Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castelo, ES, Brazil

Awesome Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Everything. Proximity to the clubs. Rooms with awesome ocean view.
Location: Greaattttt location. Could not be any better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The RIU is excellent, after remodeling, but previous vintage style was good as well!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Great! Have stayed 3 times at this hotel. Will come back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Very nice views

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: all inclusive
Cons: none
none, the hotel was great was currently remodeled service was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Texas

Wouldn't Change a Thing!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Everything was wonderful! The Whole Experience... the food, the beach, the entertainment crew, the shows and the staff! My wife and I do not have kids, but the entertainment staff did a wonderful job with all the kids that were there and I would recommend it for all parties, from Families to Bach Parties / College Frat Vacays! There was 4 different pools that all had a variety of people in them and they were all sort of different and geared towards different types of people. Lots of activites each day from Pool Volleyball to Beach Volleyball to Water Polo. Beach was Beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice place to stay with family

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Was good the only problem was my room was not ready at the time we arrive and we got there at 4:30 but beside that was good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pearland tx

not what I expected very poor serves

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: that it was clean
Cons: all need to be improved
Location: lots to do pleases to go
the ac was not working they change me rooms that room was liking water from the light fix. tel did not work to stay in touch with my group
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Renovated with a fresh, modern edge

Posted Aug 12, 2014
AMAZING! My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Cancun and our first all inclusive. Everything was smoothe and easy. Staff were very pleasant. The resort and amenities were great. The beach was beautiful! I enjoyed the entertainment staff a lot. Food is different than what I'm accustomed to but hey, it's already paid for, just find what ya like and stick to that. I read a lot of mixed reviews about this place so I was nervous. I guess it just depends on where you're from. My only complaint is the elevators. I wish they were bigger or there were a few more; and that they had some A/C. Hope this is helpful for the next guy!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Riu Cancun remodeled.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great staff, everyone is very accommodating. Special mention to Elvia and Santos at the pool bar. Also Adriana, Emilio and Hermes at the Miramar buffet. The food was great, we have yet to be disappointed at a Riu when it comes to the food. We arrived on Sunday 8-3 and as we were told several times the hotel had just reopened on Saturday 8-2, from a 3mos remodel. We prefer the classic look of Riu's with the wood furnishings and the flowers. This new look of the Riu is very modern all steel and glass. Not quite what we expected. It seemed like maybe they were not quite ready to open: the showers by all if the pools and on the beach were not working, the elevators were hit or miss, the TVs in the rooms also had some issues as well as the phones. These issues were all attended to promptly by the staff except for the showers out by the pools. All in all, our stay was good. We appreciate the staff and the great food. The entertainment was fun as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston

JUST RENOVATED

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Attention was really good.
Cons: Change the music at Pool for something less boring ...maybe Salsa, merengue - Regeton..etc
Location: just fine.