Ratings based on 2,742 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful Hotel & facilities. Have stayed at many hotels and find this to be the best. The rooms and hotel are always very clean, the staff is great. I have never had a problem of any sort. Enjoy the food. I hate when people complain about the quality of food. Don't stay at an all inclusive then. Highly recommend any RIU Palace, but Cancun is my favorite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice Hotel - but you hear your neighbor

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Insulation in the walls to lower noise, but its an old hotel so it's understandable.
Location: Shopping, nightclubs, ferry all within walking distance.
Really enjoyed our stay here. We had a small problem with a/c which they immediately fixed. Warning when you open and close your sliding door, it has an a/c sensor that that turns it on and off. Walls are a little thin, We could hear our neighbors. We saw in the comments about the hallway odor, this is typical in a lot of hotels by the ocean. It was worse in the morning than in the evening, probably because of the damp air overnight. Nothing that bothered us. Hotel staff were very friendly and there was always someone cleaning. The place was spotless. Food was excellent, never had a problem with reservations, and we took advantage of going next door to other Riu to enjoy their amenities. Within walking distance to shopping and clubs, you don't need a bus for this. We'll be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Much less I was expecting

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Points just for the staff who was very friendly fun and prestative
Cons: Almost everything. Bed sheets, couches around the hotel, towels beach chairs pool chairs, curtains, carpets.... Everything is so old
Location: Walking distance to some shopping centers and bars
I guess I was expecting too much since I saw so many good reviews. But the hotel is pretty old and there is so many things that should be replaced, since the bedding and couches to the beach towels and the pools and beach chairs. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

April Vacation At Riu Las Americas, Cancun

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The food, the service and the top quality liquor.
Cons: More shade and umbrellas.
Location: This Riu was a short walk to shopping and night life. Almost everything is close-by in Cancun since they have an outstanding bus transportation system
Another great stay at a Riu in the Caribbean. We have been to Riu Hotels in Aruba and Playa Del Carmen in the past. All have been outstanding. The Las Americas had less open land than the other two we had stayed at, so there weren't as many lounge chairs under the palms, but there were other options for shade. We particularly like the feel and vibe of the old palace style, vice the more modern glass & steel style hotel. As we expected, the food was outstanding, the staff was outstanding and the hotel services were outstanding. We were very thankful for the free Wi-Fi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Vacation Paradise!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
I am an avid traveler, but this was my first experience with an all-inclusive and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The Junior Suite was perfect for my friend and I; the room was luxurious, spotless and had a lovely balcony. The staff at the resort were all friendly, accommodating and helpful. There were daily activities at the pool, from water aerobics to water basketball as well as many options of gear to use. The body boards were high quality and easy to get each day. The food was incredible. I can't even begin to describe the variety, freshness and wonderful flavors. I highly recommend the fish! My only complaint is that the wifi did not work in our room. There were only a few place (such as in the main dining area) where we could get service. Although I rarely go back to the same place, since there are so many places I like to explore in the world, I may just go back here next Spring break. It was a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San José, California

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Best all in inclusive ocean front hotel in Cancun. Very clean, luxury room, and friendly service. Enjoyed the beach night party, the daily day & night entertainment show in the theater. The swimming pools looking out to the ocean are awesome. Foods are plenty and restaurant service is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Best Birthday Ever!!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The Riu Palace Las Americas staff went above and beyond to make my birthday one for the books. Felix at the Front Desk was more than accommodating. The food was great, the staff was friendly, and the views/beaches breathtaking!! Would recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Nice hotel good customer service

Posted Apr 19, 2015
I loved my vacation. The staff wAs great would really recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Fantastic hotel-excellent staff--extremely clean!!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location-cleanliness-service
Cons: Air conditioning could be improved--we had the A/C set at 64 degrees and the room always felt like 78 degrees-also dehumidifier would b an asset !
Location: Nice shopping area right down the street--nice walk with good restaurants and souvenir shops
Fantastic experience!! Very upscale hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff!! Well worth every penny spent..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamlin, NY

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Fourth time here. Can't wait till next year. I use a wheel chair and everyone was helpful. The staff are great and very friendly.