Ratings based on 2,351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B.

Nice location

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Room and service was great. Food was good, climate control in the room could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bixby, OK

Great hotel all the way around!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: It had all we look for in the area in a hotel all inclusive. Nice sand beach, ocean view room, swim up bar, hot tub, nice pool, good restaurants.
Location: This Riu is right in walking distance of a shopping mall, flea market, Coco Bongo night club and more.
We went for my wife's 50th birthday. The hotel was very nice we had a junior suite ocean view room. It was great, the food was great and had a very nice beach area. The evening of her birthday after dinner they even came to our room with complimentary champagne,chocolate covered strawberries and sang happy birthday to her. We could go to the Riu facility next door which we did to find a fun night club.Next time in Cancun we will go back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was very friendly.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
I enjoyed all 5 days, ate well, loved the shows, the beach was extremely close, and the entire staff was always friendly. Never had a bad experience....Loved it. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Great hotel, everyone made our stay comfortable.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
I cant say enough positive comments. Room, food was excellent, staff very great. My family was treated like royalty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2014
the hotel was very good except for a molded smell from the air conditioner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Old world charm

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Simply put, I loved the place!
Cons: I would have more nighttime activities.
Location: We had full recprical at all 4 Riu hotels. The location of the hotel is right for night life.
Our stay was 10/15-10/22/2014. The hotel lobby makes you feel at home instantly. Our room upgrade gave us a straight on view of the courtyard,both wings and the glorious gulf. The restaurants are from good to great and the buffet has it all. With a small,tip here and there, expect awesome personal attention. How does memosas sound when they are waiting for you at your table? Remember to book your restaurants early from the concierge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mew york

Best hotel I have ever visited

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Top rate hotel in all aspects........only issue is that they didn't have enough foods for diabetics or for those who are lactose intolerant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Friendly Nebraskans, USA

Beautiful! You can hear the ocean from your room

Posted Oct 24, 2014
One of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed at. Extremely clean and well kept. The restaurant staff were so willing to make our experience perfect, even if just for breakfast. Beds were harder than desired and the concierge not the most friendly. Most all of the staff greeted us with smiles every time we saw them, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice hotel and close to the beach

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Very very nice hotel and I had a wonderful stay. We would definitely come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah,ga

OK for the money, nice view.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: view was very nice, so was the layout and size of the room. the staff was very friendly and did a great job.
Cons: food choices, mini bar selection, mattresses for sure, room service selection
Location: location is very nice, you can walk next door to the other riu which is what i recommend for lunch, its bigger and has a better selection of food.
Food: Overall was ok, if i knew then what i do know. I would skip the Mexican restaurant and the steakhouse, and the Italian place. The Krystal and the Japanese place were the only ones worth going to that require reservations. the buffet is good for any night that you cant eat at the other two. The steak at the steakhouse was pretty fatty and not good in my opinion and you can get the NY strip at the buffet. the Mexican place was not good at all (once again just my opinion) The Italian place we ate lunch at the first day and it was our last time. Room: the room size was nice, and the balcony view was great (7th floor facing the ocean) one thing that was weird and we hated the whole time was the bed and couch were damp the whole week, the first few days i thought it was just the humidity (100%) but i don't know why the ac wouldn't fix this. Also, the bed was pretty firm, i read this in other post but im here to tell you its like someone took a mattress pad and put it on the floor, as a matter of fact i looked and it was a mattress pad, just on a really firm mattress. other than that we found it a little odd that the bath had no working fans (so when you shower it gets pretty humid) and there was no light in the shower area (just never had a hotel that didn't, we made it work) other than that no other problems. Mini bar: nice idea but other than the beer they give you your only choice for something to mix with is Pepsi.