Ratings based on 2,235 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Week with the girls!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We're from Texas and we went for a girls trip. We're used to the heat, but man it was still hot! Rooms - We had the oceanview double beds room. The beds are pushed up together with one headboard! The rooms had good AC, and that was important for us when getting ready and for sleeping. The hotel is majestic and regal looking, however I felt like the rooms were just ok, pretty standard. They did have marble floors and granite vanities though so it was definitely nicer looking. The bed felt very uncomfortable at first, but we slept like babies the whole time we were there so it mustn't have been too bad. Pools- The pools are large and perfectly located. One pool had two bars (one swim up and one stand alone) and drinks were easy to get even with the high number of patrons. The pool was actually like a warm bath, so please don't expect to "cool off" by getting in it. It was hot sitting in the direct sun, but you can find umbrellas and can make sure you find the chairs with the ocean breeze, it's essential! Beach- The beach/ocean was right on the edge of the resort, an easy walk. The water was wonderfully cool. There were many beach chairs but absolutely no shade. This resort is for all ages of people. If you are annoyed by younger, drinking people, this may not be your resort. Entertainment - nightly shows were great. Food- every single person working there was wonderful. The food was plentiful, but just ok. Tipping- allowed and recommended for good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Cons: The dinner reservation system could be improved.
Our stay at the Riu Palace was excellent. The room was very spacious. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and attended to all needs and/or requests. The food was very good. Overall, we wish we had stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Spectacular summer vacation

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Very nice hotel with a lot of fun activities. Most of the hotel staff were friendly and supportive. Food was good but nothing stood out . We had a chance to try out most of the restaurants (Krystal, Kabuki, Steakhouse, Venecia, and Las olas) Overall we thought the buffet at Las Olas was the best of the restaurants. Our room had loud water noises coming from the A/C and even though we had complained to the front desk, nothing was done to fix it. We ordered room service and food was never delivered to our room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

30 year anniversary. Nice hotel with on beach.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Very nice time. Everyone friendly and helpful. Clean. Kept replenishing our mini bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mastic, New York

Wouldn't stay here again!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Pool was nice that's about it!
Had to switch hotel rooms 2 different times in 2 days! 1st room air conditioning was broken! 2nd room shower not working right! I spent my whole 1st day down at the front desk complaining about rooms when I should have been enjoying my vacation. The hotel staff was not helpful. They didn't explain you had to make reservations for dinner at the restaurants! Wasn't told about nightly entertainment. Some of the staff at the restaurants were terrible. I was promised by one if the front desk staff Marcus a complimentary bottle of champagne and never got it. Instead I got a towel with 2 Hershey kisses on it. I gave them back. That place has got to be kidding. I'll never stay at a Riu hotel again!!!!! No beach it was all rocks and shells!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

STAY AWAY FROM JAVIER FROM HOTELBEDS.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: the service, the location, the pools and the food was terrific.
Cons: Get rid of Javier out of your lobby and that business. People will have an ill feeling toward the hotel after getting ripped off by this guy
Location: The myan ruins, jet skiing, para sailing and the pools had recreation for the kids all day long.
The one and only problem I have with this hotel is they allow a representitive from a company called hotelbeds to sell daily trips and activities. The gentlemen named Javier sold us an "upgraded" version of a daily trip to the Myan ruins. There really was no Upgrade. We all went in the same bus (nice bus) but paid a total of 75.00 dollars extra for NOTHING. We all ate the same food and drink together. The only thing we did not do was pay less like everyone else did. I spoke with him about it afterwards and he stated to write a letter to his boss so I did (right there on the spot and handed it to him). I have not heard from anyone at this point. It is very frustrating to get ripped off for no reason other than to line someones pocket. I hope this hotel does something about this practice. The rest of the hotel was absolutely awesome!! the service was impeccable. I have traveled all over the world and this place deserved all the stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury, Ma

Magnifico!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Customer service sales!!!!!! This place has it everywhere!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this is an antique hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: food, pool, drink
Cons: staff, bad smell
good food, but the staff was not very nice, the staff was not willing to help
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Everything you need to know....

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The best thing was the staff.... The sports and entertainment crew made this an awesome experience for us. The place was clean and gets an A
Cons: The only room for improvement would be keeping the younger kids to the family pool and allowing us adults to have our fun alone.
Location: Make sure you check out the other Riu hotels, you are allowed access to them as well with your all inclusive wrist band.
Awesome experience... don't know why other people gave bad reviews.... Someone gave me some advice before I went... and I suggest you do the same. Bring $100 in ones... when they bring you a drink or do any type of service for you... tip them a buck, it goes a very long ways. They will remember your name and treat you extra special... just because it says gratuity included.... doesn't mean you can't tip. I never felt like it was expected... but it really made a difference in the prompt service that we received. I loved this place so much that I plan on visiting the location in Jamaica next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, New York

Great vacation!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
This hotel was gorgeous. It was approx. 20-30 min drive from airport via taxi. We had to wait until about 2 pm to check in. We reserved a room with two double beds, but when we got to the room, we thought it was one enormous "king" bed. We asked the front desk, and they said that the maid will just move the two beds in the room apart to be two double beds. Beware- beds are not "double." We had two full size beds. It was tight for four of us. We got a cot, and that helped. We had a few problems with the lock on our door, but they fixed it after a day. Those were our only issues. Staff was friendly, pools are beautiful, weather was perfect, and food was delicious. We would stay here again. Kayaking, catamaran lessons, wave runners, and parasailing are right on the beach (must pay for wave runners and parasailing.) Resort is safe. We made lots of new friends.