Ratings based on 2,276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great stay, quiet, but can be fun as well

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great location to clubs, ferry and shops. Food here was great. Staff is very friendly and very knowledgeable about where to go and what exursions to attend in te area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing balcony views friendly staff

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Had a great time love the place staff food amazingly clean pure paradise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Good hotel but definitely not a 5 stars

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It's a good all inclusive hotel. They claim to have 5 stars but I think that it's a mexican 5 stars :) I would go there again though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

yukky hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: the service and staff were excellent
Cons: the whole hotel needs to be remodeled and CLEANED thoroughly, i havent seen a roach in 30yrs BUT i saw 2 here, just not a nice hotel.....
Location: its my 15th time to cancun so the location was as expected because everything is close no matter what hotel your at
if this is a 4.5 star hotel then what is a 1star?? the only positive thing was the staff, very friendly and courteous, and always wanting to please...other than that, this hotel was a DUMP, as soon as you walked in, the old, VERY OLD, decor was shabby looking and it was just a dirty hotel...the hallways were dirty and also the elevators...the whole hotel smelled of standing water and mildew, just not a good looking hotel...the riu cancun next door was stunning and very clean and modern
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Great food, rooms, staff. The pools were wonderful as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this place

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The riu is the best. Great friendly staff and entertainment. I have been there 2 times and can't say enough good things about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mixed feelings

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Wish I could actually write a review that wouldn't be rejected. How convenient for them. Since I can't say much I will just say the hotel is decent. We enjoyed our stay for the most part. The beach is perfectly secluded from the typical cancun strip beach. The staff was always exceptional. The issues I had were with mysterious bites we received each night. Can't say much about it on this review. Other then that was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Happy family

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: Definitely food at the themed restaurants!
We arrived to find out that our reservation thru Expedia was NOT honored by room & bed type. We booked for 2 ocean front, 1 double and 1 king. According to the staff, that was no guarantee! We were given 2 doubles! However, the next day we were transferred to a King on same floor with our children. Also, Best Day Travel who we booked for airport round trip transfer, insisted our 7 years old must purchase a reduced price at $26. Expedia online did not say so. Beware of many guys in uniforms come to you saying they are from Best Day. As I already read the Itinerary instruction, we refused their services and went outside the terminal looking for BD. The hotel exceeded our expectation. And the stay was a pleasant one! Our family enjoyed the entire 6 days 5 nights at the facility. The only complaint is food service. El Romero, Don Roberto, and Los Arcos are better than average for breakfast, lunches, and buffet style dinner. Sakura, Krystal and Pepe are terrible! Then, all inclusive saved us a lot of time for enjoying rather than figuring out what to eat! The alcohol is boring. Only few brands to select from. Same with cocktails! There are few evening music events at La Tezzara that we enjoyed. The kids stayed in their room and enjoy anytime room services! They love it. The beach looks great from the water line, but beware of rocks about 10 feet beyond! Aqua shoes saved us, however. We went to other3 Riu hotels and received same coutesy and services. That was great!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel, but foul smell at times, Aug 5-10

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Views, the lobby, the food and service.
Cons: Dealing with the following:the foul smell & the mold on the bathroom ceiling (room 529). Please provide umbrellas at the beach area!
We were disappointed on our arrival, since we paid for 2 rooms with ocean views and on one floor. However, they assigned us 2 rooms, which one of them had the view of the other wing (opposing rooms!) As we refused to accept, they gave us 2 rooms on two different floors. What was the most disappointing part of our experience was the foul smell as soon as you entered the ocean side and the swimming pool and the beach area. Even if the smell comes from the sea weeds (which I doubt), the management could add some air-refresher material to overcome the foul smell. Imagine you are on vacation and want to have a nice breakfast and must walk towards the buffet through a beautiful garden which smells like worst bathrooms! We spent most of our swimming time at the next hotel Riu's beach to avoid the smell. Also room no. 529 had mold in bathroom, I took few pictures. The staff were very nice and made a lot of effort to make you feel comfortable, especially those who work at restaurants and those who do the room service. We really felt that we should tip them, although it is not required. The buffet and the restaurants are all very good and much better in terms of what they offer and the variety than the Riu next door (Chrystal was perfect). Overall the hotel is very nice and being able to use the beach and swimming pool and buffet of both hotels is a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburg, CA

Good location!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The hotel is nice, the only problem was that I asked for a ocean view room and one of the palm outside of the balcony cover half of the view, also one of the bathroom lights didn't work, we reported the problem and they said they will changed it the next day but they never did it!