Ratings based on 1,703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sayre, Pa

The stay was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The hotel is very nice, the beach is great, lots of activities and food was better than I expected. You can stay busy with all of the activities or just relax. The Riu Caribe exceeded our expectations and the staff went above and beyond to make our vacation fabulous. I would recommend the Riu Caribe to all. We visited the Riu Cancun and had a few drinks and lunch another really nice property, I did like the Caribe property better. There are kids at the Caribe but the were pretty well behaved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Us

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Staff was fun, food wasn't bad, close to clubs, hotel was nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alamosa co

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The hotel was beautiful. The food and drinks were great! The activities and entertainment staff were awesome. Thanks Riu Caribe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

New years celeb

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: amazing views of the beach, steps from turquoise waters, and no vendors on the beach
Cons: Offer some kind of hourly shuttle service to the shopping and local areas of interest.
Location: there's nothing to do with in walking distance, you have to either take a taxi or public transportation.
We stayed the week of new year's and the hotel had activities planned each night and a gala dinner and dancing the night of. We felt welcomed and among friends as the sports and entertainment staff is wonderfully friendly. Our room was cleaned and stock every morning, the buffet restaurant had plenty of variety and very delicious and the wait staff very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Very clean.
Cons: Buffet
Good experience. Very clean. Not much variety in the buffet.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: over all service
A very bad experience. Will never stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Best resort, best value, best staff

Posted Jan 4, 2015
This hotel is amazing! The staff is ultra friendly and everyone speaks English. The food is incredible, especially in the specialty restaurants. Lots to always do including evening shows in the Calypso Theater and daily activities by the main pool. We loved our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone traveling with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Make sure you ask for a room away from the foyer.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Quite a bit going on - suited our teenage kids; close to beach; tennis courts; relaxing atmosphere.
Cons: See negative points above.
Location: Nice beach, town of Cancun was pretty rundown - rather disappointing - hassled by hawkers.
Positive points: Quite a bit going on - suited our teenage kids; close to beach; tennis courts. Negative points: Rooms above foyer are incredibly noisy (to be fair, we complained after the first night and we were moved to a much nicer room), normal rooms were not good quality compared to what we've had at similar price; the pool was not heated and really cold - we couldn't use the swim up bar all week - the water was far too cold to sit in; having to book the restaurants was very inconvenient - they weren't even particularly good and often had less than half occupancy anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster NY

Great staff and beach.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Cons: Additional maintenance staff to clean trash from the beach. The seaweed was cleared daily, but a lot of straws were left on the beach.
Location: Quick access via a bus to shopping ( 50 cents per person). Taxi only cost $5 if you flag them down at the curb. Expect to pay more at the hotel.
I have stayed in previous RIU locations in the Dominican Republic, Jamaica and Cancun and this is the best location yet. The staff is polite, friendly and eager to make your vacation a great experience. The staff at locations in Jamaica and DR focused more on European clients, not Americans and seemed like they had their hand out all the time. The entertainment staff at RIU Caribe went out of their way to engage adults and children in the daily activities. The beach at this location is much bigger than the RIU Las America's in Cancun. The only complaint I has was in the food selection. The lunch and dinner menus available at the buffet were very similar and and the specialty restaurant food was much better at the RIU Las America's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Perfect Family Vacation

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Cons: The dinner reservation system/process is horrible, need to find a more guest friendly system.
Location: No need to leave the resort.
Great holiday getaway for family with teens. Nice sandy beach, entertaining activities, pretty good food, enjoyable evening shows. To note: need to reserve beach chairs by 7:30am and make dinner reservations before 8am each morning.