Ratings based on 2,753 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tomah WI

Better than Most

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Everything the staff were GREAT
Cons: The Entertainment was ok but to much lip sync
Location: Very near shops and night clubs,You have access to the the Riu Cancun (next door)
This resort is GREAT. From the lobby to the drinks, down to the food, everything was excellent. The resort grounds are gorgeous and the amenities are amazing. For those of you that enjoy throwing back a drink, have no fear...even your room is stocked with drinks! The fridge is restocked daily and there is even a mini bar with spirits in your room. The hotel offers several buffets throughout the day and there are four to five restaurants to chose from for evening reservations. This is an all-inclusive resort? What I mean is that everything, from the dinners to the drinks to the buffets, is all included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great hotel with great food!

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff was very helpful and the food was fresh and delicious.
Location: Walking distance to shopping and great restaurants, but you don't even have to leave the hotel for great food!
The hotel was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and always ready to help in any way they could. And they were always available. You never had to go looking for someone to help. The food was incredible. I will definitely be back again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Loved the staff at the steak restaurant.
Cons: Reserving a chair at 5 a.m. was pretty annoying, not sure how you can cure it.
Great place for couples and parents with young children! Not much to do for teens, if anything. The staff is WONDERFUL! No complaints. I should have stayed next door at the other Riu as I have three teens and there seemed to be more for the kids there. I would definitely recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PENNSYLVANIA

RIU APRIL 2015

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: FRIENDLY STAFF AND A LOT OF POOL ACTIVITIES.
Cons: POOL NEEDS A RENOVATION.......A LOT OF BLACK STUFF GROWING IN THE GROUT LINES OF THE TILE. NEED MORE TV CHANNELS IN ENGLISH, A LOT WERE IN SPANISH.
WE HAD THE PLEASURE OF STAYING AT THE RIU PALACE AMERICAS FROM APRIL 17, 2015 TO APRIL 23, 2015. THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT IN TAKING CARE OF OUR NEEDS IN A VERY TIMELY MATTER. WE HAD A FEW PROBLEMS WITH THE ROOM AIR CONDITIONER AND TOILET WHEN WE ARRIVED, BUT ALL WERE FIXED PROMPTLY. ROOM SERVICE WAS QUICK AND HOTEL HOUSEKEEPING WAS VERY PROMPT. DRINKS WERE GREAT AND FOOD WAS ABOVE AVERAGE FOR AN ALL INCLUSIVE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE LOBSTER AT THE STEAK HOUSE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

RIU Palace Las Americas was beautiful!!!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
RIU Palace Las Americas was Beautiful! I loved the beach, the resort and the location. The beach was not small (as a lot of people mentioned) and the water was clear blue, and very calm. The pools at the resort were also great/beautiful! The staff was always so nice, upbeat and seemed very happy (genuinely happy). I would definitely go back. The food was buffe style, therefore I can't say I expected any more or less. They did however have restaurants, but my bf and I never seemed to make it to our reservation due to the fact that we were enjoyiny ourself's at the beach, pools etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro

Excelente hotel. Bom serviço, equipe prestativa.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Ótima experiência. Equipe prestativa. Comida maravilhosa. Praia e piscina perfeitas. Equipe de animação até te leva para as atrações noturnas da cidade. Não há o que reclamar deste hotel. Ficarei novamente nele se voltar a Cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Staff and service. Grounds, pool and beach.
Cons: Musty smell in hotel. Hits you as soon as you walk in. Also very noticable in rooms. Bathrooms need upgrading. Add bar/dance club for evenings.
Location: Shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
Very nice hotel with the exception of the musty smell. The only other thing that I didn't like was the tub. Getting in/out wasn't easy because of the high wall. The staff and service were exceptional. Wish they had some type of bar/club that offered music and dancing for later in the evening. Their shows were ok, but everything ended at 11pm, so unless you planned to leave the hotel, there wasn't anything to do. Buffet was the best I had, however the sit down restaurants weren't something I would do again. Overall I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom north carolina

riu las amerigas

Posted Apr 25, 2015
great location, food, staff & room. had great time hope to come back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Beautiful Hotel & facilities. Have stayed at many hotels and find this to be the best. The rooms and hotel are always very clean, the staff is great. I have never had a problem of any sort. Enjoy the food. I hate when people complain about the quality of food. Don't stay at an all inclusive then. Highly recommend any RIU Palace, but Cancun is my favorite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice Hotel - but you hear your neighbor

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Insulation in the walls to lower noise, but its an old hotel so it's understandable.
Location: Shopping, nightclubs, ferry all within walking distance.
Really enjoyed our stay here. We had a small problem with a/c which they immediately fixed. Warning when you open and close your sliding door, it has an a/c sensor that that turns it on and off. Walls are a little thin, We could hear our neighbors. We saw in the comments about the hallway odor, this is typical in a lot of hotels by the ocean. It was worse in the morning than in the evening, probably because of the damp air overnight. Nothing that bothered us. Hotel staff were very friendly and there was always someone cleaning. The place was spotless. Food was excellent, never had a problem with reservations, and we took advantage of going next door to other Riu to enjoy their amenities. Within walking distance to shopping and clubs, you don't need a bus for this. We'll be back!