Ratings based on 2,733 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Fantastic hotel-excellent staff--extremely clean!!

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location-cleanliness-service
Cons: Air conditioning could be improved--we had the A/C set at 64 degrees and the room always felt like 78 degrees-also dehumidifier would b an asset !
Location: Nice shopping area right down the street--nice walk with good restaurants and souvenir shops
Fantastic experience!! Very upscale hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff!! Well worth every penny spent..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamlin, NY

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Fourth time here. Can't wait till next year. I use a wheel chair and everyone was helpful. The staff are great and very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and beach.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: We liked that there seemed to be a quiet side of the hotel where there was not a pool or a lot of activities so you could get away from the crowd.
Location: Good location, not too far from the airport. Very nice beach. We stayed at the hotel the whole time except for some shopping across the street.
We had a wonderful time at the Riu Palace. Everyone seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and provide excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it , the food was top notch

Posted Apr 15, 2015
I've never stayed at the same place twice but I will definatly be going back to this riu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great Food and Great Pools and beach.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Only negatives were the restruants were all reserved and we could only go to one nice dinner. The food was amazing at the buffet so there was plenty of good food. Dress code is extremely inconsistent as my wife was told her cover up (which was like a dress) was not appropriate for one breakfast but people were wearing jean shorts at the steak house. The musty smell in the hallways could be quite bad at times and the air conditioner couldn't keep up in the room. The staff was amazing and the entertainment was pretty good. The food was simply amazing and had a ton of variety in the buffet. Room service has very little options, however they had so much food served throughout the day we didn't ever need it. Bartenders made great drinks and the pool staff had a lot of fun activities. People would get out very early to reserve spots by the pool so make sure you get towels and get save your spot by 7am at the very latest. We went over to the RIU Cancun one night and it was a completely different more modern feel which was kind of a nice change of pace. It right next door and a very easy walk. Great experience with our friends both celebrating our 10 year anniversary. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rio de janeiro

ótima localização e excelente vista.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Fiquei no quarto com vista para o oceano. Na minha opinião o melhor pois era o mais alto e mais centrado colocar vista de 180 graus para o belíssimo Mar do caribe. A Localização é ótima. Pode ir andando para bares e restaurantes pois fica a 500 metrosmetros da coco bongo, lá vaquita Etc. Além disso tem vela e jet para alugar no próprio hotel. Recomendo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Posted Apr 12, 2015
The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and the views from the room balcony was exquisite. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing, gorgeous getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, tx

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Rooms are beautiful as well as hotel! My view was amazing! The closet was huge (girl has to have a big closet ;) ) staff was amazing! Will definitely be back again! A vacation I will never forget!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom n

Great option!!!

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Excellent location, the best personal, pool toilets could be cleaner but definitely would come back!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom baltimore

Not all staff friendly

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Some staff, especially middle managers were not friendly or i felt like they treat me like they treat their subordinate when I asked somethings. Even when I complained about this, I didn't get any apologies. I felt also some staff treat differently non white and white.