Ratings based on 1,516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Great stay!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
We had an amazing time! The staff is awesome. The entertainment crew put on a great show. I give food a 10. Rooms are super clean. No complaints at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

6 days in August

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The beach is awesome. Beautiful sand and water. The entertainment staff is really nice and the water sports coordinators are nice.
Cons: Staff friendliness, staff friendliness, staff friendliness! More welcoming like they like to see you come when first check in.
Location: Snorkeling is excellent out on the reef. Playing with dolphins was unforgettable on Isla Mujera. Shopping on the island was interesting, too.
Be aware that the only air conditioned areas are some of the restaurants and your room. And if you want cold A/C don't stay in the rooms on the sides, stay in the main tower. Our first room, 481, was always hot. We asked for a cooler room. They showed us two. The only one that was any cooler was the main tower, room 330. Be aware that the pools are hot! I'm talking like a hot tub. We much preferred the cooler temps in the ocean which is beautiful! Besides the pool area is mainly for party people (not our scene). We tried every restaurant. Nothing special, but seafood was pretty good and the Mexican food items were the best choice in the main dining hall. Their attempt at American food, i.e. hamburgers, hot dogs are very bad! Previous reviews stated how friendly the staff was. We did not find that to be true. There was one girl at the front desk who was really nice. And the Asian restaurant had a very nice host, but the food was so so. Whatever you do, don't show up to dinner in any swim attire or tank tops. You will be turned away. It's kind of embarrassing. Wish were told this at check in. And the only time waitstaff were friendly were if we had left tips the night before. They don't forget! And if you don't like to party don't stay on a Saturday night. We were up till 1:30 because the Riu next to ours was having a DJ/party and it was so loud we could hear every song and everything the DJ said. Not good when you have to get up at 3AM to catch a flight
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia

One of the best hotel beaches in Cancun.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Condition of the beach, pools and the food.
Cons: Dance/Disco option at the sports bar.
Excellent entertainment every night for the whole family to enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hazel Crest, Il

Nice hotel close to the beach. Great pools

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A few room upgrades
Location: Great location good public transportation the cost 90 peso about a dollar each way.
The pool and beach games were fun! The staff were very friendly and kept the area clean. All hotel bars drinks we we good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Excellent all inclusive Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Excellent hotel and the staff was awesome! This was our first trip to Cancun and we will definetly come back to Riu Caribe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Excellent hotel with a gorgeous beach

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Excellent hotel, gorgeous beach, clean and calm water. Very relaxing. Delicious food. Every employee polite and courteous!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Great property and kid friendly...

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Cons: Some night life... place for adults to dance. Maybe a DJ? Also the pool to reopen after being cleaned.
Had a fantastic time! The hotel staff is so awesome and the hotel is kept clean all the time. Rooms a tiny bit outdated but was perfect for the price. My only comment would be that we wished the pool stayed open longer than 7pm. It closed at 7pm to be cleaned and did not open again until the next morning. Food was great with lots of options and the resort was easy access to everything! Looking forward to next year...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from south dakota

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Very friendly
Cons: Not serve alcohol to 13 year olds and change the sheets on the beds
Location: Close to the party zone and right on the beach
Very disappointed that the bartenders don't pay attention to the blue arm bands on minor children it got very old with them trying to serve alcohol to my 13 year old daughter
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brooksville, Fl

Riu Caribe--Outstanding view, food very good.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff, the view.
Cons: Rooms too warm for us-we are from Florida, so know hot weather, but air conditioning seemed unable to cool during day. Fine at night in one of rooms.
Location: Located on a beautiful bay, marine preserve. Clear, beautiful water. Swimming superb. Beach gorgeous.
We had trouble verifying our registration with the reception folks at Riu Caribe. Thought problem was at Expedia's end--it wasn't, they were very, very helpful in resolving our problem. Two days before we left, I was informed that Riu Caribe had not record of my registration and no rooms were reserved. When we arrived, it quickly became apparent that the problem was with reception handling of reservations. To their credit, the staff were very helpful in resolving our problem and even gave us an upgrade to a 9th floor room with an astounding view. Kudos to Alejandra and Alex for their help. Be warned, the lobby and rooms were warm--it was August in the tropics. Understood about lobby and elevators being uncomfortable, but room air conditioners did not seem able to cool properly in either room I booked. Plus ceiling fans were extremely noisy on high although they appeared new. Be aware that mattresses are very, very firm--some of my family was unable to sleep well on these mattresses. So if a very firm mattress is a problem, my suggestion would be to book elsewhere. Food in all locations was very good to all my family, but we are not terribly fussy about such things. Staff were superlative, especially Lenny in the steakhouse, La Graciata (spelling?). Overall we had a wonderful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta/Arizona

Great experience!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
The hotel staff was helpful n friendly. I had an issue w my luggage n they took care of it. I would stay there again n recommended it to my friends.