Ratings based on 1,492 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very nice place, wished it was more food options rather than the same foods everyday. Room was supposed to be ocean view and we could barely see the ocean from all the palm trees and tropical plants everywhere!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunrise, Florida

Great family time! Very boring entertainment!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Great service, very good food, very clean rooms including restaurants, pools, and the garden areas. Great beach! Alcohol is plentiful even in rooms.
Cons: Pools and pool bars close by 7:00 PM daily. Garden/pool area is dark after 8:00 PM with no music or any type of entertainment-- Keep pool open longer
Location: Location is good, near the City of Cancun, markets, and other hotels.
I am disappointed with the following areas: ** Pool and outside bars are closed by 6:00 PM ** No scheduled events, music, shows, or any type of entertainment on the garden/pool areas after 5:00 PM (Even the lighting is turned off on the garden/pool areas) ** Theater has good shows on Saturday and Sunday only. ** Specialty restaurants have very limited staff service and require 48 hours prior reservation. **No music is heard in the adult pool or pizza/bar areas throughout the day. **No dancing areas throughout the hotel at anytime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was expecting

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The views
Cons: The beds are horrible. The entire staff could use a course in customer service.
The hotel was clean and the views are gorgeous. The staff in not very friendly or accommodating. I made a call to the front desk at 8:30 pm to request additional towels and wash clothes for the next morning and could not get anyone to answer the phone. I decided to wait until the next morning to call. When I called at 7:00 am I was told that I would have to call back after 8:00 when house keeping arrived. I expressed that we had a flight to catch and needed the towels and wash clothes now. I was told that my request seemed complicated and I would have to wait. The only friendly people were the taxi people out side and a waiter in the Steak Restaurant by the name of Joel. Paddle boards were suppose to be included however you had to pay $20.00 per person for a lesson. If we travel to Cancun in the future we will not be staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, Tx

Vacation 2014

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Our experience was great for it being our fist time in Cancun. Only thing is our room was too hot. We called to have it checked but no one came to check. We try to always stay at The RIU Hotels because of our previous experiences...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great Family Vacation

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Size of hotel is perfect. Not too big to get lost. Clean, nice décor, nice beach.
Cons: WiFi needs to be improved.
Location: Close to clubs, and downtown. Most excursions leave from nearby marina. Take the Albatross Catamaran to Isla Mujares.
Been to this hotel 3 times so far, It is clean and well equipped. Staff is always wonderful to deal with. We have 4 kids, 5 yrs old to 14 yrs old. Hotel is perfect size for family. Food is very good. Beach is wonderful. One negative is WiFi was terrible and expensive. Hotel was remodeled and very nice inside. Tip your maid and your room will be spotless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Family trip Summer 2014

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: General areas were always clean, the food and drinks were great, the hotel staff could of be a little nicer.
Cons: Have free wifi all day long instead of only 90 continuous minutes per day. The cleaning lady will always forget to provide our room with toilet paper.
Location: Great location, perfect beach, close to downtown, the hotel zone, everything within reach. Swim with Dolphins, Isla Mujeres, Playa del Carmen
We were able to check-in early, in fact the hotel manager gave us a 2 bedroom suite when he saw that it was 4 of us and for the same price : ) The beach was beautiful, the pools were so nice and warm, clean, we were always able to find a hut right at the beach. We enjoyed watching the world cup matches with lots of people from many other countries. The food was excellent, many times the general buffet was a lot better than the specialty restaurants. The pool crowd got a little too loud and crazy by the swim up bar. Some times the entertainment activities like soccer, etc at the beach excluded younger kids, even teenagers, we didn't like that, we had a kid that was waiting just for that moment and then got rejected, because it was "adults only" The staff was nicer in previous visits to other hotels, but not too bad. Overall, we enjoyed our trip and definitely would come back, like I said, food was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Very close to the beach!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Had an amazing time with my love and friends, the hotel staff were friendly, received a massage right on the beach can I say that was to die for!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The food was less than par. The buffet and restaurants were often closed so the only available option was the sports bar, which was worse. We didn't get our room on time and were told that the prior resident extended their stay. That was a bold faced lie. If you want to stay another day, your request is second to those who already have a reservation. Staff was very nice and we loved the bartenders. The pool bar area always seem to smell like vomit. I have no idea why since I never say anyone get sick, but it made us stay away. You get what you pay for, and this is a cheaper place compared to Iberostars etc. So, if you need to go on the cheap this place is for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed Riu Caribe

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel was nice and most of the staff were great especially Luis-activities, Antonio-Albatross restaraunt, Damacio-bartender, Jair-Best Day Activities. Hotel was clean, beach was nice but pool didn't remain open at night despite evening heat. Closed at 7pm for cleaning, etc. Elevators were little shaky but didn't get stuck. Spent six days, five nights and that was enough, inexpensive liquor and singular beer choice (Dos Equis) was tough. Crowd was a mix of young couples with children to 20-35 mix. Overall was nice but stop short of saying great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Great experience enjoyed everything abt riu caribe good food and drinks very relaxing and enjoyable bunches of activities close by