Ratings based on 2,226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this is an antique hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: food, pool, drink
Cons: staff, bad smell
good food, but the staff was not very nice, the staff was not willing to help
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monroe, New York

Great vacation!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
This hotel was gorgeous. It was approx. 20-30 min drive from airport via taxi. We had to wait until about 2 pm to check in. We reserved a room with two double beds, but when we got to the room, we thought it was one enormous "king" bed. We asked the front desk, and they said that the maid will just move the two beds in the room apart to be two double beds. Beware- beds are not "double." We had two full size beds. It was tight for four of us. We got a cot, and that helped. We had a few problems with the lock on our door, but they fixed it after a day. Those were our only issues. Staff was friendly, pools are beautiful, weather was perfect, and food was delicious. We would stay here again. Kayaking, catamaran lessons, wave runners, and parasailing are right on the beach (must pay for wave runners and parasailing.) Resort is safe. We made lots of new friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

Disappointing! I'll take my $ somewhere else.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location is awesome. Food was decent although we set off resort most dinners.
Cons: Replace bar staff. Pool staff was nice. The hotel "looks" nice but functionally needs major overhaul (plumbing, electrical, wifi)
Location: Shopping was cool and location can't be beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Summer out of the "D"

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Food was good service was good, it was just that dam mildew smell that reaked through the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location and facilities

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The architecture of the hotel is beautiful, which adds to the whole experience. The staff is friendly and always eager to assist. The pools and beach area are top of the line. Great for a family vacation, a solo retreat, or a trip with your friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TAMPA FL

PERFECT HOTEL-PERFECT LOCATION RIGHT TO THE BEACH

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: JUST PERFECT
Cons: EVERYTHING IS PERFECT
Location: MAYAN TEMPLES WERE AMAZING
HOTEL EMPLOYEES WERE AMAZING..VIEW WAS BREATHTAKING-PERFECT SERVICE-EVERYTHING WAS CLEAN-POOL ACTIVITIES WERE PERFECT-KIDS FRIENDLY-VACATION OF A LIFETIME.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

As advertised

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Beautiful view. No hassles. Safe area and beach. Every day buffet was better than at home. Krystal restaurant was totally awesome. Very friendly helpfull staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful hotel with OUTSTANDING service

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was GREAT. Entertainment, wait staff, front desk - they all work so hard to make your trip wonderful.
The hotel was beautiful and the staff was awesome. The beach was pretty good but had several rocks and shells. Bring beach shoes if you have tender feet like me. The pools didn't seem as refreshing as the ocean since we were there in July. The ocean breezes kept us very comfortable in the shade. The food and drinks were great too! We ate at all the restaurants that require reservations. We found Krystal to be the best. We also had dinner at the buffet which was surprisingly good. The hotel is located very close to the night life of the hotel zone, coco bongo, carlos & Charlie's, Hard Rock Café, senor frogs, etc. It is also a short walk (2 hotels) to the ferry that goes to Isla Mujeres. The ferry cost $20USD and took about 40 minutes. The hotel zone was great for us this time since we had our kids with us (ages 18-23). However, I prefer the Riviera Maya. The beaches are better and it is more relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view and exceptional service

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Everything. Absolutely everything.
Cons: Nothing...
I never have written a review for anything, but my trip my Riu Palace Las Americas deserves one. My wife and I were there for 6 nights last week and it was perfect. Everyone who works there is impossibly polite and willing to help with anything. The pools are beautiful and give you great views of the ocean. We had dinner at all five restaurants and they all were fantastic. Even the buffet was above and beyond. We ate lunch there every day and I think I had something different every single time. One tip- the chairs and beds by the pool get reserved pretty early. We got up around 7:30 or so and were able to get one. They seemed to be filled by 8.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The guys at the bar are awesome. Good time. There is no need to go out