Ratings based on 2,822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA.

Our great stay!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Everything was amazing! Great staff, food, shows, and very close to the beach.
Cons: In our hotel room the charger outlet was a problem.
Location: The location was fine.
Our experience was excellent! Everything was wonderful and we had a great time! The food was phenomenal!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Overall experience

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Excellent customer service Rooms are clean, I had a regular suite and a large suite with jacuzzi in balcony. Loved my larger suite. Only negative experience was not being able to get connecting room or even next door to one another. Thank God my parents were with me so my kids were with them. Other than that, loved the experience. Great food as well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: The facilities, staff, and cleanliness were outstanding! Food variety and quality was also fantastic.
Cons: As I said above, our room was very, very hot.
Fabulous in every way except our room was very hot. We told the front desk and they supposedly sent someone up to fix it but it was very hot and humid. We would have asked to switch rooms but we were across the hall from our daughters and wanted it to be that way. We asked other guests and most of them said their rooms were cold but a couple had very hot rooms like ours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Pedro

Excelente ubicación

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Solo un poco de olor s moho pero lo demás excelente
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK CITY

"CAN'T DO THAT" HOTEL

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: FOOD
Cons: STAFF'S ATTITUDE CLEANLINESS
Location: CHICHEN ITZA
I AM ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE TRAVELLED ALL FIVE CONTINENTS AND HAVE GOLD OR PLATINUM STATUS WITH MANY HOTEL CHAINS. I CHOSE THIS HOTEL FOR OUR FAMILY VACATION BECAUSE IT HAD HIGH RATINGS AND FOR ONCE I WANTED TO TRY RIU HOTEL CHAIN. I CHOSE "PALACE" TYPE OF RIU HOTEL INSTEAD OF A REGULAR RIU HOTEL, SUPPOSEDLY "PALACE" IS THEIR HIGHEST, MOST LUXURIES TYPE OF HOTEL. BELIEVE ME WHEN I TELL YOU THIS, THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL WAS THE FOOD. *STAFF WAS VERY RUDE. EVERYTIME WE ASKED FOR SOME LITTLE EXTRA THING THE ONLY RESPONSE WE HEARD CAN'T DO THAT OR SIMPLE "NO". AND THIS WAS NOT DUE TO ANY LANGUAGE DISPUTE OR MISCOMMUNICATION BECAUSE WE ARE A SPANISH SPEAKING FAMILY. *ROOMS WERE NOT CLEAN. *WE HAD STAINED SHEETS AND TOWELS ALMOST EVERYDAY. *BEACH TOWELS WERE VERY SO OLD AND ROUGH, CREATED PEELING EFFECT ON SKIN. *NO BEACH UMBRELLAS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brasília

Excelente... Perfeito.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Achei o hotel perfeito com exceção para a internet q em alguns lugares n pegava ou era bem lenta... A comida e os restaurantes são excelentes, os funcionários são super atenciosos e solícitos, os quartos são limpos, as piscinas extremamente agradáveis (morna), a localização é ótima, perto de tudo. Já estou pensando em voltar e recomendo a todos. O hotel me proporcionou férias agradabilíssimas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Good hotel, terrible and limited food choices

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location and room services (not front desk) are good.
Cons: Really need to re-think about nightly reserved restaurants - replace the whole reservation process, offer decent food at least
Overall hotel (location, service, cleanliness) is good. Hotel staffing (front desk) is insufficient (seems like one person is only doing one job, not interested in doing other tasks) and some weren't interested to help (if it wasn't his/her task). Restaurant reservation is terrible. There were plenty of empty seats/tables every single night, yet our group were told that nothing available for some of our stay. And the food in these restaurants were worse than even the regular buffet. Limited choices, tasteless yet almost impossible to get seating !!! Not worth the efforts and waiting time. We ended up spending extra money eating outside. We traveled to many other all-inclusive, and this is the worst by far in term of food and reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven, Conn. USA

Good overall but......

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Clean and friendly
Cons: not much other than keeping up on maintenance with the door locks (change batteries more often?)
Location: the beach was AWESOME, clean sand/water, lots of snorkel/scuba options near by.
The hotel and grounds were beautiful, hotel staff was friendly and eager to please. but we did have an issue with the door lock on our room, the card worked most of the time for the first 3 days but the last 2 days we got locked out twice. one time it was at 11:00 PM and we were locked out for 40+ mins while the maintenance man tried to get us in, told me to have the front desk give me new cards because he thought that was the problem. the next day we had the same issue, got 2 more cards and still didn't work, 20 min. later he got us in, took apart the lock on the inside and "rolled" the batteries and said it was fixed. the next morning ( the last day ) the lock didn't work AGAIN (ya think the batteries were dead?? lol) so we were not going to mess around anymore and just packed up and took our belongings to the lobby, told the front desk about the lock AGAIN and went to B-fast and then out to get last min. souvenirs. other than that the Hotel was very nice and we will stay at the RIU chain again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Staff was friendly

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The view was beautiful and staff was friendly.
Cons: The buffet food could be improved. Staff could provide more detail aat check in, such as needing to make reservations at restaurants 2 days in advanc
Location: Tours, such as The Xplore and Cozumel were amazing. There's also a great restaurant called Mextreme within walking distance. Parasailing & Jetskiing
Overall the hotel was pretty nice. There were a few issues initially,but they were resolved by staff. The first, was leaks in the hallway outside and inside our room. The TV in our room was moved away from the wall with towels on the floor. After the rain had stopped, we noticed staff had drywall and leaks fixed. The restaurant food was delicious, but the buffets could use a little improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rogers, AR

Wonderful resort. Wonderful people

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Beautiful grand hotel. The room was perfect. I recommend upgrading to the ocean view. Rooms were very quiet and the air conditioning was perfect.
Cons: Reservations for the restaurants should be done all at once. Not one per day.
Location: Perfect walking distance to local shops. If you wanted to go further you could always get on the city bus for a dollar.
Beautiful resort and wonderful staff. We were treated so nicely. The staff were always friendly and helpful. We got there early and check in wasn't until three. The lady at the front desk told us to check back around 230 to see if the room was ready. We did but it still wasn't ready but we were able to store our bags and walk around and get lunch. We were extremely excited about our room. We had a jr suite with an ocean view. It was perfect. Our cleaning lady was so sweet and she always did the room up nice. The food was wonderful. We were a little disappointed that we weren't able to get reservations at the restaurants for the first two nights but we did for the third and fourth night. You could only do one reservation a day which was a little odd. They had had a huge storm before we got there so the beach was covered in seaweed. We weren't able to get in the water until the third day but by then the water had cleared up and the staff were working hard to clean up the beach. We were able to get the kayaks and go out into the water. Shops were an easy walk from the resort and if you wanted to go anywhere it was only a dollar to ride the city bus. The entertainment staff were fun and friendly. There were a few special needs adults on the resort and the staff treated them like everyone else. My husband and I enjoyed our vacation tremendously and will be returning to the Riu resorts in the future.