Ratings based on 2,279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from henderson

Gorgeous place to stay.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: The beach and the bars are great.
Cons: More beer selections
Location: Jungle Tour, Para-Sailing, and Chichen Itza
Staff came into the room when we we were not dressed, and came in again. Good thing we aren't shy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with ocean view on both sides.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Everything was amazing. The beds were a little uncomfortable and the rooms weren't too clean, but wasn't discusting or unbearable. Everything else was amazing! Definetly going back next year! Entertainment staff and bartender are super friendly!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, GA

Beautiful place

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: It was beautiful and the staff is fantastic. There were plenty of staff to take care of your every wish immediately.
Cons: The beds and pillows really need to be improved. It cost us $100 for a round trip ride from the airport so a transport would be nice.
Location: We were afraid to go off the resort because of all the violence you hear about on the news. The city is actually gorgeous and clean.
We enjoyed the buffet every day and the food was excellent. The displays were beautiful and the staff was always helpful. The beach is a beautiful aqua with sugar white sand. The bar staff is wonderful, work super hard to serve you quickly and do not request a tip. I always take a pack of 50 ones and it felt odd not to tip them. I finally saw a tip jar behind the bar so I began tipping and felt better about it. It was greeted with such appreciation. The shows were wonderful each night but very short. I think they want to make money off of taking guests to the clubs rather than giving us an evening's show. The one club we went to was Coco Bongo at a cost of $70 each, they gave us the ride there but was told that we had to find our own way back, they talked about going straight to our table which was misleading because we were all just packed in with no table. Our bed was extremely hard and the pillows are cheap filled with chunks of foam. Our air conditioner didn't work and they came right away which got the fan going but I don't think it was truly air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great stay, quiet, but can be fun as well

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Great location to clubs, ferry and shops. Food here was great. Staff is very friendly and very knowledgeable about where to go and what exursions to attend in te area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing balcony views friendly staff

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Had a great time love the place staff food amazingly clean pure paradise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Good hotel but definitely not a 5 stars

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It's a good all inclusive hotel. They claim to have 5 stars but I think that it's a mexican 5 stars :) I would go there again though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit, mi

yukky hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: the service and staff were excellent
Cons: the whole hotel needs to be remodeled and CLEANED thoroughly, i havent seen a roach in 30yrs BUT i saw 2 here, just not a nice hotel.....
Location: its my 15th time to cancun so the location was as expected because everything is close no matter what hotel your at
if this is a 4.5 star hotel then what is a 1star?? the only positive thing was the staff, very friendly and courteous, and always wanting to please...other than that, this hotel was a DUMP, as soon as you walked in, the old, VERY OLD, decor was shabby looking and it was just a dirty hotel...the hallways were dirty and also the elevators...the whole hotel smelled of standing water and mildew, just not a good looking hotel...the riu cancun next door was stunning and very clean and modern
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Great food, rooms, staff. The pools were wonderful as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this place

Posted Aug 21, 2014
The riu is the best. Great friendly staff and entertainment. I have been there 2 times and can't say enough good things about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mixed feelings

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Wish I could actually write a review that wouldn't be rejected. How convenient for them. Since I can't say much I will just say the hotel is decent. We enjoyed our stay for the most part. The beach is perfectly secluded from the typical cancun strip beach. The staff was always exceptional. The issues I had were with mysterious bites we received each night. Can't say much about it on this review. Other then that was good.