Ratings based on 2,650 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wichita, Ks

Wow, wow, wow!!!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: all of above
Cons: Unfortunately the hot tubs are turned off around 7 pm. Wished for later times for after dinner soak and a glass of wine. More evening dance music!
Location: 15 minute walk to downtown Cancun, bars, shopping. We enjoyed late afternoon walk along the beach. Plenty of companies offering excursions.
Top rate hotel, wonderful staff, excellent food, great beach. Our stay was one of our best vacations ever. We felt like everything was hand picked just for us. The room was beautiful and view spectacular. The restaurants served fresh, wonderfully flavored food. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the the first person you see to the maid that quietly does her job behind the scene. Always had a great lounger and perfect weather. We met so many wonderful people at this beautiful place. Some had been here before, some more than once. We decided midweek that we will return. Congrats Riu...good job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
My trip was one of the best resorts I have been to. I have stayed in Mexico a dozen times and this riu is one of the best resorts I have experienced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
We love the Riu. It's our second year there. Staff is great and the food and beaches are great. Hotel rooms smell a bit moldy and there were ants in our couch. I also found a cockroach in our room but I have heard this is very common in Mexico. Overall very good experience and we would stay at the Riu again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We have been to this RIU twice and loved it both times!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Nice hotel. Lacks restaurant menu choices. Very limited menu. Buffet is good. Room house keeping was not completed twice and had to be called after 4 p.m to clean room. Concierge - not customer friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, Mi

Beautiful all-inclusive, could never ask for more.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Absolutely Everything!!!!!!!
Cons: No improvements needed.
Location: We enjoyed walks in the morning and shopping right around us. A short cab or bus ride and you have very nice malls.
7 nights, 8 days was the most incredible vacation ever. The staff at this hotel are simply awesome. The food was unbelievable everyday, all day. The beach and swimming area are great....they have 2 very large pools, with activities and a swim up bar, however we preferred the beach. The many bars around the resort are excellent. I can't say enough good about this whole experience but to sum it up I highly recommend it and we will be going back. Also want to recommend USA Transfers for a shuttle service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Quincy, MA

No need to ever leave the hotel.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: We were greeted at the front door by a friendly door man. He lead us to the desk and then a woman came over with some fresh juice.
Location: We walked to town and did a little souvenir shopping.
The room was a little warm when we arrived. We turned the AC on and it was very cool.. Ceiling fan was and added bonus to cool down the room. The 3 food buffets had a great variety of all types of food. We only got to eat at 3 of the 5 specialty restaurants. Hint: book early, days ahead. Pools were refreshing. Plenty of chairs for everyone on the beach and poolside. The staff serving drinks were phenomenal. I don't know how they keep that pace all day in the hot sun. I would definitely go back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Feb 22, 2015
It is an OK hotel, relatively old but maintained in clean way. We had some difficulty when we ran out of paper tissues and we had to call the front desk several times before they can provide some to us. I wish the hotel staff could have been more responsive. The food is OK, but not fantastic or delicious. I give it a lukewarm rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beware of jewelry store at Rui palace

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Very good hotel and friendly staff. There is a jewelry store in the resort do not buy any thing there. The guy who works there rips off people so easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxnard

Great winter get-away place!

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: I liked the pool - the grounds of the hotel were beautiful. The room was large and comfortable.
Cons: We would have liked to book restaurant reservations from our room or by telephone. More English TV channels and movies available in the room
Location: Nice location to walk to Cancun town.
This was our first experience with an all-inclusive style of hotel and we were impressed! The food was plentiful and tasty. We especially enjoyed the restaurant, "Krystal." However, it was necessary to make a reservation a few days ahead of our desired night because the on-site restaurants get booked up quickly. All of the service people we encountered (and there were many) seemed cheerful and anxious to ensure that our needs were met quickly. We had a great time!