Ratings based on 2,732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamlin, NY

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Fourth time here. Can't wait till next year. I use a wheel chair and everyone was helpful. The staff are great and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and beach.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: We liked that there seemed to be a quiet side of the hotel where there was not a pool or a lot of activities so you could get away from the crowd.
Location: Good location, not too far from the airport. Very nice beach. We stayed at the hotel the whole time except for some shopping across the street.
We had a wonderful time at the Riu Palace. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and provide excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it , the food was top notch

Posted Apr 15, 2015
I've never stayed at the same place twice but I will definatly be going back to this riu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great Food and Great Pools and beach.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Only negatives were the restruants were all reserved and we could only go to one nice dinner. The food was amazing at the buffet so there was plenty of good food. Dress code is extremely inconsistent as my wife was told her cover up (which was like a dress) was not appropriate for one breakfast but people were wearing jean shorts at the steak house. The musty smell in the hallways could be quite bad at times and the air conditioner couldn't keep up in the room. The staff was amazing and the entertainment was pretty good. The food was simply amazing and had a ton of variety in the buffet. Room service has very little options, however they had so much food served throughout the day we didn't ever need it. Bartenders made great drinks and the pool staff had a lot of fun activities. People would get out very early to reserve spots by the pool so make sure you get towels and get save your spot by 7am at the very latest. We went over to the RIU Cancun one night and it was a completely different more modern feel which was kind of a nice change of pace. It right next door and a very easy walk. Great experience with our friends both celebrating our 10 year anniversary. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rio de janeiro

ótima localização e excelente vista.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Fiquei no quarto com vista para o oceano. Na minha opinião o melhor pois era o mais alto e mais centrado colocar vista de 180 graus para o belíssimo Mar do caribe. A Localização é ótima. Pode ir andando para bares e restaurantes pois fica a 500 metrosmetros da coco bongo, lá vaquita Etc. Além disso tem vela e jet para alugar no próprio hotel. Recomendo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and the views from the room balcony was exquisite. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing, gorgeous getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Rooms are beautiful as well as hotel! My view was amazing! The closet was huge (girl has to have a big closet ;) ) staff was amazing! Will definitely be back again! A vacation I will never forget!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom n

Great option!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Excellent location, the best personal, pool toilets could be cleaner but definitely would come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom baltimore

Not all staff friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Some staff, especially middle managers were not friendly or i felt like they treat me like they treat their subordinate when I asked somethings. Even when I complained about this, I didn't get any apologies. I felt also some staff treat differently non white and white.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OR

great stay

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: as above.
Cons: as above
Location: with short walk you will hit clubs like coco bango, palazo etc. as well as all the shops you can buy all sorts of stuff, trinkets etc. very convenient
very happy with RIU palace las americas. pros - great location. right in the heart of hotel zone. convenient to just walk down for shopping. great beach at your doorstep. well maintained. clean sand. great service. the boys were constantly walking around to take drink orders on the beach or the pool. no complaints at all. good entertainment. Food at tio pepe (requires reservations was very good). Breakfast was the best part of my meal. variety of fruits and healthy smoothies etc. They served us very well, not expecting anything (so I was happy to tip them even more). overall they have everything you need, beach, pool, drinks food making it a perfect relaxing getaway. I can go back there in future. cons the food at the buffet was getting repetitive. tasting same. perhaps the hotel was so big and busy and they had to cook with that scale, perhaps quality went down. They have two pools. I could be pro for someone and con for someone, but I thought I would point it out here. unfortunately the pool side bar and all the water activities are located at a pool which is smaller. during the peak early afternoon hours it gets packed, you can not really find a spot there. but on the other hand, the other pool which is right in front of the main lobby as you come thru the double doors, is much more quite. you can have your own time,