Ratings based on 1,368 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Riu

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Staff was very nice and helpful. They were constantly working at keeping the hotel clean. Great view of the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Beach front, very clean

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great place to stay, very clean. Beach front with ocean views from your room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Disappointed

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The staff was great. Drinks were good.
Cons: Coffee in the rooms or at least a coffee urn in the lobby. I wonder how much alcohol in the dispensers are used as this is an all-inclusive.
Location: Beach is pretty bad. You are across a shopping center which is okay but not great.
We have been going to Cancun for over 20 years and have stayed at many different resorts. I would say this is one of my least favorites. The beach is almost non-existent. My biggest disappointment, this, is the convenience ... we get up early and want our coffee. No coffee makers in the room. And to get coffee in the morning you have to go half way around the hotel to the Sports Bar and wait while they make one cup at a time. It would be so nice to have a large coffee urn in the lobby. If you want dinner in the 3 select restaurants you have to wait in line to make reservations and can only make them for that day or the next. Good luck - although the open restaurant is just as good in my opinion. Ask for an extra hotel room key - a key needs to be inserted to make the lights work. And don't forget your shampoos and conditioners. They give you a "shampoo" dispenser in the shower. No telling what is in it tho. Drinks are good, showers is good (strong and plenty of hot water). Don't expect any entertainment in the lobby (something I've enjoyed in other resorts) - we're not ones that like to go to the theater shows at 9:30. We walked over to the Riu Palace - very nice. Spend the little extra to go there if you want a Riu resort. Or the Riu Carib - we stayed ther a couple of times and enjoyed it. For the price there are other resorts that are worth the price. I won't book at the Riu Cancun again. Ike to go to the theater shows at 9:30.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bom custo beneficio

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Quarto grande, comida boa. Não havia piscina ou jacuzzi aquecidos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom idaho

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Hotel was very nice. Food wasn't the best, but they had something for everyone. Staff was very helpful and worked hard to keep up the facility. Overall great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Better than a picture

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Pure luxury..
Cons: Body lotion should be available in the rooms..
Location: Market across the street was convenient. Also it was so easy to take the public bus in front of the hotel..
Our experience was even better than we expected. We realized right away that the hotel has everything including the most beautiful stretch of beach so really there was no need to ever leave especially if a person loves the beach and water..we will definitely plan anther trip in the future and will stay at the Riu cancun again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice , going back next year to same hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: VERY CLEAN AND ALWAYS SOME ONE CLEANING BATHROOMS AND FLOORS
Cons: HOTEL WORKS , GET TO WORK AROUND 5 AM , AT THE POOL THEY MAKE A LOT OF NOISE , YELLING , TELLING JOKES , HAVE A GRAND OLD TIME AT THAT TIME IN THE AM
Location: SHOPPING MALL ACROSS THE STREET , STAR BUCKS THERE FOR WIFI, HOTEL ONLY GIVES YOU 90 MIN IN THE LOBBY
NOTHING BAD TO SAY ABOUT THE HOTEL , VERY NICE HOTEL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern Hotel, great location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: Restaurant are reserved 2 days in advance. I paid for 7 days ALL Inclusive only to find out we couldn't dine at any of the restaurants for 2 full days
I purposely called Expedia to Book a 7 days All inclusive King size bed and balcony. Expedia customer service verified the booking of my request. When we arrived at the hotel the staff reserved a room with 2 full beds. After a lengthy conversation and me showing my Expedia paperwork which verified my booking they changed the room. I paid for 7 days all inclusive and feel as tho I only actually got 5 days all inclusive. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and during check in we were told that all hotel restaurants need to be reserved 2 days in advance. We couldn't eat at the hotel restaurants until Wednesday, 2 and a half days into our stay. We had to eat at the buffet the first 2 days. (Monday and Tuesday) Disappointed!!!! Everything else was great, modern, clean and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for ocean view hotel.

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Not too expensive for ocean view.
Cons: But need more room to reserve dinner.
Not too expensive for ocean view. But need more room to reserve dinner. I failed for making reservation for dinner during my 5 night stay. Still Main restaurante was good. Nice for price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Great resort and wonderful service. But shower would trun hot then cold then hot again