highly recommend, especially for young adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full house

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: All inclusive meant no shelling out for drinks and meals just tips. Makes it more relaxing.
Cons: I didn't like the slow lifts but a small thing really. Better access to the restaurants would be good.
Location: Great location, close to everything and a close bus stop for everything else.
A full house meant that I had to stay in the old part of the hotel which has a glean 1970s feel. My friends had suites in the renovated tower and were very happy. It's a big place so be prepared for loads of walking. There were loads of single guys at the bar but I guess it depends on the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from México city

Riu Cancún el mejor

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Desde el momento de la llegada nos recibieron con un cocktail, la asignacion de la habitacion fue muy rapida y la atencion del personal inmejorable el serviciode primera, hermosas instalaciones y la comida buenisima. Las amenidades y los detalles excelentes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

beautiful modern decor hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The decor and staff and unbelievable cleanliness. The spa and work out room were worth a visit.
Location: supermarket across the street for things you may have forgotten(tooth brush) or sunscreen.
We had our first room on third floor overlooking the main pool and beach. The room was very nice! However, we discovered that the proximity to the pool and main outdoor theater proved to be very noisy both in the afternoon and evening! We stayed in this room two nights and we went to the 14th floor at a beautiful corner room that overlooked the ocean and the resort! The staff at the front desk upgraded us to this wonderful room for a nominal fee and the rest of our vacation was fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

GREAT Hotel in the Heart of Cancun

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: I loved everything!
Location: The proximity of the hotel to Coco Bongo and all the other clubs is the best part. You don't need to get a taxi to go to the ONLY happening area in Ca
The hotel itself is amazing! The food, the drinks, the rooms, the staff. Did not find anything wrong with the place. And the proximity of the hotel to Coco Bongo and all the other clubs is the best part. You don't need to get a taxi to go to the ONLY happening area in Cancun for nightlife as it's just a 5 minute walk from Riu Cancun. My wife's favorite part was the pool swim-up bar. We spent many hours in that pool. Those bartenders were working really hard while making soooooo many drinks for so many people. The beach itself is very nice. A few rocks here and there but no seaweed!!! After being in Playa Del Carmen and seeing how much seaweed was there, it was nice to see a clean beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

Modern and newly renovated hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2015
This hotel was pretty close to excellent. The food was overall very good and the hotel staff was extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver WA

May 1-8th Amazing Vacation

Posted Jun 4, 2015
I researched like crazy for this vacation, read all the reviews of many hotels looked at tons of pictures! Hotel Riu Cancun was amazing choice, so glad we stayed here & will be back! Food: didn't eat at any of the specialty resturants, the buffet had more than enough options. The selection was amazing, the taste was good/ok. After many trips to Mexico I have come to the conclusion the food just tastes different. The meat tastes different, & things that are supposed to be creamy are kind of watery (yogurt, chocolate, cream sauces, ketchup etc.) Beach: as some have said yes the beach is on the smaller side but it is beautiful & clean. I walked/ran the beach in both directions and had plenty of room & distance to go. The seaweed is picked up every morning so its always beautiful white sand! The sun: In some areas pool gets shaded by the hotel but for the most part you have sun all day everywhere! Staff: Riu Fun group is AMAZING! All of the staff at this hotel is amazing, not one complaint. There is always something to do, there is always staff cleaning & around to help. I can't say enough about how great they are! Also remember to tip carry $1's and tip them Room: Cleaned & restocked everyday, nice rooms. Shower was cold every time never let front desk know so don't really have room to complain! Don't miss the nights shows, absolutley amazing talent! If you want peace & quiet, this may not be the hotel for as there is always something going on!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Beautiful ocean front view from balcony!

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and location
Cons: Need more entertainment and daily activities. Food was just okay. Bartenders inside hotel and fun staff were great!
Location: Señor Frogs
Enjoyed the hotel and how clean it was. Staff was amazing and so friendly!