Ratings based on 2,338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Hotel was beautiful! The room was huge and we had a huge balcony. The restaurants were good and there weren't too many kids running around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Nice hotel with a good amount of different restaurants and the staff are friendly. Service on the beach and pool for drinks was great, glad we stayed here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Amazing service

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Delicious specialty restaurants great staff, fun pools, delicious cocktails
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great time.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: Rooms/hallway are musty smelling.
The Staff really took good care of us. Great service and they ALL had a smile. Jaer in the main dining area, was the best waiter. Always had a smile and noticed every detail. Beautiful resort, with plenty to do. We are ready to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome , perfect !

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Everything
Excellent hotel on the beach, rooms spacious and clean, staff very friendly, pools great, buffets were excellent. Overall well worth the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't go to To this hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014
You better schedule an appointment with your chiropractor because you're back will break a 10 year old mattress check the food before you eat it you might find eggshell in your food at the pool bar check the sugar dipping might be ant if you need something you need to ask at least 10 time wi fi is not working correctly u will need to log in 10 time a day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McAllen, TX

Nice hotel, not very modern

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Althought the hotel is beautiful and well maintained, it is more on the rustic style. So if you are looking for something more modern or contemporary, I would recommend you going for RIU Cancun or RIU palace peninsula. One of the upsides is that if you stay here you do get acces to all three of the other RIU services so make sure you take advantage of that. This hotel also has excellent staff service including Ernesto, who you would find running around the pool/beach with your drinks and Nick, who waits tables at the main restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from d

Wow!!!!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Great staff and great time!!!!! This was our first time here and will be back soon. We love the bartender Ernesto. Could not have made a better choice. The Riu still feels like Mexico and not to Americanized.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

Have to make a reservation to restaurant day befor

Posted Oct 17, 2014
We couldn't try all the restaurants at the hotel because of that. The bathroom at the room was old and shower was dark, you couldn't see anything while showering. Nobody came to take our bags when we came to the hotel, we had to take it by ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Great All-Inclusive in the Hotel Zone of Cancun.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The staff was amazing from top to bottom, especially the cleaning staff.
Cons: The rooms, namely the beds were by far the worst part of the trip. Our "king size" bed was nothing more than two beds pushed together.... terrible.
Location: Perfect location, easy 5 minute walk to Coco Bongo, Hard Rock, Taco Alley, ect. Also a decent amount of beach compared to most hotels in the area.
Riu has three resorts in the hotel zone of Cancun, with the Palace Las Americas located in the middle of the bunch. When it comes to all inclusive everyone cares about the FOOD more than anything else right? Our collective opinion (traveled with a group of four) was a B+ overall. The individual restaurants had great meals each night, which required reservations in advance. While the ALL DAY buffet was good as well, just needing a larger selection from day to day.