Ratings based on 1,723 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, IN

Hotel and Staff

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The room was very nice and comfortable. Great view of the pool area and the ocean. The service is great and the food was very good.
Cons: I wasn't crazy about making reservations at two of the restaurants. They weren't full at dinner, so I didn't understand the need for it.
Location: Great location and easy access to downtown. Plenty of things to do.
I thought the hotel was very nice and the staff was always friendly, welcoming, courteous, and prompt in tending to the needs of the guests. Everyone seemed to enjoy working there. The hotel and pool being close to the beach makes everything convenient. Enjoyed the entertainment inside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tacoma WA

Overall very pleasent

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: We liked the staff and especially the beach.
Cons: The 3 restaurants weren't that great. The Asian one was the worst. I didn't eat much of the meal and was sick the next day.
Location: We took a tour to the Mayan ruins which is about 122 miles each way. Great tour that took, but took all day and evening because of the distance.
I read a lot of reviews before booking this resort. Overall it was very comfortable and the staff was polite and accommodating. The only downside was that a bracelet I bought my wife was taken from our room which only she and I shared. It wasn't very expensive but she liked it and I had bought it on an excursion. After looking all over for it the next day I thought i should report it which I did. They really didn't want me to make an official report and I agreed because of the price. They did however say they would investigate and get back to us with the results. They never did get back to us. Bottom line is always use the safe that is provided if any of your items is worth keeping. We really did have a great time other than that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom buenos aires

Lindo hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Si
Cons: Si el wifi
Location: No hay nada cerca
Todo muy bien linda experiencia los chicos de animación muy copados...los barman tambien
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with great staff

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: every[thing. The staff is amazing
Cons: air condition the lobby
Location: easy access to everything by bus
I have stayed many times at the Riu Caribe. Obviously, I think it a great hotel with a wonderful staff. I fail to understand why the hotel is always rated lower than the other Riu properties in the area;even the higher priced ones. I just came back and I'll go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bay area, california

Very nice hotel, steps from the beach!!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Came here with my husband to celebrate valentines day.. Only stayed for 4 days and that wasn't enough. It's our second time staying at riu and the service and cleanliness of the place is superb!! I would have given it a 5 star but I wasn't too fond of the sports bar. The drinks were good but the food was not so great. So my advise is to please, reserve your dinner at the steak house/Chinese/ Mexican restaurant or don't miss the buffet... If you miss any of those, you are better off getting food outside the hotel. Oh, the walls are very thin. I'm a deep sleeper and it didn't bother me, but just know people can hear everything you do. Other than that, we definitely enjoyed our stay. Met some great people and the weather in February is just perfect!! I can't wait to come back to cancun and most likely will be staying at Riu again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sparta, WI

wrong room

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: It was clean, employees at the bars and buffet restaurant were very very nice.
Cons: See above.
Location: Plenty to do and go see, could spend months in Cancun and not see it all.
We booked and paid for a ocean view deluxe room, we were given a regular room facing the road, we were very disappointed. Hotel pretty much ignored us when we complained. Would not give us a discount. The restaurants were closed when we got in,and the only place to get something to eat was from their 24 hour sports bar, they only had nachos and horrible sandwiches. They allowed guest to reserve chairs around the pool early in the mornings even though most of them were gone all day and didn't use them. So neither did anyone else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cancun

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: drinks
Beautiful accommodations, fun activities across the day with friendly staff. Food sort of ok, drinks were not the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Love the people!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The hotel staff was amazing! Super friendly and fun!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Feb 16, 2015
At check in, I asked the front desk lady that I liked a room on a high floor with ocean view, I got a room looking at the hotel dumpsters, I called to get a room change and I got an dirty room with pleople checked in, 3rd room was right above the bar at this point I gave up, Front Desk is the worst at this hotel, they have no sense of hospitality. I will not stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta, ga

Another Great Stay!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff, service and attention to cleanliness. The nighlty venues, artists and performers .
Location: Location is great, if you are not seeking to be bombarded by the local merchants short distance if you choose to engage in other areas that offer more
Cancun is our absolute favorite place to visit, and this RIU resort is without a doubt our favorite! Returning, all the remaining staff remembered us by our names which was amazing considering how many people they meet. The hotel staff, service and attention to cleanliness are unmatched and surpass even the "better" hotels/resorts we have stayed at on our journeys. The daily selection of drink and food variety was wide, as well as the impeccable server attitude and customer focus. It remains an international favorite for those reasons alone, and the laid back environment is perfect for those who go to Cancun to experience it's tranquility, as well as its mecca of wonders. Best of all, the RIU nightly entertainment was SPECTACULAR!! The nighlty venues, artists and performers are a 10/10 in all areas, and so wonderfully talented and creative. I didn't think it was possible, but we enjoyed ourselves more this stay than the last!! Thank you RIU Caribe for another great stay!!!