Ratings based on 2,144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from North Dakota

Beautiful hotel! Can't wait to go back!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Clean and beautiful resort, wonderful staff. Great beach area!
Location: Close to shopping, markets, the ferry to Isla Mujeres (great for inexpensive souvenirs), restaurants and night clubs.
Riu Palace Las Americas was even better than expected! A very beautiful extravagant building, with large clean rooms and wonderful staff everywhere! The Riu Fun crew even provided entertainment on a rainy afternoon! Food at the hotel was different than in the U.S., but we joked about it tasting different because it had less preservatives in Mexico! The a la carte restaurants definitely had better food overall, but for a quick morning breakfast or afternoon snack the buffet worked well - something for everyone. The staff here were very professional and friendly, always willing to go above and beyond (we did tip, though, for drinks, after meals, etc). The hotel, it's pools and grounds, and beach were beautiful and very clean. If we were to go to Cancun againwith other adult couples, we would definitely recommend and consider staying here. It was within walking distance to shopping centers and markets, restaurants, and only a quick bus ride (but could be within walking distance) to the ferry to Isla Mujeres. This hotel is large, but seems to maybe have fewer rooms than some of the other huge hotels that are further south on the peninsula. There was never a crowd or a line to wait in while here, as I imagine might be the case at some of the much larger resorts. There were some improvements being made to the beach area (adding docks) but the beach was already large with more than enough loungers, so it will be even better when done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Washington

Best hotel ever stayed!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Food, drink, excellent service and beautiful setup and environment
Cons: Nothing. Everything is perfect.
This hotel is marvelous. Environment is very romantic and elegant. Room is extremely clean. Staffs are incredibly friendly and helpful. I want to have a birthday party for my 9-yr old daughter. The El Romero manager Carols and staff Sirei prepared this surprise party for my daughter with a special birthday cake! My daughter is so happy and say that she would like to come here for every birthday!! The beach is beautiful and quite. The food is so good that my family will remember for the rest of our life. Or, the drink is really what I want for the rest of my life! This is a haven hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rishi from Olympia WA

Awesome Location

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff and food
Cons: We got our room at 4:00 PM, but we could enjoy restaurants, beach and pool while waiting for the room.
Location: Right on beach in hotel zone. Local shops and restaurants at walking distance.
This a beautiful hotel located right on the beach with an excellent view. The hotel staff is very courteous, friendly and welcoming. It has 5 restaurants within its premises and with all inclusive package you can visit all of them. The buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner have variety of local as well as international dishes. One has choice of over 50 varieties for eating. Drinks are serve in lobby as well as beach. Money exchange, local shops and malls are located at walking distance. The bus stop for Cancun downtown is just couple of minutes from the hotel. The hotel is kids friendly and great place for family vacation. We had a pleasant stay and we would definitely love to stay again here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B from Utah

April 2014- A Nice Vacation

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The Staff!!! They were amazing with the 2 12 year old boys in our group and did everything to make our trip pleasant!
Cons: Bed size, food quality and verity, room service options, beach and pool size and drink quality.
Location: Area around hotel was decent, but you didn't really need to leave the hotel.
Please dial back your expectations if you are looking for gourmet food and the best rooms. There are no more than 15 tables in any of the 4 restaurants, you must have reservations and you must make them 24 hours in advance; even if you check in to the hotel after the concierge is closed, which is at 4:00 pm. The room service might be 24 hours, but there are about 6 items to choose from. The beds are 2 small full beds pushed together, if you are expecting to double up in one bed, don't, the pull out couch bed was bigger than either of the 2 main beds in the room. You can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms around you, which in our case was a crying baby, but even conversations could be heard. There were 2 days when there was no beach drink service at all and the cocktail were less than average. The pool with the bar is small and was always over crowded. The staff, however was excellent!!! I don't think I heard the word no more than once.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, great service and amenities

Posted Apr 10, 2014
In our last trip we stayed at Dreams Cancun and we wanted to stay at a different hotel, so we chose Las Americas on a friends recommendation. It turned out to be a great choice. We were that at first week of April so the busy college spring break period was over. Things to note are: Location: You are on the less wavy part of the beach so you can actually enjoy the ocean. You are very close to tourist core of Cancun so you can walk to shops, clubs etc.The beach is not large but it was more than enough. You can also use the beach of Riu Cancun next door if needed. Food: There are 5 speciality restaurants and an open buffet. Four of the restaurants require reservation and it got filled pretty quickly so we had to them in the morning. The food was good as expected but don't expect anything spectacular. The fusion restaurant (Crystal) was my most favorite and Japanese was my least favorite.We didn't drink a lot of alcoholic drinks but the ones we had were pretty good. They serve Dos Equis as beer which I liked. Wines were probably my least favorite in the drink selections. They also use Pepsi products which was a negative for us :) * Service: The service was great, there were always servers going around in the pool taking drink orders. We tried room service once for breakfast and it arrived promptly on time. * Rooms: The room was clean and in good condition. The bed could be more comfortable though. Overall I would really recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home .

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Quality hard working staff, excellent food and energetic imaginative activity staff that really entertains .Keeps us coming back. Beautiful beach and great views from room. Only complaint is hard mattress and spa/gym needs updating, new equip.and steam rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Michigan

The hotel and beach were great.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The hotel offered several nice restaurants for dinner with great dinner selections.
Cons: The workout facility could have been open earlier. It opened at 7 - 7:30 which was the time we were ready for breakfast and the pool.
The staff is above exceptional. They were always making sure you were taken care of regardless if you were eating a meal or hanging out at the pool. Everyone was so friendly and made sure your vacation was the best that it could be during your stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was amazing hotel and the service was great

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Me and my family had the best time of our life I would totally go back again to the same hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chanel from boston

getaway for two

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The hotel was beautiful with all these wood decorations and carvings. The whole hotel was immaculate and grand.
Cons: I think that they could improve the rooms a bit. Two twin beds pushed together don't make a king bed but it didn't bother us much.
Location: The location was right across the street from a shopping mall, pharmacy, stores and down the street from the flee market. It was a short walk to clubs
I just got back from my stay and we had a great time. My fiance and I thought the staff was extremely friendly and professional. One of the nights i broke my shoe before going out and one of the staff was up to our room in 2 minutes with glue to fix it. The rooms are nice and the musty smell and dampness the other reviewers were mentioning is from the ocean. If you put up your AC and never open your balcony door then you wont have an issue but we didn't mind it. The resort food was really good especially the steak choices they had at all of the restaurants. The all inclusive was great since basically all we paid were tips throughout our 5 days there. The beach area is small but it is just enough and they were doing some work on the beach as well so it will be improved. The evening shows were nice and we had a great time. Will most likely be back here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from Los Angeles

Beautiful place like no other

Posted Apr 8, 2014
This is my fifth time staying in this hotel in Cancun and I still want to go back as many times I can